Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F

Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: UN40EH5300F
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 234
(out of 234 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (234 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
54
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
14
188 of 219(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Review 1 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 14, 2013

Smart TV is worth it

Pros: crisp clear picture in hd, smart tv is helpful, great price, 5-year warranty
Cons: none
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"I contemplated getting a new TV for our family room for about a year. As I was making my decision, TVs changed from mostly LCDs to LCD with an LED backlight to straight LEDs and now Smart TVs, which are LEDs. I finally picked out this Samsung, what's supposed to be the best brand, and with Smart TV included. I am very happy with my purchase. The HDTV is crisp and clear. I haven't yet tried all the apps--I am just happy that Amazon Prime and Netflix are two of them (as are Hulu Plus, Pandora, YouTube, and several other popular apps). With built-in WiFi, I look forward to getting onto the Internet from my TV to catch those network channel shows that I've missed and are replayed online for free.
Hookup was easy. Other than putting in our WEP code, getting onto the wireless Internet was almost instantaneous.
I made my purchase at Costco for a reason. You may be able to save a few bucks by buying at one of the other stores, but you can't beat Coscto's customer service and the warranty--2 years with your Coscto American Express card and 3 extra years for less than $10 a year."
52 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Sorry I bought it

Pros: nice picture
Cons: not so smart - big problems accessing netflix
"I actually bought 5 of these: 4 for my business & 1 for my home. We seldom use the Netflix feature for the ones at work but I bought it specifically for that for home use. My frustration level with this is huge. The picture is wonderful; no complaints there. The problem is that I can access Netflix only about 40% of the time without experiencing some kind of problem. It tells me that I have to reinstall Netflix (and how am I supposed to do that?). Then, without reinstalling Netflix, it will go right to it; sometimes it'll do it after one attempt, other times after several attempts on the same day or I might have to wait a few days; there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to it. I have a Roku on my older TV and it works perfectly, every time. If I can get someone to take this down for me, I will return it for a less "smart" TV and go the Roku route. After complaining to my staff today about my problem, they told me that they've been having the same issue but thought they were doing something wrong so didn't want to say anything."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 11, 2013

Good but still terrible!

Pros: picture quality, audio, features
Cons: usb interface is terrible, samsungs allshare tries to do everything and fails
"So let me start with some key points about the quality of this TV.
The Picture quality is really good.
It comes loaded with features.
This is my first smart TV so I love the ability to use netflix, hulu and Amazon instant video.
The sound quality is really good.
now the parts I hate.
I used to have an LG that I bought 5 years ago. It was a top of the line LG and I paid insane money for it at the time. It came with USB so that I could hook up my hard drive, usb drive or what ever to it and watch my videos with no problem, plug it in and there they where. Samsung makes that impossible. I plugged in my usb drive and the first thing the tv does is ask me a question, what do you want to do. watch video, pictures or listen to audio. FANTASTIC....but no...I select video and I waited 2.5 hours and nothing showed up. just a loading screen. samsungs AllShare is making this impossible. I will be returning this tv to pay an extra 200 for a new LG.
"
22 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:December 7, 2013

Data Mining Monitor

Cons: data mining
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Don't buy a Samsung Smart TV unless you don't mind Data Mining!!!
Received this TV in the promised time frame(thanks Costco), very excited about the easy set-up and picture.
Imagine my shock when I had to agree to Samsung's "privacy policy" in order to use any of the smart hub features.
Samsung demands to collect data on web browsing, content being viewed, the IP address and cookie collection of any device linked to the TV including smart phones, PCs, and anything plugged into the USB port, etc.
If you don't agree, you can't stream anything.
I want to watch TV, and stream Netflix. I DO NOT want to give my data to Samsung.
I am returning this TV."
52 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:September 4, 2013

A disaster in a box!

Pros: looks good when not on
Cons: lousy color, total failure in three weeks of service
Model Number: UN40EH5300FXZA
"Just as we were trying to get used to the filmy sharpness of the picture, and the lousy flesh tones most of the time, the TV had the good manners to self-destruct in an irretrievable manner. The video display spontaneously went all splotchy in wild colors, the menus could not be navigated, and in minutes even the audio went away. A call to Costco concierge service led to a Samsung customer service person who tried for an hour to get the TV functioning, but no dice. She wanted to send a service person to our home in twelve days to see about fixing it, and that is when we were so very happy that we bought the TV at Costco! It went back to the store today for full credit, and we came home with a new Vizio M401i-A3. It was literally plug-and-play, internet wireless connection and all, and we're all set with a MUCH better picture than the Samsung TV. Now, we're hoping the Vizio will last longer than the Samsung! In our case, the Samsung was a worthless piece of junk and I have lost confidence in their products."
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:March 27, 2014

Good TV, but not that smart

Pros: picture and sound are good, light weight, adequate inputs
Cons: not smart, user interface, cheap looking
"Samsung never got the user interface right. A smart TV with apps and web browser has to have at least a keyboard for text entry or it will be impossible to use. I don't think any smart TV is all that smart except for maybe sony TVs which have pretty good interface. The apps are pretty buggy. Streaming crashes a lot, but when it works, it works well. I find the Amazon prime app is the least buggy app and usually works well.
Picture quality is good, sound is pretty good for a flat screen tv.
If you expect to use the smart function of the TV you will be disappointed, but if you don't need it and have other sources such as googleTV or Rocku then I suggest to use those instead. It's good TV but not a good smart TV. Luckily I have many other devices that provide the "smart" function and don't rely on the samsung apps.
"
Review 7 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Anselmo, CA
Date:March 5, 2014

A GREAT TV!

Pros: great picture!
Cons: the smart updates are a nuissance.
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"As our eyes age - along with the rest of our bodies - we decided to spring for an upgrade to out 322" Samsung. This 5300 looked good and the price was certainly right. It is an outstanding TV. The SMART functions are convenient and eliminated the need for the WiFi enabled DVD player. (It IS a little annoying when the SMART feature wants to update while you are watching something!)
The sound is OK but not great as is the case with all slim TVs. No depth = not much richness of sound. We got a decent SONY sound bar to go with it and use it often while watching movies, etc.
The picture is beautiful! Well defined and clear. The bezel (frame) is narrow so what you see is nearly all screen. The blacks are really black and the factory presets are 95% perfect right out of the box.
For under $500, I couldn't find a better deal. I don't think many people will be disappointed with this TV.
"
Review 8 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 18, 2014

Not a SMART TV

Pros: picture quality
Cons: minimal browser doesn't support internet videos, not worth as a smart tv
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"Every time I open my Samsung Smart tv's web browser to watch video It stops after few minutes and display msg: Your browser session ended due to lack of memory or other unknown reason. I cannot watch Internet programs. My friends LG tv does not have these problems."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 12, 2013

Great Picture, BUT...

Pros: great picture
Cons: complicated remote and menu, minimal browser doesn't support internet videos, samsung is pushing paid apps, doesn't automatically adjust aspect ratios
Model Number: UN40EH5300
"My first SMART TV. Looking forward to watching Internet videos, Internet TV, etc. Claimed to have a Web Browser. While the picture was incredible, I could not watch Internet programs as it is a PARTIAL browser and does not support a flash player which was required. It does not let you view websites like you would on a computer, and the "keyboard" to enter URL addresses is PAINFUL! Samsung says you need a 2013 model to get a full web browser.
Further, though it was bought in late 2013, it is a 2012 model ("EH" in the middle of the model name rather than "F"). So I returned it. I'll wait for the 2013 "F" models to come down in price before buying one, or I'll get a different brand. If TV's are like cars, the 2014's should already be out making this a 2-year old set.
An alternative might be to buy a "dumb" TV and add a Slingbox or some streaming product, but then it pushes the price up again.
Set doesn't automatically adjust for the best aspect ratio forcing the viewer to have to flip through various choices to get the best. And when the format changes while watching or changing a station, the aspect ratio should automatically adjust... it doesn't
Also, the remote and the many functions are REALLY CONFUSING and COMPLICATED! The owner's manual is hundreds of pages long."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:November 27, 2013

Solid TV

Pros: solid picture, smart tv apps, 3 hdmi connectors
Cons: tv stand doesn't let the tv sit exactly level, need a wireless keyboard to surf the net
Model Number: Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"I bought this TV at my local Costco after researching a lot of different mfg's. They had this for $389 at my local store and you can't beat that price/size factor.
You'll need the Logitech K400 wireless keyboard to browse the net because the remote sucks for this. Everything works as advertised, I can use my Ipad and my galaxy S3 with the TV wirelessly. The laptop uses USB port.
You have to fiddle with the picture but you can find the settings on-line. My favorite is:
Contrast 85
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 20
Color: 50
Tint: 50
Backlight: 4
Color Tone: Warm1
Digital NR: Auto
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Gamma: -1
Color Space: Auto
Edge Enchancements; On
White Balance
R-Offset 21
G-Offset 20
B-Offset 21
R-Gain 0
G-Gain 21
B-Gain 26
My Color
Pink 20
Green 15
Blue 15
White 15
I've only had it a few days but I would definitely recommend this TV for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, Wa
Date:March 30, 2014

Great TV... Poor freedom of choice....

Pros: great tv
Cons: no youtube
Model Number: un40eh5300f
"I have many Samsung TVs. They are great. I purchased this one in hopes of using it wirelessly mostly for YouTube videos. Samsung has some kind of spat going with YouTube and won't allow you to load the YouTube app. Their solution was "sorry"... just another consumer caught between corporate Giants."
Review 12 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 12, 2014

Dumb Blonde

Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: ui is terrible, very slow, apps stop working / return error messages, stop connecting to internet
"The picture is amazingly beautiful. The unit is very light, and I easily mounted it on my wall. Samsung builds beautiful, if completely dumb, products. The UI is nice, but painfully slow and buggy. Some applications (Netflix, Amazon) work fine for the first few tries, then spits back an "error" message. Today it is having issues finding my network to connect you. I hate you, TV. You are the bane of my existence."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley Wa.
Date:February 10, 2014

Good value for the $$$$$

Pros: easy to use if familiar with wireless servers
Cons: remote is difficult for network setup netflix
Model Number: Samsung 40" 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
"The smart TV arrived when Costco said it would, intact and functional.
It was a 2012 model but built in Jan of 2014. I guess if it's a popular model they just keep building them, it also had the latest firmware already installed. I also purchased a Logitech K400r wireless keyboard for installation. Next is a USB camera for Skype use
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:La Conner, WA
Date:August 4, 2013

Be careful!

Pros: nice picture
Cons: couldn't get smart part to work, horrible customer service
Model Number: UN40EH5300
"After 8 hours of trying to trouble shoot with Samsung customer service I returned this tv. Couldn't get the SMART part to work. They promised to have supervisors call back twice and they never did, tried to schedule in home service and it never happened, and the 5 different people I talked to all told me different things. Their customer service department needs to take lessons from Apple customer service."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:March 10, 2014

Everything NOT included!

Pros: it was a great purchasr price
Cons: cables not included with tv no mentioned in ad
"We purchased this TV hoping it would be up and going but found out we needed to purchase more cables. We took it back. It should sell the cables that are needed with the TV or at LEAST let the consumer know you need extra cables!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 10, 2014

worry-less transport

Pros: great value
Model Number: UN40E54300FXZA
"By purchasing online, was able to have this large TV delivered safely to my home without my having to transport it. Saved me much worry about how to do it safely."
Review 17 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:March 3, 2014

Good Intermediate Sized TV

Pros: good picture
Cons: audio quality., samsung servers cannot keep up with demand.
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"This is our first flat screen TV. Yes, we were hold-outs for many years and finally gave in and bought a flat screen when our CRT TV literally fell apart when we tried to move it to our new home.
Video quality - Very good. For a 40" screen, watching from 8'-10' from the screen, the picture quality is quite good. Not as good as the $6,000 TVs we've seen, but it looks good with both 1080p programming or standard video from our Blu Ray player. Standard TV looks pretty bad, but that's only in comparison to HD.
The apps included with the TV are constantly being updated, often changing the location of apps we want to use. Our biggest complaint about the apps is that the Samsung server often cannot keep up with demand. That is, we'll be watching Hulu or Netflix and the video will freeze, suddenly jump forward, or exit to the menu. Switching to our Sony Blu Ray allows us to keep watching, so now we watch most of our content on the Sony instead of the Samsung. One good thing about the Samsung apps is that there are sometimes other options, such as subtitles that we cannot access on the Sony.
Adding a wireless keyboard via USB is helpful when entering information, searching, etc. on the Samsung apps, but most other apps (Netflix, Amazon, etc.) do not accept keyboard inputs. You're left entering text via the remote.
The three HDMI inputs is very helpful, allowing us to use multiple sources, including my laptop.
Audio quality is adequate for voice, but is not a good system for music or watching action movies. A sound bar, headphones, or use of your stereo to improve sound is recommended."
Review 18 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013

Full Internet Browser, not even close!

Pros: great tv
Cons: bad browser
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"The "full" internet browser is like the speed and options of 10 years ago browsing, at best! You must buy a dual core processor at least if you really want to do anything online other than wait and have the system crash!"
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:February 4, 2014

Horrible!

Pros: it's a tv
Cons: not very smart. wastes alot of my time., slow crashes, gets hung up entering and exiting smart hub., have to unplug to reboot.
"3 months of my life wasted. This tv is not for internet use. The Smart Hub feature is extremely slow and very often crashes when trying to watch something from a network tv website. It automatically updates itself. No way to control most convenient settings. I don't need to update and use valuable storage memory space. It works well for app manufacturers that cut deals with Samsung such as Netflix, Hulu and Youtube. It's very difficult to search the web. Typing keyword for searching is horrible and cumbersome."
Review 20 for Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California Bay area
Date:August 26, 2013

Returning

Pros: good picture lots of features which work well
Cons: stopped working after a month or so
Model Number: UN40EH5300F
"TV is very nice, I like the streaming features built in which mostly worked well (Amazon movies tended to lock up though; Netflix are fine). HOWEVER, after 6 weeks, the TV started powering itself off and then going into an endless loop of power recycling -- only unplugging the power cord would stop it. The splash screen would appear, never get to a picture, turn off and power back on, over and over... check the 'net, there are others complaining about this issue with Samsung TVs going back several years. Not confident with the brand now, will look at other brands at Costco when I take this one back."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>