Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F

Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: UN40EH5300F
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 234
(out of 234 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (234 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
54
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
14
188 of 219(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Review 1 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, Wa
Date:March 30, 2014

Great TV... Poor freedom of choice....

Pros: great tv
Cons: no youtube
Model Number: un40eh5300f
"I have many Samsung TVs. They are great. I purchased this one in hopes of using it wirelessly mostly for YouTube videos. Samsung has some kind of spat going with YouTube and won't allow you to load the YouTube app. Their solution was "sorry"... just another consumer caught between corporate Giants."
Review 2 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:March 27, 2014

Good TV, but not that smart

Pros: picture and sound are good, light weight, adequate inputs
Cons: not smart, user interface, cheap looking
"Samsung never got the user interface right. A smart TV with apps and web browser has to have at least a keyboard for text entry or it will be impossible to use. I don't think any smart TV is all that smart except for maybe sony TVs which have pretty good interface. The apps are pretty buggy. Streaming crashes a lot, but when it works, it works well. I find the Amazon prime app is the least buggy app and usually works well.
Picture quality is good, sound is pretty good for a flat screen tv.
If you expect to use the smart function of the TV you will be disappointed, but if you don't need it and have other sources such as googleTV or Rocku then I suggest to use those instead. It's good TV but not a good smart TV. Luckily I have many other devices that provide the "smart" function and don't rely on the samsung apps.
"
Review 3 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:March 10, 2014

Everything NOT included!

Pros: it was a great purchasr price
Cons: cables not included with tv no mentioned in ad
"We purchased this TV hoping it would be up and going but found out we needed to purchase more cables. We took it back. It should sell the cables that are needed with the TV or at LEAST let the consumer know you need extra cables!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 10, 2014

worry-less transport

Pros: great value
Model Number: UN40E54300FXZA
"By purchasing online, was able to have this large TV delivered safely to my home without my having to transport it. Saved me much worry about how to do it safely."
Review 5 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Anselmo, CA
Date:March 5, 2014

A GREAT TV!

Pros: great picture!
Cons: the smart updates are a nuissance.
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"As our eyes age - along with the rest of our bodies - we decided to spring for an upgrade to out 322" Samsung. This 5300 looked good and the price was certainly right. It is an outstanding TV. The SMART functions are convenient and eliminated the need for the WiFi enabled DVD player. (It IS a little annoying when the SMART feature wants to update while you are watching something!)
The sound is OK but not great as is the case with all slim TVs. No depth = not much richness of sound. We got a decent SONY sound bar to go with it and use it often while watching movies, etc.
The picture is beautiful! Well defined and clear. The bezel (frame) is narrow so what you see is nearly all screen. The blacks are really black and the factory presets are 95% perfect right out of the box.
For under $500, I couldn't find a better deal. I don't think many people will be disappointed with this TV.
"
Review 6 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:March 3, 2014

Good Intermediate Sized TV

Pros: good picture
Cons: audio quality., samsung servers cannot keep up with demand.
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"This is our first flat screen TV. Yes, we were hold-outs for many years and finally gave in and bought a flat screen when our CRT TV literally fell apart when we tried to move it to our new home.
Video quality - Very good. For a 40" screen, watching from 8'-10' from the screen, the picture quality is quite good. Not as good as the $6,000 TVs we've seen, but it looks good with both 1080p programming or standard video from our Blu Ray player. Standard TV looks pretty bad, but that's only in comparison to HD.
The apps included with the TV are constantly being updated, often changing the location of apps we want to use. Our biggest complaint about the apps is that the Samsung server often cannot keep up with demand. That is, we'll be watching Hulu or Netflix and the video will freeze, suddenly jump forward, or exit to the menu. Switching to our Sony Blu Ray allows us to keep watching, so now we watch most of our content on the Sony instead of the Samsung. One good thing about the Samsung apps is that there are sometimes other options, such as subtitles that we cannot access on the Sony.
Adding a wireless keyboard via USB is helpful when entering information, searching, etc. on the Samsung apps, but most other apps (Netflix, Amazon, etc.) do not accept keyboard inputs. You're left entering text via the remote.
The three HDMI inputs is very helpful, allowing us to use multiple sources, including my laptop.
Audio quality is adequate for voice, but is not a good system for music or watching action movies. A sound bar, headphones, or use of your stereo to improve sound is recommended."
Review 7 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 18, 2014

Not a SMART TV

Pros: picture quality
Cons: minimal browser doesn't support internet videos, not worth as a smart tv
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Every time I open my Samsung Smart tv's web browser to watch video It stops after few minutes and display msg: Your browser session ended due to lack of memory or other unknown reason. I cannot watch Internet programs. My friends LG tv does not have these problems."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 12, 2014

Dumb Blonde

Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: ui is terrible, very slow, apps stop working / return error messages, stop connecting to internet
"The picture is amazingly beautiful. The unit is very light, and I easily mounted it on my wall. Samsung builds beautiful, if completely dumb, products. The UI is nice, but painfully slow and buggy. Some applications (Netflix, Amazon) work fine for the first few tries, then spits back an "error" message. Today it is having issues finding my network to connect you. I hate you, TV. You are the bane of my existence."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley Wa.
Date:February 10, 2014

Good value for the $$$$$

Pros: easy to use if familiar with wireless servers
Cons: remote is difficult for network setup netflix
Model Number: Samsung 40" 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"The smart TV arrived when Costco said it would, intact and functional.
It was a 2012 model but built in Jan of 2014. I guess if it's a popular model they just keep building them, it also had the latest firmware already installed. I also purchased a Logitech K400r wireless keyboard for installation. Next is a USB camera for Skype use
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:February 4, 2014

Horrible!

Pros: it's a tv
Cons: not very smart. wastes alot of my time., slow crashes, gets hung up entering and exiting smart hub., have to unplug to reboot.
"3 months of my life wasted. This tv is not for internet use. The Smart Hub feature is extremely slow and very often crashes when trying to watch something from a network tv website. It automatically updates itself. No way to control most convenient settings. I don't need to update and use valuable storage memory space. It works well for app manufacturers that cut deals with Samsung such as Netflix, Hulu and Youtube. It's very difficult to search the web. Typing keyword for searching is horrible and cumbersome."
Review 11 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Sorry I bought it

Pros: nice picture
Cons: not so smart - big problems accessing netflix
"I actually bought 5 of these: 4 for my business & 1 for my home. We seldom use the Netflix feature for the ones at work but I bought it specifically for that for home use. My frustration level with this is huge. The picture is wonderful; no complaints there. The problem is that I can access Netflix only about 40% of the time without experiencing some kind of problem. It tells me that I have to reinstall Netflix (and how am I supposed to do that?). Then, without reinstalling Netflix, it will go right to it; sometimes it'll do it after one attempt, other times after several attempts on the same day or I might have to wait a few days; there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to it. I have a Roku on my older TV and it works perfectly, every time. If I can get someone to take this down for me, I will return it for a less "smart" TV and go the Roku route. After complaining to my staff today about my problem, they told me that they've been having the same issue but thought they were doing something wrong so didn't want to say anything."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Memphis TN
Date:December 16, 2013

At Best Secondary TV Only

Pros: good secondary tv
Cons: bad connectivity does not have a rac with hdmi
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"This is a inexpensive TV but don't expect any good connectivity options - It does not a RAC - Return Audio Channel from HDMI to any sound bar or Home Theater system"
Review 13 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Puget Sound, WA
Date:December 12, 2013

The one I got was garbage.

Pros: can't think of any
Cons: random brightness adjustments, awful sound quality
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Expect marginal to bad audio quality, but the picture was even worse. It supposedly has "Eco sensors" which adjust the brightness of the picture. It did so, continually. Bright to dark, dark to bright… but nothing else in the lighting environment changed. They could have been defects in the specific unit I received, but I doubt it."
Review 14 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 12, 2013

Great Picture, BUT...

Pros: great picture
Cons: complicated remote and menu, minimal browser doesn't support internet videos, samsung is pushing paid apps, doesn't automatically adjust aspect ratios
Model Number: UN40EH5300
"My first SMART TV. Looking forward to watching Internet videos, Internet TV, etc. Claimed to have a Web Browser. While the picture was incredible, I could not watch Internet programs as it is a PARTIAL browser and does not support a flash player which was required. It does not let you view websites like you would on a computer, and the "keyboard" to enter URL addresses is PAINFUL! Samsung says you need a 2013 model to get a full web browser.
Further, though it was bought in late 2013, it is a 2012 model ("EH" in the middle of the model name rather than "F"). So I returned it. I'll wait for the 2013 "F" models to come down in price before buying one, or I'll get a different brand. If TV's are like cars, the 2014's should already be out making this a 2-year old set.
An alternative might be to buy a "dumb" TV and add a Slingbox or some streaming product, but then it pushes the price up again.
Set doesn't automatically adjust for the best aspect ratio forcing the viewer to have to flip through various choices to get the best. And when the format changes while watching or changing a station, the aspect ratio should automatically adjust... it doesn't
Also, the remote and the many functions are REALLY CONFUSING and COMPLICATED! The owner's manual is hundreds of pages long."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:December 7, 2013

Data Mining Monitor

Cons: data mining
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Don't buy a Samsung Smart TV unless you don't mind Data Mining!!!
Received this TV in the promised time frame(thanks Costco), very excited about the easy set-up and picture.
Imagine my shock when I had to agree to Samsung's "privacy policy" in order to use any of the smart hub features.
Samsung demands to collect data on web browsing, content being viewed, the IP address and cookie collection of any device linked to the TV including smart phones, PCs, and anything plugged into the USB port, etc.
If you don't agree, you can't stream anything.
I want to watch TV, and stream Netflix. I DO NOT want to give my data to Samsung.
I am returning this TV."
52 of 57 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 3, 2013

Devolving quality

Pros: it does have 3 hdmi ports wifi and netflix, the picture does look good when it doesn't flicker
Cons: no swivel base or component audio out, weakest speakers i've heard yet, auto-adjustment makes the screen flicker randomly, poorly-designed remote looks the same upside-down, bad menu system for deleting channels
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"My HD TVs have been Samsungs, but they seem to be going backwards in features and quality as they go along. My first was an LN-T32H53, it had 2 coax connections, 3 HDMI, and component audio out. It still works fine, but I went for the larger LN-T37A550. That one only had one coax, so I could no longer connect one to cable and the other to a broadcast antenna. I only had it for about four years, but the screen started having serious burn-in problems, so I went for the UN40EH5300F. Result: Still one coax, no component audio out (I had to use an audio jack to component left-right cable to connect it to my stereo), the base setup doesn't swivel, and the speakers are so weak that I have to jack up the volume to the 60s to get the same loudness I used to get in the 20s with the LN models. The remote is poorly-designed, so it looks the same upside-down as up and the Source button is placed pretty far from the arrow keys. It takes 5-6 steps more to delete a channel than with the LNs. The screen has some auto-light-adjustment feature that makes the image flicker at random times. On top of that, the screen has some internal damage, so there's a black, lightning-bolt shaped extending down about two inches from the upper right corner. This TV is going back this week, time to try a Sharp or something."
Review 17 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Date:December 2, 2013

Disappointment

Pros: none
Cons: does not work
Model Number: UN40EH5300
"After plugging in, TV worked for 15 minutes. Called Concierge service and after half hour of working with rep, it was concluded that TV is bad. I have a 60" Samsung which we bought 6 months ago and it works great. Thought this one will be like that. Big disappointment. Returned next day to store."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:December 1, 2013

Very good TV. Not a smart TV.

Pros: basic tv is very good - crisp picture, costco warranty - 2 yrs + 3 yrs for $30
Cons: internet access has many bugs, smart function is not intuitive, records all internet accesses, too many freezes with internet access
Model Number: UN40EH5300
"This is my first "smart" TV. Paid extra for the "smart" feature - thinking I could access internet without hooking my laptop.
The TV part is really good. Crisp picture. Good sound. TV itself is 20 lbs.
Now to the "smart" part. The wi-fi internet connection was fast - just entered my routers password. However, this TV restricts internet access. It's youtube app - filters free access to you tube like you would from a computer or laptop.
Accessing other websites is slow, searching for anything is cumbersome - and samsung smart software often freezes. The interface is not intuitive. And I should have guessed that - Apple has not come out with a TV yet - so no one to copy from. Here Samsung is on its own - and they have done a miserable job.
When I went to internet icon - getting to google as the home page is near impossible - thanks to Samsung tieup with Microsoft - Bing shows up.
They have lots of pre-loaded apps - Hulu, netflix, yoga, movie offerings, shopping - but everything involves 10-20 steps, involves login/password and finally money.
Anybody who plays with their remote control would know - what I am talking about ! - the cursor navigation keys are next to "exit" key at the bottom and often a user ends up exiting the entire system (requiring a 20-30 second reboot)
Really I am better off accessing internet on my laptop - and if needed feeding it to my regular TVs. Let Apple invent "smart" in a TV first.
I'm returning the samsung tomorrow."
Review 19 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:November 27, 2013

Solid TV

Pros: solid picture, smart tv apps, 3 hdmi connectors
Cons: tv stand doesn't let the tv sit exactly level, need a wireless keyboard to surf the net
Model Number: Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"I bought this TV at my local Costco after researching a lot of different mfg's. They had this for $389 at my local store and you can't beat that price/size factor.
You'll need the Logitech K400 wireless keyboard to browse the net because the remote sucks for this. Everything works as advertised, I can use my Ipad and my galaxy S3 with the TV wirelessly. The laptop uses USB port.
You have to fiddle with the picture but you can find the settings on-line. My favorite is:
Contrast 85
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 20
Color: 50
Tint: 50
Backlight: 4
Color Tone: Warm1
Digital NR: Auto
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Gamma: -1
Color Space: Auto
Edge Enchancements; On
White Balance
R-Offset 21
G-Offset 20
B-Offset 21
R-Gain 0
G-Gain 21
B-Gain 26
My Color
Pink 20
Green 15
Blue 15
White 15
I've only had it a few days but I would definitely recommend this TV for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 14, 2013

Smart TV is worth it

Pros: crisp clear picture in hd, smart tv is helpful, great price, 5-year warranty
Cons: none
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"I contemplated getting a new TV for our family room for about a year. As I was making my decision, TVs changed from mostly LCDs to LCD with an LED backlight to straight LEDs and now Smart TVs, which are LEDs. I finally picked out this Samsung, what's supposed to be the best brand, and with Smart TV included. I am very happy with my purchase. The HDTV is crisp and clear. I haven't yet tried all the apps--I am just happy that Amazon Prime and Netflix are two of them (as are Hulu Plus, Pandora, YouTube, and several other popular apps). With built-in WiFi, I look forward to getting onto the Internet from my TV to catch those network channel shows that I've missed and are replayed online for free.
Hookup was easy. Other than putting in our WEP code, getting onto the wireless Internet was almost instantaneous.
I made my purchase at Costco for a reason. You may be able to save a few bucks by buying at one of the other stores, but you can't beat Coscto's customer service and the warranty--2 years with your Coscto American Express card and 3 extra years for less than $10 a year."
52 of 52 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>