Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
7
18 of 33(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:January 13, 2014

Nice for the price!

Pros: good rich sound with no distortion, wireless base speaker
Cons: base speaker feet location
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"We bought this to go with our new 2013 Samsung 60" Smart TV. It set up easy, turns on and off/up and down with the TV remote..
I'm no audiophile, but to me the sound is clear and rich with no distortion even when turned way up. It's powerful and fills the room with sound. I've used it for playing MP3 CD's from our Sony DVD player with good results. You are able to adjust the sound and base with the soundbar remote control, just read the manual.
I compared this to the Samsung and Yamaha sound bars in the warehouse before I bought and although it's no Bose, its much better than the other soundbars offered in the same price range and extremely better than the built in speakers that come with the TV. It certainly does the job for us.
The only Con I have is that the Base Speaker has permanent feet mounted on one side so it has to stand up tall, would be nice if I was able to lay it down horizontally but if I do, the feet of the speaker make it look like it's laying on it's side.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon City, OR
Date:November 25, 2013

Great sound for low budget

Pros: very loud & crisp with no notable distortion., very easy setup and connection
Cons: cannot alter the sound - eq/knobs would be nice, i do not like the tweeters exposed with no grill
Model Number: HW-FM45c
"First off, one must realize that you cannot compare this set with an over $500 system as they are not meant to be equal. What you do hear though is actually quite crisp dialogue in movies and a pretty good bass for the crashes, bombs, sound effects and such. The separation is also quite good in regards to left and right speaker sounds and the simulated surround. More than once i had to look to a side to see if something fell due to a noise I realized I must of heard on the TV. I am quite impressed.
I have this system set up in a about a 12'X12' room with a newer Samsung 40" tv I bought a few months prior to the sound system also at Costco. I purchased this system a little over 6 months ago.
I plugged in the HDMI from the speaker to the TV (arc) port, set the bluetooth up as well as setting up center speaker to connect with sub woofer. In all, it took about 15 minute from box to watching TV. The arc system did not need me to set up anything and it all 'just worked' as well as 'Anynet'. I simply turn on TV with remote, then the speaker system with its remote and once the sound comes out of speaker system, I can control everything with TV remote. I do not have satellite in this room, so I am not sure if that remote would work or not.
I would recommend this to anyone who does not want to spend a wad of money on a smaller sound system but wants good quality sound. Besides, we are talking Costco, if you don't like it, you can return it...but I bet you won't though."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:April 8, 2014

Fills the room

Pros: very clear and works with the samsung tv remote
Cons: none
"We had been using the TV Speakers. We always had to keep turning it up louder to hear.....especially during movies...Netflix, etc. The soundbar fills the room. The Bluetooth subwoofer across the room really enhances the sound. The soundbar paired with the subwoofer with no effort. Actually sounds better than the Bose Solo I had previously...It had been stolen. The Samsung is TOPS."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2013

Decent, but depends on your expectations.

Pros: sleek design, feature rich, improvement over tv speakers
"You're probably purchasing this to get better sound vs your native/internal TV speakers-- and without a doubt this will be an improvement. But don't expect jaw dropping sound and base... You'll have to throw down more cash to achieve that with a sound bar. I highly recommend listening to a demo in the store if possible.
This unit has some really sleek features like ARC (audio return channel-- audio can be passed from one of your TV's HDMI "in" ports down to the speaker bar), BT iOS streaming, and a wireless subwoofer.
After owning this speaker setup for about a week I'm left feeling like I'd rather do one of two things:
- try to spend less money and achieve similar audio quality (admittedly, not in such a sleek design).
- spend more money and get something significantly better.
"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DC Area
Date:November 29, 2013

Decent Sound, but Tin Can voices are a No-Go

Pros: great price looks nice
Cons: sewer tunnel sound
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Tried connecting it to 55" Samsung LED TV. My TV is a 2011 model and doesn't support Sound Share. I'm pretty tech savvy and could not get the soundbar to work with HDMI ARC. I used the Digital Audio cable input instead. Initially, it sounded better than the TV speakers, but I noticed a slight TINNY sound. The louder you set it, the more noticeable the distortion. Bass and mid-range sound great. Changing the sound modes helped a little, but did not get rid of the tin can treble sound, which is particularly noticeable during human speech. Playing music it disappears and sounds great. Playing DVDs, sounds Tinny. After 3 days of monkeying around with it, I decided to return it and am looking for another one. I'd rather listen to the TV speaker w/out the sub than the Tinny sound with great bass."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014

hard to connect

Cons: difficult setup. instructions confusing
"The sound is decent, but had great difficuty getting the soundbar to work. I thought just the HDMI connection would do it but no. So I connected the optical cable and still nothing. I then connected the analog audio cable and did get sound. Then I idsconnected the audio cable and still had sound. The same configuration that I had no sound on minutes before. I cannot get the tv and soundbar to turn on and off together."
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 23, 2013

Works with Samsung Un65F6350A

Pros: nice sound quality
Cons: anynet connection was a mystery at first.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I found on the web the explanation of "AnyNet" which links the TV hdmi (ARC) port to the speaker bar. Once I enabled it on the TV (system menu), the Samsung TV volume control now finally controls the sound bar. Here's what I learned. http://www.samsung.com/us/support/howtoguide/N0000461/5760/35485"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 10, 2014

Serviceable

Pros: simple install all cables included small size, sits low enough to not interfere w tv remote.
Cons: limited flexibility in sound settings no equalize, cannot get verizon remote to sync
Model Number: HW-fm 45 c
"Nice, but not great sound. Better than TV of course. I have real placement problems and this is only sound bar with low enough profile to work. Set up was quick and easy despite limited info in manual. Costco comes through by including all cables, hdmi, optical, etc.,
with unit.
Setting up sub woofer and bluetooth was easy and both work well.
Still not entirely certain about sound quality. There is no equalizer rather there a series of preset sound profiles. Have not found an ideal one yet. Also does not provide great sense of stereo/
separation. Might be a disappointment to movie watchers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rockwall, TX
Date:January 25, 2014

okay overall, but Anynet+ feature is incomplete

Pros: construction, wireless subwoofer
Cons: feature set, anynet+ incomplete
Model Number: HW-FM45C/ZA
"overall sound quality is pretty good, and the contruction quality is decent. However, the Anynet+ control feature (which allows you to control the sound bar using the TV remote) is incomplete. The TV remote can control the volume and power-off of the sound bar, but the power-on can only be accomplished using the sound bar remote itself. Samsung tech support claims that this is "normal operation"; the default power-on input condition is "D.IN" (optical cable), but the Anynet+ TV enabled volume and power controls only work over the HDMI cable. No firmware updates are provided to address this design issue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericksburg Virginia
Date:September 1, 2013

Great Price for a Great product

Pros: great price point for a great product, very easy to setup and start enjoying quickly
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"Just picked this up today, and it sounds great and Costco gets the price right. In my opinion this is an excellent value for this price range and you have Costco's no hassle returns, you can't lose! Easy to setup and the wireless subwoofer is a nice feature. Many different audio settings to enhance your viewing experience for ensuring you get the most from whatever you are watching. I am very happy with this sound bar and as of now there is nothing that makes me regret this purchase. Hope this helps you with you purchase."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas area, TX
Date:February 5, 2014

A Sound Purchase! Pun intended

Pros: clean easy to setup and use great sound quality, wireless woofer!, usb and bluetooth playback works great, samsung quality
Cons: cant get directv remote to handle the volume cntrl
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I am extremely happy with this purchase. I cant imagine how others can hear this thing as "tinny" The bass is incredible and never distorted even at uncomfortably high volume. The Bass volume is controlled separately on the remote!
I hooked this up to my 50" plasma, and its in a very large room of over 320 Sq, feet with 12 ft ceilings. The sound is on equal with my older bose accustamass system. No wires, no mess and not a single blip or chirp from the wireless woofer. The bluetooth option has my family hooked. Don't hesitate to buy! Not one TV on the market has this much sound built-in. If you are used to a 1000 watts surround...maybe you will be less impressed, but the rest of us mortals will not be disappointed."
Review 12 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 29, 2013

Good value

Pros: sleek design, bluetooth, syncs with our tv and att uverse remote
Cons: may not be as seamless with older/different models
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"We bought a new Samsung smart tv with this sound bar. Couldn't pass up Costco's deals on both. Syncs to our tv so when our tv turns on, the sound bar does as well. Works with our ATT Uverse remote too, though I opted to set up the sync via the tv.
In our 1900 sqft home, this sound bar does a good job. I don't know what anyone's expectations are...we don't need theater quality or anything, we just want something that sounds nice, deep, and has bluetooth. Let's face it...TV speakers are the pits and this sound bar makes a world of difference.
Also, great value. Got it for $165 and nothing else out there can compare with it at that price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oswego, IL
Date:October 13, 2013

Best Purchase to improve audio quality

Pros: sound quality, different listening modes, price
Cons: won't auto turn on using tv remote, feature different per mode of connection
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought the sound bar as an add-on to the Samsung Smart TV. Audio quality is way better and most importantly it helps to hear the words clearly even when listening at low volume setting. It helps the kids to hear the words clearly.
I agree with other reviews, installation is a confusing with Optical Cable vs HDMI vs BT vs TV (Sound Share). Finally I ended up using HDMI. AnyNet+ feature works great so I can control the volume using the TV Remote."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fog City
Date:February 3, 2014

Underwhelming

Pros: wireless subwoofer
Cons: tinny/hollow sound, no bass/treble adjustmemt, fairly useless remote control
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I bought the Samsung HW-FM45C to pair up with my Samsung UN46D6050 TV. The new soundbar has TERRIBLE sound (as does the TV). It has a hollow/tinny tone even after trying all of the built-in adjustment features. The sub-woofer even when turned up to the max has very little effect and there is no way to adjust the bass/treble. If Samsung would put more emphasis on sound and less emphasis on gadgetry it could have a top selling audio product. I am returning it today."
Review 15 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa Ca
Date:February 8, 2014

Not a good purshase

Pros: good value had a good sound in the store.
Cons: couldn't get it to work........
Model Number: samsung hw-fm45c
"I bought the Samsung hw-fm45c sound bar with wireless subwoofer, I couldn't get it to work so I called Costco "concierge service" they couldn't get it to work either so I took it back for a refund........"
Review 16 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Peoria, IL
Date:January 25, 2014

Good sound; easy to program on universal remote

Pros: 1. good sound and quality for the price, 2. easy to program a universal remote to operate., 3. can sit the sound bar on the tv base.
Cons: so far none.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"My sound bar arrived on 1/17 and was installed the next day with the aid of my son-in-law. I immediately noticed a difference in my Hitachi TV as the dialogue was no longer overwhelmed by the soundtrack. We looked up the universal remote I use from my TV provider and were able to program every function without a problem, making it easy to use one remote to manage the TV and the sound bar in addition to my Blu Ray player. I do recommend this product."
Review 17 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2014

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Pros: ease of installation
"good sound throughout the room at a very good price."
Review 18 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 25, 2014

OK for small room

Pros: synchs with new samsung tv w/ ease
Cons: subwoofer is weak
Model Number: FM-45C
"This unit will not produce good depth base unless its turned way up. At this point, the voice and soundeffects are overwhelming. The sound bar is mediocre at best. Better than TV speakers, but not much more than that. I will take it back and try the FM-55"
Review 19 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 21, 2014

Wow! What a Difference!

Pros: easy connections excellent sound
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I just purchased the sound bar and am very pleased with it. I connected it to a Samsung television that I purchased at Costco. The instructions were clear and the connections were easy. I moved the subwoofer around the room until the bass was just right. The unit has plenty of power and makes a huge difference versus factory television sound."
Review 20 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, Ca
Date:November 20, 2013

Don't buy

Pros: none
Cons: not compatible with any cable or sattelite remote., audio is out of sync with video
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Seemed like a deal until we got it home. No compatability with other remotes or products. Not even compatible with some Samsung TV's. Have to use dedicated remote to control volume. Optical interface audio is out of sync with video. Poor customer support from Samsung. Model is not even listed on their web site. I am returning it."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>