Customer Reviews for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Limit of 3 per member For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-NikonUX (1-800-645-6689) Monday through Friday 9am EST to 8pm EST or email support.nikonusa.com. An excellent 12x optical Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens, 16-megapixel CMOS image sensor and built-in Wi-Fi® will have you sharing more—and better—photos than ever. Expect plenty of "Likes" on the photos and videos you share with the COOLPIX S6500. Packed inside its ultra-slim, stylish design is a powerful 12x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens that's great for everything from wide-angle landscapes to telephoto close-ups; and a 16-megapixel CMOS image sensor for maximum photo and video quality in just about any light. When you're ready to share your creations, built-in Wi-Fi® helps you get them online faster and easier than ever. Specifications: Effective Pixels: 16 MP 1/2.3 in. CMOS Lens Specifications: NIKKOR lens with 12x optical zoom; 4.5-54.0 mm (35mm [135] format equivalent: 25-300 mm); f/3.1-6.5 LCD Monitor: 7.5 cm (3-in.), approx. 460k-dot, TFT LCD monitor with anti-reflection coating Motion Video Quality: Full HD: 1920x1080p / 30fps Image Stabilization: Lens shift ISO Sensitivity: ISO 125-1600, ISO 3200 (Manual setting is enabled in Auto mode) Images Per Battery Charge: Approx. 150 shots Dimensions: 3.8" W x 2.3" H x 1.1" D Weight: Approx. 153 g (5.4 oz) with battery and SD memory card Storage Media: SD / SDHC / SDXC What’s In the Box Nikon S6500 Camera 8GB SD Card Camera Case UC-E6 USB Cable EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery EH-70P AC Adapter/Charger AN-CP19 Strap NikonView NX 2 CD-ROM
Average Customer Rating:
2.52 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
13
9 of 25(36%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kauai, HI
Date:March 17, 2014

Lasted about 3 weeks

Pros: multiple easy to access scene features
Cons: fragile
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix S6500
"My wife bought this on a whim. When I read the reviews, I told her to keep the receipt and packaging just in case. Sure enough, after only three weeks the camera failed. The shutter jammed open and could not be fixed. Needless to say, the camera is going back. The sad part is that the camera actually takes nice pictures and has some really handy scene features. If it had worked, we would have become long term Nikon customers."
Review 2 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, Wa
Date:March 6, 2014

NO WI-FI ON CAMERA

Pros: takes nice picture easy to use
Cons: no wi-fi like advertised
Model Number: S6500
"If you are buying this for the Wi-Fi, which I was, Don't, it is almost impossible to make the Wi-Fi work. When you call, a guy who speaks not very good English walks you thru the set-up and it still does not work."
Review 3 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2014

Best Purchase

Pros: case memory card included
Model Number: Nikon S 6500
"I have been looking for a small camera that had HD and good quality pictures. I'm pleased with the Nikon S6500"
Review 4 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vacaville CA
Date:March 6, 2014

Nikon Coolpix S6500 just what I needed

Pros: easy beautiful pictures with no fuss., zoom feature is really cool., overall rating: wow!
Cons: wish i could change my nickname to lovemycostco!, the tv was years ago! still working!
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix S6500
"As a Golden Oldie, I needed something lightweight that could capture shots quickly. This is ideal for me, very easy to use. Unlike my bigger Canon, this menu on the back of the camera is more intuitive, and I can find everything I need to change, and go back where I was (tah dah!) with very little trouble."
Review 5 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sedro-Woolley, WA
Date:March 6, 2014

Best point and shoot ever

Pros: compact with 1080p ability
Cons: haven't found any yet
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix 56500
"The ability to shoot 1080P videos is really great and the point and shoot is second to none."
Review 6 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, Wa
Date:March 5, 2014

Worst purchase ever

"Used it about three times with less than one hundred photos combine. The camera wouldn't charge/the power wouldn't turn on/the lens would not open. Everything just stopped working. Sent it to Nikon in California for repair and four weeks later the same package was returned to us. I tried to contact Nikon through e-mail and got no response."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 5, 2014

Wouldn't Recommend

Model Number: Nikon 6500
"Bought this Nikon 6500 one year ago when it was higher in price. I wouldn't recommend it and won't buy another. The lens telescopes back and forth at times, uncontrollably. The toggle switch to control this function became loose with just moderate use. Had a previous lesser model Nikon that never had the same problem, but I scratched the lens coating. While feature packed, this 6500 model camera has become unreliable. I bought this to have a handier alternative to my larger format Nikon. May try another brand, but lived and learned with this disappointing model! I haven't contacted the factory, my year warranty is now up. By the way, the case is virtually useless with the magnetic snapping system ineffective.
The good news, it's an attractive small camera. Wished it performed better.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014

lens broke and got poor customer service from Niko

Cons: broke and had poor customer service
Model Number: 6500
"lens broke and it was unfortunately out of Costco's return policy timeline, so sent to Nikon and they wanted almost as much as the cost of the camera to repair and I would have had to pay shipping and handling. Buying a new one, but not a nikon."
Review 9 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:westport, connecticut
Date:February 17, 2014

this little thing ROCKS!!!

Pros: 29 minutes of video no need for two cameras
Cons: none as yet
Model Number: s6500 coolpix
"I had been doing my research for a new camera for a WHILE!!! when this model came out, I was really impressed. although i'm still learning how to use it fully, the in-camera effects are fantastic!!! I am thoroughly impressed. overall, a great camera"
Review 10 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 21, 2014

Does not work after only a month

Pros: videos are good
Cons: slow to reset for next picture, not good quality
Model Number: S6500
"I bought this camera for my daughter for Christmas and it worked good for about a month. All of a sudden, it stopped working and the lens would not retract. After reading other reviews, it appears this happens quite often. Returned within the return period. The best part of Costco is that they have a great return policy that is much longer than other stores."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013

Nikon S6500 is a BEST camera for under $150

"don't know why there are many low ratings on this website for this camera. Good thing that I did my research and went to various websites. I recently purchased Nikon S6500 camera and LOVE LOVE it especially the discounted price $140 with a case and memory card included. Overall, a great point and shoot camera with clear, vibrant color, and easy to use. shutter speed is fast, I love the wifi and low light features that I couldn't get in other camera at this price. HIGHLY RECOMMEND."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 19, 2013

Do NOT buy this product!

Pros: none
Cons: camera breaks easily, bad customer support for warranty
"We purchased this as a "family" gift on Mother's Day. Immediately we thought we loved the new camera. But then we found problems. The shutter would not click fast at all. It was slower than any previous digital camera I had, but it did take beautiful pictures, so we went with it.
Just a week or so ago the battery read depleted, so we bought a new battery when the battery wouldn't charge/the camera wouldn't turn on. The new battery did nothing. We sent it in under warranty and Nikon will not cover the costs. They are short with us on communication online and very unhelpful. They basically don't want to do their job.
I will never buy one of their products again."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 5, 2013

Useless

"Brought this camera for grandsons graduation. Worked then didn't use it again for 2 months.
charged it up to use again and lens wouldn't open. returned it back to Costco. Thank goodness for Costco return policy.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 5, 2013

Great price, dose not last....

Pros: nice looking, inexpensive, takes good pictures
Cons: breaks easily, telescoping lens fails
Model Number: Coopix S line (telescoping lens)
"To be fair, I am a real estate field inspector, not your average vacation photographer. So, I take 100-200 pictures a day and turn this camera on/off about 20 times a day. This camera is good looking, takes good pictures, and is very cost effective; but it does not last. I have purchased 5 of these in the past year and half and all are dead, broken, or being repaired. The last was purchased in August and stopped working in November. I was barely able to return it for repair. The telescoping lenses are the first to go... They either stop working or will not retract, rendering the camera inoperative. I have stopped buying these cameras and I am sure they were just not intended for so much use.... So if you are just going on a vacation and don't expect to use the camera all the time; buy buy buy... If you want something that will last you years and you take a lot of photos; keep looking...... I am going to try the AW110 next, hoping the non telescoping lens will be a longer lasting deal...."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:December 4, 2013

Excellent little compact camera

Pros: great hd videos and compact size
Cons: the shutter delay takes a little getting used to
Model Number: S6100
"I bought this camera 2 years ago for a back-up. My usual camera is a Canon 5D Mark III. I have found it to be reliable and takes great photos. The HD videos are exceptional. The shutter delay is noticieable but that's just the image stabilization kicking in. You get used to it. It fits easily in a pocket or purse so I always have a camera with me. The pre-set menus are spot-on and I've had none of the mechanical problems mentioned in the other reviews. This is an excellent point and shoot camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2013

Fool Me Twice

Pros: lots of features
Cons: non standard usb port, does not charge, does not turn on, wifi hard to use
Model Number: S5200
"I bought this camera for my daughter. The camera is nice, but it stopped charging after a month, just before she went to Germany. No, problem, I exchanged it for a new camera. That camera also stopped charging. Charging the battery outside the camera did not help, the camera will no longer turn on. I decided to sent it to Nikon for repair this time. They said it wasn't covered under warranty, and wanted over $100.-. I would give this camera zero stars if I could."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairfield County CT
Date:September 18, 2013

Looks can be deceiving

Pros: wifi and color
Cons: battery defective and wifi hard to use
Model Number: S6500
"Bought this for my 12 year old daughter for her birthday and just returned it. The battery charges but after a few uses, the camera won't turn on unless you remove the battery and put it back in."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2013

Disappointing battery life

Pros: lots of shooting modes
Cons: battery life, poor wifi implementation, settings disappear if battery is swapped out
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix S6500
"Took this camera to a family occasion and the battery died after about 100 shots, and that was with the flash turned OFF. The WIFI on/off is several menus deep to turn on, so it is a pain to use. I love my Nikon DSLR, but I returned this camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:South Texas
Date:August 15, 2013

Disappointed

Pros: cool photo options (monochrome miniature effect), good zoom power, clear distinctive photos (no shadowing)
Cons: colors not vibrant, blurry photo unless someone is standing still, auto scene selection not quite accurate for photos
Model Number: S6500
"I "wanted" to like this camera! I compared it with my old Sony camera. The colors in the Sony were much more vibrant (Reds, Greens). Another con in comparing the two- in taking photos of family the Nikon pics would come out blurry vs. Sony. I was using Anti Vibration but there is no comparison. Taking this one back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon Coolpix S6500 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 5, 2013

Great easy to use compact option!

Pros: size light and easy to carry., great features for a compact devise
Cons: movement when using zoom on recordings.
Model Number: coolpix S6500
"This is a compact pocket sized camera that is perfect for those occasions when taking a full sized camera is not practical. I have used this camera at concerts in low light situations and on the run applications. I would recommend it for the on the go person who wants to be able to record memorable events!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>