Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras

[LNR282C4B]
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
10 of 14(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2014

Didn't work out in the end for me

"I have installed several systems and this was my first with IP cameras. Everything started out OK, I got connected to the internet with some problems but it all worked out. Picture quality is very nice. Now for the bad stuff: after about 4 months the hard drive stopped working and one of the cameras quit too. Tech support was very hard to deal with and after hours of frustration, they finally agreed to replace the DVR and the camera (after I mailed it to them at MY expense). Got everything back, now another 3 months later, the cameras kept going offline and I had to unplug and replug them in weekly. A few days ago the DVR stopped working (it just freezes up) and tech support says I need to send it back in...again. If I can return this junk to Costco, I will. Lorex is not ready for prime time with this IP technology."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Prescott, AZ
Date:May 27, 2013

Good but I was expecting better

"A very easy to setup system with (mostly) awesome video quality, but I was expecting more.
Pro's:
-Easy to setup and use.
-Nice video quality, with a minus (below).
-Good apps for cell phones.
Con's:
-Proprietary cameras: they are not true 802.3af PoE, nor will they work through another switch: must be directly connected to the NVR.
-Lots of video aberration (straight lines are bent) from the cameras if not mounted perfectly level (head on) to distant structures.
-2 of the 4 camera's I got had stripped threads on the locking collars, making it impossible to aim & secure them.
-Motion detection is useless...way too many false alerts from shadows.
-Poor search capabilities on playback of recorded video.
-No PTZ camera support.
I really wanted to like this system, but it's going to be returned. Brent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salinas, CA
Date:May 26, 2013

Good value for HD system with POE cameras

Pros: records in hd, records at night, power-over-ethernet cameras, cameras feel very sturdy, 2tb hard drive, comes with 400 feet of ethernet (100 ft/camera), lorex customer support are fairly responsive
Cons: software has a steep learning curve
Model Number: LNR280
"Note: This system has a myriad of settings. Be sure to download the full product manual from Lorex's website (150+ pages) to help configure everything. The product will come with Quick Setup Guides, but they don't cover all the system's settings.
I bought this system mainly because it records in HD, has eight channels and uses power-over-Ethernet for the cameras. A lot of reviewers claim the system is easy to set up. It is in some aspects but not in others. I'm a fairly technical person, but you will need some level of understanding of networking to have an "easy" setup. If you're not savvy with this type of thing, find a teenager who can help. In addition, if you're planning to mount the cameras on the outside of your house, you will need to route the Ethernet cables through your attic. Depending on your attic size, this may or may not be "easy." I recently learned that Lorex offers system setup service--not sure of the cost, though.
All that said, I am happy with my purchase--so far. I still have to configure all the software settings and upgrade my Android-based smartphone to one running 2.3 or above. I also may need to upgrade my home PC to one with a faster processor."
Review 4 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2013

Worst Night Vision Ever

Cons: horrible night vision with too much noise/grainy
"The pictures claim clear imagining during day and night. Day is okay but no where near what they claim. Hard to recognize face details during day. Night time forget about it. There is so much noise in the picture and it is so grainy that you would never figure out what you were looking at. Faces forget about seeing them..."
Review 5 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:May 24, 2013

Lorex LNR282C4B

Pros: quality, poip, networked, view via smartphone & pc, options, costco concierge
Cons: fan noise (louder than avg pc), nvr size (large), hold time for lorex tech support
Model Number: LNR282C4B
"I purchased this system through Costco. The price is a little more than I wanted to spend, but the quality of the system seems to be superior to others I looked at. I wanted a network system that would allow me to view the camera's via my pc through the internet and my smart phone. After the software and network setup, which took me approximately 8 hours and a few phone calls, I would have to say I'm very pleased with the network option. The biggest issue I ran into was setting up the network options. In the end, I found out that my IP provider had a password set on the router and it took me forever to get it. It had nothing to do with Lorex. Although the picture is pretty good through the network, you can tell it is slightly inferior to viewing the excellent picture via a direct-connect monitor. I really like the PoIP, but am wondering how long the Cat5 plastic plugs will last in the attic. I have had to reconsider where I located the NVR because the fan is quite a bit louder than a typical computer fan. Overall, I am pleased with the purchase."
Review 6 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:May 24, 2013

Very clear picture HD system

Pros: clear image nice remote view, good return policy., easy installation 1 wire for ea. camera.
Cons: noise fan., slow recording fast moving objects., can't adjust sensitivity well enough to control., customer service waiting time over 2 hours.
Model Number: LNR280
"The system have very clear picture overall, the noise from DVR is somewhat loud, sound more like a refrigerator, I'm waiting for Lorex hope they have an update soon or different fan that will make it quiet before I decide to return the item, It won't record fast enough for fast moving objects, It was very difficult to get the remote viewing set up customer service very slow waiting time was sometimes 2-1/2 hours or longer, other times never called back but after all I finally connected to the right person and he got the connection completed. The infrared lights are glow red at night to easy to see!, very nice size cameras small compact also the DVR is compact very nice other than the noise, very easy to set up with POE wires, I think the price is a good selling point also for the 4 camera system and you have the option to purchase other cameras to add.
I have not yet tried all other cameras and recording options.
I ordered extra cameras already to add to the system and is all working nice.
"
Review 7 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:May 21, 2013

Lorex 1080p

Pros: works well, good software control / features, good recorded images, easy setup
Cons: visable red illumination leds on camera heads, small high speed noisy fan on nvr, an 8 camera kit w/ volume discount would be nice
"I purchased a Lorex NVR surveillance system and some extra cameras to augment my system. I tested it for 4 days without any problems. It was easy to set up and the recorded footage was very good. The fan is small and high speed. It does make a bit of noise, but I am installing the NVR in a utility room so it will not make any difference in my application. Ideally it should go in a ventilated safe for armored protection, which would reduce the noise further. When the warranty expires, I will probably ventilate the top cover and add a large slow moving muffin fan to make the unit quiet and provide better heat removal. The one thing I did not like about the system, as in all the systems, they are near IR. The illumination LEDs glow dim red; easily visible at night. Not quite as stealthy as I would like. A few nanometers shorter wavelength would help make them invisible to most eyes."
Review 8 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle WA.
Date:May 13, 2013

Nice images, but poor motion sensing algorithms

Pros: easy power over ethernet setup, high quality 1080p images very clear, iphone app actually works remotely with ddns, has windows pc client app, support team was helpful during startup
Cons: must improve the "motion detection" algorithm, does not have an os x client application for mac, no ptz camera available yet
Model Number: LNR282C4B
"The core Lorex HW appears to be a good value with high quality 1080P PoE camera and NVR components. At it's heart this is a UNIX based system but it was easy to setup, and it's working to record video. I like it with one glaring exception.
The motion detection algorithms trigger on every sun shadow or slight movement, no matter how I ramp down the sensitivity or set the "image detection area.
Lorex needs to invest in their "motion detection" capability and reduce their false alarm rates.
My first day I had >400 emails from the system and that's not acceptable for any system. Even on the least sensitive setting, and with trigger ranges set, the system is still triggering way too often to trust it to email me on an alarm.
If this isn't updated or changed, I may in fact remove the system and return it to Costco. This is a KEY software feature of any Surveillance System you select, because that one key feature, being able to "accurately" trigger you during an event is a KEY reason to buy and trust your surveillance system."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:May 11, 2013

Excellent system integration

Pros: good picture quality, software works well, good support available from lorex website, mac compatible with safari plugin, cameras are excellent in low light, very good price / performance combination
Cons: remote viewing requires computer-savvy user
Model Number: LNR282C4B
"I'm very happy with this system. Setup is relatively straight-forward. The NVR recognizes and displays the cameras about 30 seconds after connection. I had little trouble connecting the NVR to my local computer network following the instructions for setting up my router.
I use Macs, not Windows PCs. There is a plugin for the Safari browser that is super easy to install and makes either local or remote viewing of the Lorex cameras very easy. It's probably easier setting up the Safari plugin than installing the Lorex software in Windows!
I was also able to get remote viewing setup on iPhone and iPad, using the Lorex NetHD and NetHD Plus apps from iTunes.
This is relatively easy if one follows the instructions on the Quick Start Guides that come with the system. The only problem was that after setting up the apps, the first time I tried to go to "Live View", both my iPhone and iPad gave me "Insufficient Memory" warnings. But, once I left the app and opened it again, the live camera views came up fine.
Noise is not an issue for me. Fan noise is equivalent to my computer gear -- no better or worse."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex 8 Channel Full HD PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 HD 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:May 10, 2013

Too loud - had to return

Pros: image quality poe
Cons: fan is too loud
Model Number: LNR282C4B
"Sadly, I really wanted to keep this but the fan noise is unacceptable in the location that I am able to put it. I have several computers in the room and other electronic equipment, and this DVR is louder than all the other electronics I have COMBINED. It's just unacceptable. Maybe if you have a place you can put it where noise isn't an issue it would work for you."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.