Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.405 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
25 of 42(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 21 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rockwall, TX
Date:January 25, 2014

okay overall, but Anynet+ feature is incomplete

Pros: construction, wireless subwoofer
Cons: feature set, anynet+ incomplete
Model Number: HW-FM45C/ZA
"overall sound quality is pretty good, and the contruction quality is decent. However, the Anynet+ control feature (which allows you to control the sound bar using the TV remote) is incomplete. The TV remote can control the volume and power-off of the sound bar, but the power-on can only be accomplished using the sound bar remote itself. Samsung tech support claims that this is "normal operation"; the default power-on input condition is "D.IN" (optical cable), but the Anynet+ TV enabled volume and power controls only work over the HDMI cable. No firmware updates are provided to address this design issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:King ,NC
Date:January 24, 2014

Samsung wireless soundbar

Pros: easy install
Cons: not the greatest of speakersbut good enough
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The price was right ,the sound was better than expected,subwoofer wireless also make for an easy installation.everything included with system."
Review 23 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 21, 2014

Wow! What a Difference!

Pros: easy connections excellent sound
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I just purchased the sound bar and am very pleased with it. I connected it to a Samsung television that I purchased at Costco. The instructions were clear and the connections were easy. I moved the subwoofer around the room until the bass was just right. The unit has plenty of power and makes a huge difference versus factory television sound."
Review 24 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:January 13, 2014

Nice for the price!

Pros: good rich sound with no distortion, wireless base speaker
Cons: base speaker feet location
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"We bought this to go with our new 2013 Samsung 60" Smart TV. It set up easy, turns on and off/up and down with the TV remote..
I'm no audiophile, but to me the sound is clear and rich with no distortion even when turned way up. It's powerful and fills the room with sound. I've used it for playing MP3 CD's from our Sony DVD player with good results. You are able to adjust the sound and base with the soundbar remote control, just read the manual.
I compared this to the Samsung and Yamaha sound bars in the warehouse before I bought and although it's no Bose, its much better than the other soundbars offered in the same price range and extremely better than the built in speakers that come with the TV. It certainly does the job for us.
The only Con I have is that the Base Speaker has permanent feet mounted on one side so it has to stand up tall, would be nice if I was able to lay it down horizontally but if I do, the feet of the speaker make it look like it's laying on it's side.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:January 4, 2014

Excellent Value!

Pros: good value, good sound, small size
Cons: small display, samsung instructions
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"This is exactly what I was looking for -- great sound at a great price! I was hesitant to buy after reading some of the reviews, but I took a chance and I'm glad I did.
I initially hooked it up according to the Samsung instructions and couldn't get everything to work. I called Costco concierge and they were able to help. I had connected my Comcast cable box to the HDMI In of the soundbar and the HDMI Out of the soundbar to the TV (according to the Samsung instructions). When I switched to my Roku and DVD player, the sound was great and the soundbar display read TV ARC. When I went back to cable, I had to change the source from TV ARC to HDMI to see and hear anything. That's a hassle. Concierge had me disconnect the Cable box HDMI from the soundbar and connect it into a spare HDMI port on my TV. We left the soundbar HDMI cable plugged into my TV's HDMI ARC port. Doing it that way ensures that your ARC-capable TV will send the sound to the soundbar, no matter which input you use. I won't have to use the soundbar remote unless I'm going to play music through my smartphone.
By the way, my TV is Sharp Aquos that is over three years old. The TV detected that I had a soundbar connected and automatically switched the sound using Aquos Link (even though my soundbar is a Samsung!). When I power up the TV, the soundbar comes on. When I turn off the TV, the soundbar powers off. The soundbar isn't too tall that it blocks the sensor inputs on my TV.
When I watch a movie on my Sharp TV, I used to have to have subtitles on because the sound is so awful. This soundbar makes everything so much clearer, no matter if it's a football game, TV show or a movie! Voices sound better and clearer, and the subwoofer does a great job with the deeper sounds. No more subtitles for me (unless it's something like True Grit)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 2, 2013

buyer beware

Pros: sound
Cons: difficulty in hooking up
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Bought this to go with a 50" Samsung Smart TV. At some point the TV did drive the soundbar but required 3 remotes to tie it in with a Comcast DVR. No one remote would control all three devices completely. After spending two tech calls with Samsung for a total of 3 hours I was unsuccessful at satisfactorily combining all three devices. Henceforth, it is going back to Costco."
Review 27 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:December 2, 2013

Decent Soundbar. Works with my LG TV via HDMI-ARC.

Pros: decent sound after a break-in period., hdmi arc support
Cons: will not power off automatically with tv., only preset adjustments for sound quality.
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I've had this soundbar for about a week now and must say, it's grown on me.
At first I had problems getting the HDMI ARC to function and ended up with a mixed HDMI and optical setup where I could control the volume via HDMI, but the audio signal could only be picked up by the soundbar via the optical input. Finally, after trying several combinations of soundbar and TV settings, I was able to get the soundbar to accept both control and audio via HDMI. Now, I can control the soundbar volume with the TV remote with only a single HDMI connection from the TV. The downside is that when using HDMI ARC, the soundbar will not automatically power on (it will however automatically power off when the TV is turned off). This is a limitation of the soundbar and is mentioned in the soundbar documentation.
The sound started out as only decent, with thin mid-range and low bass. I had to turn the subwoofer output to maximum to get any real volume from the sub during bass heavy movie scenes. But after a few days use, the sub's responsiveness seemed to increase. I found myself turning down the sub as things in my family room began rattling during bass heavy movie scenes (where before nothing of the sort was happening). Mid-range responsiveness has also increased, although the sound can still be a bit thin. I'm typically using either the Music sound mode or the 3D Movie sound mode, and both of those modes help with the overall fullness of the sound. Still, it's not a high dollar soundbar, so I'm not expecting full home theatre 5.1 sound quality. Overall, the sound is what I will call "decent".
The soundbar is capable of some high volumes without too much distortion. It fills my 16X13 foot family room with sound quite nicely. MUCH better than the little buzzer speakers in my TV. My high frequency hearing isn't what it used to be, but voices and most music sound pretty good. Unfortunately the response of the system isn't quite linear. At lower volumes, the sound gets a bit thin. Not what I would call tinny as others here have described it, but the mid-range definitely loses some of the richness it has at higher volumes. Again, for the money, it's a decent soundbar. I've owned cheaper soundbars that were nearly as good sound quality, but without the connectivity options, and I've owned more expensive soundbars with much higher sound quality (Boston Acoustics makes a good sounding, but not very reliable soundbar). I'm giving this soundbar 4 stars, mostly because of the connectivity and the price point. Without those two pluses, it would be have been a 3 star soundbar."
Review 28 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DC Area
Date:November 29, 2013

Decent Sound, but Tin Can voices are a No-Go

Pros: great price looks nice
Cons: sewer tunnel sound
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Tried connecting it to 55" Samsung LED TV. My TV is a 2011 model and doesn't support Sound Share. I'm pretty tech savvy and could not get the soundbar to work with HDMI ARC. I used the Digital Audio cable input instead. Initially, it sounded better than the TV speakers, but I noticed a slight TINNY sound. The louder you set it, the more noticeable the distortion. Bass and mid-range sound great. Changing the sound modes helped a little, but did not get rid of the tin can treble sound, which is particularly noticeable during human speech. Playing music it disappears and sounds great. Playing DVDs, sounds Tinny. After 3 days of monkeying around with it, I decided to return it and am looking for another one. I'd rather listen to the TV speaker w/out the sub than the Tinny sound with great bass."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 29, 2013

Good value

Pros: sleek design, bluetooth, syncs with our tv and att uverse remote
Cons: may not be as seamless with older/different models
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"We bought a new Samsung smart tv with this sound bar. Couldn't pass up Costco's deals on both. Syncs to our tv so when our tv turns on, the sound bar does as well. Works with our ATT Uverse remote too, though I opted to set up the sync via the tv.
In our 1900 sqft home, this sound bar does a good job. I don't know what anyone's expectations are...we don't need theater quality or anything, we just want something that sounds nice, deep, and has bluetooth. Let's face it...TV speakers are the pits and this sound bar makes a world of difference.
Also, great value. Got it for $165 and nothing else out there can compare with it at that price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:November 26, 2013

Decent Soundbar. Works with my LG TV via HDMI-CEC.

Pros: inexpensive with black friday discount., decent sound quality., hdmi cec compatible
Cons: medium punch (not room shaking) from subwoofer., confusing setup for hdmi cec, no power-on via hdmi cec (for me)
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I was hesitant to buy this soundbar based on the mixed reviews here, but having pulled the trigger during the $105 discount period (purchase price of $169 with discount), I'm glad I did.
I had an absolute requirement that I be able to control the soundbar volume through the LG TV Magic remote (I have WAY too many remotes to keep up with already!), so HDMI-CEC capability was a must. However, it was difficult to tell if the soundbar was actually HDMI-CEC compliant as Samsung (like other manufacturers) seems to have labeled that capability with their own brand label, Anynet+. Some Googling around seemed to confirm that the soundbar was indeed HDMI-CEC compliant.
After some fiddling with cables and settings on the soundbar and my LG TV (which uses the SIMPLINK brand name for HDMI-CEC capabilities), I managed to get the TV and the soundbar talking over HDMI. I am able to control the soundbar volume from the TV remote (the TV displays "Home Theatre" when I control the volume, and the soundbar displays the actual volume level, e.g. "15").
However, to get it to actually work, I had to connect both an HDMI input on my TV to the HDMI input on the soundbar, AND the optical output from the TV to the optical input of the soundbar. The HDMI connection is the CEC control channel apparently, allowing the TV to send the volume and power-off signals to the soundbar. The optical connection carries the digital sound signal. I thought I could get the audio and control signals to pass through the HDMI connection, but apparently that doesn't work with my particular TV/soundbar combination (it MIGHT work for others). Luckily, both HDMI and optical cables are included with this particular soundbar, so I had everything I needed to get it connected properly. After enabling the Anynet+ on the soundbar and the SIMPLINK functions on my TV, the soundbar connected, automatically selecting the "D-IN" (optical digital input) on sync, and I had sound. Woo hoo!
Now, the one limitation of my particular setup is that the soundbar will only turn OFF when I turn off the TV, but will NOT automatically turn ON when I power on the TV. So, I'm stuck with manually powering on the soundbar with either the button on the bar of the soundbar remote, but after that I really don't need the soundbar remote. So, not terrible, but not great either from a remote control perspective.
Now, on to sound quality. I tried various sources to test the sound, but eventually used my Apple TV to stream iTunes as the real fidelity test. Overall, the sound is balanced, but slightly flat (I'm not sure where others are getting the "tinny" sounds). But flat is better than peaky in my opinion. One downside is that the subwoofer performance is mediocre. It's punchy, but lacks real depth. I found myself cranking the subwoofer level up a couple of notches to get a more balanced bottom end. That along with setting the soundbar to the "Music" equalization gave me actually quite a decent sound. WAY better sound than the terrible little speakers in my TV, but not close to a true audiophile home theatre sound system either (but then again, what soundbar IS?). Definitely good sound quality for $169."
Review 31 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon City, OR
Date:November 25, 2013

Great sound for low budget

Pros: very loud & crisp with no notable distortion., very easy setup and connection
Cons: cannot alter the sound - eq/knobs would be nice, i do not like the tweeters exposed with no grill
Model Number: HW-FM45c
"First off, one must realize that you cannot compare this set with an over $500 system as they are not meant to be equal. What you do hear though is actually quite crisp dialogue in movies and a pretty good bass for the crashes, bombs, sound effects and such. The separation is also quite good in regards to left and right speaker sounds and the simulated surround. More than once i had to look to a side to see if something fell due to a noise I realized I must of heard on the TV. I am quite impressed.
I have this system set up in a about a 12'X12' room with a newer Samsung 40" tv I bought a few months prior to the sound system also at Costco. I purchased this system a little over 6 months ago.
I plugged in the HDMI from the speaker to the TV (arc) port, set the bluetooth up as well as setting up center speaker to connect with sub woofer. In all, it took about 15 minute from box to watching TV. The arc system did not need me to set up anything and it all 'just worked' as well as 'Anynet'. I simply turn on TV with remote, then the speaker system with its remote and once the sound comes out of speaker system, I can control everything with TV remote. I do not have satellite in this room, so I am not sure if that remote would work or not.
I would recommend this to anyone who does not want to spend a wad of money on a smaller sound system but wants good quality sound. Besides, we are talking Costco, if you don't like it, you can return it...but I bet you won't though."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Richland Wa.
Date:November 2, 2013

Not woth the time or effort !

Pros: sounded good while working
Cons: tech support was not good
Model Number: HW FM-45C
"I bought this system and could not get it to work. So I called Samsung and they were not much help. They would not help me because I was hooking it up with a Vizio tv and not one of theirs. They said I had to deal with it myself..After 3 more trys I did get it working with an optic cable. It worked good for 25 days and quit. I called Samsung again and got the same song and dance. They told me it was my hdmi cables and I wasn't even using them hahaha. I took it back to Costco and got my money back. My advice.......buy something other than Samsung !"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oswego, IL
Date:October 13, 2013

Best Purchase to improve audio quality

Pros: sound quality, different listening modes, price
Cons: won't auto turn on using tv remote, feature different per mode of connection
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought the sound bar as an add-on to the Samsung Smart TV. Audio quality is way better and most importantly it helps to hear the words clearly even when listening at low volume setting. It helps the kids to hear the words clearly.
I agree with other reviews, installation is a confusing with Optical Cable vs HDMI vs BT vs TV (Sound Share). Finally I ended up using HDMI. AnyNet+ feature works great so I can control the volume using the TV Remote."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013

Good for what you get and expect

Pros: small size, sound is better than tv speakers
Cons: setup is a bit unusual hdmi input and output, could use more hdmi inputs and outputs
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought this sound bar to get some more sound from the new samsung tv that I bought. I have to admit the sound vs the sound from the tv is much better. I didnt really try other products but from what I saw this seemed to be a good deal for the price without getting too high end."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericksburg Virginia
Date:September 1, 2013

Great Price for a Great product

Pros: great price point for a great product, very easy to setup and start enjoying quickly
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"Just picked this up today, and it sounds great and Costco gets the price right. In my opinion this is an excellent value for this price range and you have Costco's no hassle returns, you can't lose! Easy to setup and the wireless subwoofer is a nice feature. Many different audio settings to enhance your viewing experience for ensuring you get the most from whatever you are watching. I am very happy with this sound bar and as of now there is nothing that makes me regret this purchase. Hope this helps you with you purchase."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 24, 2013

Returned for refund

Cons: defective
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Wish I had read the reviews on this site before I purchased. Got this unit all hooked up and mounted to the wall, then turned it on and got no sound out of it when using the optical input. Tried using optical output from both the TV and the satellite receiver to no avail. Unit produced sound via bluetooth input, but I bought it to use with the TV and if the optical input doesn't work, then it's useless. Maybe I got a lemon, but it should have been tested before it left the factory, and that smacks of poor quality control."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 23, 2013

Works with Samsung Un65F6350A

Pros: nice sound quality
Cons: anynet connection was a mystery at first.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I found on the web the explanation of "AnyNet" which links the TV hdmi (ARC) port to the speaker bar. Once I enabled it on the TV (system menu), the Samsung TV volume control now finally controls the sound bar. Here's what I learned. http://www.samsung.com/us/support/howtoguide/N0000461/5760/35485"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atwater, CA
Date:August 16, 2013

Not compatible with Samsung TV

"This model does not have Audio Return Channel (ARC), which means it is NOT compatible with some Samsung TVs. We wasted several hours troubleshooting just to finally have Samsung confirm that this model will not work with our brand new Samsung TV. Don't waste your money. Get the other model soundbar that does support ARC."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, VT
Date:June 17, 2013

Poor sound quality

Pros: bluetooth, includes remote
Cons: very poor sound quality, shinny surfaces that scratch easily, no ir pass through so it might block your tv's ir, cannot learn tv's remote volume/mute codes
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I could not believe the poor sound this unit has. It was so tinny and sounded like a call to India over a poor cell phone connection. Had to return it and purchased another sound bar at Costco (the Vizio S4251W-B4 which is EXCELLENT)!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2013

Decent, but depends on your expectations.

Pros: sleek design, feature rich, improvement over tv speakers
"You're probably purchasing this to get better sound vs your native/internal TV speakers-- and without a doubt this will be an improvement. But don't expect jaw dropping sound and base... You'll have to throw down more cash to achieve that with a sound bar. I highly recommend listening to a demo in the store if possible.
This unit has some really sleek features like ARC (audio return channel-- audio can be passed from one of your TV's HDMI "in" ports down to the speaker bar), BT iOS streaming, and a wireless subwoofer.
After owning this speaker setup for about a week I'm left feeling like I'd rather do one of two things:
- try to spend less money and achieve similar audio quality (admittedly, not in such a sleek design).
- spend more money and get something significantly better.
"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>