Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Let nüvi 2595LMT lead the way with its big 5" (12.7 cm) touchscreen display and powerful navigation features. It includes FREE lifetime traffic¹ and map² updates, voice activation and more Navigate By Touch or By Voice With its innovative voice-activated navigation, you can control nüvi 2595LMT with your voice — allowing you to keep both hands on the wheel. Simply wake up nüvi with a customizable voice command and begin speaking menu options that are clearly displayed on the screen. When you’re stopped, you can still control the nüvi using its intuitive touchscreen interface. Avoid Traffic Tie-ups HD Digital Traffic is our best traffic solution. HD Digital Traffic receives updates up to every 30 seconds, making it up to 10 times faster than other traffic systems. That means, driving 60 mph, your nüvi 2595LMTHD is able to receive traffic messages up to every half-mile. On the road, a few seconds’ notice can save minutes or even hours of delay. HD Digital Traffic has a greater coverage area to include interstates, highways and secondary roads — in fact, up to 3 times more side road coverage. HD Digital Traffic has the capacity to receive significantly more traffic messages. That valuable information can help you decide whether to stay the course or find another route. HD Digital Traffic is dedicated traffic information and it’s free — no distracting advertising and no subscription fees, ever. On the nüvi 2595LMTHD, traffic alerts appear to the side of your map, so your driving map remains onscreen. Traffic messages are spoken, too. Garmin Traffic is voice activated, so it responds to spoken requests. Garmin Traffic can give details about the situation, such as how many minutes of delay to expect and if there are any possible detours. It can even confirm whether or not you are on the fastest route. Lifetime traffic² entitles your nüvi 2595LMTHD to receive free traffic information for its entire useful life. Enjoy FREE Lifetime Map Updates With FREE lifetime map updates, you always have the most up-to-date maps, POIs and navigation information available at your fingertips. Map updates are available for download up to 4 times a year with no subscription or update fees and no expiration dates. Know the Lane Before It’s Too Late Now there’s no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. Available in select metropolitan areas, photoReal junction view makes unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate. When you approach an exit or interchange, nüvi 2595LMT will enter split screen mode and show you a realistic depiction of junctions on your route, complete with road signs and arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation. Go Beyond Navigation Point-to-point navigation is just the beginning. Share information and Live Services between nüvi 2595LMT and your compatible Android phone with Garmin Smartphone Link. nüvi 2595LMT also features a microSD™ card slot so you can store and use detailed cityXplorer™ maps or download custom voices and vehicles for free from the Garmin Garage™. Bluetooth® connectivity lets you make and take hands-free calls, while dual-orientation functionality lets you hold the nüvi vertically or horizontally for added convenience driving or walking. The “Where Am I?” emergency locator provides your exact latitude and longitude coordinates, the nearest address and intersection, and the closest hospitals, police stations and more, while Enhanced Exit Services tells you what services you’re approaching on the highway. FREE lifetime traffic updates may not be transferred to another person or another Garmin product. Lifetime traffic extends for the useful life of your Garmin traffic receiver (as long as you own a compatible Garmin GPS) or as long as Garmin receives traffic data from its traffic supplier, whichever is shorter. A traffic receiver’s “useful life” means the period during which the receiver (a) has the required technical capabilities to utilize current traffic data service and (b) is capable of operating as intended without major repairs. Traffic content not available for all areas. See traffic coverage areas. If you purchase a nüMaps Lifetime subscription (sold separately or bundled together with certain GPS models), you will receive up to 4 map data updates per year, when and as such updates are made available on Garmin’s website, for 1 compatible Garmin product until your product’s useful life expires or Garmin no longer receives map data from its third party supplier, whichever is shorter. A product’s “useful life” means the period during which the product (a) has sufficient memory capacity and other required technical capabilities to utilize current map data and (b) is capable of operating as intended without major repairs. A product will be deemed to be out of service and its useful life to be ended if no updates have been downloaded for such product for a period of 24 months or more. Unless otherwise stated, the updates you receive under the subscription will be updates to the same geographic map data originally included with your Garmin product when originally purchased. In some instances, your Garmin product might not have sufficient memory remaining for you to load an update to the map data, in which case you will need to either (a) select reduced map data coverage for your updates, or (b) purchase separately a microSD™/SD™ card (if and as applicable to your Garmin product) and load all or a portion of the map data coverage for your updates to the card and insert the card into the microSD/SD card slot contained in your Garmin product. If neither of the measures in (a) or (b) can be used to address your product’s lack of sufficient remaining memory, then Garmin may conclude that the “useful life” of your product has expired. Garmin may terminate your nüMaps Lifetime subscription at any time if you violate any of the terms of this agreement or your subscription. Your nüMaps Lifetime subscription may not be transferred to another Garmin product. Features: View routes on the 5" (12.7 cm) touchscreen. Navigate hands-free with voice-activated navigation. Enjoy FREE lifetime map and traffic updates. Avoid traffic tie-ups with Digital 3D traffic, subscription-free live traffic updates from our extensive traffic avoidance system. Know which lane to be in thanks to advanced lane guidance with exclusive photoReal junction view. Use in portrait or landscape mode. Make hands-free calls. See what’s coming with Enhanced Exit Services. Get fast route calculations and address look ups with Garmin Guidance 2.0. In the Box nüvi 2595LMT Preloaded City Navigator® NT North America (U.S., Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and Bahamas) Lifetime maps¹ and traffic² (indicated by “LMT” after model number on the box) Digital 3D traffic receiver with vehicle power cable Vehicle suction cup mount³ USB cable Quick start manual
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
10
24 of 45(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 4, 2013

Nice, with quirks

Pros: nice display helpful photo images of highway exit
Cons: huh? can you hear me now?
Model Number: 2595LMTHD
"It requires setup from a computer before you can use it, and the updating takes time. Once you get the settings and updates done, it is pretty easy to use and follow.
But, there are quirks, especially with the voice commands and directions.
--It cannot understand me when I give verbal addresses, providing suggestions not even close to what I said. I do not have an accent, speak clearly and turned up the volume. This is not a big deal for me.
--Its verbal directions can lead to head scratching. ie, St. Joseph's Parkway was "Street Joseph's"
--It also did not find one address for me on a long-established street at a long-established address. I know the house because I own it, but even when I typed in the address it couldn't find it in North America.
--It is not up-to-date on road construction, continually steering me to a street I know is closed for replacement of utilities. The road recently blocked and will be for a year or longer.
"
35 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:February 19, 2014

Changes from old Garmin

Pros: turns on and calculates quickly
Cons: can't do the first update without buying a card, writing is smaller and harder to read, list doesn't count down distance you have driven, doesn't come with a wall cord to charge, traffic doesn't alway work
Model Number: nuvi 2595LMT
"Bought this Garmin to replace 2 older Garmins that did not have traffic on them. Have only had it for 2 months. It is true it takes about an hour to upload the maps but I called Garmin and they did walk me through it. The Garmin does not hold all the updated information from the first update so I was told I need to go buy a card and add it to the Garmin and then upload the rest of it. I cannot do any more updating until I do this. It seems to me that a brand new Garmin that costs this much should have enough room for the first update or provide the card that I need to update it. Next,the print on the list which shows the street by street turns is 1/2 the size of the old Garmins and makes it difficult for me to read. The next problem with this Garmin is that the list showing the turns does not count down the distance as the old Garmins did. If you are to drive 5.2 miles, it will always say 5.2 miles even if you are .6 away. On the old Garmins, the list would show the count down as you drove. You can go to another screen with does count down but if you go to the list to see where your next turns are, just note that it will still say the original distance for that street even though that is not the distance remaining. I called Garmin about the 2 problems and they told me that there is no way to enlarge the print and that any traffic Garmins do not have the count down on the list. I was told if you want these features you need a more basic Garmin. We also found while visiting Hawaii, that the traffic feature did not work there. You also have to have the large cord attached in the car in the plug outlet for the traffic to work. The Garmin even got us lost a few times on the trip and did not take us the fastest route even though that was what I had enabled. It does not come with a wall charger either. I plan to return the product as I can use my older Garmins to do what I want just no traffic which does not seem to work on this model most times. It does have some nice features that some people might like."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 9, 2013

Works great, HD traffic coverage limited.

Pros: except for traffic works very well.
Cons: very limited coverage hd traffic
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD
"I live in the Washington D.C. metro area, home of the worst traffic in the country. Living south of the city requires travel on I95. I95 traffic is bad not only in rush hour but also weekends, nights, days, whenever.
I read reviews of this model on-line and most seemed to agree that the GPS operation is fine, but unless you're in a covered area the HD traffic wasn't available. I bought, and tried the unit and have to agree with the reviews that the traffic function coverage is spotty. Inside the beltway in D.C. it works great, but heading south it loses signal about five miles outside the beltway, short of the 20 miles that I need for it to work for me.
As to set-up, I've had several Garmin units and have never found it difficult to set up. Connecting to the computer and downloading the map updates are very easy.
If you want a good GPS, and don't have concerns with traffic, this should fill the bill."
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 4, 2014

Expected Way Better (Works, but Quirks)

Pros: big screen, nice window mount
Cons: poor routing, poor finding new locations, too easily turns on
Model Number: nuvi 2595LM
"After a while of use, I am disappointed. This GPS has:
* Told me to get on freeway on right and off on left in about 300 feet (in Seattle, trying to cross 4 lanes of traffic)
* Told me to go in a big loop of turning right 1.5 miles out of my way to get on the freeway when turning left & going 0.3 miles would work (in NJ)
* Spent 5-10 minutes trying to figure out where it was in Times Square. The next day I brought the car cable (antenna), stayed very still, and it finally figured out where it was. There is NO WAY I see to tell it what state you're in even (let alone where you are w/out knowing coordinates)
* Turned on in my coat pocket, and even when I pick it up wrong (the power button is easily bumped).
* Mysteriously forgotten recent routing destinations (like my hotel I routed to the night before; good thing I remembered the way there), even though it remembered stuff from weeks ago.
* Cannot find landmarks I know to exist. Oddly, sometimes it will later find them when I search. I cannot explain this.
* Takes 'creative' routes to places; sometimes I have to ignore it when I know where I'm going (I tested it that way; it mostly failed).
What I like is in the pro's: Big screen, a good window mount, it generally works well enough when the directions are local and simple (once it's figured out where it is).
I am strongly considering taking this thing back. Either I got a defective unit (unlikely?) or the software on this is sub-standard. I expected way better of Garmin; they used to be the standard to beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA.
Date:June 23, 2013

Review of Garmin Nuvi 2595 LMT

Pros: map rendering speed
Cons: traffic not tied to voice commands
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 2595 LMT
"This unit is a big improvement over the unit that I previously had. The engine (the part that determines the route and displays the map) is again much faster than older Garmins. If you are not aware the maps are stored compressed and are uncompressed as you drive; if you ever have a GPS unit that tends to freeze up it could be that there is not enough memory to perform the un-compression. If you are computer savvy, you can connect the device to you computer and remove any voices and or languages that you do not use. If you are not comfortable in doing this contact customer service and they can walk you through the process.
I have had the unit for several weeks now and have the following observations. First off I did not run into the issue of not having enough memory to install the maps as one review did. As far as the voice recognition goes it is pretty good and you can customize the word or phrase that is used to wake up the unit so that you can give it a command. I would recommend using a word or phrase that would not come up in normal conversation least you have the unit asking you what you want during a normal conversation. You may need to turn down the radio so that it can pick up your voice when a command is necessary. As others have pointed out it no longer says ‘Recalculating’, but it still performs that function if you vary from the path it had decided upon it just does not vocalize it but you see the words “Calculating” appear on the screen.
The only downside to the voice commands is that the traffic is not tied to the voice commands. In other words when you notice the traffic icon (which looks like 2 cars) go from green (no traffic issues) to yellow (slow traffic) or red (some type of incident ahead) you cannot say “show traffic” or “take alternate route”. You have to actually touch the traffic icon, and then select “Show Traffic” or “Alternate Route”. This action may not be legal in all states and causes you to take your eyes from the road to complete the task. Hopefully this can be corrected in some future update to the software.
All in all it is a very good unit and I would recommend it to others.
"
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:May 14, 2013

My new Garmin nuvi 2595

Pros: nice looking, good screen
Cons: not enough memory to update maps right out of box, unbelievably terrible concept
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 2595LMT
"I just received this new Garmin GPS today so this review is not about how it works.When I unpacked the unit and registered it and tried to update the map. During the update process it told me that the unit did not have enough memory to do the complete update. Either I had to add a micro sd card or select a partial update. Great going Garmin, I buy a new product but cant update it because the memory is too small. That is totally unacceptable. How can a company design a product like that?"
31 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Watertown, MA
Date:March 13, 2014

So far one of the better ones

Cons: none so far
Model Number: 2595LMTHD
"Unfortunately, ALL GPS units have good AND bad reviews, so it makes the choice even more difficult. After having several units through the years I have realized they are just electronic devices that work most of the time. That said, I have used this for a few weeks and it has quickly found satellites and has always correctly found the address. I tried the voice activation and it worked sometimes, but maybe it was the way I pronounced the address, but I'm not apt to use that anyway, nor would I use the traffic, so I haven't tried it. I would definitely recommend this unit because it is a lot quicker than my four year old Garmin. Happy with it."
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dingman township, PA
Date:November 30, 2013

great traffic

Pros: traffic rerouting., voice navigation., lifetime maps
Cons: extra steps required to "save places"
Model Number: 2595
"I bought Nuvi series 5 years ago that had traffic updates. I purchases this unit because I was going to be working in Philadelphia for 3 months. The new traffic avoidance more than paid for itself in those 3 months. The voice recognition is not perfect, but very few are. It needs a quiet environment to work properly. I had no problem changing routes with my voice commands. My colleagues were so impressed they each bought one after a demonstration."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, Kansas
Date:May 4, 2013

Amazing features for the price

Pros: voice control bluetooth android smartphone link
Cons: it doesn't drive the car for me.
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5"
"Where do I start? I love this device - works better than the fancy in-dash nav in my wife's brand new car and numerous other portable nav units I have used in the past. Love it so much, we bought a second one a few months later at Costco for very frequent use in rental cars.
Voice commands work very well both for navigation and handsfree phone although I rarely, for safety, dial while driving and limit incoming call durations to seconds. After getting used to it, I wish the Garmin voice would speak a little faster or that there was an "expert mode" but I can see how the deliberate prompts could be useful to others. HD traffic works extremely well here in the Kansas City area. I used this Garmin several weeks before I realized it could automatically re-route me around traffic jams.
The Smartphone Link app for Android phones is a wonderful feature. It allows sending addresses via Bluetooth from the phone's address book, Google search or maps, Yelp, etc., etc. to the Gamin. This means that even if a business or address is so new that it is not in the latest Garmin database, if you can find it on your phone, you can navigate to it on your Garmin without using the data plan allocation on your phone.
Another nice feature is that you will never again have trouble finding where you parked your car. The Smartphone Link phone app records your parking location and guides you back to it - great when you are in an unfamiliar large city.
I first thought that the large 5" screen might seem to big but it is much more pleasant to use than a 4.3" wide or smaller square screen format portable GPS screen. It's black case color blends in well as mounted in my car on a bracket next to the radio and with its traffic receiver hidden inside a phone console and the power cord routed into the dash and connected to the car's accessory circuit - allows the Garmin to turn on and off automatically with the ignition key and seem OEM-like.
Having the current temperature and weather forecast display is novel - how does it do that without subscribing to any of the available Garmin services?
We are finding that updating our two Garmins is easy - "plug and play" - although updates can sometimes take a while even over our relatively fast 30 mbps Internet connection ... probably limited by how fast the Garmin can process the updates.
After seven months of daily use, I should be able to list what is wrong with this device. This, however, is one of those rare products that I am super satisfied with. Wait! Here's one. Twice in the past seven months, something said on the radio caused the Garmin to go into "Voice Commands" mode - funny!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:March 10, 2014

Nuvi 2595LMT GPS - AWESOME!!

Pros: 5" screen, cost, voice command, traffic advisory
Cons: no power to the base unit in the car.
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 2595LMT
"I bought this to replace my Garmin Nuvi 350 which had a near dead battery. I love the 5" screen and the exit lane showing as you near it. The Voice command works reasonably well and makes hands free navigating a breeze. Built in Traffic advisory works well at least in Orlando. Initial map loading is quick and there is no lag in the map as you travel. great unit for the price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 9, 2014

So Far So Good!

Pros: easy mounting on and off, nice display, easy to type on key board
Cons: none
Model Number: Nuvi2595LMT
"I purchased this model at Costco and literally took it out of the package, powered it on, typed in my destination, mounted the device on my window and off I went. I have no need for the voice command but typing the information in was easy and painless. Happy to give it a 5 star rating."
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:February 5, 2014

A Map Would be Better

Pros: good size, easy to read screen, shows exit lanes, can view route before leaving your destination
Cons: indirect routing, woman's voice only for english speaking, turn directions sometimes late
Model Number: 2595LMT
"Prior to buying this, I used the GPS on my tablet, which uses Google Maps, and it was wonderful. I need a GPS because I am new to the Henderson/Las Vegas area. I expected good things from Garmin; I am a first time GPS buyer, and it will be returned. I updated the maps as soon as I purchased the item. I used it on a trip to CA. It notified me of traffic, and when I ignored it, it reminded me at each subsequent freeway exit. I finally got off the freeway, and it took me through beautiful areas, but nowhere near the freeway. When I finally got close enough to see the freeway, it told me to drive the last 30 miles on a surface street, but the freeway was moving! It seems that instructions to turn are given a little too close to the turn. My biggest complaint is the routing. At times, when I am leaving home, it has told me to go in the opposite direction of where I need to go. At times, it has taken me on round-about routes miles out of the way rather than direct routes. The first time, I ignored its direction, and drove directly to the street of my destination. The GPS kept telling me to turn around, and once I arrived at my destination, it was still telling me to turn around. I talked to a Costco employee and a Garmin employee; I returned the unit and got a replacement, thinking it was just that unit. However, the second one is just as bad. It will have me go around a street of a destination to avoid a U-turn. But, it did this even after I unchecked the "avoid U-turns" setting. Recently, rather than have me turn on the street of my destination, it told me to turn off a couple streets early. When I stopped it and started over again, it told me to turn off at a different street before my destination street. I stopped it again, and started over, and it went back and told me to turn off at the street it originally said to turn. Another time, rather than have me turn left onto a street that would have taken me directly to a road I needed to get on, it directed me to a series of right turns, which was about 2 or 3 miles out of my way. Also, I had been using the GPS while attached to the power cord. I used it one day on battery power for about 10 minutes total. The next day, I tried to use it on battery power again, and it went black before it even got my route, so I had to use the cord. For English, the only choice is a woman's voice. One option is directions with no streets named; the other is directions with streets named. On some stretches, rather than telling me to drive 10 miles, for example, it tells me to drive a short distance, like 2 miles, then stay on the right. Then it gives another short distance. This is so frustrating. I am going to return this model and try another Garmin model, since that is all that Costco is carrying. If I have problems with a different model, I will try another brand, even if it means shopping elsewhere."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:January 2, 2014

Piece of garbage (for traffic at least!)

Pros: fast boot quick satellite lock
Cons: traffic receiver does not work in bay area
Model Number: Garmin 2595LMTHD
"I am so frustrated with this product from Costco. I really wanted to like this Garmin, as it has some good features like fast booting, quick satellite capture, voice recognition that actually works with voice command etc. However, the only thing that does not seem to work is Traffic! Since it is an important feature for me, I am returning this to costco (again). Earlier, I had returned one unit and bought another, in the hopes I got a lemon the first time. But no, even though the Garmin's website shows I should have strong traffic signals in my area, I always get "Searching for Traffic" and it hardly ever receives a signal. My other older Garmin (1490LMT) works fine with traffic all the time in the same area. I have done everything I can to solve this issue, but to no avail. It is just not worth my time."
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:May 26, 2013

Awesome GPS!!!

Pros: cheaper than the comparable 2597lmt (2013 version), hd digital traffic when bought from costco
Model Number: 2595LMTHD
"This is an awesome GPS and has very nice features that other comparable units do not come with. Before buying this one I was contemplating between the Garmin 2597LMT (not available at Costco) and this one. What sold me on this one was the fact that when you buy this one from Costco it comes with HD Digital Traffic where if you buy it somewhere else including Garmin.com, it does not come with HD Digital Traffic. A Costco bundle plus. It's also cheaper than the 2597LMT. Overall this is a excellent buy and highly recommend it to anyone who is in the market for a vehicle GPS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 29, 2013

Don't buy this

Pros: ok display traffic conditions
Cons: freezes and you can't turn on/off to reset. d
"returned this to costco 3 times.
works great for a few weeks then when I really need it driving in traffic the screen just freezes. I am unable to turn it off, the screen remains frozen. very embarrassing when I am driving a client. the first time I thought i had a bad unit and returned it. the 2nd time i bought at a different store in case it was just a bad shipment of product. 3rd chance i am thoroughly convinced Garmin makes a horrible product.
"
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:February 20, 2014

Love it

Pros: easy to use.
Model Number: 2595LMTHD
"I love the Bluetooth, maps, traffic congestion warning. I haven't traveled a
long distance yet, but am looking forward to becoming familiar with all
the Garmin capabilities.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Steamboat Springs, CO
Date:March 31, 2013

Frustrating NEW device

Pros: larger screen bluetooth & voice command
Cons: can't use it out of the pkg. like older models., requires registration & lengthy update times, american jill's voice (default voice) wavers
Model Number: Nuvi 2595 LMT
"My old Garmin died while traveling, so I purchased this NUVI 2595 b/c it seemed to have some excellent features (voice command, bluetooth, 5" screen, etc.). I opened the pkg & read the Quick Start Manual b/c I needed to USE IT right away, but this GPS won't work until you plug it into a computer and register it via the Garmin Dashboard, which you must first download. (FYI, hotel computers won't let you download software.) So, I had NO usable GPS on my trip. When I got home I registered it and saw there were 3 updates to install, which would take MORE THAN 3 HRS., and during the updates, the website indicated there wasn't enough memory to back up the GPS (recommended when doing updates) AND install the updates! The website recommended using a SIM card. Can it be that this GPS is already out of memory before I've even used it??
Thankfully Costco has an exceptional return policy, so I'm hoping that it's easier to use on the road than it has been to register & update, otherwise it's going back. I gave this GPS the benefit of the doubt (3 stars) since I haven't actually used it yet.
"
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver,CO
Date:May 18, 2013

Excellent

Pros: great 5" unit for the price, unlimited free map updates
Model Number: 2595LMTHD
"I don't know about those bad reviews,but I had no trouble with memory (updated and added Europe Lifetime Maps) nor do I have trouble with advanced notice on turns .
Read the manual or call Garmin Customer support.
This is a great Unit and a few steps up from what T**T** in that price range is offering.The Bluetooth works well with my Android phone and Tablet.
HD traffic means no Adds.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 28, 2013

A lot better than Magellan 5236TLM also from Costc

Pros: lifetime map and traffic update, voice command works pretty well, fast gps acquisition, fast response time, have more poi than magellan 5236
Cons: garmin nuvi 2595lmthd, voice command would sometimes misunderstand voice
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD
"I originally purchased the Magellan 5236T-LM from Costco to replaced my 3 year old Magellan GPS. The Magellan 5236T that I got became unresponsive after I upgraded the software and the map so I replaced it with the same model and got the same problem after the update. I went back to Costco the 3rd time to get the Garmin 2595 which is $70.00 more than the Magellan product. This model was really nice especially the voice command as it makes the search a lot easier. To use the voice command, make sure that you follow the sample phrase or that you will need to spend time playing around the system and know the basic words it uses when you are going through the search without using the voice command. i.e. when looking for address make sure you say the street number, street name, city and state. If you missed one of this parameter you will get garbage output that makes voice command useless.
Traffic is also accurate, I just don't like the avoid traffic feature of garmin as it re-routes you automatically even if the delay is only a couple of minutes. I turned the avoid traffic feature to see how accurate the traffic is. In the L.A. area traffic shows that there is a congestion with delay of 3 minutes. I went ahead to the direction of traffic and see the Garmin map marked the traffic with yellow dotted line. As the car icon in the GPS hit the beginning of the yellow dotted line, all the car in front of me slowed down then after I passed the dotted line the traffic was gone. Another instance with traffic was when I was coming home in San Diego area, Traffic icon changed to red and when I click on the icon, it shows a 3 minute delay due to an accident. There was also a sign on the freeway 15 saying that there was an accident in 805 exit so expect delay. My wife said 6 minutes is not really bad comparing to taking the streets with a lot of stop lights so, we went ahead and stayed on route. as we get closer to exit from 15 to 805 the traffic sign changed from red to yellow with 2 minutes delay. Well we don't really see delay but we did see the tow truck with a car on top of it on the side of the road and within 5 seconds of passing the tow truck the traffic icon changed from yellow to green.
This is a really good upgrade from my 3 year old GPS and I would highly recommend that you spend the extra dollar and get this compare the Magellan GPS that is also available from Costco."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 2595LMTHD 5" Portable GPS with Bluetooth
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:February 11, 2014

Alomost there

Pros: the hd model has a great screen.
Cons: to many key steps needed to use stored locations.
Model Number: nuvi 2595LMTHD
"Very Accurate. Like everything. The negative is that Garmin is still stuck on USB connections. Per instructions, connect to computer and register first. Six hours later the unit was ready to use."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>