Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
7
18 of 33(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014

hard to connect

Cons: difficult setup. instructions confusing
"The sound is decent, but had great difficuty getting the soundbar to work. I thought just the HDMI connection would do it but no. So I connected the optical cable and still nothing. I then connected the analog audio cable and did get sound. Then I idsconnected the audio cable and still had sound. The same configuration that I had no sound on minutes before. I cannot get the tv and soundbar to turn on and off together."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:April 8, 2014

Fills the room

Pros: very clear and works with the samsung tv remote
Cons: none
"We had been using the TV Speakers. We always had to keep turning it up louder to hear.....especially during movies...Netflix, etc. The soundbar fills the room. The Bluetooth subwoofer across the room really enhances the sound. The soundbar paired with the subwoofer with no effort. Actually sounds better than the Bose Solo I had previously...It had been stolen. The Samsung is TOPS."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 10, 2014

Serviceable

Pros: simple install all cables included small size, sits low enough to not interfere w tv remote.
Cons: limited flexibility in sound settings no equalize, cannot get verizon remote to sync
Model Number: HW-fm 45 c
"Nice, but not great sound. Better than TV of course. I have real placement problems and this is only sound bar with low enough profile to work. Set up was quick and easy despite limited info in manual. Costco comes through by including all cables, hdmi, optical, etc.,
with unit.
Setting up sub woofer and bluetooth was easy and both work well.
Still not entirely certain about sound quality. There is no equalizer rather there a series of preset sound profiles. Have not found an ideal one yet. Also does not provide great sense of stereo/
separation. Might be a disappointment to movie watchers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa Ca
Date:February 8, 2014

Not a good purshase

Pros: good value had a good sound in the store.
Cons: couldn't get it to work........
Model Number: samsung hw-fm45c
"I bought the Samsung hw-fm45c sound bar with wireless subwoofer, I couldn't get it to work so I called Costco "concierge service" they couldn't get it to work either so I took it back for a refund........"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas area, TX
Date:February 5, 2014

A Sound Purchase! Pun intended

Pros: clean easy to setup and use great sound quality, wireless woofer!, usb and bluetooth playback works great, samsung quality
Cons: cant get directv remote to handle the volume cntrl
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I am extremely happy with this purchase. I cant imagine how others can hear this thing as "tinny" The bass is incredible and never distorted even at uncomfortably high volume. The Bass volume is controlled separately on the remote!
I hooked this up to my 50" plasma, and its in a very large room of over 320 Sq, feet with 12 ft ceilings. The sound is on equal with my older bose accustamass system. No wires, no mess and not a single blip or chirp from the wireless woofer. The bluetooth option has my family hooked. Don't hesitate to buy! Not one TV on the market has this much sound built-in. If you are used to a 1000 watts surround...maybe you will be less impressed, but the rest of us mortals will not be disappointed."
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2014

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Pros: ease of installation
"good sound throughout the room at a very good price."
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fog City
Date:February 3, 2014

Underwhelming

Pros: wireless subwoofer
Cons: tinny/hollow sound, no bass/treble adjustmemt, fairly useless remote control
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I bought the Samsung HW-FM45C to pair up with my Samsung UN46D6050 TV. The new soundbar has TERRIBLE sound (as does the TV). It has a hollow/tinny tone even after trying all of the built-in adjustment features. The sub-woofer even when turned up to the max has very little effect and there is no way to adjust the bass/treble. If Samsung would put more emphasis on sound and less emphasis on gadgetry it could have a top selling audio product. I am returning it today."
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Peoria, IL
Date:January 25, 2014

Good sound; easy to program on universal remote

Pros: 1. good sound and quality for the price, 2. easy to program a universal remote to operate., 3. can sit the sound bar on the tv base.
Cons: so far none.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"My sound bar arrived on 1/17 and was installed the next day with the aid of my son-in-law. I immediately noticed a difference in my Hitachi TV as the dialogue was no longer overwhelmed by the soundtrack. We looked up the universal remote I use from my TV provider and were able to program every function without a problem, making it easy to use one remote to manage the TV and the sound bar in addition to my Blu Ray player. I do recommend this product."
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 25, 2014

OK for small room

Pros: synchs with new samsung tv w/ ease
Cons: subwoofer is weak
Model Number: FM-45C
"This unit will not produce good depth base unless its turned way up. At this point, the voice and soundeffects are overwhelming. The sound bar is mediocre at best. Better than TV speakers, but not much more than that. I will take it back and try the FM-55"
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rockwall, TX
Date:January 25, 2014

okay overall, but Anynet+ feature is incomplete

Pros: construction, wireless subwoofer
Cons: feature set, anynet+ incomplete
Model Number: HW-FM45C/ZA
"overall sound quality is pretty good, and the contruction quality is decent. However, the Anynet+ control feature (which allows you to control the sound bar using the TV remote) is incomplete. The TV remote can control the volume and power-off of the sound bar, but the power-on can only be accomplished using the sound bar remote itself. Samsung tech support claims that this is "normal operation"; the default power-on input condition is "D.IN" (optical cable), but the Anynet+ TV enabled volume and power controls only work over the HDMI cable. No firmware updates are provided to address this design issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:King ,NC
Date:January 24, 2014

Samsung wireless soundbar

Pros: easy install
Cons: not the greatest of speakersbut good enough
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The price was right ,the sound was better than expected,subwoofer wireless also make for an easy installation.everything included with system."
Review 12 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 21, 2014

Wow! What a Difference!

Pros: easy connections excellent sound
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I just purchased the sound bar and am very pleased with it. I connected it to a Samsung television that I purchased at Costco. The instructions were clear and the connections were easy. I moved the subwoofer around the room until the bass was just right. The unit has plenty of power and makes a huge difference versus factory television sound."
Review 13 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:January 13, 2014

Nice for the price!

Pros: good rich sound with no distortion, wireless base speaker
Cons: base speaker feet location
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"We bought this to go with our new 2013 Samsung 60" Smart TV. It set up easy, turns on and off/up and down with the TV remote..
I'm no audiophile, but to me the sound is clear and rich with no distortion even when turned way up. It's powerful and fills the room with sound. I've used it for playing MP3 CD's from our Sony DVD player with good results. You are able to adjust the sound and base with the soundbar remote control, just read the manual.
I compared this to the Samsung and Yamaha sound bars in the warehouse before I bought and although it's no Bose, its much better than the other soundbars offered in the same price range and extremely better than the built in speakers that come with the TV. It certainly does the job for us.
The only Con I have is that the Base Speaker has permanent feet mounted on one side so it has to stand up tall, would be nice if I was able to lay it down horizontally but if I do, the feet of the speaker make it look like it's laying on it's side.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:January 4, 2014

Excellent Value!

Pros: good value, good sound, small size
Cons: small display, samsung instructions
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"This is exactly what I was looking for -- great sound at a great price! I was hesitant to buy after reading some of the reviews, but I took a chance and I'm glad I did.
I initially hooked it up according to the Samsung instructions and couldn't get everything to work. I called Costco concierge and they were able to help. I had connected my Comcast cable box to the HDMI In of the soundbar and the HDMI Out of the soundbar to the TV (according to the Samsung instructions). When I switched to my Roku and DVD player, the sound was great and the soundbar display read TV ARC. When I went back to cable, I had to change the source from TV ARC to HDMI to see and hear anything. That's a hassle. Concierge had me disconnect the Cable box HDMI from the soundbar and connect it into a spare HDMI port on my TV. We left the soundbar HDMI cable plugged into my TV's HDMI ARC port. Doing it that way ensures that your ARC-capable TV will send the sound to the soundbar, no matter which input you use. I won't have to use the soundbar remote unless I'm going to play music through my smartphone.
By the way, my TV is Sharp Aquos that is over three years old. The TV detected that I had a soundbar connected and automatically switched the sound using Aquos Link (even though my soundbar is a Samsung!). When I power up the TV, the soundbar comes on. When I turn off the TV, the soundbar powers off. The soundbar isn't too tall that it blocks the sensor inputs on my TV.
When I watch a movie on my Sharp TV, I used to have to have subtitles on because the sound is so awful. This soundbar makes everything so much clearer, no matter if it's a football game, TV show or a movie! Voices sound better and clearer, and the subwoofer does a great job with the deeper sounds. No more subtitles for me (unless it's something like True Grit)"
Review 15 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 2, 2013

buyer beware

Pros: sound
Cons: difficulty in hooking up
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Bought this to go with a 50" Samsung Smart TV. At some point the TV did drive the soundbar but required 3 remotes to tie it in with a Comcast DVR. No one remote would control all three devices completely. After spending two tech calls with Samsung for a total of 3 hours I was unsuccessful at satisfactorily combining all three devices. Henceforth, it is going back to Costco."
Review 16 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:December 2, 2013

Decent Soundbar. Works with my LG TV via HDMI-ARC.

Pros: decent sound after a break-in period., hdmi arc support
Cons: will not power off automatically with tv., only preset adjustments for sound quality.
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I've had this soundbar for about a week now and must say, it's grown on me.
At first I had problems getting the HDMI ARC to function and ended up with a mixed HDMI and optical setup where I could control the volume via HDMI, but the audio signal could only be picked up by the soundbar via the optical input. Finally, after trying several combinations of soundbar and TV settings, I was able to get the soundbar to accept both control and audio via HDMI. Now, I can control the soundbar volume with the TV remote with only a single HDMI connection from the TV. The downside is that when using HDMI ARC, the soundbar will not automatically power on (it will however automatically power off when the TV is turned off). This is a limitation of the soundbar and is mentioned in the soundbar documentation.
The sound started out as only decent, with thin mid-range and low bass. I had to turn the subwoofer output to maximum to get any real volume from the sub during bass heavy movie scenes. But after a few days use, the sub's responsiveness seemed to increase. I found myself turning down the sub as things in my family room began rattling during bass heavy movie scenes (where before nothing of the sort was happening). Mid-range responsiveness has also increased, although the sound can still be a bit thin. I'm typically using either the Music sound mode or the 3D Movie sound mode, and both of those modes help with the overall fullness of the sound. Still, it's not a high dollar soundbar, so I'm not expecting full home theatre 5.1 sound quality. Overall, the sound is what I will call "decent".
The soundbar is capable of some high volumes without too much distortion. It fills my 16X13 foot family room with sound quite nicely. MUCH better than the little buzzer speakers in my TV. My high frequency hearing isn't what it used to be, but voices and most music sound pretty good. Unfortunately the response of the system isn't quite linear. At lower volumes, the sound gets a bit thin. Not what I would call tinny as others here have described it, but the mid-range definitely loses some of the richness it has at higher volumes. Again, for the money, it's a decent soundbar. I've owned cheaper soundbars that were nearly as good sound quality, but without the connectivity options, and I've owned more expensive soundbars with much higher sound quality (Boston Acoustics makes a good sounding, but not very reliable soundbar). I'm giving this soundbar 4 stars, mostly because of the connectivity and the price point. Without those two pluses, it would be have been a 3 star soundbar."
Review 17 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DC Area
Date:November 29, 2013

Decent Sound, but Tin Can voices are a No-Go

Pros: great price looks nice
Cons: sewer tunnel sound
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Tried connecting it to 55" Samsung LED TV. My TV is a 2011 model and doesn't support Sound Share. I'm pretty tech savvy and could not get the soundbar to work with HDMI ARC. I used the Digital Audio cable input instead. Initially, it sounded better than the TV speakers, but I noticed a slight TINNY sound. The louder you set it, the more noticeable the distortion. Bass and mid-range sound great. Changing the sound modes helped a little, but did not get rid of the tin can treble sound, which is particularly noticeable during human speech. Playing music it disappears and sounds great. Playing DVDs, sounds Tinny. After 3 days of monkeying around with it, I decided to return it and am looking for another one. I'd rather listen to the TV speaker w/out the sub than the Tinny sound with great bass."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 29, 2013

Good value

Pros: sleek design, bluetooth, syncs with our tv and att uverse remote
Cons: may not be as seamless with older/different models
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"We bought a new Samsung smart tv with this sound bar. Couldn't pass up Costco's deals on both. Syncs to our tv so when our tv turns on, the sound bar does as well. Works with our ATT Uverse remote too, though I opted to set up the sync via the tv.
In our 1900 sqft home, this sound bar does a good job. I don't know what anyone's expectations are...we don't need theater quality or anything, we just want something that sounds nice, deep, and has bluetooth. Let's face it...TV speakers are the pits and this sound bar makes a world of difference.
Also, great value. Got it for $165 and nothing else out there can compare with it at that price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:November 26, 2013

Decent Soundbar. Works with my LG TV via HDMI-CEC.

Pros: inexpensive with black friday discount., decent sound quality., hdmi cec compatible
Cons: medium punch (not room shaking) from subwoofer., confusing setup for hdmi cec, no power-on via hdmi cec (for me)
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I was hesitant to buy this soundbar based on the mixed reviews here, but having pulled the trigger during the $105 discount period (purchase price of $169 with discount), I'm glad I did.
I had an absolute requirement that I be able to control the soundbar volume through the LG TV Magic remote (I have WAY too many remotes to keep up with already!), so HDMI-CEC capability was a must. However, it was difficult to tell if the soundbar was actually HDMI-CEC compliant as Samsung (like other manufacturers) seems to have labeled that capability with their own brand label, Anynet+. Some Googling around seemed to confirm that the soundbar was indeed HDMI-CEC compliant.
After some fiddling with cables and settings on the soundbar and my LG TV (which uses the SIMPLINK brand name for HDMI-CEC capabilities), I managed to get the TV and the soundbar talking over HDMI. I am able to control the soundbar volume from the TV remote (the TV displays "Home Theatre" when I control the volume, and the soundbar displays the actual volume level, e.g. "15").
However, to get it to actually work, I had to connect both an HDMI input on my TV to the HDMI input on the soundbar, AND the optical output from the TV to the optical input of the soundbar. The HDMI connection is the CEC control channel apparently, allowing the TV to send the volume and power-off signals to the soundbar. The optical connection carries the digital sound signal. I thought I could get the audio and control signals to pass through the HDMI connection, but apparently that doesn't work with my particular TV/soundbar combination (it MIGHT work for others). Luckily, both HDMI and optical cables are included with this particular soundbar, so I had everything I needed to get it connected properly. After enabling the Anynet+ on the soundbar and the SIMPLINK functions on my TV, the soundbar connected, automatically selecting the "D-IN" (optical digital input) on sync, and I had sound. Woo hoo!
Now, the one limitation of my particular setup is that the soundbar will only turn OFF when I turn off the TV, but will NOT automatically turn ON when I power on the TV. So, I'm stuck with manually powering on the soundbar with either the button on the bar of the soundbar remote, but after that I really don't need the soundbar remote. So, not terrible, but not great either from a remote control perspective.
Now, on to sound quality. I tried various sources to test the sound, but eventually used my Apple TV to stream iTunes as the real fidelity test. Overall, the sound is balanced, but slightly flat (I'm not sure where others are getting the "tinny" sounds). But flat is better than peaky in my opinion. One downside is that the subwoofer performance is mediocre. It's punchy, but lacks real depth. I found myself cranking the subwoofer level up a couple of notches to get a more balanced bottom end. That along with setting the soundbar to the "Music" equalization gave me actually quite a decent sound. WAY better sound than the terrible little speakers in my TV, but not close to a true audiophile home theatre sound system either (but then again, what soundbar IS?). Definitely good sound quality for $169."
Review 20 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon City, OR
Date:November 25, 2013

Great sound for low budget

Pros: very loud & crisp with no notable distortion., very easy setup and connection
Cons: cannot alter the sound - eq/knobs would be nice, i do not like the tweeters exposed with no grill
Model Number: HW-FM45c
"First off, one must realize that you cannot compare this set with an over $500 system as they are not meant to be equal. What you do hear though is actually quite crisp dialogue in movies and a pretty good bass for the crashes, bombs, sound effects and such. The separation is also quite good in regards to left and right speaker sounds and the simulated surround. More than once i had to look to a side to see if something fell due to a noise I realized I must of heard on the TV. I am quite impressed.
I have this system set up in a about a 12'X12' room with a newer Samsung 40" tv I bought a few months prior to the sound system also at Costco. I purchased this system a little over 6 months ago.
I plugged in the HDMI from the speaker to the TV (arc) port, set the bluetooth up as well as setting up center speaker to connect with sub woofer. In all, it took about 15 minute from box to watching TV. The arc system did not need me to set up anything and it all 'just worked' as well as 'Anynet'. I simply turn on TV with remote, then the speaker system with its remote and once the sound comes out of speaker system, I can control everything with TV remote. I do not have satellite in this room, so I am not sure if that remote would work or not.
I would recommend this to anyone who does not want to spend a wad of money on a smaller sound system but wants good quality sound. Besides, we are talking Costco, if you don't like it, you can return it...but I bet you won't though."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>