Customer Reviews for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels

Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
(out of 60 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
7
50 of 60(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Review 21 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2010

Stinky krill oil

"I used to use Schiff Mega Red and it had no odor, then I switched to Mercola because I could get it with Evening Primrose and all of a sudden, halfway through a bottle the stench is overpowering!
Hmmm..I suspect both use the same manufacturer."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2010

Re: Fishy smell

"I keep this product and my fish oil in the refrigerator. it reduces the odor, However, if you were to break open a capsule you would be overcome by how horrible they smell! I think this is the nature of the product, what would you expect from something that comes from the sea?
I can't say for sure if these are helping to relieve chronic pain and inflammation, since I take the Tru Nature fish oil in addition to the Krill. But I have noticed a tremendous difference since taking both products 3X per day for myofascial pain. I recommend giving it a try for anyone suffering from this or fibromyalgia.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St Louis
Date:December 12, 2010

Bring back the old stuff!

Pros: seems to really help blood numbers
Cons: horrible stench, cloudy liquid, stick together in bottle, schiff backed off claims
"I've been taking these since Costco started carrying them, and them seem to have done great things for my cholesterol numbers. These are about as pricey as it gets for fish oil, so when they started to stick together in the bottle and put off a awful stench I thought I simply got a bad batch.
I see that Schiff changed suppliers so it looks like the smell is here to stay. Now I wonder if the "wonder" krill was better than regular Omega 3 like Schiff used to claim.
Sorry, but I've switched back to regular Omega 3. I would have rated these a five if they were still the same."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:colton, ca.
Date:December 23, 2010

good for dry eyes

"I have no tears whatsoever, but these give my eyes moisture, and my eyes are not very dry anymore at all. it all depends on the weather. I do take two a day though. but its worth it. Nothing worse than dry scratchy hurting eyes. these have been a life saver for me. well worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, Colorado
Date:December 27, 2010

No Smell Problem

Pros: easy to swallow, dosage just one, great costco pricing
Cons: none yet
"Reading here about stinky odors. Bought in Nov at Costco, bottle expires 7/12, SMELLS GOOD! Smells sweet, and not fishy at all.
After about 6 weekd, not sure if it helping my joint pain, but my skin feels great and it says it helps your heart, so will continue. If I do get a bottle that smells vile I will return."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:January 26, 2011

Does what it says it does

Pros: no back up after tast
Model Number: 235558
"Doctor had to take me off the statins. With diet and the loss of 40 lbs MegaRed Droped my cholesterol from 243 to 198. Wow!"
Review 27 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:February 1, 2011

A Powerful Supplement

Pros: adds to better health
Cons: not yet!
Model Number: Item # ??????
"I Believe krill oil will have an extreme beneficial overall health of my body. I believe the antioxodants in kroll oil will help destroy free fadicals in my body."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southfield, MI
Date:April 1, 2011

Healthiest Purchase Ever

Pros: keeps you regular
"Since MegaRed was referred to me to lower my cholesterol, I have been taking it every day. My cholesterol has been great and I have been regular every day since. That is also an added plus to this med."
Review 29 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crescent City, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

Love That Krill!

"I LOVE the krill oil! The gel caps are nice and small, unlike other fish oil gel caps. The best part is that I don't burp up fish oil all day like I do with the other choice."
Review 30 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manhattan
Date:May 15, 2011

Great product

"I really like these. They are small so they are easy to swallow. The best part is there is no fishy after taste that I have experienced with other pills."
Review 31 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:June 24, 2011

Looove MegaRed

Pros: small size makes it easy to swallow, no fishy taste
Cons: there are absolutely no cons that i can see!
"I don't like regular fish oil because I have fish burps for the rest of the day after I finally get the huge softgels down. MegaRed is so concentrated that you only have to take one small softgel and they are easy to swallow. Costco-size is cheaper than a lesser size on other websites and in stores."
Review 32 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2011

Schiff Mega Red Omega-3 Krill oil

"I have been taking for a year. It does not give you the fishy burps that other fish oils do."
Review 33 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:August 8, 2011

Best Krill oil

"Schiff MegaRed is the best ever. It does not give an after-taste like other krill oil capsules. It is small and easy to swallow unlike the big capsules of other brands."
Review 34 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Quitman, TX
Date:October 21, 2011

Small pill with lots of benefits

"I buy the Schiff Mega Red because I had Lap Band surgery and found it difficult to swallow the large Fish Oil capsules. I have not had any problems with the Mega Red."
Review 35 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St George, Utah
Date:October 28, 2011

Lower Cholestrol and taste good

Pros: healthy and it really works on lowering cholestrol, it actually taste really good., i'm a non seafood lover and love mega red
Cons: refrigerate to keep fresh, if it smells return it; maybe rancid
"I bought this product for my husband who at the time had high cholestrol count of 240 and his doctor wanted to put him on Lipitor. We wanted a healthy alternative and decided against Lipitor and tried Mega Red. He was recently tested after 30 days of using this product and we are happy to say his count is now at 204. This is by only taking the product. No change to his diet or exercise. I myself can not stand the smell or taste of fish and take this product everyday with no problem. It has a pleasant non-fish taste to it and NO BURPS! Thank you Mega Red."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:November 2, 2011

MegaRed, no taste great results

Pros: no after taste
"This is part of my daily regiman to take one of these plus a multi-vitiman. I like the no "burp" fish taste and my Dr. says my blood work is perfect at age 65. Even though I eat meat and dairy products daily."
Review 37 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2011

Great product!

"being that I can't stand taking regular fish oil, this was recommended to me. It's 1 a day, which is easy, and has NO aftertaste whatsoever. My cholesterol numbers have improved, too. Love that Costco offers $5 off coupons!"
Review 38 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 8, 2011

Mega Red that has a fish odor in bottle

Pros: no fish after taste, great customer service
Cons: at time strong fish smell in bottle, has happened more than 3 different times
Model Number: 235558 - mega red softgels
"We have been using Mega Red for many years. The product does not cause any after taste after taking. There is a problem, however with the unwanted fish smell that has appeared from time to time with on line purchases. Mega Red customer service has always replaced the odor prone product, however there seems to be a problem in the manufacturing process. If this happened only 1 time I would have given them more stars!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:November 22, 2011

Excellent brand

Pros: great product and value
"Wife loves this brand vs. another formerly used one. Says it leaves NO fishy taste and actually has a pleasing taste of it’s own when taken!"
Review 40 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2011

So far, so good!

Pros: tiny, no after tastes
"I've been taking these for a month. I have NEVER experienced any after taste at all. Not even an essence of that dreaded "fishy burp" - nothing. They have never upset my stomach. They are super tiny, and oh so easy to swallow! I don't know what smell people are referring to - I guess they fixed that problem. They don't stink to me at all.
I was looking for an algae derived Omega-3, for environmental reasons (plus mercury levels, and after taste) - but couldn't find one at Costco. This was a good alternative. Tiny krill don't have the mercury levels like large fish & they are not in danger of being overfished (though again, I would prefer the algal which can be grown in a controlled environment).
I'm really curious to see if my cholesterol dropped - I'll take my levels after I complete the bottle. I was hoping these would help reduce my monthly girl cramps... but I didn't notice a difference yet. I was only on these for a week at that time, though... so maybe next month will be better!
Just make sure you don't have shellfish allergies (friendly reminder).
I'll update the review as I learn more... but so far so good!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>