Customer Reviews for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels

Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
(out of 60 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
7
50 of 60(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Review 1 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:October 23, 2008

Excellent Product

Pros: small pill size, easy to swallow
Cons: funky smell but it's bearable.
"This product packs a big punch in a small size. The pills are easy to swallow and don't have the aftertaste of other products that contain high levels of Omega 3. It may smell a little, but it's certainly something that can be easily ignored."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2009

Nice and small and no fish oil after-effects!

"This pill is quite tiny compared to other fish oil pills. It is shorter than a Tylenol caplet, but a bit fatter. The best part--- no Fish oil after effects! I've read that some people burp after taking fish oil and the burps taste like fish. Taking fish oil pills at night will eliminate this affect, or just take these anytime you want!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 31, 2009

May be of benefit

"I have been using this product for 6 months. My cholestral has dropped 30 points, but the last bottle I purchased, I noticed a much stronger fish smell than any of my past bottles. Therefor, I don't think that they are monitoring each individual batch, and that is worrisome. I may try another brand, and see how my numbers test."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:colton, ca.
Date:December 23, 2010

good for dry eyes

"I have no tears whatsoever, but these give my eyes moisture, and my eyes are not very dry anymore at all. it all depends on the weather. I do take two a day though. but its worth it. Nothing worse than dry scratchy hurting eyes. these have been a life saver for me. well worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. California
Date:June 23, 2010

Works for Me!!!

Pros: one a day very small
Cons: none
"Triglycerides dropped from 425 to 121 and overall cholesterol down 70 points. Only thing different I have been doing is taking one Megared a day, I started about 4 months ago."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 9, 2010

An answer to smelly product

"Overall a great product, but lately the bad smell had me worried. I called Schiff and was assured that the odor was only because the capsule was now more porous (and that the old capsules had the same odor but it was more contained).
They also said that this problem had been corrected and that they would send replacement bottles at no charge. They asked for the lot # from the bottles and asked that these bad bottles be returned in the postage paid envelope that would come with the new pills.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:March 19, 2010

Happy, Healthy Customer

Pros: it works for me
Cons: none
"After taking MegaRed for several months (along with CholestOff Complete), my cholesterol has dropped 90 points. (I was at 335) In addition, because fish oil thins the blood, I was able to get off Plavix. (Don't do this w/o your doctor's OK) I like taking one small pill, as opposed to two large fish oil capsules. Am I a satisfied customer? You bet!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2011

So far, so good!

Pros: tiny, no after tastes
"I've been taking these for a month. I have NEVER experienced any after taste at all. Not even an essence of that dreaded "fishy burp" - nothing. They have never upset my stomach. They are super tiny, and oh so easy to swallow! I don't know what smell people are referring to - I guess they fixed that problem. They don't stink to me at all.
I was looking for an algae derived Omega-3, for environmental reasons (plus mercury levels, and after taste) - but couldn't find one at Costco. This was a good alternative. Tiny krill don't have the mercury levels like large fish & they are not in danger of being overfished (though again, I would prefer the algal which can be grown in a controlled environment).
I'm really curious to see if my cholesterol dropped - I'll take my levels after I complete the bottle. I was hoping these would help reduce my monthly girl cramps... but I didn't notice a difference yet. I was only on these for a week at that time, though... so maybe next month will be better!
Just make sure you don't have shellfish allergies (friendly reminder).
I'll update the review as I learn more... but so far so good!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:August 16, 2010

Good choice for Omega 3's

"I bought this product after recommendations from a veterinarian to treat a dog with chronic ear and skin infections, tiredness, and arthritis-like symptoms, limping and favoring her legs. The dog has recovered her energy (like a puppy), has clear ears, and runs normally with no limping. What a miracle. She will take the pills after some rolling around in her mouth, although it's faster to hide it in a piece of meat. I take them also; if the Krill Oil has that effect on dogs, it has to be good for me too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St George, Utah
Date:October 28, 2011

Lower Cholestrol and taste good

Pros: healthy and it really works on lowering cholestrol, it actually taste really good., i'm a non seafood lover and love mega red
Cons: refrigerate to keep fresh, if it smells return it; maybe rancid
"I bought this product for my husband who at the time had high cholestrol count of 240 and his doctor wanted to put him on Lipitor. We wanted a healthy alternative and decided against Lipitor and tried Mega Red. He was recently tested after 30 days of using this product and we are happy to say his count is now at 204. This is by only taking the product. No change to his diet or exercise. I myself can not stand the smell or taste of fish and take this product everyday with no problem. It has a pleasant non-fish taste to it and NO BURPS! Thank you Mega Red."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:July 23, 2009

Lowered Cholesterol

Pros: smells great-no after taste, lowered my cholesterl, take only one per day vs fish, fairly priced
Cons: none-i am sold
"I have been using this product for nearly a year. I have been taking two per day because there is heart disease in my family and I have high cholesterol. I had a baseline blood test done 13 months ago as my normal check up. I recently went back for my annual test and was happy to find a 28% reduction in my cholesterol!! No fishy after taste and smells like vanilla shake.
Great product and results."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, CA
Date:August 12, 2009

Works for me

"I just started taking this as a vitamin supplement since I figured it couldn't hurt....little did I know that in three short months my cholesterol would drop 40 points! My doctor was amazed and I had no explanation except that I have been taking this krill and also pregnenolone...go figure!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 30, 2010

No Smell, No After Taste, No Burps.

Pros: easy to swallow, no fishy smell nor fishy taste
Cons: cannot think of one.
"Earlier reviews said there was a fishy smell. I have noticed No fishy smell, No fishy taste and No burping. My doctor wanted me to give this a try as some of his patients have had very good results reducing Triglycerides and Cholesterol. He wants to retest in about 3 months. Will post results."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, Colorado
Date:December 27, 2010

No Smell Problem

Pros: easy to swallow, dosage just one, great costco pricing
Cons: none yet
"Reading here about stinky odors. Bought in Nov at Costco, bottle expires 7/12, SMELLS GOOD! Smells sweet, and not fishy at all.
After about 6 weekd, not sure if it helping my joint pain, but my skin feels great and it says it helps your heart, so will continue. If I do get a bottle that smells vile I will return."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ohio
Date:February 7, 2012

Easy to Swallow

"Heard about this product & wanted to try it. No after taste so far so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:College Station, TX
Date:February 11, 2014

Great price

Pros: no after fish taste
Cons: smells a little fishy - but goes away
"Paid the same at the drug store for 30 pills that I now paid for 110 pills - if you are using this product Costco has the best price! The product is great..no after fish taste!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 20, 2013

All My Lab Work Came Back Great!!!

Pros: great for my health
Cons: none
"My wife & I started taking Mega Red & Qunol a couple of years ago. All our Lab, Blood Work numbers, fall in the Normal range. We've seen a huge difference."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2010

Re: Fishy smell

"I keep this product and my fish oil in the refrigerator. it reduces the odor, However, if you were to break open a capsule you would be overcome by how horrible they smell! I think this is the nature of the product, what would you expect from something that comes from the sea?
I can't say for sure if these are helping to relieve chronic pain and inflammation, since I take the Tru Nature fish oil in addition to the Krill. But I have noticed a tremendous difference since taking both products 3X per day for myofascial pain. I recommend giving it a try for anyone suffering from this or fibromyalgia.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St Louis
Date:December 12, 2010

Bring back the old stuff!

Pros: seems to really help blood numbers
Cons: horrible stench, cloudy liquid, stick together in bottle, schiff backed off claims
"I've been taking these since Costco started carrying them, and them seem to have done great things for my cholesterol numbers. These are about as pricey as it gets for fish oil, so when they started to stick together in the bottle and put off a awful stench I thought I simply got a bad batch.
I see that Schiff changed suppliers so it looks like the smell is here to stay. Now I wonder if the "wonder" krill was better than regular Omega 3 like Schiff used to claim.
Sorry, but I've switched back to regular Omega 3. I would have rated these a five if they were still the same."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Schiff® MegaRed™ 300 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 110 Softgels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 6, 2009

Product changed, not for the better

"I have been using this product for about 2 years and never had any complaints until now. Yesterday I purchased a new bottle and there are several changes that caused me concern: They are no longer made with NKO, neptune krill oil, but instead are now made with Superba krill oil. I've researched online but have been unable to determine if Superba & NKO are supposed to be the same. They are no longer advertising that they are 3x better than fish oil. The capsules are no longer a clear red, but now a cloudy red. And finally, what was once a mildly unpleasant smell is now a very nauseating vanilla fishy smell. I thought I had gotten a bad batch, but my sister said she has the same problem and she purchased her's from another store about a month ago. I think I will switch to another brand."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>