Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.442 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
26 of 43(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:November 26, 2013

Decent Soundbar. Works with my LG TV via HDMI-CEC.

Pros: inexpensive with black friday discount., decent sound quality., hdmi cec compatible
Cons: medium punch (not room shaking) from subwoofer., confusing setup for hdmi cec, no power-on via hdmi cec (for me)
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I was hesitant to buy this soundbar based on the mixed reviews here, but having pulled the trigger during the $105 discount period (purchase price of $169 with discount), I'm glad I did.
I had an absolute requirement that I be able to control the soundbar volume through the LG TV Magic remote (I have WAY too many remotes to keep up with already!), so HDMI-CEC capability was a must. However, it was difficult to tell if the soundbar was actually HDMI-CEC compliant as Samsung (like other manufacturers) seems to have labeled that capability with their own brand label, Anynet+. Some Googling around seemed to confirm that the soundbar was indeed HDMI-CEC compliant.
After some fiddling with cables and settings on the soundbar and my LG TV (which uses the SIMPLINK brand name for HDMI-CEC capabilities), I managed to get the TV and the soundbar talking over HDMI. I am able to control the soundbar volume from the TV remote (the TV displays "Home Theatre" when I control the volume, and the soundbar displays the actual volume level, e.g. "15").
However, to get it to actually work, I had to connect both an HDMI input on my TV to the HDMI input on the soundbar, AND the optical output from the TV to the optical input of the soundbar. The HDMI connection is the CEC control channel apparently, allowing the TV to send the volume and power-off signals to the soundbar. The optical connection carries the digital sound signal. I thought I could get the audio and control signals to pass through the HDMI connection, but apparently that doesn't work with my particular TV/soundbar combination (it MIGHT work for others). Luckily, both HDMI and optical cables are included with this particular soundbar, so I had everything I needed to get it connected properly. After enabling the Anynet+ on the soundbar and the SIMPLINK functions on my TV, the soundbar connected, automatically selecting the "D-IN" (optical digital input) on sync, and I had sound. Woo hoo!
Now, the one limitation of my particular setup is that the soundbar will only turn OFF when I turn off the TV, but will NOT automatically turn ON when I power on the TV. So, I'm stuck with manually powering on the soundbar with either the button on the bar of the soundbar remote, but after that I really don't need the soundbar remote. So, not terrible, but not great either from a remote control perspective.
Now, on to sound quality. I tried various sources to test the sound, but eventually used my Apple TV to stream iTunes as the real fidelity test. Overall, the sound is balanced, but slightly flat (I'm not sure where others are getting the "tinny" sounds). But flat is better than peaky in my opinion. One downside is that the subwoofer performance is mediocre. It's punchy, but lacks real depth. I found myself cranking the subwoofer level up a couple of notches to get a more balanced bottom end. That along with setting the soundbar to the "Music" equalization gave me actually quite a decent sound. WAY better sound than the terrible little speakers in my TV, but not close to a true audiophile home theatre sound system either (but then again, what soundbar IS?). Definitely good sound quality for $169."
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:December 2, 2013

Decent Soundbar. Works with my LG TV via HDMI-ARC.

Pros: decent sound after a break-in period., hdmi arc support
Cons: will not power off automatically with tv., only preset adjustments for sound quality.
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I've had this soundbar for about a week now and must say, it's grown on me.
At first I had problems getting the HDMI ARC to function and ended up with a mixed HDMI and optical setup where I could control the volume via HDMI, but the audio signal could only be picked up by the soundbar via the optical input. Finally, after trying several combinations of soundbar and TV settings, I was able to get the soundbar to accept both control and audio via HDMI. Now, I can control the soundbar volume with the TV remote with only a single HDMI connection from the TV. The downside is that when using HDMI ARC, the soundbar will not automatically power on (it will however automatically power off when the TV is turned off). This is a limitation of the soundbar and is mentioned in the soundbar documentation.
The sound started out as only decent, with thin mid-range and low bass. I had to turn the subwoofer output to maximum to get any real volume from the sub during bass heavy movie scenes. But after a few days use, the sub's responsiveness seemed to increase. I found myself turning down the sub as things in my family room began rattling during bass heavy movie scenes (where before nothing of the sort was happening). Mid-range responsiveness has also increased, although the sound can still be a bit thin. I'm typically using either the Music sound mode or the 3D Movie sound mode, and both of those modes help with the overall fullness of the sound. Still, it's not a high dollar soundbar, so I'm not expecting full home theatre 5.1 sound quality. Overall, the sound is what I will call "decent".
The soundbar is capable of some high volumes without too much distortion. It fills my 16X13 foot family room with sound quite nicely. MUCH better than the little buzzer speakers in my TV. My high frequency hearing isn't what it used to be, but voices and most music sound pretty good. Unfortunately the response of the system isn't quite linear. At lower volumes, the sound gets a bit thin. Not what I would call tinny as others here have described it, but the mid-range definitely loses some of the richness it has at higher volumes. Again, for the money, it's a decent soundbar. I've owned cheaper soundbars that were nearly as good sound quality, but without the connectivity options, and I've owned more expensive soundbars with much higher sound quality (Boston Acoustics makes a good sounding, but not very reliable soundbar). I'm giving this soundbar 4 stars, mostly because of the connectivity and the price point. Without those two pluses, it would be have been a 3 star soundbar."
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014

Clear and Crisp Sound, Slim

Pros: clear sound lightweight and slim, cables included, price
Cons: installation manual is not organized, no mounting screws
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"After lots of research and study, I decided to make the purchase of this Samsung sound bar, it had discount at time of purchase but it was not part of my decision but just coincidence.
First it comes very well packed, the bar itself is very light compared to others I was looking at and thin enough not to affect the acoustics and to also not protrude too much out from my wall installed TV. The wireless sub-woofer was a must to me but not to forget good uninterrupted sound, also sync with the bar automatically at installation time.
The bar included HDMI, Optical and other cables and are very good quality compared to one I saw at other stores. The HDMI cable is ARC capable and high speed Ethernet ready, I didn’t need that but is a plus.
On the other hand, someone at Samsung forgot to include mounting screws for the wall bracket, and at 10PM is nearly too impossible to find an open hardware store. Remote is small and comfortable but if using with HDMI the TV remote controls volume with no hassles (HDMI-ARC), I only used it to adjust subwoofer and nothing else. Also by using HDMI when TV is ON Bar will turn ON if TV OFF bar will shut off, note that when TV on there will be a delay of about 5sec to turn bar on.
The Sound is crisp and clear and the bass is perfect, not too flat or too bass to make things shake. Before I had to go to almost 40 with the TV speakers, now at just 10, I can hear clearly movies, news, etc.
If you’re like me, matching the electronics, the piano black on this item matches perfectly with my Philips TV frame it is high gloss black both the bar and woofer.
As of the installation goes, it took me three full hours, at first though the equipment was faulty but using Bluetooth from my phone and Pandora proof otherwise it sounded perfect.
The manual is not crystal clear when it comes to the installation, it did work with analog connection but the idea is HDMI. HDMI did control the sound bar volume but something was amiss. But after checking connections and all, it turned out the TV had HDMI-ARC in off so it would detect but not transmit. So for those stating it does not work check the configuration and manual of your device before saying this item does not work. But the order of things in this Samsung Sound bar manual still needs some organizational work.
Overall it was a good purchase, and very satisfied with this item.
"
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:January 4, 2014

Excellent Value!

Pros: good value, good sound, small size
Cons: small display, samsung instructions
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"This is exactly what I was looking for -- great sound at a great price! I was hesitant to buy after reading some of the reviews, but I took a chance and I'm glad I did.
I initially hooked it up according to the Samsung instructions and couldn't get everything to work. I called Costco concierge and they were able to help. I had connected my Comcast cable box to the HDMI In of the soundbar and the HDMI Out of the soundbar to the TV (according to the Samsung instructions). When I switched to my Roku and DVD player, the sound was great and the soundbar display read TV ARC. When I went back to cable, I had to change the source from TV ARC to HDMI to see and hear anything. That's a hassle. Concierge had me disconnect the Cable box HDMI from the soundbar and connect it into a spare HDMI port on my TV. We left the soundbar HDMI cable plugged into my TV's HDMI ARC port. Doing it that way ensures that your ARC-capable TV will send the sound to the soundbar, no matter which input you use. I won't have to use the soundbar remote unless I'm going to play music through my smartphone.
By the way, my TV is Sharp Aquos that is over three years old. The TV detected that I had a soundbar connected and automatically switched the sound using Aquos Link (even though my soundbar is a Samsung!). When I power up the TV, the soundbar comes on. When I turn off the TV, the soundbar powers off. The soundbar isn't too tall that it blocks the sensor inputs on my TV.
When I watch a movie on my Sharp TV, I used to have to have subtitles on because the sound is so awful. This soundbar makes everything so much clearer, no matter if it's a football game, TV show or a movie! Voices sound better and clearer, and the subwoofer does a great job with the deeper sounds. No more subtitles for me (unless it's something like True Grit)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon City, OR
Date:November 25, 2013

Great sound for low budget

Pros: very loud & crisp with no notable distortion., very easy setup and connection
Cons: cannot alter the sound - eq/knobs would be nice, i do not like the tweeters exposed with no grill
Model Number: HW-FM45c
"First off, one must realize that you cannot compare this set with an over $500 system as they are not meant to be equal. What you do hear though is actually quite crisp dialogue in movies and a pretty good bass for the crashes, bombs, sound effects and such. The separation is also quite good in regards to left and right speaker sounds and the simulated surround. More than once i had to look to a side to see if something fell due to a noise I realized I must of heard on the TV. I am quite impressed.
I have this system set up in a about a 12'X12' room with a newer Samsung 40" tv I bought a few months prior to the sound system also at Costco. I purchased this system a little over 6 months ago.
I plugged in the HDMI from the speaker to the TV (arc) port, set the bluetooth up as well as setting up center speaker to connect with sub woofer. In all, it took about 15 minute from box to watching TV. The arc system did not need me to set up anything and it all 'just worked' as well as 'Anynet'. I simply turn on TV with remote, then the speaker system with its remote and once the sound comes out of speaker system, I can control everything with TV remote. I do not have satellite in this room, so I am not sure if that remote would work or not.
I would recommend this to anyone who does not want to spend a wad of money on a smaller sound system but wants good quality sound. Besides, we are talking Costco, if you don't like it, you can return it...but I bet you won't though."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 24, 2014

Major design flaw mars an otherwise nice system

Pros: sound quality
Cons: impossible to use only one remote when using hdmi
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"First the good. I thought the sound quality was good and certainly far better than my flat-screen TV. Wireless Sub-woofer connected on first try and sounded good as well.
Here's some design flaws that caused me to return the product. The optical audio input has no pass-through. I can't use this sound bar for my TV and still use my stereo for watching a Blu-ray movie. Also the TV won't control the volume of the soundbar if using the optical input, even though it stated it would and I have a new Samsung TV, that means using the soundbar remote and not your TV remote. Having to use a second remote just to adjust volume doesn't work for me. The bigger flaw is what should have worked but won't. The HDMI-CEC connection. My TV supports this connection and so does the soundbar so my TV remote should turn it on, off and control the volume, which it did! What is the problem you say? When you power off the soundbar it defaults back to the D-in (optical input) EVERY time. In other words every time you turn your TV back on the soundbar won't be on your hdmi setting and you need to find your soudbar remote and press the source button several times to change the input from D-in to HDMI. Once again you are forced to use the second remote even though using HDMI-CEC with a compatible TV should have made it so that you only needed your TV remote. I called Samsung and verified this information as well in case I was missing something. Fatal design flaw in my opinion.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Williamsburg VA
Date:April 28, 2014

NICE SOUND, NICE PRICE

Pros: crisp sound full/tight bass, bluetooth, cables
Cons: uncovered grille
Model Number: FM45C
"Got this on sale at Costco because of the price/features, for eventual use when we have a second home later this year. I initially set it up on the kitchen counter and started streaming Spotify from my iPhone and was quite impressed with the sound. I have a cheaper Vizio unit in the garage, several component 5.1 systems in the house, and a Bose Acoustimass system, so I'm reasonably conversant with audio. This one's good; stereo imaging is only fair but the high end is bright without being harsh and the subwoofer puts out abundant, non-boomy bass. (Those few who say the sound is very "tinny" must not have had the sub link up to the bar.)
Presently we have it hooked up to an older (2005) Vizio, so the easiest interface was to run the (supplied) 1/8" cord from the TV's phones jack to the AUX input and turn the TV's speakers to off/variable output on the TV's setup screen. This allows volume control via the TV and the cable system remote. Hafta turn it on manually or via its remote but that's not a big deal to us. We'll use the ARC feature when we get a new TV.
Overall we're very pleased.
"
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:May 24, 2014

Great Sound but Not Compatible w/Universal Remote

Pros: great sound
Cons: not compatible with samsung tv remotes
"Be aware if you are trying to use this unit with a Samsung TV and expect it to perform as described. The sound of the unit is great, but the described connectivity and functions do not work. The main reason I bought this unit was the compatibility, or so I thought with Samsung TVs. Sure it hooks up, sounds pretty good, but you must use the sound bar remote. Aside from the exclusive functions on the soundbar remote, not even the basic functions will work with the Samsung TV remote. Even when using an optical connection, the auto power-on function works, but the volume controls do not work on the TV remote. I have an UN50H5500 tv and the HW-F45C sound bar (same as HW-F450). I even installed the latest TV software and still not working as described. As I searched the web for clues, and called Samsung Supporto no avail. This seems to be a common complaint of Samsung's Sound bars. Should the volume function work with the TV remote with a future software upgrade, my review would change to EXCELLENT on all levels."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:January 13, 2014

Nice for the price!

Pros: good rich sound with no distortion, wireless base speaker
Cons: base speaker feet location
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"We bought this to go with our new 2013 Samsung 60" Smart TV. It set up easy, turns on and off/up and down with the TV remote..
I'm no audiophile, but to me the sound is clear and rich with no distortion even when turned way up. It's powerful and fills the room with sound. I've used it for playing MP3 CD's from our Sony DVD player with good results. You are able to adjust the sound and base with the soundbar remote control, just read the manual.
I compared this to the Samsung and Yamaha sound bars in the warehouse before I bought and although it's no Bose, its much better than the other soundbars offered in the same price range and extremely better than the built in speakers that come with the TV. It certainly does the job for us.
The only Con I have is that the Base Speaker has permanent feet mounted on one side so it has to stand up tall, would be nice if I was able to lay it down horizontally but if I do, the feet of the speaker make it look like it's laying on it's side.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:March 31, 2014

Awful soundbar

Pros: i liked message across sound bar
Cons: cheap looking front exposed awful sound!
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought the soundbar for a New 55 inch Vizio Smart TV because the speakers on that Vizio were the worse I have ever listened to. I was shocked at how bad the sound was until I bought this soundbar Paid $239.00 it was on sale for 30 bucks off sounded pretty good in the store with the Bluetooth from smart phone so thought why not. Got it home directions were DUMB... won't go into it and waste your time on that one. So did the optical hook up turned it on and I was like REALLY... Sounded not much better then the TV speakers. Just awful...Packed it up took it back and went right over to the Vizio 5.1 and the lady at returns said they hardly ever get that brand back Vizio, Should have just gone with it the day before, It Sounds so good!!! $279.00 and only $10.00 more the the Samsung regular price. What a difference I thought it sounded so great in the store because it was on that demo they have them hooked up to. Sorry Samsung a big FAIL for your sound bar!"
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DC Area
Date:November 29, 2013

Decent Sound, but Tin Can voices are a No-Go

Pros: great price looks nice
Cons: sewer tunnel sound
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Tried connecting it to 55" Samsung LED TV. My TV is a 2011 model and doesn't support Sound Share. I'm pretty tech savvy and could not get the soundbar to work with HDMI ARC. I used the Digital Audio cable input instead. Initially, it sounded better than the TV speakers, but I noticed a slight TINNY sound. The louder you set it, the more noticeable the distortion. Bass and mid-range sound great. Changing the sound modes helped a little, but did not get rid of the tin can treble sound, which is particularly noticeable during human speech. Playing music it disappears and sounds great. Playing DVDs, sounds Tinny. After 3 days of monkeying around with it, I decided to return it and am looking for another one. I'd rather listen to the TV speaker w/out the sub than the Tinny sound with great bass."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2013

Decent, but depends on your expectations.

Pros: sleek design, feature rich, improvement over tv speakers
"You're probably purchasing this to get better sound vs your native/internal TV speakers-- and without a doubt this will be an improvement. But don't expect jaw dropping sound and base... You'll have to throw down more cash to achieve that with a sound bar. I highly recommend listening to a demo in the store if possible.
This unit has some really sleek features like ARC (audio return channel-- audio can be passed from one of your TV's HDMI "in" ports down to the speaker bar), BT iOS streaming, and a wireless subwoofer.
After owning this speaker setup for about a week I'm left feeling like I'd rather do one of two things:
- try to spend less money and achieve similar audio quality (admittedly, not in such a sleek design).
- spend more money and get something significantly better.
"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baton Rouge
Date:May 14, 2014

Great Buy

Pros: easy setup, great sound and adaptability, love the bluetooth for devices with music
Cons: none as of yet
"I bought this as a reward for all of the hard work that I have been doing. I went to Costco, as I am still a little new to the store, and was looking for something to buy with a budget of 200.00 and I looked at all of the systems that they had there, and walked around the whole place just thinking... what to get! I walked to this area about 5 times looking at all of the soundbars and theater systems. I thought that I would like this so I bought it on a whim as it was on sale and was the best deal as far as features that were available for the models that were there. I hooked it up and man what a difference did it make when I watch Netflix Just Huge! It was easy to setup and the TV recognized it right away and it sounds great!"
Review 14 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Troy, Michigan
Date:June 10, 2014

The best to date...

Pros: clarity of sound, easy set-up, volume, excellent bluetooth connectivity, price/value
Cons: no universal code for the remote
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The Samsung is the fifth soundbar I have bought. It is easily the best for clarity of broadcast sound. (The other four, in order of preference: Vizio, Yamaha, Panasonic, Sony). Setup is easy. Two twin-bladed plugs -- one for the soundbar and one for the subwoofer -- and an optical cable. Ten minutes at most. The bluetooth feature connected easily with my laptop and iPad (so that I can play my iTunes collection -- again, with impressive clarity of sound.) The Samsung is in a room that measures 32 x 24, with 9ft ceilings. About half volume is enough. The only drawback is the remote which has no universal code, otherwise I would have given the Samsung five stars. It was, btw, not the most expensive soundbar I have purchased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas area, TX
Date:February 5, 2014

A Sound Purchase! Pun intended

Pros: clean easy to setup and use great sound quality, wireless woofer!, usb and bluetooth playback works great, samsung quality
Cons: cant get directv remote to handle the volume cntrl
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I am extremely happy with this purchase. I cant imagine how others can hear this thing as "tinny" The bass is incredible and never distorted even at uncomfortably high volume. The Bass volume is controlled separately on the remote!
I hooked this up to my 50" plasma, and its in a very large room of over 320 Sq, feet with 12 ft ceilings. The sound is on equal with my older bose accustamass system. No wires, no mess and not a single blip or chirp from the wireless woofer. The bluetooth option has my family hooked. Don't hesitate to buy! Not one TV on the market has this much sound built-in. If you are used to a 1000 watts surround...maybe you will be less impressed, but the rest of us mortals will not be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 29, 2013

Good value

Pros: sleek design, bluetooth, syncs with our tv and att uverse remote
Cons: may not be as seamless with older/different models
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"We bought a new Samsung smart tv with this sound bar. Couldn't pass up Costco's deals on both. Syncs to our tv so when our tv turns on, the sound bar does as well. Works with our ATT Uverse remote too, though I opted to set up the sync via the tv.
In our 1900 sqft home, this sound bar does a good job. I don't know what anyone's expectations are...we don't need theater quality or anything, we just want something that sounds nice, deep, and has bluetooth. Let's face it...TV speakers are the pits and this sound bar makes a world of difference.
Also, great value. Got it for $165 and nothing else out there can compare with it at that price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rockwall, TX
Date:January 25, 2014

okay overall, but Anynet+ feature is incomplete

Pros: construction, wireless subwoofer
Cons: feature set, anynet+ incomplete
Model Number: HW-FM45C/ZA
"overall sound quality is pretty good, and the contruction quality is decent. However, the Anynet+ control feature (which allows you to control the sound bar using the TV remote) is incomplete. The TV remote can control the volume and power-off of the sound bar, but the power-on can only be accomplished using the sound bar remote itself. Samsung tech support claims that this is "normal operation"; the default power-on input condition is "D.IN" (optical cable), but the Anynet+ TV enabled volume and power controls only work over the HDMI cable. No firmware updates are provided to address this design issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 10, 2014

Serviceable

Pros: simple install all cables included small size, sits low enough to not interfere w tv remote.
Cons: limited flexibility in sound settings no equalize, cannot get verizon remote to sync
Model Number: HW-fm 45 c
"Nice, but not great sound. Better than TV of course. I have real placement problems and this is only sound bar with low enough profile to work. Set up was quick and easy despite limited info in manual. Costco comes through by including all cables, hdmi, optical, etc.,
with unit.
Setting up sub woofer and bluetooth was easy and both work well.
Still not entirely certain about sound quality. There is no equalizer rather there a series of preset sound profiles. Have not found an ideal one yet. Also does not provide great sense of stereo/
separation. Might be a disappointment to movie watchers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Richland Wa.
Date:November 2, 2013

Not woth the time or effort !

Pros: sounded good while working
Cons: tech support was not good
Model Number: HW FM-45C
"I bought this system and could not get it to work. So I called Samsung and they were not much help. They would not help me because I was hooking it up with a Vizio tv and not one of theirs. They said I had to deal with it myself..After 3 more trys I did get it working with an optic cable. It worked good for 25 days and quit. I called Samsung again and got the same song and dance. They told me it was my hdmi cables and I wasn't even using them hahaha. I took it back to Costco and got my money back. My advice.......buy something other than Samsung !"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:April 12, 2013

Not fully integrated with Samsung TV

Pros: 3d sound effect
Cons: not fully integrated with samsung tv, not plug and play
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"Turn on the TV this sound bar will turn on if connect with Digital Optic, but have to use the Sound bar remote control to adjust the Volume. This sound bar won't turn on if connect with HDMI cable, have to go through a few steps to Anynet+ to turn on the sound bar and adjust the Volume with TV Remote control. Any how, one way or another, have to use multi remote control or push multi button. Good thing is, if turn the DVD player on first, the sound bar and TV also turn on, and the TV remote control fully function with sound bar and DVD player."
1 2 3 next>>