Customer Reviews for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base

The Ara is Sleep Science’s™ pillow top, pure visco memory foam mattress. It is the closest thing to sleeping on a cloud. Experience the ultimate in a luxuriously soft, supportive sleep environment.  The 13” Ara boasts 6 5/8 inches of premium memory foam that envelops you in an unparalleled feeling of weightless sleep that is supported by our patented Wedge Edge Support System and our proprietary ‘Air Channel’ Base. It is covered in a super soft, bamboo blend sleep surface fabric that is cool to the touch, with elegant micro-suede side panels for a luxurious look and feel. This is the mattress which visco memory foam purists come back to again and again. 13” pillow top mattress fits the dimensions of your bed   Bedframe not included   Sleep Science Comfort scale: Plush top with support layer   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 - Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Limited Warranty: 20 years   Cover is bamboo fabric consisting of three layers. This fabric is 300g/m2, the percentage of bamboo is 40%, nylon is 40%, polyester is 20%.   Cover top layer: 100% bamboo fabric   Middle layer: 100% nylon   Bottom layer: 100% polyester Micro-suede cover sides are 100% polyester   Mattress core top layer: 3 inches 5-lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Second layer: 3 5/8 inches 5-lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Third layer: 1/2 inch air barrier   Fourth Layer: The Wedge Patented Edge Support System   Base layer: 6” Air Channel Base, dual density, dual IFD, relief cut urethane core   Cover is removable and washable   Visco Memory foam conforms to your body to relieve pressure points and improve circulation   This mattress should rest upon a solid surface for best results   Hypoallergenic and dust mite resistant   First time visco memory foam sleepers, please allow 30-60 days to adjust to sleeping on a visco elastic memory foam mattress Visco memory foam is temperature reactive, therefore the mattress will react uniquely to each individual's body temperature   The mattress is rolled and compressed for ease of delivery. There will be a slight foam odor when first opened. It will dissipate within 24-48 hours.   Mattress Limited Warranty: 20 years against manufacturer defects   King Mattress (2-Twin XL Mattresses Side By Side) dimensions: 76” W x 80” D x 13” H; Weight: 138 lbs Each Twin XL Mattress dimensions: 38" W x 80" D x 13" H; Weight: 69 lbs The adjustable base is made of reinforced steel and slips easily into an existing bed frame or can be used as a stand-alone bed. It features one of the quietest motors on the market and a sleek, stylish, streamlined design. The adjustable base also has a massage feature that is available on the head, feet or both. The wireless remote has a simple design with large raised buttons and is backlit for ease of use in the dark.   The adjustable base has 3 pre-programmed positions on the wireless remote control:   Zero Gravity (ZG): The ZG position, allows you to press one button and the bed automatically elevates both the head and feet for a feeling of floating suspension and cradling comfort   Reading: The reading position automatically lifts the head in order to sit up into a reading position   Flat: This feature allows you to press one button to return the mattress to a completely flat position    Adjustable Base: Bed frame not included Headboard and footboard brackets are not included   Standard King size features two individual Twin XL mattresses side by side Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 – Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Fits into most bed frames   Can be used as a stand-alone bed   Covered in camel colored micro-suede fabric   Super quiet motor and operating system with power down system   Wireless remote control, with back lighting and three programmed positions   3 pre-programmed positions (Zero Gravity, Reading and Flat), positions can be adjusted manually   Massage feature for head, foot or both with three levels of intensity   Operating mechanism and electronics UL tested   1 year In-Home warranty service warranty   Years 2-5 free replacement of defective parts, purchaser responsible for freight and installation   Limited lifetime warranty on mechanism   Mattress with Adjustable Base Overall Dimensions: 76" W x 80" D x 29" H If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
52 of 56(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Review 1 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromAra 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:February 26, 2014

Buyer Beware!!

Pros: none
Cons: not a quality product
Model Number: Item 743174
"The bed was delivered on time, but the head massage motor was not working correctly. It took almost 3 weeks for a tech to come out for repair. He spent over an hour replacing and checking the massage feature, but could not get the bed to stop rattling when new motor was on. It sounds like a mini jack hammer under the bed with a horrible rattle. The tech called and told Southbay that he could not fix it. They told him they would call me with a resolution. They are terrible about returning calls, but when I finally reached Diana, customer service at Southbay, she said this was the normal sound for the new motor.
If that is true, don't buy this bed. Horribly disappointed in their customer service and their product."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromAra 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:August 28, 2014

Quickly breaks down & vibration smells bad when on

Pros: comfortable when brand-new, adjustable base is nice for watching tv, motion transfer significantly reduced
Cons: mattress breaks down/softens within months, massage motors smell bad when in use, extremely heavy, sleeps hot
"I purchased this mattress approximately 4 months ago.
-At first, the mattress was very comfortable, despite the very strong and unpleasant odor.
-After less than 4 months of light use (single adult, 5'4'', 150 lbs), the mattress has become SO SOFT that there is a noticeable dip and I have developed extreme back/neck pain and disturbed sleep.
-Mattress sleeps VERY warm.
-The vibration motors stink up the room if I use them (even after 4 months). From day one I noticed an unidentifiable "burning"/"oil"/"plastic" smell if I used the massage feature (which is VERY loud and not very effective). I literally have to open the windows to air out the room after only a few minutes of using the massage. Hence, it's never used.
-Mattress is EXTREMELY heavy. Adjustable foundation is also very heavy.
-Will be returning the mattress. Overall, the purchase was very disappointing and definitely not worth $2,000+"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014

Get a Gas Mask, QUICK!

Pros: sweet relief for the body
Cons: visco foam gas emissions & residual smell
Model Number: Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
"I had returned their latex king for this product as the latex was ULTRA firm for both of us - sore shoulders, hip, back, and neck after 60+ days use.
As for the Ara Adjustable King - I learned I have a sensitivity to the emissions of VISCO Memory foam; ESPECIALLY the first week plus of it "gassing off" - I could not be anywhere near the master bedroom during this period.
I tried the ARA again approx. 2 weeks later/once the smell no longer made me cough from being in the same room.
Unfortunately, still can't tolerate the smell enough to sleep on it overnight, but the few times I've briefly relaxed on it I do enjoy the relief it brings to the pains I developed from sleeping on the Latex mattress.
It sleeps hot for me; my wife likes it cold so this is a little warm for her also, but she's willing to tolerate it for the relief created by adjusting head and foot elevations.
Delivery and set up went without challenges. The product installers discovered a controller for one twin xl was not working - the manuf. sent me a new unit right away and it now works (Costco furniture dept. was great throughout the process and has since followed up!)
Three plus weeks have passed - I'm mindful of Costco's profitability and will give it some more time for the smell to vacate. If before 90 days expires it still is too noxious, I'll pull the trigger on returning the ARA.
So for now, it sits downstairs..."
Review 4 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 2, 2014

Mattress quality disappointing

Pros: adjustible base works fine.
Cons: mattresses slide easily on top of base, mattresses move out of position from side to side, no acceptable solution for the side movement, disappointed in the poor quality of the mattresses
"We purchased the twin king bed. When the delivery crew set it up, they did not secure the twin bed frames together with the straps. They also threw out the straps when they cleaned up the boxes. Customer service advises that new straps are being mailed to us. The mattresses are very light weight and don't conform to the adjustable base. They are lifted up by the base when it is adjusted rather than folding. They are also 4 inches wider than the base and they slide easily on the top surface of the base. The result is that the mattresses move sideways easily and when the beds are adjusted they frequently separate while sleeping. When I contacted customer service, they said that they don't yet have a fix for this but that I could try putting velcro or a non-slip rug base between the mattress and base. The problem is that the mattress is so light, unless you are in it, it is lifted up when the bed is adjusted so neither of those solutions works well. I may return this bed if we cannot find a solution to this problem quickly. They need the bars that keep the mattresses in place at the bottom of the bed on the outside edges as well. The mattresses may not be suitable for an adjustable bed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:September 2, 2014

Disappointed in Shipping Company

Pros: price
Cons: shipping company had a bad attitude
Model Number: 741985 Ara Split King
"We purchased the Ara bed from Costco because it had great reviews and trust Costco. A strong incentive was the "White Glove" Service. We haven't had a chance to use the bed yet, but I was disappointed in the Shipping Company. He seemed miffed that he had to take the bed upstairs. When asked where the bed goes, my wife told him upstairs. He made a face and my wife said "I'm Sorry" and he said "that's what everyone says". I expected better from a company affiliated with Costco. We shouldn't be made to feel bad that we paid for a service and he has to perform it. On top of that, since it is split king, there is a bracket that connects two twin adjustable bases so they stay together. He didn't do that, so I now have to go back and do his job. I look forward to sleeping on the bed. I don't place reviews, but this was annoying."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 25, 2014

I sleep much better

Pros: reduce back pain, reduce neck pain, less coughing with head raised using adjustable ba
Cons: sleep hot
"My back and neck no longer hurt since I got this bed. I returned the latex bed to buy this one and both me and my wife sleep much better. It is hot for me, I am a hot sleeper. And it is difficult to keep sheets on when I use the adjustable. But all worth it to me for reduced back and neck pain."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reseda, CA
Date:March 26, 2014

well worth the money

Pros: massage
Cons: bed surface is a little high
"Not quite the miracle that I was hoping for but the bed does meet our needs. My wife who has Alzheimer's seems to like the bed. She goes upstairs a few times a day to lay down or just sit on the edge. She is always surprised when I turn on the massage on her side and almost always enjoys it. I have arthritis and the bed seems to make it a bit easier to sleep longer, though my body does start complaining towards morning."
Review 8 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 16, 2013

So Far So Good

Pros: comfortable, price, fast delivery and setup
Cons: no side rails to keep matesses together, bottom rails come off to easily
Model Number: Ara 13" Split King Adjustable Base
"Just sarted using the bed. So far so good.
The quality seems good. Sleeps a little warm, but not a problem so far.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:September 6, 2013

LOVE the Mattress

Pros: awesome! for back and rsi pain, you won't feel your partner turn over
Cons: no side brackets to keep mattresses on the platfor, too high
"I LOVE this mattress! My husband and I are both restless sleepers, and we have been waking each other for years. The split mattresses keep any motion completely separated so we no longer wake each other. It is soft on the top of the mattress and firms a bit as you sink in to cocoon you-to me it feels like the Tempurepedic Cloud I tried for 3 times the cost.
Both of us have repetetive stress and back issues. My husband no longer wakes from the pain in his arms. I have upper back and cervical spinal cord issues. I'm waking without crippling pain for the first time in years!
I've already reviewed the base separately, but I need to add that the clip's channel that holds the bottom bracket in place could be just a little deeper-it has rattled off at least once so far with daily use of the massage features. The description says that there are 3 levels for the massage, but I can only feel 2. Also, we've noticed that the 2 matttesses slide sideways. It could use side brackets as well as the bottom one.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromAra 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lewiston, ID
Date:August 14, 2013

Love This Bed!

Pros: the bed was delivered withing three weeks., the delivery people were prompt and clean., very comfortable
Cons: the bed is high, nightstand hard to reach with head elevated
Model Number: 741985
"This bed is a great value. We priced adjustable beds elsewhere and no one came close to matching this price for the features included in this bed. It is very comfortable. We had been using a big name memory foam flat mattress so we are spoiled for inferior beds. This one is even more comfortable than our old one because it seems to have better air flow so we do not overheat like we sometimes did with our old bed.
This would be a five star bed except for two issues. First, the bed is quite high which is a bit tricky for my husband who has impaired mobility due to MS. Short statured people will probably have issues with the height as well. Second, it is hard to reach the nightstand when the head of the bed is elevated. Still, for the price this is an excellent, comfortable bed. I am very happy with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:November 23, 2014

Entirely Happy

Pros: price comfort quality
Model Number: Sleep Science Ara 13" Split KIng Memory Foam
"I can echo all the other good reviews here. We've only had the bed a few days but on the second night I slept more than I had in years. I have fibromyalgia and arthritis and it's pretty hard to find a bed that doesn't hurt me with pressure points or cold spots which is miserable to folks that have Fibro or Arthritis. The husband always said I was like the story of the "Princess and the Pea." I also have back and neck problems and am due for surgery very soon. It's one of the reasons we went ahead and got this bed now. My hubby had been complaining about back and neck pain when he got up also so it was time to see what was out there.
The quality of this bed is superb and comfort is fantastic. I couldn't believe the price when I found this set at Costco because so many others were all almost double the price for same type of bed and some did not have all the features this one does. I think I re-read the description about 10 times to make sure it was a complete bed unit and frame, not just a mattress for this price. I haven't slept through the night or fallen asleep quickly in many, many years because of pain but last night I got in bed and got in "my" position" turned the vibrator on and do not remember it shutting off #I think it stays on for 15 minutes# or waking up during the night at all. My usual nights are waking up at least 3-4 times because I was hurting. Obviously I'm not saying this bed will "cure" anything or problem but I'm thrilled with being able to get some REAL sleep for a change. It gives me energy when I get up to get through the day and deal with daily life. The hubby said this morning he already feels much better in his back too.
Could not be happier with it and our delivery guys were really great. Thanks to Costco and Sleep Science for offering this great bed at such a GREAT price."
Review 12 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:September 27, 2014

Great Purchase

Pros: comfort, price for a bed of this caliber, good looking
Cons: a bit hard to make
"I have had this bed for about a month now. Delivery was faster than expected and delivery service was professional. I was hesitant to buy a bed online, but Costco's return policy and the reviews of the bed were outstanding. The concerns some had-- odor and hot-- have not been an issue and I am sensitive to both. The bed is comfortable. It is plush as well as firm where needed. This is the best gift I have given myself in along time."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2014

Excellent

"We purchased the ARA n February 2014 and have been very pleased. The mattresses were a little more firm than I had hoped, but they have since softened slightly and are now incredibly comfortable. We now love to read and watch tv in bed, thanks to the limitless positions of the adjustable bed. Also, worth noting: the mattress use a single king fitted sheet or split-king fitted sheet if you want to adjust the beds separately."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southport, NC
Date:September 21, 2014

Best Bed

Pros: my back loves it
Cons: difficult putting on the xl twin fitted sheets
Model Number: ARA Split King Adjustable Bed with Memory Foam
"We've had this bed for only 4 nights and we are so pleased with it. I love to read in bed and the infinite range of positions allows me to do so in total comfort. I also find that my hips don't ache as they used to when I slept on my side on our pillow top innerspring mattress. We had absolutely no odor and the delivery men were very professional.
My husband wasn't sure we needed a new mattress (our 12-year old mattress had "channels" where we slept), but he is very happy with it also. And I don't think he's snoring as much, either.
The fact that convinced me to buy this set sight unseen was Costco's wonderful return policy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014

Best Bed, thank you Costco

"We are so happy with this purchase, it takes us no time to adjust, and we got best sleep ever!! Thank you Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OBX, NC
Date:September 16, 2014

YES YES YES

"We checked out the Sleep Number Beds at the mall, and they wanted almost $10k (Yes, $10,000) for a similar bed. We checked Costco and found the bed frame was exactly the same - and the mattress received rave reviews. We've had it a week now and it's the best bed we've ever had. The Zero Gravity position is like sleeping in a cloud. LOVE this bed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:September 16, 2014

Great Bed

Pros: cost, adjustable, comfort, vibration, install quality
Cons: slight smell (which went away)
Model Number: Ara 13" Split King
"We purchased this in part to address concerns about GERD for one of us. But we like this bed for a variety of reasons. First, the installers did a very nice job, got the base installed perfectly. We also took some other recommendation and got the PerfectFit sheets and mattress protectors. Those were a bit pricey, but they do fit perfectly even when the bed is fully adjusted up and down. The bed did have a slight odor which dissipated in about 3 days. It is perfectly comfortable, though it may take a few days to get used to for some, for us it was a quick adjustment and the vibration option is neat. Very happy with this purchase, great value (fraction of the price of the brand names). Would definitely recommend to others."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley, WA
Date:September 15, 2014

Favorite bed of my lifetime!

Pros: delivery and set up was quick, delivery service folks were fabulous, great product for the money, extremely comfortable, back sleepers may not even need a pillow
Cons: massage feature is a little loud from other rooms
Model Number: Ara Sleep Science Split King Adjustable Bed
"I LOVE THIS BED!!! I have always wanted an adjustable bed and I'm so happy I purchaed this one. I purchased this bed sight-unseen based on the fabulous reviews online. My bed arrived a few weeks ago and I couldn't possibly be any happier with it. The wireless remove is a bonus and the great part is being able to adjust my feet and/or my head at any time or even in the middle of the night without reaching for my glasses to find the right button on the remote. It's simple! The mattress is the perfect mix of firmness and softness. I no longer get sore hips when I'm sleeping on my side and I'm able to elevate my head to help with my sleep apnea. After this fabulous experience, I ordered the same bed for my disabled brother and one for my retired parents. I would recommend this bed to everyone. You will not be disappointed!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Muskegon, MI
Date:September 9, 2014

Great Purchase

Pros: price, well worth the money
Cons: 3-weeks to be delivered
Model Number: Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
"After looking at Temperpedic and Sleep Number, I decided to purchase this one. All give you a chance to try the mattress out for a period of time. But if you decide that you want to return it, the adjustable base is yours as that is not returnable. But with Costco, if you want to return the bed, you can return the whole system. The total cost of this adjustable bed with the mattress was less than the cost for just the adjustable base with the others. Happy so far. Other reviews talked about the odor, but for me, very little odor. I had memory form pillows that had more of an odor than this mattress."
Review 20 for Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromAra 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014

Most comfortable bed ever

Pros: cozy soft but still supportive. magic?, comfortable positions for reading or tv
Cons: massage is just vibration but i don't care
"As others have said, the bed is unbelievably comfortable, somehow feels soft yet supportive. I was hoping it would help with some joint pain and insomnia issues and it already has, in a very short time. The adjustability means I can read in bed or watch TV and still have excellent support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>