Customer Reviews for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum

Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Dyson DC41 Animal is an upright vacuum cleaner designed to help remove more dirt, dust, allergens and pet hair from the home.  It features Radial Root Cyclone™ technology, in which airflows have been remodeled to maximize suction power.  The cleaner head on the DC41 Animal self-adjusts to different floor types, so there are no knobs or dials to adjust.  It has an active base plate, which creates optimal cleaner head contact, reducing air leaks and retaining more suction power.  This technology gives DC41 Animal the strongest suction at the cleaner head.  DC41 also features Dyson Ball™ technology making it easier to steer closer to edges, and into hard to reach places. The included Tangle-free Turbine tool uses counter-rotating heads with brushes to remove hair and dirt—without tangling. In addition, the DC41 Animal Plus also includes the flat out tool, soft dusting brush, flexi crevice tool, and mattress tool.  The instant release wand stretches up to 5 times in length for stairs and high reach cleaning, and the clear bin empties at the push of a button.  DC41 Animal has a lifetime washable filter, and there are no bags, belts or filters to buy.  It comes with a 5 year warranty, parts and labor guaranteed by Dyson, and features Dyson cyclones, which capture more dirt than any other. Features: Radial Root Cyclone™ technology - Airflows remodeled to maximize suction power The strongest suction at the cleaner head - Cleaner head self-adjusts for optimal contact- even on hard floors Turns on a dime - Ball™ technology steers smoothly.  Easy access to awkward places. Lightweight and durable - Engineered materials are selected for their strength and durability.  Less weight and bulk. Captures allergens.  Expels cleaner air. - DC41 captures microscopic particles such as pollen, mold and bacteria. Tangle-free Turbine tool - The only turbine tool that doesn’t tangle.  Counter-rotating heads with brushes remove hair and dirt. A clean air turbine provides the flexible heads with constant power over uneven surfaces.  There’s no brush bar for hair to wrap around, it’s released straight into the bin. Soft dusting brush - The Dyson Soft dusting brush removes dust and allergens from flat surfaces, delicate areas and upholstery. The fine nylon bristles on the Dyson Soft dusting brush are angled at 45 degrees to sweep dust into the airflow, and it has a felt strip down the middle of the brush to help protect some polished and delicate surfaces from scratching. Flexi crevice tool - The Dyson Flexi crevice tool extends and flexes to clean awkward gaps, such as between cabinets and beneath car seats.  Stiff nylon bristles at the end of the Flexi crevice tool help dislodge stubborn and ground-in dirt, including food waste and other debris. Airflow is faster at the tip - to remove dirt and debris from hard to reach corners and gaps. Flat out tool - The Dyson flat out tool articulates for effective pick-up, and is especially handy for cleaning under low furniture and household appliances. Mattress tool - The Dyson Mattress tool removes dirt, allergens and dust mites from mattresses and upholstery. Instant release wand - Stretches up to 5 times in length for stairs and hard to reach places Fingertip controls - To instantly turn the motorized brush bar off for hard floors, delicate floors and rugs. Cable release catch - Twist 180° to quickly release the cable Clear bin - Made from tough polycarbonate- the same material as riot shields No belts to replace - Timing belt doesn’t slip and is guaranteed for 5 years Motorized brush bar - Independent motor drives the brush bar for better cleaning performance Lifetime washable filter - No need to buy replacements Pedal-free automatic recline mechanism - Simply recline and go Combination tool - Reaches further and has softer bristles for improved spot cleaning and gentle dusting No extra costs - No bags, belts or filters to replace Includes: Tangle-free Turbine tool Combination tool Value Added Tools: Soft Dusting Brush Flexi Crevice Tool Flat Out Tool Mattress Tool Specifications: Color: Iron/Rich Royal Purple Suction Power: 235 Amps: 12 Bin Capacity: 0.55 gallons Cleaning Path: 13.3 inches Hose and Wand Length: 15.4 ft. Cable Length: 35 ft. Max Reach: 51.7 ft. Premotor Filter: Lifetime (3 months washable) Postmotor Filter: Lifetime washable filter (3 months washable) Assembly required Dimensions: 42.1" H x 15.5” W x 13.4" D Weight: 17.1 lbs.    5 Years Warranty Parts and Labor Model: DC41AN / 64619-01
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(903 Reviews) 879
(out of 903 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (903 reviews)
5 stars
741
4 stars
121
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
17
860 of 903(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingman,Az
Date:January 24, 2014

Good vaccum

Pros: easy to empty, cleans well, multiple attachments, lightweight
Cons: expensive
Model Number: dyson DC 41 animal Plus upright
"Easy to maneuver, not too heavy. Seems to clean well and has several attachments that will be usefull."
Review 2 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:January 14, 2014

difficult to use the attachemnts

Pros: good suction
Cons: very hard to use attachements
"Very frustrating to use any of the attachments and hose . Angles are so awkward, it takes time and energy to use it."
Review 3 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bemidji, MN
Date:July 13, 2013

Very Powerful

Pros: it's more powerful then the other dyson i had.
Cons: nothing
"The last time I vacuumed with It I got a lot of dirt. And I was suprised that it picked up more dirt then my other vacuum."
Review 4 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO.
Date:April 12, 2014

outstanding costco dyson value

Pros: easy to make turns and great suction power.
Cons: some what hard to stand up in the locking position
Model Number: DC41 Animal
"My 3rd Dyson, easy to control direction does an excellent job on pet hair easy to assemble without any tools. Very good selection of tools with the machine excellent value from Costco."
Review 5 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio TX
Date:January 19, 2014

I prefer my old original Dyson

Pros: master sucker!!
Cons: seems fragile
Model Number: Dyson DC41
"My new Dyson is good but not great. I can't believe I can't leave one or two attachments on my Dyson. It's a bit complicated trying to leave my vacuum upright on the first try. If my old Dyson wasn't 7 years old, I would prefer that one."
Review 6 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:calif
Date:December 27, 2013

not for all carpets

Pros: manouverability, long power cord, on board hose
Cons: not for high pile carpets, price
Model Number: DC 41 animal
"works best on short carpets (berber) and floors. hard to push on high density or higher pile carpets. Have to pick it up and pull it back to vacuum. Doesn't really vacuum better than my old Kirby generation 3. The on board long hose and power cord are good."
Review 7 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ.
Date:August 26, 2013

Best vacuum cleaner I ever owned,

Pros: priced fairly great suction maneuvers easy
Cons: dirt accumilates on ball surface
Model Number: Dyson DC41
"I Love it! It cleans great. It is lightweight and moves easily. Changing tools is very easy to do. I like that the tools aren't attached to the body. The tools fit nicely in a tote bag which I can hang on a door knob with easy access in any room I am cleaning."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:October 7, 2013

Dirty job!

Pros: picked up dirt as most vacuums will do.
Cons: too dirty to clean.
Model Number: Dyson DC41 Animal Plus
"I didn't like the way I had to deal with all the dust, dirt and clumps of hair every time I open the canister. The dirt clumps up inside and has to be fished out with a pencil, some other tool, or your fingers...ewww! I returned mine and bought a bagged vacuum."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2013

Don't buy this!

Pros: none
Cons: expensive and average.
Model Number: DC41 Animal
"This is, at best, a very average vacuum at an awful price. The bag-less canister opens up when disconnecting and dumps contents all over floor. This emphatically does NOT have more suction than a normal vacuum costing less that 1/2 the price. Don't waste your money."
Review 10 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tustin, CA
Date:September 4, 2013

Finally, a Great Vacuum!

Pros: fast and easy, no bags, deep cleans the pile of my carpet beautifully., great customer service from dyson just call
Model Number: AG6-US-EFA5173A
"I have never had good luck with vacuums until this Dyson DCC41. Even when other vacuums had a power glide feature it was still difficult to operate. With my new Dyson I was able to not only maneuver the vacuum easily but was able to vacuum the entire house in half the time it took me before. It was truly amazing."
Review 11 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas TX
Date:October 7, 2013

Like it but wish I loved it!

Pros: light and convient
Cons: a little "plastic-y"
Model Number: dc41 animal plus
"I got this dyson hoping I'd love as much as my kirbey.... I love how convenient it is to use the wand, but it's really hard to manipulate because of the hard plastic piece at the end. Cleaning the bagless filter is kind of gross, too. It goes from carpet to wood or slate tile really well, so I am happy with it. :)"
Review 12 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dusty brownstone Brooklyn
Date:April 9, 2014

Inspect it after unpacking

Pros: size
Cons: cheap plastic
Model Number: D50
"When I unpacked it this morning I found that the handle cover had a 12" crack in the plastic, so I'm returning it for an exchange. Except for some cheap rigid plastic parts, the rest of the vacuum looked solid. It might have cracked in shipping. The plastic is worrisome. I'll revise this review if/when the replacement comes."
Review 13 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:reno,nv
Date:August 22, 2013

its ok has its quarks

Pros: good suction
Cons: bad locking mechnism very expensive attachments, less expensive models have positive locking pedel, lack of attachments
Model Number: Dyson DC41
"its a good vacuum, but I really , I don't like the weak locking it has I the up right position , it has a tenancy to un lock when pushing it over med carpet, in fact it really makes me mad, you have to turn it around and pull it, other then that it work really good, its also a little light on attachments for the price and buying the additional attachment are very expensive"
Review 14 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:citrus heights, ca
Date:February 9, 2014

No other vaccum even comes close!

Pros: lightweight, powerful suction, easy to manuver
Cons: all attachments do not store on unit., you'll realize you're not as clean as you thougt
"after using just a few times, I am convinced I will never own another vacuum. It's easy to use all of the attachments, I get great use out of every tool, easy to maneuver, gets into hard to reach places, it's light, and the suction power is amazing. I can't say enough good things, I can't believe I wasted so much money on other cheaper vacuums claiming to be as good as the Dyson. I even tried a Kirby.......nope!"
Review 15 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:October 24, 2013

Great Vacuum Power

Pros: strong suction, lots of attachments, easy to take apart to empty and clean
Cons: heavy, loud, expensive
Model Number: DC41
"Although the vacuum IS expensive, I am hoping it is worth the money. I have only had a couple weeks now but in comparison to my previous vacuum - I LOVE THIS. I did vacuum with my 3 year old Hoover before vacuuming with the Dyson just to see what my previous vacuum missed, if anything. OH it did! My canister had hair and dust that my Hoover missed. The Suction is strong and I like that the vacuum seems to suck right up to the edge."
Review 16 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2014

Faulty product, difficult warranty

Pros: none
Model Number: DC41 animal plus
"Bought the product on Black Friday but the brush head never rolled and suction is terrible except from the hose. Product is faulty and Dyson made us drive 25 minutes to the nearest service center and now we have to wait two weeks. They tested another roller head and that didn't work either. Should have returned it to costco. Basically we have a bad product that will wind up a $500 refurbished product unless they can't fix it, in which case we have to pick it up and mail it back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas,Nv.
Date:July 27, 2013

Best Vacum I've Owned

Pros: vacuums carpethard floor & includes dusting tools
Cons: wish dyson offered a upgrade program
Model Number: Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
"The Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum is the best cleaning tool I've ever purchased. For many years the price of Dyson's vacuums kept me from making the purchase until my best friend bought one & let me borrow it. Like many of the reviewers have already pointed out-I was disgusted with the dirt & hair my currant vacuum left behind! Needless to say I Could not be happier with my purchase! Dyson's hard floor attachment, Dusting tools & turbo tool rock! Seriously worth every penny!"
Review 18 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 8, 2013

Serious Design Flaw

Pros: great suction good selection of tools
Cons: hose kinks
Model Number: DC41
"For trading on his reputation as a great designer Tom Dyson sure missed it on the hoses for his upright vacuums. It takes two hands to keep the hose from kinking at the top and cutting off airflow- leading to clogs, and I suspect early failure of the hose. A simple curved handle like most vacuums have would have taken care of this.
As other reviewers have mentioned it can take a couple tries to turn the power on and the vacuum doesn't always lock into upright position despite feeling a solid click.
Otherwise this is a great vacuum, but with the hose issue in particular it's going back."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:August 14, 2013

Worth every penny and then some

Pros: extremely easy to remove debris
Model Number: Animal-41
"My husband and I went to originally purchase the animal 44. When we got to the dyson display, my husband wanted me to get the 41. I complained because it was much more than we were going to spend, and that the slim model would be just wonderful. Seriously, how could ANY dyson not be wonderful? Let me just say....THIS ANIMAL-41 IS AH-MAY-ZING!!!!! Extremely easy to put together right from the box. Snap a couple pieces together and you are ready to deep clean. We have an English Mastiff that weights around 180 pounds. Since we got the animal-41, there is not one stray hair on the carpet or tile floor."
Review 20 for Dyson DC41 Animal Plus Upright Bagless Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calabasas, CA
Date:December 31, 2013

An expensive but worthy compromise

Pros: staggering suction, multiple well designed attachments, 5-year warranty, replaceable parts
Cons: cost, hose design
Model Number: DC-41
"To my mind, the vacuum is overpriced by ~$150 (after Costco discount). It performs as advertised (incredible suction renders astonishing debris collection), includes a large array of well-designed attachments and is guaranteed for five years. There is no belt to replace on the roller brush and no bags to buy every month.
My biggest gripe lies with the hose: no handle, the hose is tight and reluctant to extend. These two factors contribute to a minor kink that develops while elevating the hose and holding the wand parallel to the floor.
Bottom line: my house will be very clean for many years to come."
1 2 next>>