Customer Reviews for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

Improve home health and comfort by eliminating dampness, mold and mildew growth with the Arctic Aire model ADR70A2C. With a 70 pint capacity, this model will cover up to 3,800 sq.ft. Not only is this dehumidifier ENERGY STAR® compliant but it also uses environmentally friendly R410a refrigerant. The removable air filter makes cleaning a breeze, while the automatic de-icer prevents ice from building up on the coils. The electronic controls and adjustable humidity settings allow you to easily be in charge of your home’s conditions. These dehumidifiers boast quiet operation; therefore you won’t be disturbed, no matter which room you place it in. The direct drain option means that you can run your dehumidifier continuously without having to empty the bucket and the provided castors allow for easy portability. Features: Color: Grey / Charcoal 70 pint (33.1 liter) capacity dehumidifier per 24 hours For areas up to 3800 sq.ft. depending on conditions Energy Star compliant Electronic controls Auto re-start feature 2 fan speeds Low temperature feature, unit continues to operate down to 41F Quiet operation Adjustable humidity settings Auto de-icer prevents ice build-up on coils Removable air filter is easy to clean Easy-roll castors for smooth portability Direct drain option for continuous operation Dimensions: 15 1/4" W x 23 5/8" H x 11 1/8" D Weight: 45.2 lbs. Model: ADR70A2C
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
26 of 40(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wash DC
Date:October 24, 2013

Good humidifier

"Never had a humidifier before but new older home required to have one and by researching it I knew what to look for and this one delivered on every aspect."
Review 2 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suburban Atlanta, GA
Date:August 29, 2013

Good Buy - Works Well

Pros: best price for size - convenient drain feature
Cons: none - will have to wait to see if it holds out
Model Number: Danby Artic Air model ADR70A2C
"Started to dry my unfinished basement (1800 sq. ft) day one! Dropped humidity level from 82 down to an average of 47 in less than a week. While the fan stays on all the time (this is not a bad thing as it continually circulates the air.) to me it is not overly loud. I am thrilled at the effectiveness of this product. I hope it lasts for the long haul, we will have to wait and see. Another great Costco buy."
Review 3 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Royalton, Ohio
Date:August 25, 2013

ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: pulls humidity fast
Cons: none so far
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"We have had this unit for over 3 weeks, and it is running strung, connected the drain hose and run it continuously and you can feel a difference."
Review 4 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2013

Too early to tell, really

"What I like about it: the color, the design (air intake in front, air discharge on top) that allows you to place it close to a wall. It really removes the moisture from the air! Until I get it hooked up to a garden hose, I have to empty the bucket twice a day. It's too early to judge durability, and that's a major issue. I have 2 other dehumidifiers, one LG, one Kenmore, and neither lasted more than a year or 18 months. They also had other limitations- air intake at back, making it necessary to place them several feet away from walls, and buckets that are very hard to remove and replace. I'm hoping this one will work for me in the long range, Costco should ask for follow-up reviews at 6 mo. and 1 yr."
Review 5 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Date:August 24, 2013

Great Purchase

Pros: easy to use
"It was worth the wait for this item.
It was a wonderful buy at the discounted price Costco offered. After the dehumidifier arrived, I saw the quality of the product--the good workmanship--and the ease of using it, I realized what a GREAT buy this
dehumidifier was. I have had other dehumidifiers over the years. The others did not equal this one.
"
Review 6 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013

Works GREAT

Pros: love everything about it.
"So happy with this product. Amazed at how much moisture was in our basement. Within a matter of minutes you could tell how good it was working."
Review 7 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:August 22, 2013

70 pint Danby humidifier

Pros: it is quiet
Cons: it is heavy
"this product operates quietly and is easy to set up."
Review 8 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:White Lake, MI
Date:August 20, 2013

Great unit so far

Pros: easy to move (casters), garden hose drainage option, humidity sensor and target setting, energy efficient, quiet
Cons: water canister a bit tricky to pull out, heavy but what 70pt dehumidifier isnt?
Model Number: ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
"Recently moved into a Michigan home with a 400sq ft+- basement. Basement had a noticeable smell and high humidity level. Got this dehumidifier plugged in, hooked up a cheap 50' hose leading to my sump reservoir, plugged in power, and set to a humidity level of 50. Within 24 hours, the smell was far less noticeable, and the humidity was much more bearable. With 48 hours, the humidity is consistently at 50, and the smell is just about non existent. The basement is unfinished, but with this dehumidifier going, I feel like the basement could now be a very comfortable space. The drainage hose option is great! Just hook it up, turn it on, and forget it. No canister to empty. Really like the option to set the target humidity level. Some online searching suggested that 50 was a good level, and I can verify that it is for us. Also, MUCH quieter than my last dehumidifier. Couldn't be happier with my purchase!"
Review 9 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 18, 2013

It works as expected!

Pros: works as advertised.
Cons: none so far
"There's a lot of mixed reviews on this product, but we gave it a chance knowing Costco has a great return policy. I have to say it is working as advertised by bringing down the humidity in our home very quickly to the desired set number. We've been using it for about 2 weeks now on a daily basis, and so far so good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:August 12, 2013

Great 70-Pint Dehumidifier

Pros: does a great job of reduce humidity fast, comes with a drain tube
Cons: none
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"I use it for about a week. It works great. I tested it first with the bucket, the bucket was full with water within 4 hours. Then connected the drain tube to the drain, and it's has been working like a champ :). Then timer also works. I ordered the 2nd one. the 2nd will arrive tomorrow. Love this dehumidifier. I didn't have any issue like other reviewers with the % not changing and keep at 30% all the time. Maybe it was bad luck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:July 29, 2013

Worth it!

Pros: efficient large coverage area
Cons: none yet
"I am very pleased with this unit. Arrived promptly, and makes the basement very dry ( 1500 sq ft.). It allowed me to shut off two older units that were not able to perform as well as this single unit does. We leave the house closed up as we travel quite a bit, and both remarked on how "dry" the house felt even on the upper level despite a very hot and humid spell!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:July 17, 2013

So far so good

Pros: drain is up high, can set the humidity, lighter than my old unit
Cons: fan runs continually, runs if you pull the pan out
Model Number: ADR69A2G
"Arrived very fast and in good condition. Waited awhile before I turned it on so coolant could settle. Like the fact that you can set it to specific humidity - will have to see how accurate it is - don't like that the fan runs all the time. Easy to empty BUT it will continue to run when you pull out a pan that isn't full. Like how the hose connects up high so will make draining easier for me."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:October 17, 2013

Good Buy

Pros: it says the moisture level is where it should be
Cons: fan runs all the time, owners instructions could be more informative
Model Number: 70 pint ArcticAire dehumidifier by Danby
"After a rocky start it seems to be working fine. I wish it would shut off when it's not removing moisture. It says it's energy star rated but it seems like it should shut totally off when not needed."
Review 14 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Central Minnesota
Date:September 1, 2013

Efficient, But Constant Fan

Pros: temp and humidity display, two speed fan, timer on/off, recall settings if power lost
Cons: the fan stays on even after humidity level reached
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"This unit seems to be very efficient, removing humidity quickly. And, the included features are a plus, especially the included hose for constant drain."
Review 15 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Burlington, VT
Date:August 23, 2013

ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier - Great purchase !

Pros: works efficiently., circulates air in the basement with enough power., extracts humidity at high level than other models.
Cons: more time control could help efficiency.
Model Number: ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
"Received this Dehumidifier by mail delivery. No issues in packaging, Easy set up, using in the basement for this year's incredible humid summer. Works efficiently."
Review 16 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:August 22, 2013

I don't like humidifiers ...

Pros: works, fast shipment
Cons: loud, can't get it down to 45% even on high 24 hrs/day
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"But they are necessary in basements, so I bought this one and it is working pretty well. It says 3500 sq ft, we have about 2,000 in the basement. It has to run all the time and does get it down from 68% to the high 40's/low 50"s, but it can't drive it down to 40-45, no mater how long it tries. It may be my imagination but it seems to reduce the humidity more in tank mode than when I have it hooked the plastic discharge line."
Review 17 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2013

decent value

Pros: looks well constructed
Cons: fan running even when humidity level is reached
"seems to be a good dehumidifier but the only thing I don't like is that the fan does not turn off when humidity levels are achieved."
Review 18 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Breckenridge, Colorado
Date:August 22, 2013

Good product for our application

Pros: easy setup and initial use
Cons: loud/noisy and the fan runs all the time.
Model Number: ADR70A2C
"Have had the unit installed for about two weeks. We have a storage room the is below grade and the humidity has always been high (>60%). After two weeks, the humidity is holding at 20% measured by a device I mounted away from the unit. We don't have a drain in the floor, so the water must be emptied frequently. The fan would be irritating if it was in an occupied room. We have had no problems with the unit."
Review 19 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:August 21, 2013

Great help

"Everything great except bucket started cracking on 2nd day"
Review 20 for ArcticAire 70-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Virginia
Date:August 20, 2013

good job but very loud

Pros: does what it's supposed to do well
Cons: very loud
"This item gets the job done...just very loudly I might add. It's louder than any other appliance, furnace, et. I've ever owned. I've tried multiple places to set it to rule out the floor too. It's in my basement, so it's not a real big deal unless you're entertaining people down there, then I have to turn it off until everyone leaves."
1 2 next>>