Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Enhance your TV experience with rich sound from both the AudioBar’s premium speakers and a highperformance subwoofer. Wirelessly connect the AudioBar and subwoofer to your TV, plus effortlessly stream music from other devices. Whether it’s wallmounted or placed on a stand, this premium metal design complements your TV and adds a stylish touch to the room. Features: Wireless Active Subwoofer: Feel the power of tight, thundering bass when you’re watching a movie, show or concert. SoundShare™: Simplify the installation of your AudioBar by eliminating the need to have a wired connection between the TV and AudioBar. Simply plug the main bar into AC power, the subwoofer to AC power and follow the simple directions to wirelessly connect your AudioBar to select Samsung TV’s.* Smart On: When used with a 2013 Samsung TV, you will be able to power on the AudioBar and control the volume right from the TV remote. Bluetooth®: Wireless connectivity for streaming from your Bluetooth® compatible mobile device; smartphone, tablet, music player. Dolby® Digital, DTS™ Smart Volume 6 DSP settings (movie, game, drama, music, news, sports) 3D Sound Plus: Compliment the images you see on screen with the full sound of 3D Sound Plus. By analyzing the depth of the 3D image, 3D Sound Plus synchronizes the sound to match the motion and depth of the image. Now you can enjoy a fully immersive 3D experience. Crystal Sound Pro (discrete amp) Anynet+™ (HDMI-CEC): With Samsung’s Anynet+ you’ll enjoy one-touch control for all your HDMI-connected compatible devices like your Samsung TV, Blu-ray Disc player, AV Receiver and Home Theater. USB Host: The range of music sources that you can enjoy is limitlessly widened to those of USB memory, external hard disk, MP3 Player and PMP. (supporting music file formats: MP3, AAC, WMA). Audio Return Channel (ARC): Eliminates the need to use two cable connections. Instead, all you need is one HDMI® connection between your AudioBar bar and TV. TV audio will be sent to the AudioBar and AudioBar audio (from connected external devices) will be sent to the TV using the same HDMI® cable. HDMI® (input and out): Get superior picture and sound from your HD source. The HighDefinition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) is a digital connection that can transmit HD video and audio over a single cable. Use it to optimize the image quality when you connect your TV to highdefinition sources such as HD cable TV, satellite receiver, orBlu-ray Disc ® Player. It also features CEC capability, so you can use a remote control handset. Includes HDMI Cable Specifications: HDMI® Input: 1 HDMI® Output: 1 Optical Input: 1 Audio Input: 1 Dimensions: 39.2" x 17.7" x 13.5" Weight: 26.62 lbs. Model: HW-FM55C
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 11(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 25, 2014

Not Bad...

Pros: synch right up w/ samsung 65" smart tv, sleek design
Cons: slightly confusing to set sound effect options
Model Number: FM-55C
"I am using this in a large room to avoid full surround and speakers everywhere. To be fair, it’s a big task for sound bar. However, it gives full sound for music and movies. The sub is just enough to keep me happy. No replacement for power subs and 6 surround speakers, but for the ease…nice unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Happy Valley, OR
Date:December 15, 2013

Anemic Midrange

Pros: lots of bells and whistles, slim metal design with lcd display behind grill, inexpensive considering all of the features
Cons: anemic midrange
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"Pros:
Lots of bells and whistles
Slim metal design with LCD display behind grill
Inexpensive, considering all of the features.
Cons:
Anemic midrange
Subwoofer does not integrate seamlessly resulting in localization and difficulty of optimal placement (crossover frequency may too high)
Overall:
The tonal quality did not meet my expectations so I returned to the store, and purchased a different system that cost twice as much with very few features.
The sound of my final choice is natural, especially in the critical midrange for dialog intelligibility, and the subwoofer is invisible but powerful like it should be."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:October 14, 2013

Good product.

Pros: love the wireless sub-woofer no wires to run....
Cons: i mounted the bar with tv brackets under the tv., unable to access the usb port even with the, supplied adapter...
Model Number: HW-FM55C
"After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical on purchasing this set but I took a chance and I’m glad that I did.
I have to admit that I glanced through the instructions and used the HDMI to connect to the Samsung TV. No sound. I couldn’t get the sound bar or the sub-woofer to work.
After reading the instructions more carefully I realized that the sound bar has two HDMI in/out. I had it plug in to the wrong side.
Sound bar works great. I just plugged the wireless sub-woofer and it immediately paired with the sound bar... It’s quite an improvement from the wall mounted Samsung 60" TV speakers.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert, CA
Date:June 30, 2013

Excellent Pairing to my Samsung Smart TV

Pros: simple setup great sound!
Cons: none!
Model Number: HW-FM55C
"If you own a Samsung smart TV this unit is meant for you. Very simple to setup just plug the HDMI cable into the HDMI ARC port which is typically port 2. This will allow you to control the sound from 1 remote. Now you can flip through tv channels and not have to worry where the volume remote is hiding.
Design is slick and pairs perfectly with your Samsung. I read some of the comments on the sub not being loud. I think it's fantastic any louder and you'll have an earthquake in your living room.
There's a cool feature called smart volume and it will regulate the sound level making it easier to hear. For instance if you're watching a sports game or news and want to hear the commentator this will enhance their sound and provide a clear tone. I'm watching a tennis match right now and it sounds amazing.
Note** Be sure to put DRC to MAX if you want the best sound. This will provide sound with no compression. DRC minimum is something you would use late at night if everyone is in bed and you just want to watch something without disturbing anyone. It will compress the range so it doesn't blast those action sequences all the way to someone's pillow while they're sleeping.
Of course getting one of those 5 speaker systems with full surround sound would be the BEST sound but it would also be a nightmare trying to install. Do you want to run wires through your attic and pop holes in your wall? Not to mention dry wall repairs will be necessary :) Nope, not me I plug and played in 10 minutes up an running. Immediately tested with a blu-ray movie (Dark Knight) and really felt that cinematic sound rumbling!
"One more thing" This puppy has bluetooth, so get your friends paired up and enjoy some music!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:June 17, 2013

Sounds Great But with Connectivity Issues

Pros: affordable price 3d sound wireless subwoofer, bluetooth & hdmi-cec connectivity facility, tv remote to control sound
Cons: bluetooth connectivity hdmi connection, multiple remotes for complete functionality
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM55C
"This is definitely a worthy upgrade from a standard TV speakers. The speakers and subwoofer have enough power to convert my living room to a mini theater. Subwoofer syncs with the soundbar seamlessly out of the box. Various modes available are very handy, especially the 3D music and movie options are a great asset. However, the Anynet+ functionality and TV ARC using HDMI connection is very annoying. They start working for me after a couple of days by changing multiple HDMI cables to the same ports. The soundbar still does not work sometimes on HDMI. As soon as the source is in D.IN (this is the mode for TV ARC), the TV looks for Anynet+ connection and doesn’t find it. But sometimes it just comes up. This is very weird. But, more importantly the Blue Tooth functionality is a big flop on this one. As much as it is the driving factor for me to purchase this model, it is very disappointing for the frequency interference and signal drop out. I have tried to play music from multiple devices to this soundbar on Bluetooth mode, but the interference is found always. So, the defect is with the soundbar. Overall a great soundbar at affordable price but with its own quirks on connectivity. On the other hand the optical cable that came with the box is great and works well"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 9, 2013

Great bang for your buck!

Pros: small, great sound, looks nice
Cons: none
"We had looked into getting the Bose system but did not wan to spend that much. We set this up to replace our large cerwin vega speakers, CD player, and receiver. I am truly amazed how great it sounds. It has a ton of features, it hooks up to our tv, our bluetooths, iPods, whatever. GREAT sound, I would buy it all over again....and the price is right, it wasn't much more than our portable Bose speaker!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:June 2, 2013

Very satisfied with this soundbar

Pros: sound is upgrade over tv speakers, excellent compatibility with samsung tv, controlled by tv remote or its own, wireless sub which sounds really good, hdmi and optical cables included
Cons: sound is less rich than from more $$$ options
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM55C
"Bought it several days ago. I researched similar products and also compared them with more expensive options. It is clear there are some better sounding sets, but they are much more expensive and require separate remote control.
This unit has everything I would need - excellent compatibility with my Samsung TV (and other Samsung devices, like BD player), easy setup. Subwoofer connected automatically and gives very decent bass, actually better than I expected from its size. It looks very good under my TV and sound is much better than the one from TV speakers (which is not bad either, btw). I tested connections using optical, coaxial (AUX) and SoundShare - all worked OK. I have chosen optical one, as it should give the best quality, and connected HDMI cable to control it using TV remote. Works great. Very satisfied.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:June 1, 2013

Expensive Tin

Pros: slim design of bar is very nice, starts seamlessly with my samsung tv
Cons: s/w is horrible., bt sounds distorted due to lack of good s/w, bang for buck just isn't there
Model Number: HW-FM55C Soundbar
"Nope...not good. Researched & bought the Sony CT260. Went to Costco & this sounded great. Returned Sony, installed this one. It's tinny. Sub is not good unless you 'blast' it. Same price, Sony Ct260 light years better. Will go through the work of boxing/returning & getting back into the Sony..."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hampshire, IL
Date:May 17, 2013

Very Impressed

Pros: can hook up just about any device you want, sound is rich and full - pandora sounds great!, about 1/5th the cost of bose soundbar
Cons: bluetooth streaming my ipod - i lost the subwoofer
Model Number: Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
"I wanted a simple to use sound system with as few WIRES as possible. I had auditioned the Bose Cinemate which sounded great, but still had a wired sub-woofer conection and speakers that needed to be mounted. Too much clutter. I purchased the Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer as it was almost half the price of the Bose and it paired nice with the Samsung 55" LCD TV I just bought as well. Sound is incredible out of the sound bar and wireless-sub! No idea how someone could give this a 1 star review, which had me hesitant to buy. I am sure glad the 2nd review was posted as this appears to be a great product for the price. You will love this unit!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 9, 2013

excellent sound for the price

Pros: great space saver, and sleek design
Cons: hoping the price would go down a little bit
"picked up this sound bar last weekend to give support of my newly purchased 55inch samsung smartv. I've been skeptical purchasing one because it may not give me the quality and bass I was hoping to get BUT I'm surprise how rich the sound quality of the bar and the wireless sub (provided the amount of square footage in our great room). When I open the windows in our living room I can even hear the sound from our backyard so the is sound bar/subwoofer is awesome! Watching movies, sports, and listening to music has never been the same.
I was hoping the sound bar didn't exceed my expectation so I can return to get the Bose but it looks like this one is staying put."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung HW-FM55C Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SLC, Utah
Date:May 1, 2013

What a disappointment

Pros: costco will refund my money
Cons: sound is completely unimpressive
"All I can say is the sub is weak, even on full volume, and the sound bar has a tinny sound on any setting. This unit is only slightly better than my TV speakers."
5 of 14 people found this review helpful.