Customer Reviews for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Limit of 3 per member For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-NikonUX (1-800-645-6689) Monday through Friday 9am EST to 8pm EST or email support.nikonusa.com. For those seeking a comprehensive compact camera for zoom, image quality, versatility and technological innovation, look no further than the COOLPIX P520. Create pro-caliber photos and Full HD 1080p videos from mind-boggling distances, even in extremely low-light conditions. Track your travels and explore points of interest with built-in GPS. Take control of your vision with full P, S, A, M exposure modes. From its superb 42x zoom NIKKOR glass lens and 18.1-megapixel low-light CMOS image sensor to its D-SLR-inspired design and 3.2-inch Vari-angle LCD, the COOLPIX P520 delivers the pinnacle of performance and zoom. Relive the excitement of your travels in a whole new way. The COOLPIX P520 records the exact location of each shot you take, so you can follow the path of your adventure and every stunning view along the way! Share your journeys on Google Earth™, Google+™, and other social media sites or with the included Nikon View NX2 software. Built-in GPS helps you navigate unfamiliar destinations, and Points of Interest (POI) show you nearby photo-ops like scenic lookouts and historic landmarks. The COOLPIX P520 is the ultimate travel companion! Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX P520 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there. If you want a compact camera that shoots stunning Full HD videos, the COOLPIX P520 delivers. 1080p Full HD means exceptional video quality. Record the action, then connect to an HDTV and watch your videos come alive. A built-in mic records high-quality audio in stereo. Your videos will look and sound phenomenal. Effective Pixels: 18.1 million Image Sensor: CMOS Storage Media: SD memory card /SDHC memory card /SDXC memory card Lens: 42x optical Zoom, NIKKOR glass lens Digital Zoom: Up to 2x (angle of view equivalent to that of approx. 2,000mm lens in 35mm [135] format) Aperture: Electronically-controlled 6-blade iris diaphragm Focus Range: W]: Approx. 1 ft. 8 in. (50 cm.) to infinity , [T]: Approx. 5 ft. (1.5 m.) to infinity , Macro close-up mode: [W]: Approx. 0.4 in. (1 cm.) to infinity ISO Sensitivity: ISO 80-3200 Exposure Control: Programmed auto exposure with flexible program , aperture-priority auto , exposure bracketing , manual , shutter priority auto , Exposure compensation (-2.0 to +2.0 EV in steps of 1/3 EV) White Balance: Cloudy , Daylight , Flash, Fluorescent, Incandescent, Preset Manual, Auto 1, Auto 2 Flash Control: TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes Monitor Size: 3.2 in. diagonal Monitor Type: Vari-Angle TFT-LCD with 5-level brightness adjustment Monitor Resolution: 921,000-dots Power Source: One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL5 (supplied), AC Adapter EH-69P and plug adapter (supplied) Dimensions (HxWxD): 3.4in. (84.1mm) x 5.0in. (125.2mm) x 4.0in. (101.6mm) Weight: 19.4 oz. (550g) What’s Included Nikon P520 Camera 16GB Card Camera Case UC-E6 USB Cable EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EH-69P AC Adapter/Charger AN-CP21 Strap LC-CP24 Lens Cap NikonView NX 2 CD-ROM Note: Wi-fi adaptor not included Model: P520
Average Customer Rating:
4.159 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
35 of 44(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:November 29, 2013

Bad First Impression

"I just bought this item under the Thanksgiving deal at $299. The first impression has not been good.
Like someone mentioned, the case is too small for the camera - it barely fits. I don' think it really would work too well when I am shooting outdoors and have to take the camera in and out a lot.
I am not sure if it is my unit or that is the way it is. It has a rattling sound. It almost sounds like a loose part (but the camera works). Maybe it is designed like this but wouldn't that increase the likelihood of things breaking down the road?
The zooming/unzooming is very unsmooth and sort of slow - compared to my 5 year old Canon.
I feel bad taking it back but I don't think I will have a choice..."
Review 2 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2013

Poor focus and noisy zoom

"Bought it to shoot my sons football games... after two uses, returned it.
Focusing is a huge issue as mentioned here by many. Zooming while recording live video not only looses focus but most annoying is that it is noisy - the zoom buzzing back and forth gets recorded on your video and its loud.
Not pleasant at all when watching playbacks.
"
Review 3 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tempe,AZ
Date:November 26, 2013

Nice camera BUt case doesn;t fit!

Pros: great zoom
Cons: case doesn't hold camera
Model Number: Cool Pix P520
"Seems like a well made unit. It does offer a continuous burst of shots but it continues until the shutter button is relased. Other units only shoot a fixed set. WiFi enabled but need to buy accessories to make it active. It also seems slow to save multiple shots. Great zoom feature
Hello Nikon! The camera case that is included does NOT hold the camera unless you are willing to stretch the cover to make the zipper fit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Shelton, CT
Date:November 3, 2013

Second Nikon Disappointment

Pros: good optics good display good ergonomics
Cons: refuses to start sometimes slow start-up time, slow focus often problems focusing
Model Number: Coolpix P520
"This is the second Nikon camera that I have to return. The first one was a Coolpix S9500 that started locking up constantly. So I went for what I expected to be a better camera: the P520. It looked very promising, good zoom range, auto and manual settings, GPS, large lens, etc. But after using it for a while, I started noticing that things don't work as advertised. Sometimes the camera just did not want to start when pushing the ON button. The only way to start it was to take the battery out and put it back in. That's not acceptable and reason enough for return. Then there are other little things that I did not expect from a company like Nikon: the start-up time is way too long. By the time the camera is ready to shoot, the scene may have changed completely. Then it has probles focusing sometimes, and not only in darker scenes but also on a sunny day. And sometimes the second shot does not focus and things flash on the lower right although the scene and lighting is the same as in the first shot. Colors are not that great either - a little on the cold side even on a bright sunny day, although that's not a make-or-brake issue. I like the zoom - the optics seem very good and the image stays crisp even at max zoom. I hate to have to take it back, but I would be too frustrated every time I'd use it. Maybe it was just bad luck that I got two Nikon cameras that had issues, but I hope that they can get their act together and have products that are more than just prototypes. Their optics are good and that's the core of a camera, but they need to fix the little details."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Crescent City, CA
Date:September 19, 2013

DO NOT BUY - This camera has problems.

Pros: takes pretty good pictures
Cons: this camera has bugs in the firmware, must periodically remove battery to start up, the supplied case is too small for this camera
Model Number: P520
"I am on my second P520 and both of them have power shutdown and startup problems. In a given day the camera will not shutdown properly maybe 1 out of every 5 or 6 power cycles: the lens retracts and the displays turn off, but the power light stays on and from that point you can not restart the camera without pulling the battery.
I thought I had a bad unit on my first purchase since Nikon customer service reported that it was NOT A KNOWN issue back in June. Not so, my second unit has the same problem and from the reviews of others it is evident that this is a common problem.
I just got off the phone with Nikon customer service and they STILL said that this is not a known problem and that there is no firmware update available. They even hung up on me when I indicated I was taking the camera back to Costco and switching to another brand after they offered to have me send in the camera for repair.
Another minor problem with this package is that the supplied case is way too small for the camera. The camera dimensions are actually larger than the interior dimensions of the case. You have to force the camera into the case. Not useful at all."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:August 20, 2013

This camera is OK, but

Pros: light weight, shot long distance object, small
Cons: unable to power up, short battery life
"I met the same situation like the other customer, the "on" button was unable to turn on! I have to take the battery out and put it back.I repeated this stupid step 10-20 times a day. Battery run out in about 200 shots, picture is not very sharp, but still much better than average compact digital camera.
The good thing: this camera can shot very far away object, light weight.
"
Review 7 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 17, 2013

Firmware V1.0 -- Not ready for prime time!

Pros: low-light performance.
Cons: frequent lockups - must r&r battery to recover, slow and fuzzy autofocus, short battery life - unpredictable power-down, outdoor scenes overexposed
Model Number: P520
"My Nikon P520, Firmware Version 1.0, will be returned for credit first thing in the morning, as unsuitable.
After shooting over 1,500 images, I am giving up on this camera!
I have owned several other Nikon and Kodak digital cameras that worked much better than this one...
What Nikon did well on the P520:
Low-light performance.
What Nikon needs to fix:
Autofocus: On my P520, focus is often fuzzy, almost always slow, somewhat unpredictable, and sometimes balky.
Frequent Software Lockups: My P520 has locked up frequently when in use, often when "just sitting" there between shots. In these situations, no combination of controls including Power On/Off will unlock -- you must open the battery door, and physically remove and replace the battery.
Short Battery Life: My P520 will unpredictably, and very quickly, run out of power; and IT CANNOT BE RECHARGED WHILE POWERED ON. Plugging it in forces a PowerOff. This means that any sort of time-lapse photography is out of the question. Nikon must develop better power-management software, and/or higher-capacity batteries -- and provide for running the camera while plugged in.
Ergonomics: The method of switching display between the LED and the eyepiece is clumsy.
The menus are also seriously in need of work!
Outdoor overexposure: My P520 does not handle daylight well, and even with flash does not handle outdoor backlit scenes as well as my other Nikons, or Kodaks.
The GPS: Software is flaky and difficult to manage -- this feature set must be reworked."
Review 8 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 8, 2013

Love my Nikon!

Pros: long lens built in, light-weight, user friendly
Cons: haven't discovered any cons yet
Model Number: Cool Pix P520
"This is the 2nd Nikon purchase I've made and this one is fabulous. I love that it has the long lens built into it so we don't have to transport the bigger heavy lens that needs to installed. The photos are sharp and clear and all buttons are easy to access. I'm pretty much a point & shoot person, so can't speak to the other technical functions."
Review 9 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 10, 2013

just got back from Africa

Pros: low light
Cons: the night setting wasn't good standard was better
Model Number: Nikon P520
"great-- did I say great in low light. We tickled the sun at both ends, and I had the best photos. I was able to push the red button when I wanted a video. With the 43 zoom, I was able to get some birds that were in the distance. The sound is okay, but I will probably dub when I finish my video"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:June 27, 2013

Great Camera!

Pros: excellent pics and videos - smooth - easy to use
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix
"I traded in my Canon for this Nikon and I have always had a Canon which I love that brand. But, I have to admit that I like to have the "eye view" and the new canon did not offer that but the power of this Nikon is really nice in something not too small and not too big. It is worth your money and it takes excellent pictures and video. I am so pleased with this camera and the service of Costco for allowing me to return my Canon camera. #GetThisCamera"
Review 11 for Nikon Coolpix P520 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, Ca.
Date:June 20, 2013

I like it a lot!

Pros: great zooming
Cons: small bag could not fit the charger adaptor
Model Number: Nikon P520
"This camera does a lot for me as expected. The picture is very clear and the zooming is awesome! The price is just right for my budget and I'm hoping this will last me for awhile. I just develop my 1st 100 picture from costco and came out very nicely. I'm still learning the in and out of this camera, but overall I'm satisfied."