Customer Reviews for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation

Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation

The Sleep Science 9” Natural Latex is truly natural.  This luxurious latex mattress has been developed for those that seek a more natural sleeping environment.  This mattress is comprised of 2 layers of natural latex.  The top 3 inches has been crafted to create a soft initial feel with the slight bounce of latex.  The next 6 inches of natural latex is made to offer optimal support, while still allowing for comfortable conformity to the body.  Natural latex is derived from the rubber tree and is transformed into the most durable sleep surface available on the market today. These latex layers are made using the Talalay method to create a durable, pressure relieving sleep surface.  This natural latex mattress is resilient, supportive and conforming.  The breathability of natural latex is unrivaled and keeps the body warmer in the winter and cooler in the summer.  The feel of latex is plush, yet offers instantaneous recovery and support. The mattress cover is made of 37% organic cotton and the fire retardant properties are chemical free.  The mattress cover is quilted using wool and an inherent fire retardant fiber in order to pass the stringent 1633 and 1632 Fire retardant certifications.  The Sleep Science Natural Latex mattress is all natural for those seeking a luxurious sleep experience in a healthier sleep environment.   Bed frame is not included Sleep Science comfort scale: medium with a bounce 1633 and 1632 compliant with chemical free wool and inherent fire retardant fiber fill Limited Warranty: 20 Years Mattress top layer = 3” of natural latex which creates a soft feel with a slight bounce Bottom layer = 6” of natural latex allowing optimal support Latex layers are laminated together with water soluble glue Tested for harmful substances according to the Oeko-Tek Standard 100. Antimicrobial tested Antifungal tested Allergen tested Sleep Surface fabric = 37% organic cotton, 61% polyester and 2% spandex Made in the USA King Mattress dimensions: 76” W x 80” L x 9” D; Weight: approx. 148 lbs Sleep Science Folding Bed Foundation: The easy 1-2-3 assembly Sleep Science Folding Bed Foundation coordinates with the Sleep Science mattress to provide optimal support and comfort in a complete sleep system. The Sleep Science Foundation has a solid wood top and reinforced metal legs. The long legs allow for added storage underneath the bed. The foundation can be used to stand alone or it fits easily into an existing bed frame instead of a box spring. The solid wood surface is optimal for supporting specialty mattresses. The Sleep Science Folding Bed Foundation was designed for easy assembly. Simply follow the instructions included in the box. It only takes three easy steps and can be assembled in 5 minutes!   1. Unfold the frame 2. Attach the legs 3. Put the cover on Fits inside most bed frames   Meets the requirements of 16 CVR Part 1633 – Federal Flammability (open flame) Standards   Easy to assemble, no tools required   Designed specifically for Sleep Science specialty mattresses   Solid top surface instead of wire that can damage a mattress after prolonged use   Includes a matching foundation cover which is machine washable King Foundation dimensions: 74” W x 79” L x 14” D; Weight: approx. 147 lbs If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
25 of 31(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Review 1 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

happy results

Pros: a lot of money; no regrets
Model Number: King Nature's Caress Latex Adjustable Bed
"Several calls to Costco mattress showroom helped us decide on the latex mattress. Sales folk were knowledgeable and helpful comparing mattress firmness and other features. Combination of firmness with some "give" suits us well. (Spouse is 250 lbs and didn't want to "sink" too far.) I have the sensitive nose and note a slight latex smell, which is fine...totally "natural", not "chemical". Mattress is great. We may add a footboard as spouse slides down when sleeping with head portion raised."
Review 2 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014

Vibration element is a joke

Pros: good to have non-toxic latex
Cons: adjustable frame is not worth the money, split sheets are $$$, split feature is not fun for "cuddle time"
Model Number: costco item Item #758431 Split King w/ adj. base
"Glad to have the non-toxic latex mattress, not crazy about the split feature, but definitely skip the adjustable frame. Split mattress is not great- uncomfortable split, expensive sheets needed, and the mattress still shakes the other side when moving around during sleep. Frame problems- we contacted the company about the "army cot" squeak on my husbands side. They were quick to send out a repairman (but one not from company & so he didn't know much about the product)- He was very nice and showed us how to tighten the screw underneath- but we have to re-tighten it every few weeks. My side still makes a bad noise when using vibration while flat- I have to lift the head part a little. But the really crazy thing is the vibration timing! Whoever decided that 10 minutes is a good "time" before automatically shutting off obviously NEVER had sleep problems in his life! If I could fall asleep in only 10 minutes, then I probably wouldn't care about using the vibration feature at all! So now, I turn it on... then startle out of semi-relaxed state to have to turn it on again... and again... and again. After 5-6 times, you just have to give up entirely. I called the company twice about this and they claim the programing can't be changed... I find that really hard to believe."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:September 16, 2014

Excellent Night's Sleep

Pros: organic materials - love that!, very little off gassing (i couldn't smell it), white glove delivery service was great!, great for side & back sleepers, all of my fitted sheets fit!
Cons: very heavy, price (was worth it tho!)
Model Number: #758382
"Purchased this to replace our 10+ year old mattress, which was giving us back & hip issues. WOW! first nights sleep was so much better and it's been great every night since then. I no longer feel the whole mattress shift when the better half gets up in the middle of the night. Was worried about it being too warm in our 80 degree weather, but it's been wonderful - just right! We placed the mattress on a solid platform bed so didn't need a box spring."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:August 30, 2014

worked out better than I thought

Pros: no smell/no break in required, wireless remote controls adjust & vibrate - nice
Cons: finished height too low for our liking
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex Split-King Mattress with Adjustable Base
"Buying a bed, sight unseen and without so much as a 15 minute test drive in a showroom was a tough hurdle. But we did some homework and did visit retail stores to test other mattresses. In the end - and assured we could return the bed if we hated it - the Sleep Science 9" was ordered.
A few days later, one of the owners of Sleep Science left a message on our home phone, saying the order was in queue and thanking us for the order. Delivery was made approximately 3 weeks (to the East coast) and set up was professionally handled.
I had feared the mattress would not be firm enough for me as someone who like an X-firm inner spring mattress, but I find this to be to my liking as fr as firmness. My wife loves a soft bed and she too loves the mattress. It does NOT sleep 'hot' and we've yet to go through a cold season with it. Rolling over is not as easy as with an inner spring mattress but it's not 'difficult' either. We did end up cutting wood blocks approx. 4.5" tall to raise the level of the whole thing up to our liking.
A few years of wear/tear will tell the story as to whether the talalay rubber makes a difference, doesn't settle/crater, keeps its firmness, etc. But for now, we feel like we have a superior product to the Tempur line of mattress with all the bells 'n whistles for about half the price.
YMMV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:July 12, 2014

Review After 1 Year

Pros: support, resiliancy, inner-spring like bounce
Cons: heavy/awkward
"I wanted to give us a long window prior to reviewing. We've had several inner-spring mattresses and while all were comfortable, over time they develop large depressions and the comfort level declines until replaced. Between memory foam and Latex, we went the latter route since we wanted cooler sleeping (latex breathes better). We also wanted the near immediate bounce-back of latex.
I'm 200 lbs and 6' 5", and find the mattress perfect. I sleep better and wake up with more energy and less stiffness. My wife, 135 pounds and 5' 8", finds it very supportive but she added a soft mattress pad as it was initially a little firm for her. The mattress itself is very heavy and awkward, so plan on two strong adults to struggle moving it. We've noticed absolutely no depressions or wear, a full year in. All in all it's an expensive (though good deal for latex) mattress but one that we really like and look forward to many years of use."
Review 6 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:July 31, 2014

Love this Mattress

Pros: very comfortable
Cons: none
"My wife and I purchased this mattress about 3 months ago. We had a Costco pillow top mattress before this and with the original small box spring base. The mattress started sagging in certain spots and figured out the box spring base was cheap and didn't support the mattress. I built a wood bed frame with a flat base in order save money after purchasing the 9" Latex mattress. You can buy this mattress with a platform base but it adds $500 to the cost. It took 3 weeks to receive the mattress, so meanwhile I put the pillow top mattress on our home made platform. I have to say it made a huge difference having the pillow top mattress on a perfectly flat and solid platform. My wife has been suffering hip problems on this mattress and after about two weeks she seemed to feel better. Her issues with the pillow top where she felt my movement throughout the night and hip issues. I personally didn't have many sleep problems and thought the mattress was okay. Now, back to the reason I'm writing this review. After receiving the new 9" latex mattress, we did notice a smell that comes from a fresh new mattress. I saw that a previous review mentioned this as well. The smell disappeared after a day and wasn't an issue. The only thing that we have to say about this mattress is we LOVE it. I can't believe how awesome this mattress is. We owned a 12" temperpedic mattress before the pillow top and were afraid that it would be similar. The negatives on memory foam are heat dissipation during the summer and it really didn't give the support we expected. This Latex mattress is unbelievably comfortable. I know a previous review said it was too firm...we feel it just right. It does take a few days to get use to a new mattress but for the last 3 months we feel great. Both of us sleep great and her hip issues have disappeared after a month. We can't be more satisfied with mattress and wish we had it years ago."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:rancho mirage, california
Date:July 29, 2014

thanks costco return policy

"i felt quality deteriorated after first 2 months, returned it back after 6 months of buying, left with back pain,..it is definitely not for people who toss and turn most of the night and are poor sleepers like myself, i am going to buy the firmest mattress that i can find"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Date:July 20, 2014

BED TAKES GETTING USED TO

Pros: adjustable
"I have had this bed a couple of months now and now I love it!. The first night was amazing, the second night, not so much. The bed seamed to firm and adjusting the bed foe sitting up to down left a gap in the low back area, as it the bed needed to fill in again.
My husband left the bed because he said his back was hurting him. We were very disappointing because the hassle of returning a bed.
We gave it another week and it was better. By the third week I was loving the bed. I slept so good, it is easy to to turn in the bed and to get out of because you don't sink in so deep. My pressure points are revealed allowing me to sleep so well. I don't not smell any odors of latex or feel the bed is too hot.
My husband eventually came back to the bedroom and has been sleeping much better. He said he thinks he just needed to get used to it. I agree, because now when I take a nap in the spare bedroom, I can no longer sleep well on that mattress.
All in all, I am very happy with this bed."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, California
Date:June 19, 2014

Best bed we have owned

Pros: zero gravity position is like floating on air, vibration massage is great!
Model Number: Split King
"We purchased this bed because I have lower back problems. It is amazing. The top 3 inches of softer Latex gives the bed a nice soft feel and the 6 inches of firmer Latex under the soft top layer make for a perfect feel. Soft feel but firm enough to support well. We have had the bed for a couple of months now and it feels cool in hot weather. With separate controls my wife and I can position each side of the bed differently to fit our needs. The bed uses easy to find twin XL bottom fitted sheets and a standard King top sheet. The delivery and installation was world class. The only issue we have had is a problem with a chattering noise when we raise and lower the bed (but this does not happen too often and the manufacturer is replacing the lift units). My wife and I would highly recommend this bed. It is wonderful!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:June 6, 2014

too warm

Pros: none
Cons: too warm, too soft, rubber odor, very expensive
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex Split-King Mattress with Adjustable Base
"my husband needed a 'hospital type' bed and wanted foam so we got this bed last fall. over the winter the warmth was OK but since we are into summer, the bed is much too hot. even with on overhead fan and the airco running, the bed doesn't cool off.
I like a firm bed and this doesn't fit the bill there either.
when I first get into bed I get a faint whiff of rubber/latex which dissipates in a few seconds - but it is definitely there.
all in all, I would NOT recommend this bed."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma County, CA
Date:May 20, 2014

Worth Checking Out!

Pros: great for side sleepers.
Cons: no two ways about it---it's costly!
"As do many Costco shoppers---we researched and visited a number of stores before giving Costco a try for a high end bed---not simply a bargain mattress. We began with the 11" Sleep Science adjustable bed---and didn't pay sufficient attention to the one customer warning for side sleepers---I'll be more direct---it's hard as a rock! We were delighted at the ease of returning the first bed---and delighted that the Natural Latex mattress is as comfortable as we had hoped. We'll update in a few months---for now, we're pleased with the purchase!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 18, 2014

Awful Smelling Mattress Odor!!!!

Pros: none
Cons: toxic smelling mattress, overwhelming stinky odor
"What a huge disappointment!!!!
The main reason I chose this Sleep Science Natural Mattress was to avoid the terrible gassing toxic odor. The odor was so overwhelming that my clean sheets and my t shirt absorbed the smell.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 25, 2014

Too hard for me

Pros: quality delivery, adjustable bed works great
Cons: too hard, does not bend well with the adjustable
"I usually like hard beds. But this bed actually made my back and neck hurt more not less. And made my wife move into the extra bedroom. We returned it for memory foam."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2014

Lasts for 20 years?

Pros: few short hours of strong latex smell then nothing
Cons: not for side sleepers
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
"I'm a side sleeper. I did my homework speaking with one of the owners at the manufacturer's business in Cali - direct questions posed about impact on cotton and latex for side sleepers.
The owner ASSURED me this would not breakdown before the 20 year life expectancy had come and gone.
Two short months later, my back is killing me!!! Wouldn't you know it - a sag has developed at the same location of the bed where my hip rests...SURPRISE!!!
Recently placed a call to same owner who was reportedly out of town that day. I called back again (different employee than first call) - I went thru the explanation and issue and learned this person had exact same bed, also a side sleeper, and exact same problem developed within a few months!
Employee advised they opted for Sleep Science's Black Diamond bed and it is working out just fine/has held up for lengthy time now.
It's been two weeks and still no response from owner.
Thank God for Costco return policy - I'm returning bed to Costco"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cape Cod
Date:March 10, 2014

Wonderful mattress

Pros: most comfortable surface
Cons: none
Model Number: Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress
"We have slept on latex mattresses for 25 years. When it came time to purchase one for a vacation home, we knew that latex was the way to go. This mattress is as wonderfully comfortable as expected. After placing the order, Bob, the owner of the company, called to let us know that this was a new product between his company and Costco and hoped that I would review it after some months. I knew that there was no real need to wait but I have done so. The mattress was shipped in a timely manner from California to Cape Cod. This mattress is neither soft nor firm but somewhere in that middle sweet spot. One neither bounces around nor sinks. You are just 'there', which is a very nice feeling. We use it on a solid platform."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:March 3, 2014

GREAT PURCHASE

Pros: easy use remote massage feature adjustability
Cons: none
"My 83 year old mother in law just moved from Alaska to San diego and into a retirement community. She has a hard time getting up and down, and was very nervous about the move and I thought it would help to get her an adjustable bed. She loves the bed!! the easy use remote made it so easy for her.She has had the best sleep since using it and really enjoys the massage feature."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Best.Bed.Ever

Pros: great selection online., check them out at the local costco warehouse.
Cons: they make them when you order. worth it though!
Model Number: #758490
"We needed a new mattress. My needs was a natural product. My husband's needs are pretty finicky when it comes to anything. I was seriously looking at different retail stores at this type of bed. I was thrilled to find it at Costco! We love how the adjustable base works for reading or watching TV. It is easy to operate. The bed is so incredibly comfortable! All our old queen sheets fit perfectly! We are both sleeping well thru the night!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:December 27, 2013

Happy with my purchase

Pros: i sleep thru the night!
Cons: there is a light smell
Model Number: 9" Sleep Science Latex mattress and Adjustable bed frame
"I wanted a 100% latex mattress and I purchased one on line because it was thru Costco. No other store offered a return policy as great as them. I also bought the adjustable bed frame and was so glad! Good thing the delivery guys brought and set up the set, it was so heavy! I did not want to purchase a foam mattress because of the off gassing, but this latex does have a slight smell. It is more apparent when the massage mode is used on the bed frame.
I have had the mattress for 3 months now and it's a keeper! It was a nice touch to get a call from Bill when I placed the order to say Thank you!
"
Review 19 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 13, 2013

Good if you want ALL latex & like soft mattresses

Pros: soft, all latex
Cons: heavy, no handles
"The product video shows that this mattress is a soft top 3'' layer of 19 ILD over a medium 6" base of 32 IDL.
That's was too soft for me, which hurt my back. I returned it for something firmer from somewhere else. If costco had any other ALL latex mattress at the time I would have exchanged it. I'm not knocking it for being soft because everyone is different. some people want soft, I learned it's not for me.
I figured out it was too soft by flipping it over (not easy with how heavy and flimsy it is) the bottom side is firm and it hdidn't hurt my back, but had no soft cushioning cover and at this price, buying extras was not something I wanted to do.
This mattress has a removable cover. It fits over the top and side of the mattress, like a fitted sheet, then it zips all the way around about an inch in from the edge on the bottom. Since the bottom part under the middle of the mattress never has to be removed, the weight is NOT an issue with the cover (good design) and since latex is squish-able, it's could be tucked in and then zipped up, but I imagine it would take some serious effort.
Costco's delivery and return were easily, but be prepared to wait a couple weeks on either end. Delivery took 2 weeks and I live 45 miles from the manufacturer's headquarters! If you are on the East Coast, expect the full 4 weeks the description says!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sleep Science 9" Natural Latex King Mattress with Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cardiff, CA
Date:November 27, 2013

So Far So Good

"We liked this mattress from the first night we slept on it. There was no 60 to 90 day adjustment. I have fibromyalgia and turning is easy on this bed compared to most. I look forward to many good nights sleep!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>