Customer Reviews for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation

The Sleep Science 9” Natural Latex is truly natural.  This luxurious latex mattress has been developed for those that seek a more natural sleeping environment.  This mattress is comprised of 2 layers of natural latex.  The top 3 inches has been crafted to create a soft initial feel with the slight bounce of latex.  The next 6 inches of natural latex is made to offer optimal support, while still allowing for comfortable conformity to the body.  Natural latex is derived from the rubber tree and is transformed into the most durable sleep surface available on the market today. These latex layers are made using the Talalay method to create a durable, pressure relieving sleep surface.  This natural latex mattress is resilient, supportive and conforming.  The breathability of natural latex is unrivaled and keeps the body warmer in the winter and cooler in the summer.  The feel of latex is plush, yet offers instantaneous recovery and support. The mattress cover is made of 37% organic cotton and the fire retardant properties are chemical free.  The mattress cover is quilted using wool and an inherent fire retardant fiber in order to pass the stringent 1633 and 1632 Fire retardant certifications.  The Sleep Science Natural Latex mattress is all natural for those seeking a luxurious sleep experience in a healthier sleep environment.   Bed frame is not included Sleep Science comfort scale: medium with a bounce 1633 and 1632 compliant with chemical free wool and inherent fire retardant fiber fill Limited Warranty: 20 Years Mattress top layer = 3” of natural latex which creates a soft feel with a slight bounce Bottom layer = 6” of natural latex allowing optimal support Latex layers are laminated together with water soluble glue Tested for harmful substances according to the Oeko-Tek Standard 100. Antimicrobial tested Antifungal tested Allergen tested Sleep Surface fabric = 37% organic cotton, 61% polyester and 2% spandex Made in the USA King Mattress dimensions: 76” W x 80” L x 9” D; Weight: approx. 148 lbs Sleep Science Folding Bed Foundation: The easy 1-2-3 assembly Sleep Science Folding Bed Foundation coordinates with the Sleep Science mattress to provide optimal support and comfort in a complete sleep system. The Sleep Science Foundation has a solid wood top and reinforced metal legs. The long legs allow for added storage underneath the bed. The foundation can be used to stand alone or it fits easily into an existing bed frame instead of a box spring. The solid wood surface is optimal for supporting specialty mattresses. The Sleep Science Folding Bed Foundation was designed for easy assembly. Simply follow the instructions included in the box. It only takes three easy steps and can be assembled in 5 minutes!   1. Unfold the frame 2. Attach the legs 3. Put the cover on Fits inside most bed frames   Meets the requirements of 16 CVR Part 1633 – Federal Flammability (open flame) Standards   Easy to assemble, no tools required   Designed specifically for Sleep Science specialty mattresses   Solid top surface instead of wire that can damage a mattress after prolonged use   Includes a matching foundation cover which is machine washable King Foundation dimensions: 74” W x 79” L x 14” D; Weight: approx. 147 lbs If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
34 of 46(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Review 1 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:July 27, 2015

Soft like pudding

Cons: heavy smelly soft wears softer quickly
" This bed was too soft from the start, your hips will sink in no matter what position you lay in.. side.. back.. forward. Lower back pain guaranteed. Oh yeah and it gets worse over time, they are picking mine back up today.. trying the black diamond next. Thank you Costco for being so easy with the return policy! "
Review 2 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:July 3, 2015

I love it....

Pros: being able to sleep with head raised.
Cons: i haven't found one yet.
" My husband and I bought this bed a month ago. We bought the firmest latex mattress due to my back and side sleeping. The first week we both woke up sore, even though I loved being able to have my head raised 30 degrees at night, I was still having problems with soreness and pain. We finally chose to add 2.5 inches of good gel memory foam to the top of the mattresses and the bed is now perfect for us. My husband is sleeping better and longer than he has in years. I wake up rested and pain free.
The frame and massagers are quiet, and I appreciate the massagers only run ten minutes at a time, I wouldn't want to burn the motors out. The massagers are greater than what I imagined for therapeutic relaxation.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2015

Still Deciding

Pros: conforms to your body; doesn't get hot; no smell
Cons: no handles hard to maneuver, no structure hard to maneuver, limp so it's hard to make the bed, didn't arrive timely so we had to call
Model Number: 758960
" If I had a do-over I would not purchase the base. It's unnecessary and costly if you have a stable flat surface/frame already as you can see the legs with our sleigh bed - it bugs me. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarsdale, NY
Date:May 28, 2015

Going strong after three years!

Pros: durable, comfortable
Cons: expensive, does not fit all bed frames
" Everything still works. I have had this bed for over three years and count it among one of the best purchases I have ever made. I don't recall experiencing the problem with smell noted by other reviewers. The firmness is perfect and both my husband and I get amazing sleep on this bed. Truly a five start product! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 19, 2015

Overpriced for comfort, quality and product

" We were happy to pay a premium for a natural latex mattress. I had done a lot of research online about the benefits of latex and was excited about the durability they're supposed to have, the physical benefits and natural properties. I really have a terrible time with the off gas smell from traditional mattresses and vowed never to buy a traditional mattress again. Sadly, we've had this mattress for almost 30 days and the smell is still unbearable. We have to keep the duvet off the bed during the day to let it breathe and our windows have been open for 30 days.
Pros: This mattress was delivered on time.
Cons:
Off gas smell
Runs extremely warm
Not supportive. I am a back sleeper and every morning since we've owned this mattress my lower back is in terrible pain and my body aches. We are in our 30's, physically fit and athletic...there's no reason a mattress should make your body feel like this every day.
After 30days, it's already showing signs of wear where my husband and I both sleep.
We're returning this mattress sadly and I'll be looking to consumer reports to help make the next purchase.
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:May 5, 2015

BEST BED EVER!!!

Pros: comfort, support
Cons: slight gap between mattresses
Model Number: 758460
" I waited a few months before submitting this review to ensure I was able to give the bed a fair shake down...
My wife and I are in our mid-30's, we are both tall and slightly overweight. I researched mattresses for about 6 months before deciding on this sleep science natural latex adjustable.
From other reviews of this bed and similar beds, my fears/concerns pre-purchase were:
1. Odor
2. Too-firm
3. "Old people" feel
4. Noise
5. Gap between the beds
6. Price
There was no odor.
The bed was sufficiently plush and comfortable.
The Noise is reasonably quiet.
Sometimes you do have to push the mattresses back together to minimize the gap (yes the frames are tied together), but the gap can interfere with recreational activities.
The price was reasonable give natural latex and adjustable frame; the price may actually be better if the bed outlasts a couple of inner spring mattress alternatives sagging to the point of hurting your back. It really doesn't have an old-people feel.
We loved it from the start - great balance of support and comfort. Once you put this thing into zero-gravity, you'll be out like a light and won't toss and turn as you do on an inner spring. My wife absolutely abhors the feeling of memory foam, and this doesn't have that feeling of resisting movement. We thought it might take some getting used to, but we fell in love on day one and haven't looked back. The installation folks did a great job.
There isn't a single thing I would change about this bed; we absolutely love it. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:April 27, 2015

Undurable!

Pros: great sleeping mattress...at first
Cons: undurable! does anything last these days?
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex Cal King Mattress
" I purchased this mattress at the end of July, 2014. At first, the mattress seemed to be awesome, affording me excellent support and comfort. I thought my $3,000 was well spent. However, less than a year later, I can't sleep in the bed for more than about 5 hours before my back begins to ache terribly. After moving to another place on the bed one night, I noticed the sensation of being on the edge of a dip in the mattress. Yes, after 9 months, my expensive mattress has developed a dip! I am 6'2" tall, 226lb. It seems like the quality of things made these days is just not up to par. Very disappointed. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Healdsburg, CA
Date:April 23, 2015

Good Mattress, Marginal Install.

Pros: nice looking mattress., costco very responsive.
Cons: marginal installation difficulty with installer.
" Installers did not put the feet on the foundation and the entire system is too low to be comfortable. Less than helpful. Mattress appears to be of good quality but we are still in the 60-90 day evaluation period. Costco a pleasure to deal with. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 21, 2015

Initial opinion is good

Pros: relieved back pain
Cons: very heavy and floppy if you have to move it
" I was afraid that this mattress would be too soft when they delivered it a week ago, but I was pleasantly surprised. It offers a good deal of support without being hard or uncomfortable. It has relieved the back pain and trouble sleeping I was experiencing due to our old memory foam mattress. The jury is still out for my husband as he has had more back pain over the years and will take longer to realize any improvement.
There was no odor to the mattress. It was delivered in the time frame specified. The actual delivery was contracted out and was not "white glove," but we didn't experience any problems with it due to it being less than optimal. It was not rolled up like a memory foam mattress, but came in a box with a plastic covering. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2015

Mattress highly not recommended

Pros: return policy
Cons: poorly thought out mattress firm may be too firm
" This is not a superficial review. The mattress is talalay latex and it is not soft. If you have back pain this mattress is not for you. It is firm mattress and after laying on it for 2 minutes my back, shoulders and joints started to ache really bad. I question the makeup of layers in the mattress. The first is 19 inch Ild it is 3 inch layer over another 6 inch of 32 Ild. The mattress should have another layer in between a medium to soft layer but it is missing it. These people used to make another latex mattress previously and it was perfect But they are not making it anymore. My recommendation is do not buy this mattress if you like soft or medium firmness because it is firm. iF you have fibroglycemia this mattress is not for you, ultimately you have to decide. i do not recommend this mattress. "
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2015

Returned

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: lumpy and hard
" Returned this mattress. The cotton\wool cover was too hard and no give. I think the glue if there is between the topper and the core is hard. Mattress was too hard for my husband and me. My legs and back ached in the morning. Mattress was lumpy. Husband would not come back to the mattress after 2 hours. He tried it again and was out of it in an hour. Mattress is supposed to support the back, not make my back conform to the mattress. We have latex mattress that we slept on for 20 years, 6 inch cores, decided to put them into other bedrooms. We tried other mattresses in stores and this was the closest we could find. Shipping to us took quite a while. Took three weeks for them to pick up the mattress. It would be better to pick the core ILDs (3 inch cores) and split the mattress for two people.
We are pretty close to what we like, so it is easy for us. If the latex smells chemical, then it is something wrong with it. Latex smells a little sweet and should air out fast. This mattress hardly had a smell to it and was gone the next day. The more you weigh the higher the ILD. Women have to allow for the hips etc. We are side and back sleepers.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, CO
Date:February 8, 2015

Like Sleeping on a Cloud

Pros: stays cool all night., also good for my arthritic shoulders.
" I needed a new mattress. But I had 2 total hip replacements in 2012, so have pretty severe arthritis. I am unable to sit, or lay on my side, on a hard surface, but also needed support for my back. Voila! This mattress is wonderful! It's softness cushions, while supporting my whole body. No latex smell. Covered in organic cotton. I added a damask pillow top mattress cover. Slept great from the first night, and I now sleep better than I have in years. I love it! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 3, 2015

Worth every penny!

Pros: there's nothing like a latex matress
Cons: none
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex Cal King Mattress with Foundation
" Latex mattresses are comfortable and restful providing a serene slumber. Warm in the winter, and cool in the summer. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:January 19, 2015

Great Mattress

Pros: very cumfortable and supportavie.
Cons: very heavy and hard to turn, one one sided can not flip mattress, took longer than 8 weeks to arrive in nc
" Wife and I have been using a Latex Mattresses for ten years. The company we purchased our last one from stopped making their Latex Mattress. It seems that people liked the Latex Mattress, but complained about how heavy it was, and of course the initial cost. I considered purchasing a new one from the many of the online sites that focus on Latex bedding, but then thought we would try this one from Costco since Costco has such a great and easy return policy. Old mattress went to our new guest bedroom and we got the new mattress.
The mattress is GREAT, but the Foundation is kind of a joke. I was able to make it work with our Queen bed.
White glove delivery was anything but "white glove".
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:denver, colorado
Date:January 9, 2015

Great Mattress after you adjust.

Pros: no more body impressions.
Cons: sleeps warmer than traditional mattress.
" I was ready to try a latex mattress after tiring of deep body impressions in traditional mattresses. If you are used to a pillowtop or a plush mattress like we were, this mattress will feel quite firm. It also sleeps warmer than a traditional mattress. We were worried we had made a mistake and almost returned it, but now we really like it. It took a couple of months to adjust, but my husband and I both notice our necks and backs feel better sleeping on this mattress. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

happy results

Pros: a lot of money; no regrets
Model Number: King Nature's Caress Latex Adjustable Bed
" Several calls to Costco mattress showroom helped us decide on the latex mattress. Sales folk were knowledgeable and helpful comparing mattress firmness and other features. Combination of firmness with some "give" suits us well. (Spouse is 250 lbs and didn't want to "sink" too far.) I have the sensitive nose and note a slight latex smell, which is fine...totally "natural", not "chemical". Mattress is great. We may add a footboard as spouse slides down when sleeping with head portion raised. "
Review 17 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014

Vibration element is a joke

Pros: good to have non-toxic latex
Cons: adjustable frame is not worth the money, split sheets are $$$, split feature is not fun for "cuddle time"
Model Number: costco item Item #758431 Split King w/ adj. base
" Glad to have the non-toxic latex mattress, not crazy about the split feature, but definitely skip the adjustable frame. Split mattress is not great- uncomfortable split, expensive sheets needed, and the mattress still shakes the other side when moving around during sleep. Frame problems- we contacted the company about the "army cot" squeak on my husbands side. They were quick to send out a repairman (but one not from company & so he didn't know much about the product)- He was very nice and showed us how to tighten the screw underneath- but we have to re-tighten it every few weeks. My side still makes a bad noise when using vibration while flat- I have to lift the head part a little. But the really crazy thing is the vibration timing! Whoever decided that 10 minutes is a good "time" before automatically shutting off obviously NEVER had sleep problems in his life! If I could fall asleep in only 10 minutes, then I probably wouldn't care about using the vibration feature at all! So now, I turn it on... then startle out of semi-relaxed state to have to turn it on again... and again... and again. After 5-6 times, you just have to give up entirely. I called the company twice about this and they claim the programing can't be changed... I find that really hard to believe. "
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:September 16, 2014

Excellent Night's Sleep

Pros: organic materials - love that!, very little off gassing (i couldn't smell it), white glove delivery service was great!, great for side & back sleepers, all of my fitted sheets fit!
Cons: very heavy, price (was worth it tho!)
Model Number: #758382
" Purchased this to replace our 10+ year old mattress, which was giving us back & hip issues. WOW! first nights sleep was so much better and it's been great every night since then. I no longer feel the whole mattress shift when the better half gets up in the middle of the night. Was worried about it being too warm in our 80 degree weather, but it's been wonderful - just right! We placed the mattress on a solid platform bed so didn't need a box spring. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:August 30, 2014

worked out better than I thought

Pros: no smell/no break in required, wireless remote controls adjust & vibrate - nice
Cons: finished height too low for our liking
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex Split-King Mattress with Adjustable Base
" Buying a bed, sight unseen and without so much as a 15 minute test drive in a showroom was a tough hurdle. But we did some homework and did visit retail stores to test other mattresses. In the end - and assured we could return the bed if we hated it - the Sleep Science 9" was ordered.
A few days later, one of the owners of Sleep Science left a message on our home phone, saying the order was in queue and thanking us for the order. Delivery was made approximately 3 weeks (to the East coast) and set up was professionally handled.
I had feared the mattress would not be firm enough for me as someone who like an X-firm inner spring mattress, but I find this to be to my liking as fr as firmness. My wife loves a soft bed and she too loves the mattress. It does NOT sleep 'hot' and we've yet to go through a cold season with it. Rolling over is not as easy as with an inner spring mattress but it's not 'difficult' either. We did end up cutting wood blocks approx. 4.5" tall to raise the level of the whole thing up to our liking.
A few years of wear/tear will tell the story as to whether the talalay rubber makes a difference, doesn't settle/crater, keeps its firmness, etc. But for now, we feel like we have a superior product to the Tempur line of mattress with all the bells 'n whistles for about half the price.
YMMV. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:July 31, 2014

Love this Mattress

Pros: very comfortable
Cons: none
" My wife and I purchased this mattress about 3 months ago. We had a Costco pillow top mattress before this and with the original small box spring base. The mattress started sagging in certain spots and figured out the box spring base was cheap and didn't support the mattress. I built a wood bed frame with a flat base in order save money after purchasing the 9" Latex mattress. You can buy this mattress with a platform base but it adds $500 to the cost. It took 3 weeks to receive the mattress, so meanwhile I put the pillow top mattress on our home made platform. I have to say it made a huge difference having the pillow top mattress on a perfectly flat and solid platform. My wife has been suffering hip problems on this mattress and after about two weeks she seemed to feel better. Her issues with the pillow top where she felt my movement throughout the night and hip issues. I personally didn't have many sleep problems and thought the mattress was okay. Now, back to the reason I'm writing this review. After receiving the new 9" latex mattress, we did notice a smell that comes from a fresh new mattress. I saw that a previous review mentioned this as well. The smell disappeared after a day and wasn't an issue. The only thing that we have to say about this mattress is we LOVE it. I can't believe how awesome this mattress is. We owned a 12" temperpedic mattress before the pillow top and were afraid that it would be similar. The negatives on memory foam are heat dissipation during the summer and it really didn't give the support we expected. This Latex mattress is unbelievably comfortable. I know a previous review said it was too firm...we feel it just right. It does take a few days to get use to a new mattress but for the last 3 months we feel great. Both of us sleep great and her hip issues have disappeared after a month. We can't be more satisfied with mattress and wish we had it years ago. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>