Customer Reviews for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter

Why spend money on expensive fertilizers when you can create your own composting and reduce landfill waste as well? Improve the soil in your vegetable garden and flowerbeds with a Lifetime Composter. With a composter you can easily reduce, reuse, and recycle kitchen and garden waste into a rich organic soil conditioner. Compost helps retain the moisture in your soil and adds rich nutrients for healthy plants.   The Lifetime Composter is designed with black, double-walled panels to absorb and retain the heat that is necessary to decompose organic material as well as an internal bar to mix and break down the material into a rich, black organic fertilizer for your garden. The lightweight 80 gallon tumbler easily turns on its axis for balanced rotation—saving you the time and effort of turning your compost heap with a pitchfork!  You’ll also appreciate the extra large removable lid for easy filling and dumping. Material of Construction: High-Density Polyethylene (HDPE) Plastic, Powder-Coated Steel Added Value: 3-pc Garden Tool Set (Trowel, Hand Rake, and Weeder) Dimensions: 32.9” L x 30.6” W x 16” H Weight: 65 lbs Capacity: 80 gal. Warranty: 5 yr. Limited Factory Warranty Model: 60021
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
13
45 of 64(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Review 21 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:February 13, 2012

Great value

Pros: no problems putting it together or starting the co
Model Number: 60036
"Though the composer was only put in use 6 days ago, I can say that the instructions were right on the money; we are in our mid -80's and we put it together one Saturday morning. It was tricky but we did it and without yelling at each other. I have two free-standing composters but it is getting difficult to turn it - hurts both the back and arms. Thank you"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cheney Washington
Date:December 2, 2009

Well worth the time and the purchase price.

Pros: clear istructions
Cons: assembly time
Model Number: Lifetime 75-Gallon Tumbler Composter
"Great product, clear instructions, well made. The instructions state at times two adults are required for assembly. My cat and I took on the task, the Cat devoid of opposable thumbs and having an attitude wasn’t much help but with some strong tape and a clamp or two one person can assemble it. Plan on a good too hours for assembly. Well worth the time and the purchase price."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:February 23, 2010

Great Composter

Pros: spin mixing, large capacity
Cons: difficult to turn once it gets full
"This composter is a solid product and is constructed well. We have a composting bin also, and this "tumbler" makes is SO much easier to mix the contents. That being said, it does get difficult to turn as it fills up inside. There is a locking mechanism that will keep the tumbler in a steady position for adding new material and removing compost. Don't have to worry about pests."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:March 1, 2012

Best composter on the market!

Pros: size, durability, price
"I have tried a few, and none are as good as this one. Easy to assemble, but yes, a 2nd pair of hands are needed. Your 9 year old will suffice. This one stands up great in the AZ heat & with the large door, is easy to load & unload. Turns easily. Do not pack it full to the brim though, because for proper composting, you will need some space for airflow & proper tumbling.
Very highly recommended!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Caledonia, MI
Date:April 14, 2011

Excited about Purchase

"My husband and I bought this composter a week ago and we are so excited to start using it. It will take some husband and wife teamwork to put this together but the results are awesome. It’s light-weight but it seems very sturdy. We’ve already started loading it up with chicken coop bedding and kitchen scraps. One more week of that and I think it will be ready to “cook”. I could see us getting another one…."
Review 26 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Friday Harbor Washington
Date:September 30, 2010

cool composter

Pros: looks durable and is attractive
"I've never had a composter before but this one was easy to set up, and after 2 weeks of composting grass. leaves , a few stems and leaves from the vegetable and flower garden, egg shells and vegetable parings, there is no smell. I do hear alot of sloshing going on as I rotate it and hope that is alright. I've set it on the backside of the garage in a sunny location. It is sturdy and opens and closes easily --thus 5 stars I"
Review 27 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:March 2, 2011

Love this composter

Pros: produces excellent compost
"We bought one at the store, then the next year bought another. Using 2 composters allows you to fill one while the other cooks. We've been using the 2 composters for 2 years now and love them. Takes 2 people to assemble in an hour or so. I've had excellent results with the compost produced by these units in my veggie garden. The tumbler is easier to turn if you stand by the side. Large door makes loading and unloading easy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 30, 2012

Great for composting in a small area

Pros: it makes compost fast
Cons: difficult to empty.
"The process easy and efficient. Two adults are recommended but I assemble it by myself with no problem. Well designed and sturdy construction help to speed break-down and eliminate odor. We combine home-grown food and yard scraps right in the bins. Composting has never been easier!
Easy to lock and open for loading new scraps, balanced for easy rotation. The center air tube makes aeration easy and continuous; no more hand-turning piles. Great value.
"
Review 29 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:granite bay', CA
Date:June 8, 2011

worse qulity control product

"I recived it last week and spent more than 2 hrs to assamble. in last part where you need to conect leg togather, I notice that there is smal extra weld in the the leg and could not fit the legs togather. first I wanted to return it , but since i spent so much time on it and waited 10 days to receive it, i decieded to buy a file and file the extra welding part from inside. I will let you know how acutally composter is working after assably is completed."
Review 30 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2011

So far not too good

Pros: looks nice in the store.
Cons: design flaw keeps you from assembling it.
"I bought this online and then found the same exact composter in the warehouse - with the exception that the online one had a few small tools. The price difference was $80, way more than the value of the tools. So we bought the warehouse one and had to wait for the online one to be delivered to return. Costco is GREAT about returns. The model we bought had a design flaw and the manufacturer has not yet sent the parts. So I can't recommend, since we can't use it."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Marcos, CA
Date:April 20, 2011

Poor Assembly Quality

Pros: looked great & worked pretty good in the store
Cons: predrilled holes don't line up
Model Number: Lifetime Composter 80gallon tank
"It's really a pain to get something this big, open the box, start installing according to instructions, only to find out that the manufacturer predrilled the holes out of alignment. I'm assembling this for my 80 yr old mother (who's in great shape mind you) who's always wanted a composter. But having this problem along with the reviews of the tank being too heavy when full, the lock pin slipping and the hardware rusting, inclines me to pack it up now and return it. Too bad:("
Review 32 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:September 2, 2012

Painful to assemble, but does the job

Pros: composts quickly, rat proof, turns easily, able to catch the "compost tea"
Cons: extremely painful to assemble, heavy/difficult to turn when wet, no easy way to dump contents
"I was worried about rats in my on the ground compost pile, so I bought this for my daily dump of kitchen scraps. After it has been cooking for a few months, then I transfer to my old compost bin to finish. This unit is pretty easy to turn until it gets over half full of wet contents, then I pretty much have to hang on it to get it started. Its all good exercise, so I don't mind.
I place a few plastic shoe box containers underneath to catch the drippings and use those to water my garden.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Paso, TX
Date:February 20, 2012

I really like this!

"I bought this today, assembled it with the assistance of my 12 year old son (I'm the mom), assembly was fairly easy, took about 3 hours and I could not have done it alone. It does require a drill as stated in the instructions, and for the stand you have to use the self-tapping screws, the only thing we encountered was that at the barrel sides when I drilled I got too close to the corner for the plastic nuts to fit, but I don't see it as a problem. So now it is filled and we'll see how it goes from there."
Review 34 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ev ergreen Colorado
Date:October 10, 2011

Great Composter in Colorado!

Pros: locked bin keeps the animals away, speeds up the process in co
Cons: instructions are vague
"I read the other reviews so was ready for some issues putting it together. My husband and I did the job in an afternoon, not too terrible but definitly be ready to take bits apart and re-do them.
The best part about the composter is it WORKS here in Colorado composting is a challenge, we have bears, elk, mountain lions etc. keeping kitchen scraps etc away from the critters is hard --- this makes it easy. For the first time in 20 years of high altitude gardening I can compost!!!!
We plan on another one next year.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 18, 2011

no compost yet

"I purchased this in January 2011 and began composting in March. I filled it up quickly with green materials (e.g., kitchen waste) and added a straw and other brown materials to get a good 80/20 brown/green mix. I haven't added anything to it since late March and I faithfully spin it as instructed. Although the materials have broken down slightly - I don't have anything close to compost and it's 5 months later. I've had better success in the past with an old fashioned compost pile that I turn occasionally using a pitchfork."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So CA mountains
Date:October 27, 2011

bear proof so far

Cons: when full it is heavy and harder to rotate
"I'm very pleased with the composter. Easy assembly, neat and efficent way to compost. Much easier than the 3 bin method.
I've used it about a year and have gotten two wheelbarrows full of lovely compost.
The neighborhood bears have knocked it over,and sunk their teeth into it in the corners, but have not gotten it open. They visit right after I've put in the old produce or garden scraps. I'm considering a 2nd one to increase production and to have one to put fresh material in while allowing the other, fuller one to mature.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Juneau, Alaska
Date:April 6, 2011

Good, not great

"Very easy to assemble with the proper tools, needed the wife's help for about 15-minutes about an hour for the rest.
I was using an oversize garbage can for composting and finally upgraded to this one. Transferred the can's contents and could tell that it started cooking immediately. But the compost I put in was too wet and the tumbling caused the matter to form grapefruit sized clumps that won't break up without manual intervention.
It would be nice if there were a few internal protuberances to help break up and mix the material"
Review 38 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2013

Not good for intended purpose

Pros: there really aren't any
Cons: it just doesn't work
"Water collects inside the double wall and never comes out. It stays too wet and does not compost well. I am a Master Gardener and I know how this works. This thing is not good if you want to compost. However, I turned mine into a worm bin. I driledl a lot of holes in it to aid in drainage and ventilation and its a great sized worm bin. Worm castings make a fantastic compost for your garden plants. 1 pound of worms consumes 1 pound of kitchen and paper waste per week. This size bin takes care of my family of 7's kitchen waste on a regular basis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:April 12, 2011

Good composter for gadget-freak slackers

Pros: great compost
Cons: takes some effort to turn when full
"I put the composter together on my back deck by myself - it took me a couple of hours, but as I enjoy reading directions and fiddling with things, it was sort of a pleasure to do. This is the second year I've used it, and had plenty of compost to put a 3-4" layer down over a 30sqft raised bed. It's sitting in my yard right next to one of the basic on-ground composters that Costco sells; the compost it makes is much less labor-intensive. As another reviewer points out, it does take some oomph to get it spinning when it's getting full, but it's worth the effort."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Lifetime 80-gallon Tumbler Composter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saratoga, CA
Date:October 1, 2011

Large robust composter

Pros: large size, accurate assembly instructions, smooth operations
Cons: some holes could have been pre-drilled, the ventilation bar broke the first week
Model Number: 80-gallon
"Comes in a flat box, assembly needed. We drilled few holes in soft plastic panels, connected wall panels to sides and added hinge and latch hardware. Fairly simple, all pieces matched well.
Filled half-way it was a bit heavy. Once full it is easy to turn since it is more balanced.
The horizontal pipe that provides ventilation is held in place by shallow protrusions in the molded plastic. It slipped out (or possible bent/broke) within 3 days of using and turning the composer. It does not affect filling/turning, but ventilation is now only through the side holes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>