Customer Reviews for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

Improve home health and comfort by eliminating dampness, mold and mildew growth with the Arctic Aire model ADR70B1C. With a 70 pint capacity, this model will cover up to 3,800 sq.ft. Not only is this dehumidifier ENERGY STAR® compliant but it also uses environmentally friendly R410a refrigerant. The removable air filter makes cleaning a breeze, while the automatic de-icer prevents ice from building up on the coils. The electronic controls and adjustable humidity settings allow you to easily be in charge of your home’s conditions. These dehumidifiers boast quiet operation; therefore you won’t be disturbed, no matter which room you place it in. The direct drain option means that you can run your dehumidifier continuously without having to empty the bucket and the provided castors allow for easy portability. Features: Color: Grey / Charcoal 70 pint (33.1 liter) capacity dehumidifier per 24 hours For areas up to 3800 sq. ft. depending on conditions Energy Star compliant Electronic controls Auto re-start feature 2 fan speeds Low temperature feature, unit continues to operate down to 41F Quiet operation Adjustable humidity settings Auto de-icer prevents ice build-up on coils Removable air filter is easy to clean Easy-roll castors for smooth portability Direct drain option for continuous operation Dimensions: 15 3/8” W x 23 1/4” H x 11” D Weight: 40.3 lbs. Model: ADR70B1C
Average Customer Rating:
3.18 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
(out of 61 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
14
37 of 61(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suwanee, GA
Date:September 9, 2014

ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: works as expected
Cons: none
Model Number: ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier ADR70B1C
"Have been using this for last several weeks and it's doing exactly what we want...taking the humidity out of the basement during these hot/humid southern days."
Review 2 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:July 20, 2014

So far so good ...

"Purchased this as a replacement for a Frigidaire (that had great reviews) did not work upon arrival. So far, so good with this one. Pulled a full bucket of water out per day for the first week and keeping the lower level at a steady 45-50% humidity."
Review 3 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, In
Date:July 14, 2014

Works well

Pros: quiet
"I have only had this for 2weeks but it has worked very well."
Review 4 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Becker, MN
Date:July 12, 2014

Love it

Pros: pulls tons of moisture out of the air quickly
Cons: none
Model Number: DDR70B1CP
"I purchased this dehumidifier in the Costco store one month ago and it has worked perfectly for the last month. Best Dehumid I have owned. I have it in a basement and it pulls tons of water out of the air effortlessly and quickly. It is very quiet and I also like the easy to clean filter and the color is nice, not being the same boring white as all others. I don't use the hose to drain - I empty by hand- so I don't have the running fan problem since it shuts off when the pan is full. I highly recommend this unit. Not sure why some people are having issues."
Review 5 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brunswick,Ohio
Date:June 21, 2014

Had my doubts but product came thru!

Pros: easy to empty bucket and air filter on top of unit, quiet operation and turns on and off.
Cons: drain tube for hose must be attached to drain tube, and it has to be taken off if you use the bucket.
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"After reading all the reviews I went ahead and purchased unit. Despite what other reviews said unit starts and stops automatically as I hoped it would. So far it has removed large amounts of moisture from my basement and fan is quiet on turbo speed. Thinking of buying another one for another part of the basement. Also a factor was the warranty period of 2 years with an additional 2 months for registrating online."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wash DC
Date:October 24, 2013

Good humidifier

"Never had a humidifier before but new older home required to have one and by researching it I knew what to look for and this one delivered on every aspect."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suburban Atlanta, GA
Date:August 29, 2013

Good Buy - Works Well

Pros: best price for size - convenient drain feature
Cons: none - will have to wait to see if it holds out
Model Number: Danby Artic Air model ADR70A2C
"Started to dry my unfinished basement (1800 sq. ft) day one! Dropped humidity level from 82 down to an average of 47 in less than a week. While the fan stays on all the time (this is not a bad thing as it continually circulates the air.) to me it is not overly loud. I am thrilled at the effectiveness of this product. I hope it lasts for the long haul, we will have to wait and see. Another great Costco buy."
Review 8 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Royalton, Ohio
Date:August 25, 2013

ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: pulls humidity fast
Cons: none so far
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"We have had this unit for over 3 weeks, and it is running strung, connected the drain hose and run it continuously and you can feel a difference."
Review 9 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2013

Too early to tell, really

"What I like about it: the color, the design (air intake in front, air discharge on top) that allows you to place it close to a wall. It really removes the moisture from the air! Until I get it hooked up to a garden hose, I have to empty the bucket twice a day. It's too early to judge durability, and that's a major issue. I have 2 other dehumidifiers, one LG, one Kenmore, and neither lasted more than a year or 18 months. They also had other limitations- air intake at back, making it necessary to place them several feet away from walls, and buckets that are very hard to remove and replace. I'm hoping this one will work for me in the long range, Costco should ask for follow-up reviews at 6 mo. and 1 yr."
Review 10 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Date:August 24, 2013

Great Purchase

Pros: easy to use
"It was worth the wait for this item.
It was a wonderful buy at the discounted price Costco offered. After the dehumidifier arrived, I saw the quality of the product--the good workmanship--and the ease of using it, I realized what a GREAT buy this
dehumidifier was. I have had other dehumidifiers over the years. The others did not equal this one.
"
Review 11 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013

Works GREAT

Pros: love everything about it.
"So happy with this product. Amazed at how much moisture was in our basement. Within a matter of minutes you could tell how good it was working."
Review 12 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:August 22, 2013

70 pint Danby humidifier

Pros: it is quiet
Cons: it is heavy
"this product operates quietly and is easy to set up."
Review 13 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:White Lake, MI
Date:August 20, 2013

Great unit so far

Pros: easy to move (casters), garden hose drainage option, humidity sensor and target setting, energy efficient, quiet
Cons: water canister a bit tricky to pull out, heavy but what 70pt dehumidifier isnt?
Model Number: ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
"Recently moved into a Michigan home with a 400sq ft+- basement. Basement had a noticeable smell and high humidity level. Got this dehumidifier plugged in, hooked up a cheap 50' hose leading to my sump reservoir, plugged in power, and set to a humidity level of 50. Within 24 hours, the smell was far less noticeable, and the humidity was much more bearable. With 48 hours, the humidity is consistently at 50, and the smell is just about non existent. The basement is unfinished, but with this dehumidifier going, I feel like the basement could now be a very comfortable space. The drainage hose option is great! Just hook it up, turn it on, and forget it. No canister to empty. Really like the option to set the target humidity level. Some online searching suggested that 50 was a good level, and I can verify that it is for us. Also, MUCH quieter than my last dehumidifier. Couldn't be happier with my purchase!"
Review 14 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 18, 2013

It works as expected!

Pros: works as advertised.
Cons: none so far
"There's a lot of mixed reviews on this product, but we gave it a chance knowing Costco has a great return policy. I have to say it is working as advertised by bringing down the humidity in our home very quickly to the desired set number. We've been using it for about 2 weeks now on a daily basis, and so far so good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:August 12, 2013

Great 70-Pint Dehumidifier

Pros: does a great job of reduce humidity fast, comes with a drain tube
Cons: none
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"I use it for about a week. It works great. I tested it first with the bucket, the bucket was full with water within 4 hours. Then connected the drain tube to the drain, and it's has been working like a champ :). Then timer also works. I ordered the 2nd one. the 2nd will arrive tomorrow. Love this dehumidifier. I didn't have any issue like other reviewers with the % not changing and keep at 30% all the time. Maybe it was bad luck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:July 29, 2013

Worth it!

Pros: efficient large coverage area
Cons: none yet
"I am very pleased with this unit. Arrived promptly, and makes the basement very dry ( 1500 sq ft.). It allowed me to shut off two older units that were not able to perform as well as this single unit does. We leave the house closed up as we travel quite a bit, and both remarked on how "dry" the house felt even on the upper level despite a very hot and humid spell!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:July 17, 2013

So far so good

Pros: drain is up high, can set the humidity, lighter than my old unit
Cons: fan runs continually, runs if you pull the pan out
Model Number: ADR69A2G
"Arrived very fast and in good condition. Waited awhile before I turned it on so coolant could settle. Like the fact that you can set it to specific humidity - will have to see how accurate it is - don't like that the fan runs all the time. Easy to empty BUT it will continue to run when you pull out a pan that isn't full. Like how the hose connects up high so will make draining easier for me."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2014

It works like it should

Model Number: ADR70B1C
"This dehumidifier works as well or better than other dehumidifiers that I've used. The one drawback is that the bucket is fairly small compared to other brands of dehumidifiers."
Review 19 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:August 22, 2014

Good if you can take the heat

Pros: takes out a lot of water quickly, runs reliably
Cons: generates a lot of warm air, bucket could be a little easier to pull in and out
Model Number: ADR70B1C
"I bought this for our apartment in San Francisco. It takes out an amazing amount of water. The bucket can be filled in just a few hours. When the compressor is running, it puts out warm air (essentially we are running an air conditioner in a confined space) and can really heat up our place if we leave it on continuously. Our plan is to use it whenever we would turn on the heater."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:June 21, 2014

Great purchase at a great price for home delivery.

Pros: quick and easy setup, packaged well, multiple setting options
Cons: plastic hose connector (a little skimpy but works)
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"The product came packaged very well. Was easy to get out of the box and ready for use. Once straps were cut, box lifted right off. Got it into the basement right away and connected a hose to back of unit so that I can run continuously. Humidity in basement has dropped from 65% to 45% in less than 24 hours and unit shuts off once it hits my setting of 45%. Definitely can feel the difference. Unit is quiet especially since I have it on the high setting, Will have to see about the long haul but so far the product seems to be working well and doesn't seem to have any quirks. I've never had a dehumidifier last longer than two years so I guess if it makes that benchmark, I would be happy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>