Customer Reviews for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base

Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base

The Ara is Sleep Science’s™ pillow top, pure visco memory foam mattress. It is the closest thing to sleeping on a cloud. Experience the ultimate in a luxuriously soft, supportive sleep environment.  The 13” Ara boasts 6 5/8 inches of premium memory foam that envelops you in an unparalleled feeling of weightless sleep that is supported by our patented Wedge Edge Support System and our proprietary ‘Air Channel’ Base. It is covered in a super soft, bamboo blend sleep surface fabric that is cool to the touch, with elegant micro-suede side panels for a luxurious look and feel. This is the mattress which visco memory foam purists come back to again and again. 13” pillow top mattress fits the dimensions of your bed   Bedframe not included   Sleep Science Comfort scale: Plush top with support layer   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 - Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Limited Warranty: 20 years   Cover is bamboo fabric consisting of three layers. This fabric is 300g/m2, the percentage of bamboo is 40%, nylon is 40%, polyester is 20%.   Cover top layer: 100% bamboo fabric   Middle layer: 100% nylon   Bottom layer: 100% polyester Micro-suede cover sides are 100% polyester   Mattress core top layer: 3 inches 5-lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Second layer: 3 5/8 inches 5-lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Third layer: 1/2 inch air barrier   Fourth Layer: The Wedge Patented Edge Support System   Base layer: 6” Air Channel Base, dual density, dual IFD, relief cut urethane core   Cover is removable and washable   Visco Memory foam conforms to your body to relieve pressure points and improve circulation   This mattress should rest upon a solid surface for best results   Hypoallergenic and dust mite resistant   First time visco memory foam sleepers, please allow 30-60 days to adjust to sleeping on a visco elastic memory foam mattress Visco memory foam is temperature reactive, therefore the mattress will react uniquely to each individual's body temperature   The mattress is rolled and compressed for ease of delivery. There will be a slight foam odor when first opened. It will dissipate within 24-48 hours.   Mattress Limited Warranty: 20 years against manufacturer defects   King Mattress (2-Twin XL Mattresses Side By Side) dimensions: 76” W x 80” D x 13” H; Weight: 138 lbs Each Twin XL Mattress dimensions: 38" W x 80" D x 13" H; Weight: 69 lbs The adjustable base is made of reinforced steel and slips easily into an existing bed frame or can be used as a stand-alone bed. It features one of the quietest motors on the market and a sleek, stylish, streamlined design. The adjustable base also has a massage feature that is available on the head, feet or both. The wireless remote has a simple design with large raised buttons and is backlit for ease of use in the dark.   The adjustable base has 3 pre-programmed positions on the wireless remote control:   Zero Gravity (ZG): The ZG position, allows you to press one button and the bed automatically elevates both the head and feet for a feeling of floating suspension and cradling comfort   Reading: The reading position automatically lifts the head in order to sit up into a reading position   Flat: This feature allows you to press one button to return the mattress to a completely flat position    Adjustable Base: Bed frame not included Headboard and footboard brackets are not included   Standard King size features two individual Twin XL mattresses side by side Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 – Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Fits into most bed frames   Can be used as a stand-alone bed   Covered in camel colored micro-suede fabric   Super quiet motor and operating system with power down system   Wireless remote control, with back lighting and three programmed positions   3 pre-programmed positions (Zero Gravity, Reading and Flat), positions can be adjusted manually   Massage feature for head, foot or both with three levels of intensity   Operating mechanism and electronics UL tested   1 year In-Home warranty service warranty   Years 2-5 free replacement of defective parts, purchaser responsible for freight and installation   Limited lifetime warranty on mechanism   Mattress with Adjustable Base Overall Dimensions: 76" W x 80" D x 29" H If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
41 of 45(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Review 1 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:February 26, 2014

Buyer Beware!!

Pros: none
Cons: not a quality product
Model Number: Item 743174
"The bed was delivered on time, but the head massage motor was not working correctly. It took almost 3 weeks for a tech to come out for repair. He spent over an hour replacing and checking the massage feature, but could not get the bed to stop rattling when new motor was on. It sounds like a mini jack hammer under the bed with a horrible rattle. The tech called and told Southbay that he could not fix it. They told him they would call me with a resolution. They are terrible about returning calls, but when I finally reached Diana, customer service at Southbay, she said this was the normal sound for the new motor.
If that is true, don't buy this bed. Horribly disappointed in their customer service and their product."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:August 28, 2014

Quickly breaks down & vibration smells bad when on

Pros: comfortable when brand-new, adjustable base is nice for watching tv, motion transfer significantly reduced
Cons: mattress breaks down/softens within months, massage motors smell bad when in use, extremely heavy, sleeps hot
"I purchased this mattress approximately 4 months ago.
-At first, the mattress was very comfortable, despite the very strong and unpleasant odor.
-After less than 4 months of light use (single adult, 5'4'', 150 lbs), the mattress has become SO SOFT that there is a noticeable dip and I have developed extreme back/neck pain and disturbed sleep.
-Mattress sleeps VERY warm.
-The vibration motors stink up the room if I use them (even after 4 months). From day one I noticed an unidentifiable "burning"/"oil"/"plastic" smell if I used the massage feature (which is VERY loud and not very effective). I literally have to open the windows to air out the room after only a few minutes of using the massage. Hence, it's never used.
-Mattress is EXTREMELY heavy. Adjustable foundation is also very heavy.
-Will be returning the mattress. Overall, the purchase was very disappointing and definitely not worth $2,000+"
Review 3 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014

Get a Gas Mask, QUICK!

Pros: sweet relief for the body
Cons: visco foam gas emissions & residual smell
Model Number: Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
"I had returned their latex king for this product as the latex was ULTRA firm for both of us - sore shoulders, hip, back, and neck after 60+ days use.
As for the Ara Adjustable King - I learned I have a sensitivity to the emissions of VISCO Memory foam; ESPECIALLY the first week plus of it "gassing off" - I could not be anywhere near the master bedroom during this period.
I tried the ARA again approx. 2 weeks later/once the smell no longer made me cough from being in the same room.
Unfortunately, still can't tolerate the smell enough to sleep on it overnight, but the few times I've briefly relaxed on it I do enjoy the relief it brings to the pains I developed from sleeping on the Latex mattress.
It sleeps hot for me; my wife likes it cold so this is a little warm for her also, but she's willing to tolerate it for the relief created by adjusting head and foot elevations.
Delivery and set up went without challenges. The product installers discovered a controller for one twin xl was not working - the manuf. sent me a new unit right away and it now works (Costco furniture dept. was great throughout the process and has since followed up!)
Three plus weeks have passed - I'm mindful of Costco's profitability and will give it some more time for the smell to vacate. If before 90 days expires it still is too noxious, I'll pull the trigger on returning the ARA.
So for now, it sits downstairs..."
Review 4 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 2, 2014

Mattress quality disappointing

Pros: adjustible base works fine.
Cons: mattresses slide easily on top of base, mattresses move out of position from side to side, no acceptable solution for the side movement, disappointed in the poor quality of the mattresses
"We purchased the twin king bed. When the delivery crew set it up, they did not secure the twin bed frames together with the straps. They also threw out the straps when they cleaned up the boxes. Customer service advises that new straps are being mailed to us. The mattresses are very light weight and don't conform to the adjustable base. They are lifted up by the base when it is adjusted rather than folding. They are also 4 inches wider than the base and they slide easily on the top surface of the base. The result is that the mattresses move sideways easily and when the beds are adjusted they frequently separate while sleeping. When I contacted customer service, they said that they don't yet have a fix for this but that I could try putting velcro or a non-slip rug base between the mattress and base. The problem is that the mattress is so light, unless you are in it, it is lifted up when the bed is adjusted so neither of those solutions works well. I may return this bed if we cannot find a solution to this problem quickly. They need the bars that keep the mattresses in place at the bottom of the bed on the outside edges as well. The mattresses may not be suitable for an adjustable bed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 25, 2014

I sleep much better

Pros: reduce back pain, reduce neck pain, less coughing with head raised using adjustable ba
Cons: sleep hot
"My back and neck no longer hurt since I got this bed. I returned the latex bed to buy this one and both me and my wife sleep much better. It is hot for me, I am a hot sleeper. And it is difficult to keep sheets on when I use the adjustable. But all worth it to me for reduced back and neck pain."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reseda, CA
Date:March 26, 2014

well worth the money

Pros: massage
Cons: bed surface is a little high
"Not quite the miracle that I was hoping for but the bed does meet our needs. My wife who has Alzheimer's seems to like the bed. She goes upstairs a few times a day to lay down or just sit on the edge. She is always surprised when I turn on the massage on her side and almost always enjoys it. I have arthritis and the bed seems to make it a bit easier to sleep longer, though my body does start complaining towards morning."
Review 7 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 16, 2013

So Far So Good

Pros: comfortable, price, fast delivery and setup
Cons: no side rails to keep matesses together, bottom rails come off to easily
Model Number: Ara 13" Split King Adjustable Base
"Just sarted using the bed. So far so good.
The quality seems good. Sleeps a little warm, but not a problem so far.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:September 6, 2013

LOVE the Mattress

Pros: awesome! for back and rsi pain, you won't feel your partner turn over
Cons: no side brackets to keep mattresses on the platfor, too high
"I LOVE this mattress! My husband and I are both restless sleepers, and we have been waking each other for years. The split mattresses keep any motion completely separated so we no longer wake each other. It is soft on the top of the mattress and firms a bit as you sink in to cocoon you-to me it feels like the Tempurepedic Cloud I tried for 3 times the cost.
Both of us have repetetive stress and back issues. My husband no longer wakes from the pain in his arms. I have upper back and cervical spinal cord issues. I'm waking without crippling pain for the first time in years!
I've already reviewed the base separately, but I need to add that the clip's channel that holds the bottom bracket in place could be just a little deeper-it has rattled off at least once so far with daily use of the massage features. The description says that there are 3 levels for the massage, but I can only feel 2. Also, we've noticed that the 2 matttesses slide sideways. It could use side brackets as well as the bottom one.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lewiston, ID
Date:August 14, 2013

Love This Bed!

Pros: the bed was delivered withing three weeks., the delivery people were prompt and clean., very comfortable
Cons: the bed is high, nightstand hard to reach with head elevated
Model Number: 741985
"This bed is a great value. We priced adjustable beds elsewhere and no one came close to matching this price for the features included in this bed. It is very comfortable. We had been using a big name memory foam flat mattress so we are spoiled for inferior beds. This one is even more comfortable than our old one because it seems to have better air flow so we do not overheat like we sometimes did with our old bed.
This would be a five star bed except for two issues. First, the bed is quite high which is a bit tricky for my husband who has impaired mobility due to MS. Short statured people will probably have issues with the height as well. Second, it is hard to reach the nightstand when the head of the bed is elevated. Still, for the price this is an excellent, comfortable bed. I am very happy with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washougal, WA
Date:August 25, 2014

Fabulous Bed

Pros: solid and fine quality
Cons: none
Model Number: sleep science 13" ara
"Big wonderful memory foam, and it sleeps cool, I love this bed. My spouse is still adjusting, firm yet soft, you can't roll over quick like in a conventional mattress but it cradles you with no sore spots while you sleep. Love the features, head goes up, feet goes up, zero gravity, massage in head & feet"
Review 11 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:August 21, 2014

I love my bed!

"Because of health reasons, I need to sleep on my back most of the time. This bed makes it a joy to do! I love the zero g position, it is so comfortable. My husband, who moves between sleeping on his back and side, doesn't use the adjustable feature at all; but is very happy with the comfort of the mattress. He also loves the fact that when we move on the bed we don't wake each other up. I used my existing sleigh bed frame, and it works great. I use California king sheets and they work fine. I enjoy the massage feature; it helps me relax and get to sleep."
Review 12 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:August 9, 2014

Love this bed!!!

Pros: comfortable made well worth money.
Cons: none.
"My only regret is that we did not buy this sooner. We purchased this bed because I have significant digestive and reflux issues to the point that I sleep almost sitting up and nothing had worked to help get a better night's sleep. It was to the point that my joints were hurting from sleeping in weird positions and my reflux was actually worse. We looked at every brand of bed on the the market and decided to go with this one because the Costco warranty is better than anywhere else and if we didn't like it we felt covered. The cost was much better than the comparable $10k temprapedic.
We have had the bed almost a month. It took about two weeks on I get used to it but after that adjustment period, it has been amazing. The last two weeks have been some of the best sleep I have had in years. I actually wake up before my alarm, which has never happened. My joints feel great, my reflux is doing much better, and my overall sleep is tremendously improved.
My husband did not need the bed, but is enjoying it as well. To answer a few questions: a slight smell that lasted about two days but was not bad; we actually do like the vibration feature for it is relaxing when you use it for about 15 minutes; we use two twin extra long bottom sheets and king top sheet and comforter and it works; the sheets do have a tendency to pop off, but sheet straps solved that; you don't sink into it to the point that moving is difficult; it is not hot.
The crew did install the bed incorrectly, but after reading other reviews, we knew it was a possibility and it took us about 10 minutes to fix and was no big deal.
I would highly recommend this bed to anyone. I prefer firmer, my husband softer but we a both happy with this mattress."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 24, 2014

Great purchase

Pros: everything it offers: adjustability split massag
Cons: none in close to 2 months of ownership
"* I detected some of the smell but I did not mention it to my wife and she didn't say anything and if she had smelled fumes or at least bothered her, she would have voiced it.
* The bed is no taller than our previous mattress set. I'm sure it depends on the type of bed you are used to. If you currently have thick mattresses, you won't notice a difference.
*My wife decided to use the regular king size sheets we had and they worked just fine. We are able to use all the adjustable features and the sheet do not come off.
* My wife and I haven't had any issues about the mattresses being too hot. Neither one of us have noticed any temperature difference between the mattress we replaced and these.
* The adjustable bed motors are not silent but not bothersome. You would have to expect some noise as it is a frame moving up and down.
* We have not had any problems with the mattress sliding around. We installed the adjustable bases inside our existing bed frame which contains them and are a perfect fit with no issues. They probably move on people without bed frames.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 20, 2014

Incredible deal on an incredible bed

Pros: best sleep ever at 1/3 the price of a t-cloud.
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 741985
"This is the most comfortable bed we've ever owned. It's initial softness envelops you while a firmer layer below supports you. I have lower back problems and require a firm mattress but as soft as it feels, the internal support of this mattress has almost eliminated the morning back-aches I've been dealing with for years. Some people have mentioned that this mattress is similar to the Tempurpedic Cloud and I agree. We tested the Cloud while trying different models and the Ara 13 with adjustable base feels almost identical at 1/3 the price.
Like others have mentioned, we also received a call from one of the Sleep Science owners who left his direct number in case we have any problems or questions. It's great to know they care enough to do this. The install went perfectly and the installers took time to make sure everything was working perfectly and to explain all the features and remotes.
Here are a few things from other reviews that I was concerned about prior to buying this mattress and what I have found in the 2 weeks we've been sleeping on the Ara:
* Neither of us could detect any chemical odors even when it was first opened.
* The bed is no taller than our previous mattress set. I'm sure it depends on the type of bed you are used to. If you currently have thick mattresses, this bed won't seem overly tall so don't worry about the shorter legs.
* I'm pretty sure that normal sheets will not stay on these mattresses as you adjust the base up and down. I bought DreamFit sheets and would highly recommend them since they use extra straps to keep the mattress protector and fitted sheets from coming loose.
* My wife is very sensitive to "warm" mattresses but she says this bed sleeps cooler than our previous spring-based mattress.
* The adjustable bed motors are not silent but are quieter than all but one of the models we tried.
* We have not had any problems with the mattress sliding around. We installed the adjustable bases inside our existing bed frame which contains them so this may only be a problem for people who don't use a bed frame.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:June 30, 2014

love the bed

Pros: costco's return policy sleep science customer car
Cons: a little smell not much. will go away in a week
Model Number: Ara 13 inch
"we first purchased the 11 inch diamond, had it for 7 weeks, too firm for me, my husband was okay with it. We ordered the Ara, we love it. Sleep Science is wonderful to do business with along with Costco. We are very happy with bed and both companies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 7, 2014

I've never slept better!

Pros: great value, comfortable, versatile
Cons: smelly gasses for a few days, bed may be a little high for some people
"Important- it's hard to find sheets that won't pop off because of the deep mattress and the movement. Look online for DreamFit sheets. $$$ and worth it. Extra elastic holds them on and they are top quality. I first bought regular sheets for half the price of DreamFit at a big box store, but they constantly came off. I also purchased a wider comforter. Even though this bed is the width of a king, then the two heads are adjusted differently, it affects the width of the comforter
-lay on the tempurpedic cloud at a retailer. This mattress felt very similar to me
-Ara is the softest mattress from this line, but it doesn't seem overly soft to me. It's perfect.
-great if you need to sleep elevated for reflux
-I'm usually a sleeper, but my hips started hurting a while back and sleeping on my side bothers them now. I'm very comfortable sleeping on my back in this bed in a zero gravity position. It takes the pressure off your lower back
- great for watching tv in bed
- I don't think it's hot at all.
- kids don't jump on it. They give up since there's no bounce.
- the mattresses slide apart a little. Not really annoying. I just nudge them back together with my knee while standing.
- if you have a lot of pillows, they might fall back behind the head of the mattress when you raise it. This annoys my husband.
- great delivery service
- the bed is very heavy. It would be hard to move.
- the massage is kinda neat, but nothing amazing
- no risk. 100% refund if you don't like it. They'll even pick it up.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmichael, CA
Date:May 25, 2014

great mattress

Pros: comfortable adjustable positions
Cons: you don't want to get out of bed
Model Number: Ara 13" memory foam mattress with adjustable base
"Have only had mattress and adjustable frame for a few days, but I love everything so far.I was concerned having purchased online without getting to try the product.The morning after I made the purchase, the read this horrible review on the product and panic set in. I called the company to voice my concern. I was reassured, and was surprised to get a call from an owner of the company, who put me at ease about my purchase. I figured it would be days before I got used to a new bed, but slept well from the first night on. It certainly feels very different from my old pillowtop box spring set. It has a firm feeling, then softens to form around you, and I love it. I slept well on my back or on my side. If things change down the road a few months, I will write again."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2014

Loved it so much I bought another!

Pros: excellent customer service, excellent value
"This bed has improved my quality of life. I awake feeling refreshed and well-rested. The aches and stiffness I had upon waking on my old mattress are gone. I love the bed so much, I have just purchased one for my mother and one for my daughter, and they are both thrilled with their new beds. The manufacturer may even call you to thank you for your purchase and answer any questions you have about the product. I had a great buying experience. One warning -- you'll never want to sleep on a regular mattress again after you experience a truly good night's sleep on this bed."
Review 19 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Date:May 1, 2014

Love, Love, Love

Pros: price and quality vs mattress stores
Cons: none
"So glad I purchased this bed. It arrived in about 3 weeks with "White Glove" treatment, even having to carry it upstairs. The remote is large enough that you don't lose it and backlit which is great. The bed is quiet. The feature I like the best is the zero gravity. It feels so good. I'm happy and so is my back."
Review 20 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grants Pass, OR
Date:April 23, 2014

Best sleep of my life!

Pros: zero-g position is perfect for back sleeping., in that position i don't move most of night
Cons: it's heavy. who cares?
Model Number: 13" Queen adjustable
"Had this bed for a month and it's magic. Memory foam eliminates pressure points, such as my sore hips and shoulders. You just sink in a bit as the mattress molds to your body."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>