Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: HW-FM45C
Average Customer Rating:
3.293 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
8
23 of 41(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2014

Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Pros: ease of installation
"good sound throughout the room at a very good price."
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:King ,NC
Date:January 24, 2014

Samsung wireless soundbar

Pros: easy install
Cons: not the greatest of speakersbut good enough
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"The price was right ,the sound was better than expected,subwoofer wireless also make for an easy installation.everything included with system."
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 24, 2014

It didn't work for me

Pros: sounds very good
Cons: can't use tv headset when using soundbar
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I wanted my husband to be able to use his headset (because he is hard of hearing) and I wanted to use the soundbar "at the same time". This unit is not capable of doing that."
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa Ca
Date:February 8, 2014

Not a good purshase

Pros: good value had a good sound in the store.
Cons: couldn't get it to work........
Model Number: samsung hw-fm45c
"I bought the Samsung hw-fm45c sound bar with wireless subwoofer, I couldn't get it to work so I called Costco "concierge service" they couldn't get it to work either so I took it back for a refund........"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 16, 2014

Generally pleased

Pros: looks great!
"I am usually pleased with Samsung products. This installed easily and worked as expected. I am not interested in big surround sound, since this is in a mid-sized bedroom. Exactly what I intended to accomplish."
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, VT
Date:June 17, 2013

Poor sound quality

Pros: bluetooth, includes remote
Cons: very poor sound quality, shinny surfaces that scratch easily, no ir pass through so it might block your tv's ir, cannot learn tv's remote volume/mute codes
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I could not believe the poor sound this unit has. It was so tinny and sounded like a call to India over a poor cell phone connection. Had to return it and purchased another sound bar at Costco (the Vizio S4251W-B4 which is EXCELLENT)!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 25, 2014

OK for small room

Pros: synchs with new samsung tv w/ ease
Cons: subwoofer is weak
Model Number: FM-45C
"This unit will not produce good depth base unless its turned way up. At this point, the voice and soundeffects are overwhelming. The sound bar is mediocre at best. Better than TV speakers, but not much more than that. I will take it back and try the FM-55"
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013

Good for what you get and expect

Pros: small size, sound is better than tv speakers
Cons: setup is a bit unusual hdmi input and output, could use more hdmi inputs and outputs
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"I bought this sound bar to get some more sound from the new samsung tv that I bought. I have to admit the sound vs the sound from the tv is much better. I didnt really try other products but from what I saw this seemed to be a good deal for the price without getting too high end."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 23, 2013

Works with Samsung Un65F6350A

Pros: nice sound quality
Cons: anynet connection was a mystery at first.
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I found on the web the explanation of "AnyNet" which links the TV hdmi (ARC) port to the speaker bar. Once I enabled it on the TV (system menu), the Samsung TV volume control now finally controls the sound bar. Here's what I learned. http://www.samsung.com/us/support/howtoguide/N0000461/5760/35485"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, pA
Date:May 15, 2014

Good purchase & value

Pros: good quality sound
Cons: lg tv has optic fiber and cable only to connect, using the optic improves audio but req remote use
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"easy to setup and configure. sound quality is very good especially for a smaller room. I was disappointed that I could not get the soundbar to turn off/on with the TV (mine is not a Samsung) but did manage to connect via audio cable to turn it off. I still have to use the soundbar remote to turn it on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atwater, CA
Date:August 16, 2013

Not compatible with Samsung TV

"This model does not have Audio Return Channel (ARC), which means it is NOT compatible with some Samsung TVs. We wasted several hours troubleshooting just to finally have Samsung confirm that this model will not work with our brand new Samsung TV. Don't waste your money. Get the other model soundbar that does support ARC."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 10, 2013

Can't control volume with out special remote

Pros: no pros remote is deal breaker.
Cons: does not integrate with other samsung devices well
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Worked with Samsung tech support and could not make unit work with Samsung TV. Must use remote that comes with unit to adjust volume or mute tv. They have not codes to allow a universal remote to interact with soundbar. Not practical unless the TV has variable output optical. My Samsung 51 D8000 sound outputs are fixed level."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, Ca
Date:November 20, 2013

Don't buy

Pros: none
Cons: not compatible with any cable or sattelite remote., audio is out of sync with video
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Seemed like a deal until we got it home. No compatability with other remotes or products. Not even compatible with some Samsung TV's. Have to use dedicated remote to control volume. Optical interface audio is out of sync with video. Poor customer support from Samsung. Model is not even listed on their web site. I am returning it."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Matthews, NC
Date:May 21, 2014

Good Sound... Not as compatable as I wished!

Pros: great sound quality
Cons: not compatible with charter universal remote
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"This Samsung Sound Bar has real nice sound quality but I found that with my Charter Communications Universal Remote Control was not compatible and I'm now forced to use two remote controls... Charter's for power and channels and Samsung's for volume control. I have been told that there is a fix using a special cable. I have yet to find it."
Review 15 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 21, 2014

Wow! What a Difference!

Pros: easy connections excellent sound
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM45C
"I just purchased the sound bar and am very pleased with it. I connected it to a Samsung television that I purchased at Costco. The instructions were clear and the connections were easy. I moved the subwoofer around the room until the bass was just right. The unit has plenty of power and makes a huge difference versus factory television sound."
Review 16 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:April 11, 2013

Recommend

Pros: easy setup
Cons: not sure how to program remote to work with tv.
"I'm happy with the product. It does come with an audio cable, optical cable, and HDMI Cable. Also, a remote is included. I don't think these were mentioned in the product description. We hooked up the Optical cable, and get sound on everything we watch that is hooked up to the TV. Also, the Bluetooth feature works great with our Ipod. Extremely happy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 2, 2013

buyer beware

Pros: sound
Cons: difficulty in hooking up
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Bought this to go with a 50" Samsung Smart TV. At some point the TV did drive the soundbar but required 3 remotes to tie it in with a Comcast DVR. No one remote would control all three devices completely. After spending two tech calls with Samsung for a total of 3 hours I was unsuccessful at satisfactorily combining all three devices. Henceforth, it is going back to Costco."
Review 18 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:April 8, 2014

Fills the room

Pros: very clear and works with the samsung tv remote
Cons: none
"We had been using the TV Speakers. We always had to keep turning it up louder to hear.....especially during movies...Netflix, etc. The soundbar fills the room. The Bluetooth subwoofer across the room really enhances the sound. The soundbar paired with the subwoofer with no effort. Actually sounds better than the Bose Solo I had previously...It had been stolen. The Samsung is TOPS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 14, 2014

Great product - documentation so-so

Pros: works great make sure you update rom and firmware
Cons: the manual is missing one thing.
Model Number: HW-FM45C
"Works great with Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player. Easy to setup. However.... The sub woofer has two lights, one blue that shows you are connected and one that you would think is the power by the symbol but it is not. It is an indicator that the unit is in standby or not. After you power down the bar, about 15 minutes later the red LED comes on. Spent an hour thinking it was defective."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung HW-FM45C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014

hard to connect

Cons: difficult setup. instructions confusing
"The sound is decent, but had great difficuty getting the soundbar to work. I thought just the HDMI connection would do it but no. So I connected the optical cable and still nothing. I then connected the analog audio cable and did get sound. Then I idsconnected the audio cable and still had sound. The same configuration that I had no sound on minutes before. I cannot get the tv and soundbar to turn on and off together."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>