Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.442 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
26 of 43(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 24, 2014

Major design flaw mars an otherwise nice system

Pros: sound quality
Cons: impossible to use only one remote when using hdmi
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"First the good. I thought the sound quality was good and certainly far better than my flat-screen TV. Wireless Sub-woofer connected on first try and sounded good as well.
Here's some design flaws that caused me to return the product. The optical audio input has no pass-through. I can't use this sound bar for my TV and still use my stereo for watching a Blu-ray movie. Also the TV won't control the volume of the soundbar if using the optical input, even though it stated it would and I have a new Samsung TV, that means using the soundbar remote and not your TV remote. Having to use a second remote just to adjust volume doesn't work for me. The bigger flaw is what should have worked but won't. The HDMI-CEC connection. My TV supports this connection and so does the soundbar so my TV remote should turn it on, off and control the volume, which it did! What is the problem you say? When you power off the soundbar it defaults back to the D-in (optical input) EVERY time. In other words every time you turn your TV back on the soundbar won't be on your hdmi setting and you need to find your soudbar remote and press the source button several times to change the input from D-in to HDMI. Once again you are forced to use the second remote even though using HDMI-CEC with a compatible TV should have made it so that you only needed your TV remote. I called Samsung and verified this information as well in case I was missing something. Fatal design flaw in my opinion.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 14, 2014

Great product - documentation so-so

Pros: works great make sure you update rom and firmware
Cons: the manual is missing one thing.
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Works great with Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player. Easy to setup. However.... The sub woofer has two lights, one blue that shows you are connected and one that you would think is the power by the symbol but it is not. It is an indicator that the unit is in standby or not. After you power down the bar, about 15 minutes later the red LED comes on. Spent an hour thinking it was defective."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Troy, Michigan
Date:June 10, 2014

The best to date...

Pros: clarity of sound, easy set-up, volume, excellent bluetooth connectivity, price/value
Cons: no universal code for the remote
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The Samsung is the fifth soundbar I have bought. It is easily the best for clarity of broadcast sound. (The other four, in order of preference: Vizio, Yamaha, Panasonic, Sony). Setup is easy. Two twin-bladed plugs -- one for the soundbar and one for the subwoofer -- and an optical cable. Ten minutes at most. The bluetooth feature connected easily with my laptop and iPad (so that I can play my iTunes collection -- again, with impressive clarity of sound.) The Samsung is in a room that measures 32 x 24, with 9ft ceilings. About half volume is enough. The only drawback is the remote which has no universal code, otherwise I would have given the Samsung five stars. It was, btw, not the most expensive soundbar I have purchased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:May 24, 2014

Great Sound but Not Compatible w/Universal Remote

Pros: great sound
Cons: not compatible with samsung tv remotes
"Be aware if you are trying to use this unit with a Samsung TV and expect it to perform as described. The sound of the unit is great, but the described connectivity and functions do not work. The main reason I bought this unit was the compatibility, or so I thought with Samsung TVs. Sure it hooks up, sounds pretty good, but you must use the sound bar remote. Aside from the exclusive functions on the soundbar remote, not even the basic functions will work with the Samsung TV remote. Even when using an optical connection, the auto power-on function works, but the volume controls do not work on the TV remote. I have an UN50H5500 tv and the HW-F45C sound bar (same as HW-F450). I even installed the latest TV software and still not working as described. As I searched the web for clues, and called Samsung Supporto no avail. This seems to be a common complaint of Samsung's Sound bars. Should the volume function work with the TV remote with a future software upgrade, my review would change to EXCELLENT on all levels."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Matthews, NC
Date:May 21, 2014

Good Sound... Not as compatable as I wished!

Pros: great sound quality
Cons: not compatible with charter universal remote
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"This Samsung Sound Bar has real nice sound quality but I found that with my Charter Communications Universal Remote Control was not compatible and I'm now forced to use two remote controls... Charter's for power and channels and Samsung's for volume control. I have been told that there is a fix using a special cable. I have yet to find it."
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 16, 2014

Generally pleased

Pros: looks great!
"I am usually pleased with Samsung products. This installed easily and worked as expected. I am not interested in big surround sound, since this is in a mid-sized bedroom. Exactly what I intended to accomplish."
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, pA
Date:May 15, 2014

Good purchase & value

Pros: good quality sound
Cons: lg tv has optic fiber and cable only to connect, using the optic improves audio but req remote use
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"easy to setup and configure. sound quality is very good especially for a smaller room. I was disappointed that I could not get the soundbar to turn off/on with the TV (mine is not a Samsung) but did manage to connect via audio cable to turn it off. I still have to use the soundbar remote to turn it on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baton Rouge
Date:May 14, 2014

Great Buy

Pros: easy setup, great sound and adaptability, love the bluetooth for devices with music
Cons: none as of yet
"I bought this as a reward for all of the hard work that I have been doing. I went to Costco, as I am still a little new to the store, and was looking for something to buy with a budget of 200.00 and I looked at all of the systems that they had there, and walked around the whole place just thinking... what to get! I walked to this area about 5 times looking at all of the soundbars and theater systems. I thought that I would like this so I bought it on a whim as it was on sale and was the best deal as far as features that were available for the models that were there. I hooked it up and man what a difference did it make when I watch Netflix Just Huge! It was easy to setup and the TV recognized it right away and it sounds great!"
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014

Clear and Crisp Sound, Slim

Pros: clear sound lightweight and slim, cables included, price
Cons: installation manual is not organized, no mounting screws
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"After lots of research and study, I decided to make the purchase of this Samsung sound bar, it had discount at time of purchase but it was not part of my decision but just coincidence.
First it comes very well packed, the bar itself is very light compared to others I was looking at and thin enough not to affect the acoustics and to also not protrude too much out from my wall installed TV. The wireless sub-woofer was a must to me but not to forget good uninterrupted sound, also sync with the bar automatically at installation time.
The bar included HDMI, Optical and other cables and are very good quality compared to one I saw at other stores. The HDMI cable is ARC capable and high speed Ethernet ready, I didn’t need that but is a plus.
On the other hand, someone at Samsung forgot to include mounting screws for the wall bracket, and at 10PM is nearly too impossible to find an open hardware store. Remote is small and comfortable but if using with HDMI the TV remote controls volume with no hassles (HDMI-ARC), I only used it to adjust subwoofer and nothing else. Also by using HDMI when TV is ON Bar will turn ON if TV OFF bar will shut off, note that when TV on there will be a delay of about 5sec to turn bar on.
The Sound is crisp and clear and the bass is perfect, not too flat or too bass to make things shake. Before I had to go to almost 40 with the TV speakers, now at just 10, I can hear clearly movies, news, etc.
If you’re like me, matching the electronics, the piano black on this item matches perfectly with my Philips TV frame it is high gloss black both the bar and woofer.
As of the installation goes, it took me three full hours, at first though the equipment was faulty but using Bluetooth from my phone and Pandora proof otherwise it sounded perfect.
The manual is not crystal clear when it comes to the installation, it did work with analog connection but the idea is HDMI. HDMI did control the sound bar volume but something was amiss. But after checking connections and all, it turned out the TV had HDMI-ARC in off so it would detect but not transmit. So for those stating it does not work check the configuration and manual of your device before saying this item does not work. But the order of things in this Samsung Sound bar manual still needs some organizational work.
Overall it was a good purchase, and very satisfied with this item.
"
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Williamsburg VA
Date:April 28, 2014

NICE SOUND, NICE PRICE

Pros: crisp sound full/tight bass, bluetooth, cables
Cons: uncovered grille
Model Number: FM45C
"Got this on sale at Costco because of the price/features, for eventual use when we have a second home later this year. I initially set it up on the kitchen counter and started streaming Spotify from my iPhone and was quite impressed with the sound. I have a cheaper Vizio unit in the garage, several component 5.1 systems in the house, and a Bose Acoustimass system, so I'm reasonably conversant with audio. This one's good; stereo imaging is only fair but the high end is bright without being harsh and the subwoofer puts out abundant, non-boomy bass. (Those few who say the sound is very "tinny" must not have had the sub link up to the bar.)
Presently we have it hooked up to an older (2005) Vizio, so the easiest interface was to run the (supplied) 1/8" cord from the TV's phones jack to the AUX input and turn the TV's speakers to off/variable output on the TV's setup screen. This allows volume control via the TV and the cable system remote. Hafta turn it on manually or via its remote but that's not a big deal to us. We'll use the ARC feature when we get a new TV.
Overall we're very pleased.
"
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 24, 2014

It didn't work for me

Pros: sounds very good
Cons: can't use tv headset when using soundbar
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I wanted my husband to be able to use his headset (because he is hard of hearing) and I wanted to use the soundbar "at the same time". This unit is not capable of doing that."
Review 12 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014

hard to connect

Cons: difficult setup. instructions confusing
"The sound is decent, but had great difficuty getting the soundbar to work. I thought just the HDMI connection would do it but no. So I connected the optical cable and still nothing. I then connected the analog audio cable and did get sound. Then I idsconnected the audio cable and still had sound. The same configuration that I had no sound on minutes before. I cannot get the tv and soundbar to turn on and off together."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:April 8, 2014

Fills the room

Pros: very clear and works with the samsung tv remote
Cons: none
"We had been using the TV Speakers. We always had to keep turning it up louder to hear.....especially during movies...Netflix, etc. The soundbar fills the room. The Bluetooth subwoofer across the room really enhances the sound. The soundbar paired with the subwoofer with no effort. Actually sounds better than the Bose Solo I had previously...It had been stolen. The Samsung is TOPS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:March 31, 2014

Awful soundbar

Pros: i liked message across sound bar
Cons: cheap looking front exposed awful sound!
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought the soundbar for a New 55 inch Vizio Smart TV because the speakers on that Vizio were the worse I have ever listened to. I was shocked at how bad the sound was until I bought this soundbar Paid $239.00 it was on sale for 30 bucks off sounded pretty good in the store with the Bluetooth from smart phone so thought why not. Got it home directions were DUMB... won't go into it and waste your time on that one. So did the optical hook up turned it on and I was like REALLY... Sounded not much better then the TV speakers. Just awful...Packed it up took it back and went right over to the Vizio 5.1 and the lady at returns said they hardly ever get that brand back Vizio, Should have just gone with it the day before, It Sounds so good!!! $279.00 and only $10.00 more the the Samsung regular price. What a difference I thought it sounded so great in the store because it was on that demo they have them hooked up to. Sorry Samsung a big FAIL for your sound bar!"
Review 15 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 10, 2014

Serviceable

Pros: simple install all cables included small size, sits low enough to not interfere w tv remote.
Cons: limited flexibility in sound settings no equalize, cannot get verizon remote to sync
Model Number: HW-fm 45 c
"Nice, but not great sound. Better than TV of course. I have real placement problems and this is only sound bar with low enough profile to work. Set up was quick and easy despite limited info in manual. Costco comes through by including all cables, hdmi, optical, etc.,
with unit.
Setting up sub woofer and bluetooth was easy and both work well.
Still not entirely certain about sound quality. There is no equalizer rather there a series of preset sound profiles. Have not found an ideal one yet. Also does not provide great sense of stereo/
separation. Might be a disappointment to movie watchers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa Ca
Date:February 8, 2014

Not a good purshase

Pros: good value had a good sound in the store.
Cons: couldn't get it to work........
Model Number: samsung hw-fm45c
"I bought the Samsung hw-fm45c sound bar with wireless subwoofer, I couldn't get it to work so I called Costco "concierge service" they couldn't get it to work either so I took it back for a refund........"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas area, TX
Date:February 5, 2014

A Sound Purchase! Pun intended

Pros: clean easy to setup and use great sound quality, wireless woofer!, usb and bluetooth playback works great, samsung quality
Cons: cant get directv remote to handle the volume cntrl
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I am extremely happy with this purchase. I cant imagine how others can hear this thing as "tinny" The bass is incredible and never distorted even at uncomfortably high volume. The Bass volume is controlled separately on the remote!
I hooked this up to my 50" plasma, and its in a very large room of over 320 Sq, feet with 12 ft ceilings. The sound is on equal with my older bose accustamass system. No wires, no mess and not a single blip or chirp from the wireless woofer. The bluetooth option has my family hooked. Don't hesitate to buy! Not one TV on the market has this much sound built-in. If you are used to a 1000 watts surround...maybe you will be less impressed, but the rest of us mortals will not be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2014

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Pros: ease of installation
"good sound throughout the room at a very good price."
Review 19 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fog City
Date:February 3, 2014

Underwhelming

Pros: wireless subwoofer
Cons: tinny/hollow sound, no bass/treble adjustmemt, fairly useless remote control
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I bought the Samsung HW-FM45C to pair up with my Samsung UN46D6050 TV. The new soundbar has TERRIBLE sound (as does the TV). It has a hollow/tinny tone even after trying all of the built-in adjustment features. The sub-woofer even when turned up to the max has very little effect and there is no way to adjust the bass/treble. If Samsung would put more emphasis on sound and less emphasis on gadgetry it could have a top selling audio product. I am returning it today."
Review 20 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Peoria, IL
Date:January 25, 2014

Good sound; easy to program on universal remote

Pros: 1. good sound and quality for the price, 2. easy to program a universal remote to operate., 3. can sit the sound bar on the tv base.
Cons: so far none.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"My sound bar arrived on 1/17 and was installed the next day with the aid of my son-in-law. I immediately noticed a difference in my Hitachi TV as the dialogue was no longer overwhelmed by the soundtrack. We looked up the universal remote I use from my TV provider and were able to program every function without a problem, making it easy to use one remote to manage the TV and the sound bar in addition to my Blu Ray player. I do recommend this product."
1 2 3 next>>