Customer Reviews for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Model: E390i-A1
Average Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
6 of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Review 1 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013

Took a while to convince me...

Pros: sharp hd picture, beautiful color
Cons: sound quality
Model Number: Vizio E390i-A1
"I was so excited when I got this TV home and hoped for the best. Setting up was a breeze, it even picked up the WiFi with no problem. But then I saw the picture. Fuzzy, washed out colors, and dingy screen. I almost cried.
But after reading lots of online reviews about having to "tweak" the picture settings, I found that the picture setting called "retail" made the picture very bright. I called Vizio to ask if it could be left on the retail mode all the time without harming the picture (someone had posted that you shouldn't do that) and they said there was no reason to not use the retail if that was what worked for us.
So it's on the retail picture setting and after decreasing the brightness a little and some other setting adjustments (like decreasing the color a little bit since the faces were showing up a little too orange), the picture was 100% better. Then we decided to spring for HD from our cable company and {{{BLAM}}} the picture is awesome. Crystal clear, colors are great, and everybody is thrilled with it.
Except the sound. It rarely even sounds like stereo. Don't get me wrong, it sounds good especially when the volume is turned up, but I expected something a little more like stereo. I will add here that I read a review that said the sound volume wouldn't go up high enough for the reviewer to hear it in a large living room. The highest we've put the sound is half way up the measurement bar and it was blasting us right off our chairs.
Overall, I think this is a great TV for the price. Just please don't be disappointed with the picture right out of the box. To think I almost returned this to the store makes me glad I took the time to do some reading and experimenting with some adjustments to the settings."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis
Date:September 19, 2013

Not As Good As Other Vizios, But Tweak It!

Pros: tweaked picture quality...apps...energy savings
Cons: volume...sound quality...remote ergonomics
"I agree with the other reviewers. I own more than half a dozen Vizios of all sizes and I find this TV to not exhibit as good a picture out of the box as the others do. I have no wifi issues like one reviewer.
When I hooked it up, my first inclination was to return it, but I forced myself to live with it a couple days, over which time I tweaked and tweaked it until I got the picture looking the best it could. [I am a professional in the A/V industry worldwide and have experience with video production.]
Now that I've tweaked the TV's contrast, sharpening, etc., I'd say the picture is pretty darned good on good HD signals, but I do agree with the other reviewer who said it does not look good with SD signals.
I also agree with another reviewer who complained of the audio. I have this TV's audio out going into a receiver which drives a sub/sat system. The former (smaller) Vizio drove the system just fine, but this one I have to turn up the volume almost to maximum(!) to get a usable volume out of. Note to Vizio: what the heck???????
On balance, this is a good TV, but not a great one. And I find the Vizio remotes still lacking in ergonomics."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:October 2, 2013

Poor WiFi performance

Pros: very light. easier to return that way.
Cons: monkeys could make a better wifi antenna
Model Number: E390i-A1
"After purchasing this tv setup went fine until I tried to connect to the internet. I could connect to the router but couldn't get internet to go through. After a few minutes of trouble shooting the tech support person at Vizio told me it was a router issue and I would have to take it up with them. After an hour going through my router settings, I brought the tv down and set it next to the router and the wireless worked just fine. So, after another call to Vizio tech support I was told that the wifi antenna in these tv's is only good for a range of at most fifteen feet.
So, a couple of things. The first tech I spoke with should have mentioned the weak wifi antenna and saved me a bunch of time and effort messing around with router settings, and fifteen feet? Completely unacceptable. If they can fit a wifi antenna thats good for 100 feet or more into my 7 inch tablet I'm pretty sure they could have found room for something at least that good in a tv.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 12, 2013

Great TV for the price

Pros: great tv for the money
Cons: not the best sound for large living rooms
"I'm not the type of person to write a review, but after reading the others that were on here I had to write one. I bought this TV for our bedroom which is perfect, if you were using this for the living room ehhh the sound isnt the best for bigger rooms. Works just fine with direct tv, great frame rate, crisp 1080p, and the smart tv is awesome I use HULU/Netflix with no problem on my wireless router."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ocean City Maryland
Date:July 15, 2013

Good at HD not so good at SD cable

Pros: attractive great price good hd picture
Cons: not real clear with standard def shows on cable
Model Number: VIZIO 39" Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
"Like the price and features of this TV, this is my 4th Vizio pruchase. In the cost reduction process it seems they have down graded some of the support for great SD cable pictures that still are over 1/2 of our TV viewing time. Picture appears grainy and not as crisp as the other Vizio TV's I have purchased. I have several 40 and 47" already and am very very pleased with them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:August 5, 2013

Sound is horrible!

Pros: picture quality
Cons: sound
Model Number: Vizio 39" LED E390i-A1
"Initially, I was thrilled with this TV. Then about 2 weeks later, I had to turn up the volume on a specific station to hear the sound. I was horrified when the speakers began to crackle. The sound distortion is terrible, even when only turning up the sound less than half of the total volume. The picture is nice, but the sound is too distracting. I am returning this TV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Temecula Ca.
Date:May 25, 2013

excellent as monitor

Cons: so far none
Model Number: VIZIO 39" Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
"After a month,so far excellent. Returned 390-A1 because of motion blur. This has 120hz effective rate and 6.5 response time, no motion blur. I use this as a computer monitor for video streaming. Colors and picture are comparable to my LG55lh90 240hz TV. They both run on same video card. I don't know about apps or cable TV. Don't care"
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

Stinky Cheese Man

Model Number: E390i-A1
"Bought this hung it and returned it. Was dull. Does not have discrete input selection for my roomie remote or logitech. Meaning you have to select inputs and manually scroll through them. Bought the samsung 40 inch for 40 more dollars and could not be happier."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:August 14, 2013

Fine TV, wifi reception is weak

Pros: good picture quality even for sports, strong tuner picks up hd over the air well
Cons: weak wifi reception
"TV looks and sounds fine for the price. Only issue is that the wifi reception for the apps seems very weak. Laptop in the same room gets fine reception and the tv is lucky to get one bar of signal and keeps dropping and disconnecting from the apps."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Retired Grand Parent
Date:September 4, 2013

Not a good purchase

Pros: price for a smart tv
Cons: picture quality
"Couldn't get a decent picture on SD feed, used for Grand Kids sparingly and games.
Also scratch on top of set I couldn't get out, so I returned.
"
Review 11 for VIZIO 39" 1080p 120Hz Class LED Smart TV E390i-A1
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Franklin, tn
Date:August 24, 2013

Not for Direct TV users

Model Number: E390i-A1
"This TV does not support 1080p from direct tv. Picture defaults to SD (480)"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.