Customer Reviews for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder

Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Royal® 1620MX shredder is designed to meet today and tomorrow’s demand. The Heavy-duty induction motor shreds up to 16 sheets in one pass into 0.15” x 1.312” cross-cut shreds for maximum security.  Ultra fast shred speed at 5 seconds per pass. Larger shredding jobs are easily handled with a 20-Minute Continuous Run Time. Separate slot for shredding credit cards, CDs, and DVDs with ease. Large pull-out basket holds 7.125 gallons. Cabinet includes casters for easy mobility. Features: Sheet Capacity: 16 Sheet Cutting Method: Cross Cut Particle Size: 0.15” x 1.312” Auto Start: Yes Automatic Shutoff: Yes Auto Reverse Function: Yes Bin Capacity: 7.125 gallons 20 minute continuous run time Shred Speed: 5 Seconds per pass Specifications: Brand: Royal Color: Black & Silver Length: 11.25 Width:  14.82 Height:  21.00 Weight: 31 lbs. Warranty: Warranty: Cutter & Motor 5-Years Model: 1620MX
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
13 of 17(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Review 1 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Calif
Date:April 21, 2014

Best Purchase for the money

Pros: nice and compact
Cons: none!
Model Number: Royal 1620MX
"This little shredder is a workhorse. Not too expensive but a really good buy.
Nice and quiet yet it takes care of business. Very helpful addition to our office. Really like this shredder!
"
Review 2 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura CA
Date:April 18, 2014

NOTHING NOT TO LIKE

Pros: quiet and fast
Cons: none
Model Number: 1620mx
"Quiet, sturdy, fast, hi-capacity, industrial strength."
Review 3 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, WA
Date:April 11, 2014

Works Great!

Pros: shredds great, quiet, big compartment for shredding
Cons: have to periodically push the paper down inside
Model Number: 1620MX
"Compared to our last shredder, This thing is Awesome. I am amazed at how fast it shreds and the huge compartment to collect the paper shredded is nice too. I also appreciate that it is much quieter than our last shredder and runs way longer before getting overheated!"
Review 4 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, Fl
Date:March 28, 2014

Good value shredder

Pros: removable trash bin, wheels make it easy to move around
Cons: does not cross cut cds dvds or credit cards
Model Number: Royal 1620 MX
"This shredder is a good value compared to other shredders in the same class. It handles a dozen sheets of paper, CD/DVD, and credit cards without difficulty. Note it does not cross cut DVDs or credit cards. Just slices them into pieces. Easier than cutting them up with scissors. And it has a good-sized bin that is removable to empty the shredded material."
Review 5 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:March 3, 2014

Great Value

Pros: quiet great value product., good capapcity, practical and convenient size
Cons: minor uneven filling of waste bin.
Model Number: Royal 1620MX
"Great out of the box; no assembly required. True plug and play versatility with no hassle. Limited instruction manual, but then again; it is just a shredder. Much quieter than the previous shredder it replaced and this has over twice the capacity will eat staples and has a larger bin. Uneven bin filling is but a minor issue."
Review 6 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Model Number: ROYAL Crosscut shredder 1620MX
"Pulled shredder from box, plugged it in and shredded 1 year of everything not connected with taxes. 100% better that the Fellows it replaced. Why the fuss over a manual? Common sense overrides any manual. Highly recommended"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:January 1, 2014

Doesn't work at all

Pros: green power light comes on
Cons: won't shread a thing!
Model Number: 1620MX
"Straight out of the box the power light is on. I've stuck paper into both slots and can't get a motor to start. This tells me that the product does not get inspected on its way out the door. I'll try exchanging for another one tomorrow."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2013

1 month life expectancy

Pros: none
Cons: doesn't last
"I purchased this product a year ago. It worked for 2 months and now shreds ½ a sheet of paper and freezes and beeps at me. I have been trying for months to get it to work to no avail. Time for the trash and trying a different company produt."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:silicon valley
Date:September 8, 2013

Quiet Paper Shredder

Pros: quiet powerful 20 minutes operation
Cons: poor manual
Model Number: 1620MX
"It's very powerful and quiet. It cuts the paper by 1/8X1.25". The basket is larger than most of this type of shredder, >7 gallons. The best is the quietness during operation. The manual is very skimpy. When I shred just one sheet of paper, red Overload light was on."
Review 10 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Solana Beach, CA
Date:August 26, 2013

Powerful Shredder

Pros: pretty fast; large bin; 16 sheets at a time.
Cons: loud; poor instruction manual.
Model Number: Royal 1620MX
"This is a powerful shredder. It takes 16 sheets at a time and shreds fast. The size is pretty good; it fits under the desk, and it has a good capacity for waste paper. The only two drawbacks are that it's noisy, and there are really minimal instructions that come with it. For instance, there is nothing indicating where or how you oil it. I gave up a Fellows that had been a work-horse for seven years and finally conked out. The Fellows was quieter, but took less sheets and had a smaller bin. This is a great shredder for the price."
Review 11 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:wilton, ct
Date:April 3, 2013

don't buy

Model Number: 1620 mx
"shreds great but the bin is too small. the sensor shuts it down often and it does not take much to fill the bin. opening the bin and pushing the paper down works but save yourself the pain."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:April 1, 2013

Can't Recommend

Pros: great when it works
Cons: stops mid shred with only1 piece of paper
Model Number: Royal 1620 MX
"I returned the first one that I bought because it would stop working in the middle of shedding a single piece of paper. I will be returning this one too as it also stops shedding in the middle and just beeps. It's not overheated, and not overloaded. It just stops. It does not go forward or reverse. It's great when it works, but it doesn't work more often than not. I had a great Fellows shredded that I gave to my husband and bought this one for me. Bad mistake. Nothing but trouble."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2013

Great shredder

"Extremely quiet operation. Quick shredding. Easy to see how full the basket is because of the window. Basket removes easily to empty"
Review 14 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2013

Very good shredder!

Pros: shreds quiet no setup
Cons: none
"Pull it out of the box, plug it in, start shredding! No setup whatsoever, and it just chews thru whatever you stuff in there. Quiet, too. Pretty much just what you want!"
Review 15 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin TX
Date:March 19, 2013

This is the best value shredder ever found!

Pros: big capacity., fast., come with the wheels., very easy to pull out the container.
Cons: none
"I am so glad I found this shredder with this price. It worth every penny! I like it's capacity and the speed. It shreds everything like champ. The container is large enough, the speed is soooo fast, has wheels, you can easy to carry to different room, and it's a cross-cut, what else you need on a shredder? You won't regret!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2013

Very good deal

Pros: price, large bin
Cons: manual is not very good, manual doesn't discuss bin full sensor (3 beeps)
Model Number: Royal 1620 MX
"The only thing that is wrong with this shredder is if you get an early model the manual (it is not the best) doesn't let you know that if you hear 3 beeps, you need to empty or compress the shredder bin. I've discussed with the Project Manager at Royal and he said that later manuals will include this feature. Other than this (feature not explained in manual) the shredder is excellent."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Royal® 16-Sheet Cross-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sunny CA
Date:March 13, 2013

Very nice product

Pros: quickly shreds, easily shreds unopened envelopes, nice slide out container for the waste
Cons: did not have a user manual which would be nice, heavy, large size
"This shredder is large, well built, and heavy. I was a bit worried due to the weight of the machine, but it rolls easily on 4 wheels over carpet and linoleum. Made quick work of my shredding project. Heavy duty and great quality compared to my past few shredders."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.