Customer Reviews for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder

Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder

Item may be available in your local Costco The Royal® 1620MX shredder is designed to meet today and tomorrow’s demand. The Heavy-duty induction motor shreds up to 16 sheets in one pass into 0.15” x 1.312” cross-cut shreds for maximum security.  Ultra fast shred speed at 5 seconds per pass. Larger shredding jobs are easily handled with a 30-Minute Continuous Run Time. Separate slot for shredding credit cards, CDs, and DVDs with ease. Large pull-out basket holds 7.125 gallons. Cabinet includes casters for easy mobility. Features: Sheet Capacity: 16 Sheet Cutting Method: Cross Cut Particle Size: 0.15” x 1.312” Auto Start: Yes Automatic Shutoff: Yes Auto Reverse Function: Yes Bin Capacity: 7.125 gallons 30 minute continuous run time Shred Speed: 5 Seconds per pass Specifications: Brand: Royal Color: Black & Silver Length: 11.25 Width:  14.82 Height:  21.00 Weight: 31 lbs. Warranty: Warranty: Cutter & Motor 5-Years Model: 1620MX
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
24 of 29(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Review 1 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2015

Awesome!, quieter then more expensive Fellows unit

Pros: quiet, shreds with ease, 16 sheet capacity
Cons: none
Model Number: 1620MX
" I bought a Fellowes - Powershred 73Ci Medium-Duty Cross-Cut Shredder, 12 Sheet Capacity from Sams Club and it worked fine but was extremely loud so I returned it and bought this shredder for $50 less. It works great and is so much quieter. It shreds CDs and credit cards without any issues (don't put credit cards in CD shred slot; they go in main slot.) I don't use a bag b;c I empty the shreds into a larger trash bag. After using this compactor I highly recommend it. "
Review 2 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:castle rock, co
Date:May 5, 2015

great shredder

Model Number: Royal 1620MX
" price was right on. worked well right out of the box. love the extended cutting time which was annoyingly short with my prior unit. highly recommended! "
Review 3 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawthorne, NV
Date:May 1, 2015

Excellent choice.

Pros: great for continuous shredding., lubrication not necessary.
Cons: width of feed slot standard paper size.
Model Number: 1620 MX
" We needed a shredder for a cleaning project, household size, but several years of accumulation. Being able to handle thick envelopes & papers for extended running time is a plus. "
Review 4 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 19, 2015

Disappointed

" Bought this one 3/2013, doesn't work already. Ran 1 credit card through it and it's busted. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015

Works great

" So far, it works great. No problems but haven't used it all that much. I like the window in the basket and the amount of papers it can spread in one pass.. Price is good for what it does. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio Texas
Date:April 14, 2015

Extrmemly great!

Pros: extremely un-complicated
Cons: no cons
" Very easy to set up, simple to use; i would recommend to anyone who is looking for a quiet hard working addition to your office. "
Review 7 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Michigan
Date:April 8, 2015

Quite the Workhorse!

Pros: shreds stacks quietly and flawlessly
Cons: heavy motor but that's why it works so well
Model Number: The Royal® 1620MX shredde
" We purchased this shredder to replace our old Fellowe's that gave up the ghost a month or so ago. As soon as we got the Royal out of the box (&read the instructions) we shredded documents no longer needed. We emptied the bin 3 times and filled it past the halfway point for a fourth time. This shredder handled it quickly, without choking, overheating, or need to use reverse. We were'nt paying close attention to the stacks being fed, but would say 12 - 18 sheets at a time. Didn't have to shred any CC's or DVD's, so cannot comment there. Very quiet machine. Nice quality shredder for the money. We highly recommend it! "
Review 8 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Celebration, Florida
Date:April 3, 2015

Excellent Product

Pros: large bin very quiet and is on wheels.
Cons: none
Model Number: 1620MX
" Used Fellowes shredders in the past and this is by far better. Quiet with a very large bin. Things to consider when buying: (1) It's very heavy. So if you can't lift heavy items you'll need help getting it into your shopping cart. (2) You'll have to shake the shredder drawer after shredding awhile to evenly disperse the paper or the overflow light comes on. (3) A Kirkland 13 gallon garbage bags fits over the large drawer/bin opening. But shredding is a messy job and I recommend a larger garbage bag for dumping the paper.
I shredded for an hour (6 to 8 sheets at a time) and no overheating. Also, bought it when it was $20 off at Costco. "
Review 9 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 3, 2015

Royal is the best

Pros: quite and efficient
Model Number: 1620MX
" I'm so pleased with how quiet and efficient that my new Royal Shredder operates. It will accept and shred a thin piece of paper, as well as, a thick envelope with junk mail. I would definitely recommend this product! "
Review 10 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY NY
Date:March 19, 2015

Fab for the Money

Pros: wheels make it easy to handle
Cons: none
" When I got this unit I was surprised that it was much bigger than I planned - for $70 it was a great deal. It is on wheels and so easy to use it is actually easier to manoeuvre than smaller units. It is super strong and can cut many sheets at once. It has yet to overheat and I used it for an hour yesterday. "
Review 11 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 13, 2015

Perfect choice for us.

Cons: doesn't accomodate a bag.
Model Number: ROYAL 1620MX
" Powerful shredder, ready to go right out of the box. Wheels great for easy moving. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Souther Cal
Date:December 9, 2014

Took a BEATING

Model Number: 1620MX
" I setup an account and am doing this review because this product just took a total Beating from my wife. 5 hours straight of shredding. never got hot. never jammed, never stopped. Nice Job Royal!! "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Calif
Date:April 21, 2014

Best Purchase for the money

Pros: nice and compact
Cons: none!
Model Number: Royal 1620MX
" This little shredder is a workhorse. Not too expensive but a really good buy.
Nice and quiet yet it takes care of business. Very helpful addition to our office. Really like this shredder!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura CA
Date:April 18, 2014

NOTHING NOT TO LIKE

Pros: quiet and fast
Cons: none
Model Number: 1620mx
" Quiet, sturdy, fast, hi-capacity, industrial strength. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, WA
Date:April 11, 2014

Works Great!

Pros: shredds great, quiet, big compartment for shredding
Cons: have to periodically push the paper down inside
Model Number: 1620MX
" Compared to our last shredder, This thing is Awesome. I am amazed at how fast it shreds and the huge compartment to collect the paper shredded is nice too. I also appreciate that it is much quieter than our last shredder and runs way longer before getting overheated! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, Fl
Date:March 28, 2014

Good value shredder

Pros: removable trash bin, wheels make it easy to move around
Cons: does not cross cut cds dvds or credit cards
Model Number: Royal 1620 MX
" This shredder is a good value compared to other shredders in the same class. It handles a dozen sheets of paper, CD/DVD, and credit cards without difficulty. Note it does not cross cut DVDs or credit cards. Just slices them into pieces. Easier than cutting them up with scissors. And it has a good-sized bin that is removable to empty the shredded material. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:March 3, 2014

Great Value

Pros: quiet great value product., good capapcity, practical and convenient size
Cons: minor uneven filling of waste bin.
Model Number: Royal 1620MX
" Great out of the box; no assembly required. True plug and play versatility with no hassle. Limited instruction manual, but then again; it is just a shredder. Much quieter than the previous shredder it replaced and this has over twice the capacity will eat staples and has a larger bin. Uneven bin filling is but a minor issue. "
Review 18 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Model Number: ROYAL Crosscut shredder 1620MX
" Pulled shredder from box, plugged it in and shredded 1 year of everything not connected with taxes. 100% better that the Fellows it replaced. Why the fuss over a manual? Common sense overrides any manual. Highly recommended "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:January 1, 2014

Doesn't work at all

Pros: green power light comes on
Cons: won't shread a thing!
Model Number: 1620MX
" Straight out of the box the power light is on. I've stuck paper into both slots and can't get a motor to start. This tells me that the product does not get inspected on its way out the door. I'll try exchanging for another one tomorrow. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2013

1 month life expectancy

Pros: none
Cons: doesn't last
" I purchased this product a year ago. It worked for 2 months and now shreds ½ a sheet of paper and freezes and beeps at me. I have been trying for months to get it to work to no avail. Time for the trash and trying a different company produt. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>