Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: UN40EH5300F
Average Customer Rating:
4.315 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(429 Reviews) 429
(out of 429 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (429 reviews)
5 stars
270
4 stars
91
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 star
26
352 of 413(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Review 1 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:mesa arizona
Date:September 5, 2014

one month to replace my warranted broken TV

Pros: i wish i could give them a -100
Cons: worst company i have ever dealt with.
Model Number: samsung 40 inch smart tv
"TV quit working after 3 months of use.
samsong scheduled a repair person to come out the following Monday and fix our TV, they never showed up. After I called them again they said they didn't have anyone in our area to do repair?????? I asked why they scheduled a repair person, never got an answer.
SO
It took 11 hours on the phone and 3 weeks with samsung to get "authorization" to replace my 4 month old under warrantee TV.
I talked to 7 people in samsung corporate customer service.
Sometimes I was on hold for over 45 minutes and then switched to another department and on hold again for 30 minutes.
It took over 30 days to get my TV replaced by samsung after all of the time spent on the phone.
It was the worst experience I have ever had with a so called high quality company.
I will not ever buy a samsung product again.
"
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014

Good picture but "Smart" aspect is missing...

"Picture is good to great. The app connections are horrible. We generally give up trying to watch a show via NetFlix or Amazon Prime using this TV - we instead just have to watch it on our iPad as we can spend 15-30 minutes just trying to get it to work. VERY frustrating. Would suggest going elsewhere for the "Smart" aspects - e.g. different brand, Roku, Apple TV, etc..."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:July 7, 2014

Smart Hub Streaming Doesn't work

Pros: picture quality
Cons: streaming and internet are poor, technical support
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"OK Picture Quality but Smart Hub technology does not match basic computer performance. Streaming is poor, internet loses connection. Appears to be a combination of hardware and software. Technical support has repeatedly provided no resolution. Smart TV is a waste of money. I would go with a normal LCD and get a dedicated streamer"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale
Date:May 17, 2014

NO YOUTUBE -- ITS NOT SMART THEN

Model Number: UN46EH5300F
"Surprised to see no YOUTUBE in it and web brower to use YOUTUBE Is pathetic.....and it breaks..."
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 27, 2014

Key issue: Happiness linked to Internet provider

Pros: great picture, nice base
Cons: only has digital audio outlets no rca sockets, set up is not intuitive., smarthub button was difficult for me to find
Model Number: Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"The picture is beautiful, especially in HD. For the price I paid, it is well worth the quality.
Making use of the SMART functions requires internet connections, which proved to be my problem. No difficulty connecting to my wireless but there was no internet, with a warning I needed to call my internet provider, a major cable company whose name ends with AST. They were too busy to take my call, although I did speak with a very polite "overflow' operator who promised I'd get a call back. I used a powerline adapter to provide a direct internet connection, and within a few minutes was watching a Netflix movie. However, 20 minutes into the movie, the internet connection was lost (only on the TV, not anywhere else in the house.) I'll fight that issue another day
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arkansas
Date:April 27, 2014

Good Buy.

Pros: excellent customer service. good bang for the, buck.
Cons: first set did not work.
Model Number: Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"The TV shipped promptly. However, it had no picture when plugged in. Costco issued a return authorization and immediately shipped another set. The new set works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 17, 2014

Expected more

Pros: price was right with discount
Cons: picture and sound no better than vizio i replaced
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Expected more from the Samsung reputation. Picture is not as sharp as I would have hoped for, nor is the sound. Had a smaller Vizio, which was better in both categories. Perhaps unrelated, but Logitech Harmony 650 remote worked great with my Vizio TV/Vizio DVD player. Will not retain new program for Samsung TV/Samsung DVD player."
Review 8 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, Wa
Date:March 30, 2014

Great TV... Poor freedom of choice....

Pros: great tv
Cons: no youtube
Model Number: un40eh5300f
"I have many Samsung TVs. They are great. I purchased this one in hopes of using it wirelessly mostly for YouTube videos. Samsung has some kind of spat going with YouTube and won't allow you to load the YouTube app. Their solution was "sorry"... just another consumer caught between corporate Giants."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:March 27, 2014

Good TV, but not that smart

Pros: picture and sound are good, light weight, adequate inputs
Cons: not smart, user interface, cheap looking
"Samsung never got the user interface right. A smart TV with apps and web browser has to have at least a keyboard for text entry or it will be impossible to use. I don't think any smart TV is all that smart except for maybe sony TVs which have pretty good interface. The apps are pretty buggy. Streaming crashes a lot, but when it works, it works well. I find the Amazon prime app is the least buggy app and usually works well.
Picture quality is good, sound is pretty good for a flat screen tv.
If you expect to use the smart function of the TV you will be disappointed, but if you don't need it and have other sources such as googleTV or Rocku then I suggest to use those instead. It's good TV but not a good smart TV. Luckily I have many other devices that provide the "smart" function and don't rely on the samsung apps.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:March 10, 2014

Everything NOT included!

Pros: it was a great purchasr price
Cons: cables not included with tv no mentioned in ad
"We purchased this TV hoping it would be up and going but found out we needed to purchase more cables. We took it back. It should sell the cables that are needed with the TV or at LEAST let the consumer know you need extra cables!"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 10, 2014

worry-less transport

Pros: great value
Model Number: UN40E54300FXZA
"By purchasing online, was able to have this large TV delivered safely to my home without my having to transport it. Saved me much worry about how to do it safely."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Anselmo, CA
Date:March 5, 2014

A GREAT TV!

Pros: great picture!
Cons: the smart updates are a nuissance.
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"As our eyes age - along with the rest of our bodies - we decided to spring for an upgrade to out 322" Samsung. This 5300 looked good and the price was certainly right. It is an outstanding TV. The SMART functions are convenient and eliminated the need for the WiFi enabled DVD player. (It IS a little annoying when the SMART feature wants to update while you are watching something!)
The sound is OK but not great as is the case with all slim TVs. No depth = not much richness of sound. We got a decent SONY sound bar to go with it and use it often while watching movies, etc.
The picture is beautiful! Well defined and clear. The bezel (frame) is narrow so what you see is nearly all screen. The blacks are really black and the factory presets are 95% perfect right out of the box.
For under $500, I couldn't find a better deal. I don't think many people will be disappointed with this TV.
"
Review 13 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:March 3, 2014

Good Intermediate Sized TV

Pros: good picture
Cons: audio quality., samsung servers cannot keep up with demand.
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"This is our first flat screen TV. Yes, we were hold-outs for many years and finally gave in and bought a flat screen when our CRT TV literally fell apart when we tried to move it to our new home.
Video quality - Very good. For a 40" screen, watching from 8'-10' from the screen, the picture quality is quite good. Not as good as the $6,000 TVs we've seen, but it looks good with both 1080p programming or standard video from our Blu Ray player. Standard TV looks pretty bad, but that's only in comparison to HD.
The apps included with the TV are constantly being updated, often changing the location of apps we want to use. Our biggest complaint about the apps is that the Samsung server often cannot keep up with demand. That is, we'll be watching Hulu or Netflix and the video will freeze, suddenly jump forward, or exit to the menu. Switching to our Sony Blu Ray allows us to keep watching, so now we watch most of our content on the Sony instead of the Samsung. One good thing about the Samsung apps is that there are sometimes other options, such as subtitles that we cannot access on the Sony.
Adding a wireless keyboard via USB is helpful when entering information, searching, etc. on the Samsung apps, but most other apps (Netflix, Amazon, etc.) do not accept keyboard inputs. You're left entering text via the remote.
The three HDMI inputs is very helpful, allowing us to use multiple sources, including my laptop.
Audio quality is adequate for voice, but is not a good system for music or watching action movies. A sound bar, headphones, or use of your stereo to improve sound is recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 18, 2014

Not a SMART TV

Pros: picture quality
Cons: minimal browser doesn't support internet videos, not worth as a smart tv
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Every time I open my Samsung Smart tv's web browser to watch video It stops after few minutes and display msg: Your browser session ended due to lack of memory or other unknown reason. I cannot watch Internet programs. My friends LG tv does not have these problems."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 12, 2014

Dumb Blonde

Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: ui is terrible, very slow, apps stop working / return error messages, stop connecting to internet
"The picture is amazingly beautiful. The unit is very light, and I easily mounted it on my wall. Samsung builds beautiful, if completely dumb, products. The UI is nice, but painfully slow and buggy. Some applications (Netflix, Amazon) work fine for the first few tries, then spits back an "error" message. Today it is having issues finding my network to connect you. I hate you, TV. You are the bane of my existence."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley Wa.
Date:February 10, 2014

Good value for the $$$$$

Pros: easy to use if familiar with wireless servers
Cons: remote is difficult for network setup netflix
Model Number: Samsung 40" 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"The smart TV arrived when Costco said it would, intact and functional.
It was a 2012 model but built in Jan of 2014. I guess if it's a popular model they just keep building them, it also had the latest firmware already installed. I also purchased a Logitech K400r wireless keyboard for installation. Next is a USB camera for Skype use
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:February 4, 2014

Horrible!

Pros: it's a tv
Cons: not very smart. wastes alot of my time., slow crashes, gets hung up entering and exiting smart hub., have to unplug to reboot.
"3 months of my life wasted. This tv is not for internet use. The Smart Hub feature is extremely slow and very often crashes when trying to watch something from a network tv website. It automatically updates itself. No way to control most convenient settings. I don't need to update and use valuable storage memory space. It works well for app manufacturers that cut deals with Samsung such as Netflix, Hulu and Youtube. It's very difficult to search the web. Typing keyword for searching is horrible and cumbersome."
Review 18 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Sorry I bought it

Pros: nice picture
Cons: not so smart - big problems accessing netflix
"I actually bought 5 of these: 4 for my business & 1 for my home. We seldom use the Netflix feature for the ones at work but I bought it specifically for that for home use. My frustration level with this is huge. The picture is wonderful; no complaints there. The problem is that I can access Netflix only about 40% of the time without experiencing some kind of problem. It tells me that I have to reinstall Netflix (and how am I supposed to do that?). Then, without reinstalling Netflix, it will go right to it; sometimes it'll do it after one attempt, other times after several attempts on the same day or I might have to wait a few days; there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to it. I have a Roku on my older TV and it works perfectly, every time. If I can get someone to take this down for me, I will return it for a less "smart" TV and go the Roku route. After complaining to my staff today about my problem, they told me that they've been having the same issue but thought they were doing something wrong so didn't want to say anything."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Memphis TN
Date:December 16, 2013

At Best Secondary TV Only

Pros: good secondary tv
Cons: bad connectivity does not have a rac with hdmi
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"This is a inexpensive TV but don't expect any good connectivity options - It does not a RAC - Return Audio Channel from HDMI to any sound bar or Home Theater system"
Review 20 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Puget Sound, WA
Date:December 12, 2013

The one I got was garbage.

Pros: can't think of any
Cons: random brightness adjustments, awful sound quality
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Expect marginal to bad audio quality, but the picture was even worse. It supposedly has "Eco sensors" which adjust the brightness of the picture. It did so, continually. Bright to dark, dark to bright… but nothing else in the lighting environment changed. They could have been defects in the specific unit I received, but I doubt it."
1 2 3 next>>