Customer Reviews for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras

[LHD1082001C4B]
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:October 2, 2012

Lorex LHD100 4 HD Camera system

Pros: 1080p, 100ft cables, hdmi output, tech support
Cons: could use more than 4 camera's but made do.
Model Number: Lorex LHD1042001C4
"I bought and installed the Lorex LHD1042001C4 system and would highly(!!!) recommend anyone looking for a survelliance system, to just buy this Lorex system. Don't count your pennies here, this system is WELL worth the little extra money you may need to spend, given the quality of picture (1080p) and technical support. Excellent technical support, can't praise them highly enough!! I absolutely recommend this system period. No major issues. Tech support took control over the internet and in about 20minutes, had the system up on my local net AND had remote viewing on my smart phone working AOK!
To give you a little background. About 4 months ago I purchased a competitor's 8 camera system(no names, but they were based in Australia - that I found out AFTER I purchased the system). I had nothing but problems with this competitors system, the HDMI output didn't work and when I called their tech support, it was the typical 'follow a script' tech support. I'm a technical person and was very frustrated with the level of support AND the lack of call back. I finally had to email them to get response, 1 week after my initial issue was found. This competitor's Support wanted to call me back on Sunday night(Monday in Australia) up to midnight my time. Heck, I work for a living...bottom line, the system was bad and I returned it for a refund.
Having gone thru that bad experience with the 'competitor', I put aside the effort to get a survelliance system because I didn't want to go thru that again. BUT...After some research I saw that Lorex was based in Toronto. I'm in New Hampshire and if Tech Support was in Toronto, no more 'Australia' contact problems! So I did a little more research and found the new HD1080p Lorex system and it was available through Costco! This system was great, HDMI output and 1080p picture!! I bought it via Costco, @3days later I had it in my little hands. I tested it on the table to make sure all was working and even put an active splitter(ViewHD 2 Port HDMI 1x2 Powered Splitter Ver 1.3) on the DVR's HDMI output and display on a local monitor and on a 25foot HDMI cable to a large flat screen TV. When I knew all was working, I snaked the cables and installed the system permanently. Works perfectly now for @2+ weeks. I really needed 6 camera's, but made do with the four(4) this system has. I'm hoping an upgrade will be available from Lorex in the future...I'm keeping my eyes open for it.
Bottom line, my experience with this Lorex LHD100 Series system has been a PLEASURE. The Tech Support folks are VERY competent and a pleasure to deal with! Not the 'follow a script' type support at all, rather a person that wants to know how they can help. The picture quality is clear and top notch and night vision works perfectly! If you're thinking of this Lorex system and it can fit your needs, just buy it. You will be very happy, I certainly am!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:August 23, 2012

Lorex 4-Channel HD-SDI System

Model Number: Lorex® 4-Channel HD-SDI DVR with 2TB and 4 1080p Night Vision HD Cameras
"Being in the broadcast industry for many years, I wanted a system for home that was intuitive and had great images. Before I hung the cameras, I hooked the entire system up and I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the cameras in daylight and complete darkness. The HD quality cameras turned a beautiful image. The sharpness and color were much better than expected. I was impressed with the way the cameras could switch quickly with different light levels. It was actually quite fun to observe this. I was happy with the low noise level of the DVR and how everything stayed at a cool temperature. The system was recording before I knew it and it was whisper quiet.
I thought the interface on the DVR was very straightforward and easy to control. My internet installation was a bit slow, but I chalk this up to my internet provider’s router.
I bought this system to monitor my home while I was away and I am pleasantly surprised with the product. My only complaint was a new video cable arrived slightly frayed on one end. The cable worked, but could have be an issue over time. I offered this feedback to Lorex and they immediately sent a replacement.
I could have bought any system out there. I thought this one was at a fair price for the quality it delivers. Now I just have to choose between watching the late news or monitoring the cameras for wildlife jumping over the backyard fence. Great product."
Review 3 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Shasta Lake, Calif.
Date:October 15, 2012

AWsome HD

Pros: beautiful image quality, great play back over the web pc and i pad, top notch tech support, a snap to set up and use, reasonable price
Cons: not enough cameras, records at to lo a frame rate for my liking
Model Number: LHD1042001C4
"After owning an older Lorex system (trouble free for 4 years) I saw this HD system on costo's web site and decided it would be great to watch my house in HD. Any intruders can now be easily identified with details of their face. The image is supper sharp and the colors are dead-on. Being a previous user, the set up was a snap. No instruction manual needed.The hardest part was running the cables to where I wanted to place the cameras. Everything else was so easy evan a first time novice could set it up with out help. Setting up internet viewing can be a bit tricky but Lorex has great tech support if you need them. The only things that I would improve on are: an 8 camera system instead 4, the option of higher FPS recording, 5 fps is a tad jerky, 15 fps would be great, cameras with built in IR motion sensors would also be a plus. Of corse these things would add to the cost considerably.
All in all, I am extreamly satisfied with this product.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Date:February 24, 2013

Excellent Product

Pros: clear digital zoom
Cons: didn't have the wow router on the easy setup
Model Number: LHD100
"I purchased the swann dvr a few months ago and was not pleased with the quality of the video, especially at night. I was broken into, the cretens turned off the lights and I could see them moving about and think they had gloves and masks on but the video quality was so poor I'm not 100% certain. You could see them, but there was no way that you could identify them. At least I saw them exit the house so it gave me that small piece of mind.
I purchased the Lorex system in December and am so impressed with the quality of the pictures, range, clarity and ability to zoom. This system is stupendous in fact I'm ordering a second one so that I can put cameras outside. I did have a little trouble getting the mobile app to work, but after going through the manual for the hundredth time today I finally got it working,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2012

Product failed - Poor customer service

Pros: easy set-up
Cons: cameras (x2) stopped working after one week!
Model Number: LHD1042001
"Brought the item home and hooked up cameras. All worked fine. Installed onto home per instructions. All worked and computer set-up went easy. Lasted ONE WEEK. During darkness, one, then two cameras went out duing IR night mode. Attempted to call LOREX customer service several times, just endless recordings. Tried their automated "call-back" feature. Never called back. Was never able to talk to a LIVE Lorex person.These are not the cheap cameras and should last more than ONE WEEK! Will have to return to store."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:August 17, 2012

Best Cameras from Lorex

Model Number: LHD1042001C4
"The system works perfect and easy to install.
I can see and control my cameras from my iphone perfectly.
Good system for the value.
I will recomend to anyone.
Lorex customer service has to be more professional, trained, friendly and courteous
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:August 23, 2012

Can't Beat HD Picture Quality

Pros: easy to install, great picture quality, remote viewing
Cons: only allows for 4 cameras
"Great HD package. Easy to install and get up and running with HDMI hookup to your HDTV. Smart search feature is great and allows you to play back video where motion was detected. Highly recommend."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 8-Channel HD-SDI DVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p HD Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:January 25, 2013

Great Buy!

"Excellent system, but cameras and cable can be faulty. Customer Service is friendly, but not very intelligent. Tech support is very good."