Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.293 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
8
23 of 41(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 14, 2014

Great product - documentation so-so

Pros: works great make sure you update rom and firmware
Cons: the manual is missing one thing.
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Works great with Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player. Easy to setup. However.... The sub woofer has two lights, one blue that shows you are connected and one that you would think is the power by the symbol but it is not. It is an indicator that the unit is in standby or not. After you power down the bar, about 15 minutes later the red LED comes on. Spent an hour thinking it was defective."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Troy, Michigan
Date:June 10, 2014

The best to date...

Pros: clarity of sound, easy set-up, volume, excellent bluetooth connectivity, price/value
Cons: no universal code for the remote
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The Samsung is the fifth soundbar I have bought. It is easily the best for clarity of broadcast sound. (The other four, in order of preference: Vizio, Yamaha, Panasonic, Sony). Setup is easy. Two twin-bladed plugs -- one for the soundbar and one for the subwoofer -- and an optical cable. Ten minutes at most. The bluetooth feature connected easily with my laptop and iPad (so that I can play my iTunes collection -- again, with impressive clarity of sound.) The Samsung is in a room that measures 32 x 24, with 9ft ceilings. About half volume is enough. The only drawback is the remote which has no universal code, otherwise I would have given the Samsung five stars. It was, btw, not the most expensive soundbar I have purchased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:May 24, 2014

Great Sound but Not Compatible w/Universal Remote

Pros: great sound
Cons: not compatible with samsung tv remotes
"Be aware if you are trying to use this unit with a Samsung TV and expect it to perform as described. The sound of the unit is great, but the described connectivity and functions do not work. The main reason I bought this unit was the compatibility, or so I thought with Samsung TVs. Sure it hooks up, sounds pretty good, but you must use the sound bar remote. Aside from the exclusive functions on the soundbar remote, not even the basic functions will work with the Samsung TV remote. Even when using an optical connection, the auto power-on function works, but the volume controls do not work on the TV remote. I have an UN50H5500 tv and the HW-F45C sound bar (same as HW-F450). I even installed the latest TV software and still not working as described. As I searched the web for clues, and called Samsung Supporto no avail. This seems to be a common complaint of Samsung's Sound bars. Should the volume function work with the TV remote with a future software upgrade, my review would change to EXCELLENT on all levels."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Matthews, NC
Date:May 21, 2014

Good Sound... Not as compatable as I wished!

Pros: great sound quality
Cons: not compatible with charter universal remote
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"This Samsung Sound Bar has real nice sound quality but I found that with my Charter Communications Universal Remote Control was not compatible and I'm now forced to use two remote controls... Charter's for power and channels and Samsung's for volume control. I have been told that there is a fix using a special cable. I have yet to find it."
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 16, 2014

Generally pleased

Pros: looks great!
"I am usually pleased with Samsung products. This installed easily and worked as expected. I am not interested in big surround sound, since this is in a mid-sized bedroom. Exactly what I intended to accomplish."
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, pA
Date:May 15, 2014

Good purchase & value

Pros: good quality sound
Cons: lg tv has optic fiber and cable only to connect, using the optic improves audio but req remote use
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"easy to setup and configure. sound quality is very good especially for a smaller room. I was disappointed that I could not get the soundbar to turn off/on with the TV (mine is not a Samsung) but did manage to connect via audio cable to turn it off. I still have to use the soundbar remote to turn it on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 24, 2014

It didn't work for me

Pros: sounds very good
Cons: can't use tv headset when using soundbar
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I wanted my husband to be able to use his headset (because he is hard of hearing) and I wanted to use the soundbar "at the same time". This unit is not capable of doing that."
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014

hard to connect

Cons: difficult setup. instructions confusing
"The sound is decent, but had great difficuty getting the soundbar to work. I thought just the HDMI connection would do it but no. So I connected the optical cable and still nothing. I then connected the analog audio cable and did get sound. Then I idsconnected the audio cable and still had sound. The same configuration that I had no sound on minutes before. I cannot get the tv and soundbar to turn on and off together."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:April 8, 2014

Fills the room

Pros: very clear and works with the samsung tv remote
Cons: none
"We had been using the TV Speakers. We always had to keep turning it up louder to hear.....especially during movies...Netflix, etc. The soundbar fills the room. The Bluetooth subwoofer across the room really enhances the sound. The soundbar paired with the subwoofer with no effort. Actually sounds better than the Bose Solo I had previously...It had been stolen. The Samsung is TOPS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:March 31, 2014

Awful soundbar

Pros: i liked message across sound bar
Cons: cheap looking front exposed awful sound!
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought the soundbar for a New 55 inch Vizio Smart TV because the speakers on that Vizio were the worse I have ever listened to. I was shocked at how bad the sound was until I bought this soundbar Paid $239.00 it was on sale for 30 bucks off sounded pretty good in the store with the Bluetooth from smart phone so thought why not. Got it home directions were DUMB... won't go into it and waste your time on that one. So did the optical hook up turned it on and I was like REALLY... Sounded not much better then the TV speakers. Just awful...Packed it up took it back and went right over to the Vizio 5.1 and the lady at returns said they hardly ever get that brand back Vizio, Should have just gone with it the day before, It Sounds so good!!! $279.00 and only $10.00 more the the Samsung regular price. What a difference I thought it sounded so great in the store because it was on that demo they have them hooked up to. Sorry Samsung a big FAIL for your sound bar!"
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 10, 2014

Serviceable

Pros: simple install all cables included small size, sits low enough to not interfere w tv remote.
Cons: limited flexibility in sound settings no equalize, cannot get verizon remote to sync
Model Number: HW-fm 45 c
"Nice, but not great sound. Better than TV of course. I have real placement problems and this is only sound bar with low enough profile to work. Set up was quick and easy despite limited info in manual. Costco comes through by including all cables, hdmi, optical, etc.,
with unit.
Setting up sub woofer and bluetooth was easy and both work well.
Still not entirely certain about sound quality. There is no equalizer rather there a series of preset sound profiles. Have not found an ideal one yet. Also does not provide great sense of stereo/
separation. Might be a disappointment to movie watchers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa Ca
Date:February 8, 2014

Not a good purshase

Pros: good value had a good sound in the store.
Cons: couldn't get it to work........
Model Number: samsung hw-fm45c
"I bought the Samsung hw-fm45c sound bar with wireless subwoofer, I couldn't get it to work so I called Costco "concierge service" they couldn't get it to work either so I took it back for a refund........"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas area, TX
Date:February 5, 2014

A Sound Purchase! Pun intended

Pros: clean easy to setup and use great sound quality, wireless woofer!, usb and bluetooth playback works great, samsung quality
Cons: cant get directv remote to handle the volume cntrl
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I am extremely happy with this purchase. I cant imagine how others can hear this thing as "tinny" The bass is incredible and never distorted even at uncomfortably high volume. The Bass volume is controlled separately on the remote!
I hooked this up to my 50" plasma, and its in a very large room of over 320 Sq, feet with 12 ft ceilings. The sound is on equal with my older bose accustamass system. No wires, no mess and not a single blip or chirp from the wireless woofer. The bluetooth option has my family hooked. Don't hesitate to buy! Not one TV on the market has this much sound built-in. If you are used to a 1000 watts surround...maybe you will be less impressed, but the rest of us mortals will not be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2014

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Pros: ease of installation
"good sound throughout the room at a very good price."
Review 15 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fog City
Date:February 3, 2014

Underwhelming

Pros: wireless subwoofer
Cons: tinny/hollow sound, no bass/treble adjustmemt, fairly useless remote control
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I bought the Samsung HW-FM45C to pair up with my Samsung UN46D6050 TV. The new soundbar has TERRIBLE sound (as does the TV). It has a hollow/tinny tone even after trying all of the built-in adjustment features. The sub-woofer even when turned up to the max has very little effect and there is no way to adjust the bass/treble. If Samsung would put more emphasis on sound and less emphasis on gadgetry it could have a top selling audio product. I am returning it today."
Review 16 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Peoria, IL
Date:January 25, 2014

Good sound; easy to program on universal remote

Pros: 1. good sound and quality for the price, 2. easy to program a universal remote to operate., 3. can sit the sound bar on the tv base.
Cons: so far none.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"My sound bar arrived on 1/17 and was installed the next day with the aid of my son-in-law. I immediately noticed a difference in my Hitachi TV as the dialogue was no longer overwhelmed by the soundtrack. We looked up the universal remote I use from my TV provider and were able to program every function without a problem, making it easy to use one remote to manage the TV and the sound bar in addition to my Blu Ray player. I do recommend this product."
Review 17 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 25, 2014

OK for small room

Pros: synchs with new samsung tv w/ ease
Cons: subwoofer is weak
Model Number: FM-45C
"This unit will not produce good depth base unless its turned way up. At this point, the voice and soundeffects are overwhelming. The sound bar is mediocre at best. Better than TV speakers, but not much more than that. I will take it back and try the FM-55"
Review 18 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rockwall, TX
Date:January 25, 2014

okay overall, but Anynet+ feature is incomplete

Pros: construction, wireless subwoofer
Cons: feature set, anynet+ incomplete
Model Number: HW-FM45C/ZA
"overall sound quality is pretty good, and the contruction quality is decent. However, the Anynet+ control feature (which allows you to control the sound bar using the TV remote) is incomplete. The TV remote can control the volume and power-off of the sound bar, but the power-on can only be accomplished using the sound bar remote itself. Samsung tech support claims that this is "normal operation"; the default power-on input condition is "D.IN" (optical cable), but the Anynet+ TV enabled volume and power controls only work over the HDMI cable. No firmware updates are provided to address this design issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:King ,NC
Date:January 24, 2014

Samsung wireless soundbar

Pros: easy install
Cons: not the greatest of speakersbut good enough
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The price was right ,the sound was better than expected,subwoofer wireless also make for an easy installation.everything included with system."
Review 20 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 21, 2014

Wow! What a Difference!

Pros: easy connections excellent sound
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I just purchased the sound bar and am very pleased with it. I connected it to a Samsung television that I purchased at Costco. The instructions were clear and the connections were easy. I moved the subwoofer around the room until the bass was just right. The unit has plenty of power and makes a huge difference versus factory television sound."
1 2 3 next>>