Customer Reviews for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base

Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base

The Ara is Sleep Science’s™ pillow top, pure visco memory foam mattress. It is the closest thing to sleeping on a cloud. Experience the ultimate in a luxuriously soft, supportive sleep environment.  The 13” Ara boasts 6 5/8 inches of premium memory foam that envelops you in an unparalleled feeling of weightless sleep that is supported by our patented Wedge Edge Support System and our proprietary ‘Air Channel’ Base. It is covered in a super soft, bamboo blend sleep surface fabric that is cool to the touch, with elegant micro-suede side panels for a luxurious look and feel. This is the mattress which visco memory foam purists come back to again and again. 13” pillow top mattress fits the dimensions of your bed   Bedframe not included   Sleep Science Comfort scale: Plush top with support layer   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 - Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Limited Warranty: 20 years   Cover is bamboo fabric consisting of three layers. This fabric is 300g/m2, the percentage of bamboo is 40%, nylon is 40%, polyester is 20%.   Cover top layer: 100% bamboo fabric   Middle layer: 100% nylon   Bottom layer: 100% polyester Micro-suede cover sides are 100% polyester   Mattress core top layer: 3 inches 5-lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Second layer: 3 5/8 inches 5-lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Third layer: 1/2 inch air barrier   Fourth Layer: The Wedge Patented Edge Support System   Base layer: 6” Air Channel Base, dual density, dual IFD, relief cut urethane core   Cover is removable and washable   Visco Memory foam conforms to your body to relieve pressure points and improve circulation   This mattress should rest upon a solid surface for best results   Hypoallergenic and dust mite resistant   First time visco memory foam sleepers, please allow 30-60 days to adjust to sleeping on a visco elastic memory foam mattress Visco memory foam is temperature reactive, therefore the mattress will react uniquely to each individual's body temperature   The mattress is rolled and compressed for ease of delivery. There will be a slight foam odor when first opened. It will dissipate within 24-48 hours.   Mattress Limited Warranty: 20 years against manufacturer defects   King Mattress (2-Twin XL Mattresses Side By Side) dimensions: 76” W x 80” D x 13” H; Weight: 138 lbs Each Twin XL Mattress dimensions: 38" W x 80" D x 13" H; Weight: 69 lbs The adjustable base is made of reinforced steel and slips easily into an existing bed frame or can be used as a stand-alone bed. It features one of the quietest motors on the market and a sleek, stylish, streamlined design. The adjustable base also has a massage feature that is available on the head, feet or both. The wireless remote has a simple design with large raised buttons and is backlit for ease of use in the dark.   The adjustable base has 3 pre-programmed positions on the wireless remote control:   Zero Gravity (ZG): The ZG position, allows you to press one button and the bed automatically elevates both the head and feet for a feeling of floating suspension and cradling comfort   Reading: The reading position automatically lifts the head in order to sit up into a reading position   Flat: This feature allows you to press one button to return the mattress to a completely flat position    Adjustable Base: Includes 2 wireless remotes so that each side can be controlled independently Bed frame not included Headboard and footboard brackets are not included   Standard King size features two individual Twin XL mattresses side by side Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 – Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Fits into most bed frames   Can be used as a stand-alone bed   Covered in camel colored micro-suede fabric   Super quiet motor and operating system with power down system   Wireless remote control, with back lighting and three programmed positions   3 pre-programmed positions (Zero Gravity, Reading and Flat), positions can be adjusted manually   Massage feature for head, foot or both with three levels of intensity   Operating mechanism and electronics UL tested   Lifting capacity of 1400 lbs (700 lbs lifting capacity per each Twin XL adjustable base) 1 year In-Home warranty service warranty   Years 2-5 free replacement of defective parts, purchaser responsible for freight and installation   Limited lifetime warranty on mechanism   Mattress with Adjustable Base Overall Dimensions: 76" W x 80" D x 29" H If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
(out of 86 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
79 of 86(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Review 1 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:April 15, 2015

A cloud! Really

Pros: costco's excellent return policy.
Cons: mattress is not at all as described.
" I bought this bed based on all the glowing reviews about how soft and comfortable this bed was. If sleeping on a cement slab is your idea of soft and comfortable than this is the bed for you. "
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:February 26, 2014

Buyer Beware!!

Pros: none
Cons: not a quality product
Model Number: Item 743174
" The bed was delivered on time, but the head massage motor was not working correctly. It took almost 3 weeks for a tech to come out for repair. He spent over an hour replacing and checking the massage feature, but could not get the bed to stop rattling when new motor was on. It sounds like a mini jack hammer under the bed with a horrible rattle. The tech called and told Southbay that he could not fix it. They told him they would call me with a resolution. They are terrible about returning calls, but when I finally reached Diana, customer service at Southbay, she said this was the normal sound for the new motor.
If that is true, don't buy this bed. Horribly disappointed in their customer service and their product. "
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pacific NW
Date:July 13, 2015

Wanted to like it but couldn't

Pros: adjustable bed frame: zero gravity
Cons: sleep experience, odor
Model Number: 743171
" Odor: horrible at first but subsides after 2 weeks and barely noticeable after 1 month. It smells like multiple brand new plastic shower curtains are open in your room.
Firmness: we were hoping the mattress would soften up a bit but it didn't. We even bought mattress toppers.
The adjustable bed frame was great. We kept the bed for over 2 months because we really wanted to get used to it. One of us would end up moving to another bed every night. I hate returning things that aren't defective but the sleep experience for us was terrible. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:August 28, 2014

Quickly breaks down & vibration smells bad when on

Pros: comfortable when brand-new, adjustable base is nice for watching tv, motion transfer significantly reduced
Cons: mattress breaks down/softens within months, massage motors smell bad when in use, extremely heavy, sleeps hot
" I purchased this mattress approximately 4 months ago.
-At first, the mattress was very comfortable, despite the very strong and unpleasant odor.
-After less than 4 months of light use (single adult, 5'4'', 150 lbs), the mattress has become SO SOFT that there is a noticeable dip and I have developed extreme back/neck pain and disturbed sleep.
-Mattress sleeps VERY warm.
-The vibration motors stink up the room if I use them (even after 4 months). From day one I noticed an unidentifiable "burning"/"oil"/"plastic" smell if I used the massage feature (which is VERY loud and not very effective). I literally have to open the windows to air out the room after only a few minutes of using the massage. Hence, it's never used.
-Mattress is EXTREMELY heavy. Adjustable foundation is also very heavy.
-Will be returning the mattress. Overall, the purchase was very disappointing and definitely not worth $2,000+ "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014

Get a Gas Mask, QUICK!

Pros: sweet relief for the body
Cons: visco foam gas emissions & residual smell
Model Number: Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
" I had returned their latex king for this product as the latex was ULTRA firm for both of us - sore shoulders, hip, back, and neck after 60+ days use.
As for the Ara Adjustable King - I learned I have a sensitivity to the emissions of VISCO Memory foam; ESPECIALLY the first week plus of it "gassing off" - I could not be anywhere near the master bedroom during this period.
I tried the ARA again approx. 2 weeks later/once the smell no longer made me cough from being in the same room.
Unfortunately, still can't tolerate the smell enough to sleep on it overnight, but the few times I've briefly relaxed on it I do enjoy the relief it brings to the pains I developed from sleeping on the Latex mattress.
It sleeps hot for me; my wife likes it cold so this is a little warm for her also, but she's willing to tolerate it for the relief created by adjusting head and foot elevations.
Delivery and set up went without challenges. The product installers discovered a controller for one twin xl was not working - the manuf. sent me a new unit right away and it now works (Costco furniture dept. was great throughout the process and has since followed up!)
Three plus weeks have passed - I'm mindful of Costco's profitability and will give it some more time for the smell to vacate. If before 90 days expires it still is too noxious, I'll pull the trigger on returning the ARA.
So for now, it sits downstairs... "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 2, 2014

Mattress quality disappointing

Pros: adjustible base works fine.
Cons: mattresses slide easily on top of base, mattresses move out of position from side to side, no acceptable solution for the side movement, disappointed in the poor quality of the mattresses
" We purchased the twin king bed. When the delivery crew set it up, they did not secure the twin bed frames together with the straps. They also threw out the straps when they cleaned up the boxes. Customer service advises that new straps are being mailed to us. The mattresses are very light weight and don't conform to the adjustable base. They are lifted up by the base when it is adjusted rather than folding. They are also 4 inches wider than the base and they slide easily on the top surface of the base. The result is that the mattresses move sideways easily and when the beds are adjusted they frequently separate while sleeping. When I contacted customer service, they said that they don't yet have a fix for this but that I could try putting velcro or a non-slip rug base between the mattress and base. The problem is that the mattress is so light, unless you are in it, it is lifted up when the bed is adjusted so neither of those solutions works well. I may return this bed if we cannot find a solution to this problem quickly. They need the bars that keep the mattresses in place at the bottom of the bed on the outside edges as well. The mattresses may not be suitable for an adjustable bed. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salem or
Date:May 7, 2015

White glove service exceptional

Pros: white glove service, easy to use
Cons: wait time
" Juries out on bed and will be, wife loves it so enough said. Works fine. Easy to control. Only difference from this one to $500 more expensive one is memory on remote. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sun Prairie, WI
Date:May 4, 2015

So comfortable

Pros: memory foam is awesome
" I have been needing a new bed for a couple of years. This bed feels very comfortable. I sink into it and it envelopes me while I sleep. I am sleeping much better. I can sit comfortably and watch TV too. "
Review 9 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Retired and Living in Fredericksburg, Va
Date:April 27, 2015

Good Comfort/Great $$ value

Pros: comfort/adjustable base, super $$ value vs comparable brands
Cons: mattress had a little odor first few days, adj base should include risers to adj. ht.
Model Number: Ara 13"
" After several weeks of shopping several top rated retailers and brand name bedding manufactures we feel we made a great choice and saved considerable $$ by going through this process. This is our first memory foam bedding and adjustable base that takes a little adjusting at first, but once you've slept in it for a couple of nights, you'll be hooked. The "ZG" Zero Gravity function feels like your on a cloud and with the option of adjusting the head and feet, you can all but eliminate snoring. It actually works. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Prescott Valley, AZ
Date:March 20, 2015

Adjustable Bed

Pros: the mattress - so comfortable
Cons: if you are short it is little high to get onto
Model Number: 741985
" Love this bed. Husband and I can adjust separately to sleep our best. Memory foam mattress adjusts to our sleep positions to keep us comfortable. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:February 10, 2015

Only if you weigh more than average!!

Pros: good quality
Cons: too hard
Model Number: Ara Split King
" Decent quality overall, but the wife, who only weighs 110lbs hated it because it was so hard. I weigh 155lbs and still thought it was too hard. If you weigh closer to 200, or love hard beds, this might be your bed. It does feel soft to the touch, but when you spread your body weight over the whole thing, it is simply too hard.
As for the "split" part... I would not do this again. Initially is sounded like a good idea because one of us could read or watch TV and the other could sleep, etc, but that rarely happened and it was a pain finding sheets that are decent quality and harder to make the bed. Plus, it makes the "cuddling" in the middle of the bed almost impossible. I simply learned to like "the crack". For us, we'll definitely skip it next time.
The "off-gassing".... There was some, but not too bad. After about 2 weeks, it was almost completely gone. It didn't bother us, even though other memory foam products has made my wife's throat close up..
4-stars because it is a good product.... just not for us.
Unfortunately, after 3 months of really wanting this bed to work, we had to send it back. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:September 2, 2014

Disappointed in Shipping Company

Pros: price
Cons: shipping company had a bad attitude
Model Number: 741985 Ara Split King
" We purchased the Ara bed from Costco because it had great reviews and trust Costco. A strong incentive was the "White Glove" Service. We haven't had a chance to use the bed yet, but I was disappointed in the Shipping Company. He seemed miffed that he had to take the bed upstairs. When asked where the bed goes, my wife told him upstairs. He made a face and my wife said "I'm Sorry" and he said "that's what everyone says". I expected better from a company affiliated with Costco. We shouldn't be made to feel bad that we paid for a service and he has to perform it. On top of that, since it is split king, there is a bracket that connects two twin adjustable bases so they stay together. He didn't do that, so I now have to go back and do his job. I look forward to sleeping on the bed. I don't place reviews, but this was annoying. "
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 25, 2014

I sleep much better

Pros: reduce back pain, reduce neck pain, less coughing with head raised using adjustable ba
Cons: sleep hot
" My back and neck no longer hurt since I got this bed. I returned the latex bed to buy this one and both me and my wife sleep much better. It is hot for me, I am a hot sleeper. And it is difficult to keep sheets on when I use the adjustable. But all worth it to me for reduced back and neck pain. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reseda, CA
Date:March 26, 2014

well worth the money

Pros: massage
Cons: bed surface is a little high
" Not quite the miracle that I was hoping for but the bed does meet our needs. My wife who has Alzheimer's seems to like the bed. She goes upstairs a few times a day to lay down or just sit on the edge. She is always surprised when I turn on the massage on her side and almost always enjoys it. I have arthritis and the bed seems to make it a bit easier to sleep longer, though my body does start complaining towards morning. "
Review 15 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 16, 2013

So Far So Good

Pros: comfortable, price, fast delivery and setup
Cons: no side rails to keep matesses together, bottom rails come off to easily
Model Number: Ara 13" Split King Adjustable Base
" Just sarted using the bed. So far so good.
The quality seems good. Sleeps a little warm, but not a problem so far.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:September 6, 2013

LOVE the Mattress

Pros: awesome! for back and rsi pain, you won't feel your partner turn over
Cons: no side brackets to keep mattresses on the platfor, too high
" I LOVE this mattress! My husband and I are both restless sleepers, and we have been waking each other for years. The split mattresses keep any motion completely separated so we no longer wake each other. It is soft on the top of the mattress and firms a bit as you sink in to cocoon you-to me it feels like the Tempurepedic Cloud I tried for 3 times the cost.
Both of us have repetetive stress and back issues. My husband no longer wakes from the pain in his arms. I have upper back and cervical spinal cord issues. I'm waking without crippling pain for the first time in years!
I've already reviewed the base separately, but I need to add that the clip's channel that holds the bottom bracket in place could be just a little deeper-it has rattled off at least once so far with daily use of the massage features. The description says that there are 3 levels for the massage, but I can only feel 2. Also, we've noticed that the 2 matttesses slide sideways. It could use side brackets as well as the bottom one.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
This review is fromSleep Science Ara 13" Queen Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lewiston, ID
Date:August 14, 2013

Love This Bed!

Pros: the bed was delivered withing three weeks., the delivery people were prompt and clean., very comfortable
Cons: the bed is high, nightstand hard to reach with head elevated
Model Number: 741985
" This bed is a great value. We priced adjustable beds elsewhere and no one came close to matching this price for the features included in this bed. It is very comfortable. We had been using a big name memory foam flat mattress so we are spoiled for inferior beds. This one is even more comfortable than our old one because it seems to have better air flow so we do not overheat like we sometimes did with our old bed.
This would be a five star bed except for two issues. First, the bed is quite high which is a bit tricky for my husband who has impaired mobility due to MS. Short statured people will probably have issues with the height as well. Second, it is hard to reach the nightstand when the head of the bed is elevated. Still, for the price this is an excellent, comfortable bed. I am very happy with this purchase. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:July 9, 2015

Best Mattress Ever

Pros: firm yet soft. how did they do that?, no sagging; great control of lower back
Cons: a little high; could have used shorter legs.
Model Number: ARA 13" dual king with adjustable frame
" I love love love this mattress. We have had it for 3 months and we have nothing negative to say. Have been sleeping like a baby since mattress arrived. I'm short so the height is a bit of an issue. Wish I had known that shorter legs were an option. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:June 30, 2015

Just what we needed in a new bed

Pros: the mattess is firm but yet soft & comfortable
Cons: height with standard legs shorter legs should be, offered as an alternate with the order
Model Number: Ara 13" Split King #743171
" As stated by others, the bed is VERY high. We contacted South Bay International and they sent us 3" legs (vs the standard 8" legs) which lowered it to the height of a normal bed. We love it and are very pleased with our purchase. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sleep Science Ara 13" Split-King Memory Foam Mattress with Adjustable Base
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:N. Calif.
Date:June 13, 2015

Excellent Comfortable Bed

Pros: price comfort and the ajustable frame
Cons: can think of none
" Due to medical issues my Dr. recommended a memory foam mattress with the ergo frame. After pricing at the local mattress centers, the price was very hard to swallow. After reading all the reviews on this bed and the fact that it was on sale at the time, I jumped. I will never regret this purchase. I experienced none of the negatives that some reviewers talked about. The slight odor from the foam was nothing to me and the fact that I had new carpet installed at the same time, I think the carpet odor was stronger. The bed works perfect so far (6 weeks) and no issues with the motors like some folks have had. Best thing I have ever done for my joints. The brand new mattress pads were a challenge to install but had I had a second set of hands that would have been easy. The mattresses slide easy on the frame to afford room to install the pads & sheets. Found sheets online at very reasonable prices as well and they are not hard to find "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>