Customer Reviews for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine

Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine

The Brother™ XR1355 Computerized Sewing Machine is the ideal choice for the sewer or quilter looking for a versatile, feature-rich, yet user-friendly sewing machine. The XR1355 features an incredible 130 unique stitches, including 8 styles of 1-step buttonholes, and stitch functions for garment construction, quilting, heirloom and decorative stitching. The convenient flip chart attached to front of machine shows all built-in stitches, making it simple to choose the best stitch for your project. This machine also contains 1 sewing lettering style each with 55 alphanumeric characters, perfect for adding a touch of monogramming. Enjoy sewing on virtually any fabric with the exceptional feed system, and use the built-in specialty stitches for blind hems, gathering, elastic attachment, stretch zigzag and more, for truly professional results. This machine also includes many features designed for ease of use, such as an automatic threading system, push-button stitch selector, adjustable sewing speed, and a detachable foot controller. Plus, quilters love the included spring action quilting foot, specialty quilting stitch functions, detachable wide table, and the ability to do free-motion quilting. With all these features, the XR1355 is still lightweight and portable, and perfect for taking to classes. Features: 130 built-in sewing stitches 8 auto-size buttonhole styles 1 sewing lettering style each with 55 alphanumeric characters Built-in blind hem, gathering, stretch zigzag, and elastic attaching stitches Built-in garment construction, quilting, decorative and heirloom stitch functions Detachable wide table for larger projects Large Backlit LCD display screen Super bright, LED-lit work area Push-button stitch selector Easy threading system Automatic needle threader Quick-set™ drop-in bobbin Easy bobbin winding Adjustable sewing speed Exceptional feed system – sew on almost any fabric Drop feed for free-motion quilting Free arm/flatbed convertible sewing surface 8 quick-change presser feet Operation with or without included foot controller pedal Lightweight with built-in handle for portability Built-in accessory storage Bilingual English/Spanish instructional DVD Bilingual English/Spanish operation manual Dimensions: 12.5” x 19.25” x 15.25” Weight: 13.2 lbs. UL/CSA listed Model number: XR1355 25-year limited warranty Made in China Includes: Presser feet: Zigzag foot, Overcasting foot, Monogramming foot, Zipper foot, Blind stitch foot, Buttonhole foot, Button sewing foot & Spring action quilting foot Accessory pouch containing: 3 bobbins, 3-piece needle set, ball point needle, twin needle,   cleaning brush, eyelet punch, screwdriver, 3 spool caps, extra spool pin, seam ripper Foot controller pedal Wide table Bilingual English/Spanish instructional DVD Bilingual English/Spanish operation manual Please note: We do not recommend using this machine in countries that do not support 120V AC even if a voltage adapter is in use. Model: XR1355
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
18 of 26(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Review 1 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:March 10, 2014

having fun with this machine

Pros: easy to thread upper and lower., very responsive, monogram feature, 130 stiches....
Cons: haven't found it yet
Model Number: XR1355
"This is an acceptable machine for general sewing. My G'daughter expressed an interest in learning so I bought this for her. We have done a lot with it and are enjoying ourselves. I watched the DVD and am glad I did. It made the threading and bobbin so easy... even though it's extremely easy compared to anything I've ever had. My sister has a retail sewing machine store and some of the Vikings retail for $11,000+. For under $200 and with a Costco guarantee - this is a winner."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Emmett, Idaho
Date:April 11, 2014

Love, Love, Love

Pros: great value
Cons: doesn't come with a walking foot
"I can't believe what bang for the buck I got with this purchase. I love all the features and specifically bought this machine to quilt. I have already finished a quilt top with it and am inspired to do lots more!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 16, 2014

Bought as a gift, very well received

Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
"Daughter hasn't stopped playing with her sewing machine since she got it last week. She loves it. She turned the corner about it when she embroidered names the night she got it. Labeled some things that were important. Said, "I think it is a keeper!""
Review 4 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Omaha, Nebraska
Date:July 6, 2013

I sent it right back and got the Singer 5532

Model Number: Brother XR 1300
"This machine is nothing but frustration. I got error messages every time I did something. I don't need a computer on my sewing machine. I wanted a good, sturdy easy to use machine and found that the bad reviews about this machine were absolutely correct. I took it back ad ordered the SInger 5532 heavy duty machine, which is everything I wanted and needed. I have sewn for 48 years now and certainly know how to use any machine, but the Brother is nothing but another computerized thing to break down. The Singer 5532 is much better, made of better sturdy materials and does everything and more that a person needs for basic sewing functions. I had high hopes for the Brother but it is not worth all the delicate handling it needs and jammed up a lot as well as the tension just couldn't be set right on any of the fancy stitching as well as the button holes."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:November 5, 2012

Disappointed

Model Number: XR 1300
"I've been sewing for 20 plus years, and have used many different brands and models. This sewing machine seemed like an amazing deal and so I purchased this, but I am so disappointed. LED lit work area is not very bright, It vibrates a lot and was giving uneven stitches; my husband who knows nothing of sewing, even noticed this. Thrice fabric got stuck in the feed, and I had to unscrew it every time to remove the fabric; that is when I packed it back in its box without completing what I was doing. My fabric got damaged from it. I shall return this. Had it worked properly, with all the features and stitches it offers, I would have called it a great deal; Unfortunately, it was too good to be true!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:December 12, 2012

finally!

Pros: quiet affordable quality
Model Number: XR1300
"I finally saved up enough money to purchase my very own sewing machine, so I was very thorough on finding the best for my price range. I bought the singer sew mate and did not like it so I returned it and purchased this one. The Brother runs very smooth, is quiet, does not skip stitches (like the one I returned), has a bright led light, can be used without the foot pedal (did not even know that was possible), has an awesome bobbin feature that allows you to see it and winds up with ease, the presser feet change out so easy and fast, the needle stays down after your done so your material does not shift, self threading, you do not have to fish for the bobbin thread, can control the sewing speed, and I am sure I can go on and on. Long story short, good buy."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lehi, UT
Date:January 25, 2014

Won't sew straight stitches!!!

Model Number: XR1355
"So disappointed... I've been sewing for about 12 years, had a cheap learner singer machine that bit the dust not too long ago. I read the reviews on this machine and knew that Brother is a best selling brand, the price was right so I thought I would give it a try. Got it out and was so excited to make some window treatments with this cute fabric I bought, thank goodness I practiced on some scrap fabric I had because this machine wouldn't give me a straight stitch! I know what you are thinking, user error ;) ha ha, but no, even going as slow as possible and meticulously following the line, the entire seam was all over the place, it looked awful. It seems like fabric feeder shakes so much it can't possibly turn out a straight stitch. It's going back! I'm so heartbroken, I had high hopes for this machine :("
Review 8 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angles, CA
Date:January 21, 2013

It is all PLASTIC!

Pros: looks impressive
Cons: all parts are made of very cheap plastic
Model Number: Brother XR 1300
"I have been sewing for 25+ years and have used sewing machine for a long time.
I purchased this machine thinking it was a great buy and stupidly sold my machine. It looks great but when you begin to use it, you realize every part is made of plastic and very cheap. For example the spool holder sticks 2 inches from machine and if by mistake you bump into it because it protrudes, it will break. Fabric got jammed in the first hour and I had to open the bobbin plate to get the fabric out. The LED display is so sensitive that it changes if you even get close to it. All my previous machines were solid metal. Good luck finding even 1 metal part. It does not come with a case. The accessory box is a awful pullout desing with a flimsy platic attachment. It it breaks you will be out of a working space on the machine
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:August 5, 2013

Very nice machine so far

Pros: quiet, works great, very good value
Cons: i wish the task light was a bit brighter
Model Number: Brother XR1300
"I've only had the machine for a couple weeks, but it went straight to work right out of the box and hasn't given me any trouble. I have sewn through 4-6 layers of denim (while going over seams, etc.) and it does great. The bobbin threading system is so easy. For the price, I love all the features that come on this machine and the extras such as the quilting table and quilting foot."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Trenton Ohio
Date:November 8, 2012

Brother XR 1300 sewing machine

Pros: the lcd display, stitch selection threader bobbin winder, accessories (so many), ease of use
Cons: none
Model Number: XR1300 Brother
"I love it!! I received this as a birthday present this past September, and have made so many things from aprons, Halloween costumes to quilts. I love the ease of use, the LCD display, the variety of stitches, all of the accessories, and above all the quality of the machine. I learned the love of sewing from my mother, who always had a Singer. But now that I have a Brother, I will never go back. I am so pleased with the quality of this machine. what I love about the machine is its consistency in its performance. No matter what item I am making, what type of fabric I am using, what stitch I have chosen, it performs beautifully. The stitch work is precise, and the tension is perfect, thus the end result looks great. I have bragged about this machine to many friends and relatives. My next purchase is going to be a Brother Serger, can't wait!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014

Great beginner quilting machine

Pros: inexpensive lightweight user-friendly
Cons: doesn't come with 1/4-inch foot or walking foot
"If you're not looking for a large throat space for free motion quilting, this machine is wonderful. I have a very large and heavy Janome machine that is very difficult to transport. This machine has been wonderful to take to my friends home to work on all my quilt piecing. I especially appreciated the needle down feature which is usually only found in more expensive machine."
Review 12 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Camarillo, CA
Date:February 1, 2013

No longer a Bernina snob

Pros: inexpensive lightweight strong foothold
"Like so many other reviewers I too have been sewing for 30+ years. Always had a Bernina, but my ol' faithful finally wore out. I bought the Brother machine because it was cheap and I needed something fast to get me thru a huge project. I have ended up loving this machine and have decided to purchase the Brother serger from Costco as well. I'm a convert to the Brother product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:December 31, 2013

very delicate, unpredictable and frustrating

Pros: lots of different stitches
Cons: skips stitches
Model Number: XR1355
"I have a 35 year old machine that just keeps on sewing. This one at first was a dream because I thought it had so many great different stitches.....but when I tried sewing a knit the fabric got sucked into machine more than once. It is skipping stitches, even after I changed the needle and cleaned out the bobbin area... 3x. It will sew in the same spot tangling the thread instead of giving an error, I think when bobbin is low? All in all I am very disappointed. I'd like a machine that does a few more stitches than my old one. If you get a new machine don't throw your old one out.... Much better made years ago. I didn't want to return this but can't live with skipped stitches."
Review 14 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Highland, Calif
Date:January 30, 2014

No

Model Number: Xr1355
"This sewing machine is sold as a quilting machine but does not have the quilting accessories. It had a quilting foot and they sent me the walking foot, you have to have 1/4 inch quilting foot and guide. You would think they would send the rest. I plan to write brothers too!!"
Review 15 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2012

Great machine

Pros: inexpensivevideo easy bobbin easy to use, 3 speeds
"I purchased this machine. I love it. It is easy to use for new sewers and it also had more for experienced users. My 10 year old loves to use it. the video is helpful for new sewers. I love the slow med and fast speeds. I would recommend this machine. I have purchased two more for my sisters."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:March 8, 2013

Maybe I got a lemon?

Pros: many features, stylish, easy to set up
Cons: bad thread catcher
"I bought this about a year and a half ago. When I first started using it, it was great! I was new to sewing and this looked awesome, and had all these features! But, after bringing it out the third time (It may have only had one hour of mileage on it), my thread got tangled. I fixed it. Used it again and it worked fine. Then, I put it away for a long while since I didn't need it. When I brought it back out to sew, the thread stopped catching. I tried to open it up and see what the problem was, but there didn't appear to be any. Thought I was having a bad day, and put it away again. After trying to use it 2 more times, I gave up, because something was wrong with the bobbin, thread-needle catcher. I had to return this. I may try to buy another one, or I may just wait to save up money for a more expensive one. You get what you pay for right?"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Lupton, CO
Date:January 27, 2014

Wonderful Machine

Pros: easy to thread, easy for a beginner seamstress, loved by experienced seamstress
Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
"I bought an older model of this machine a few years ago and it's so popular in our house we had to get another one in order to get more sewing done. Now we have both machines and a surger going at the same time."
Review 18 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearlake, CA
Date:April 11, 2013

Excellent machine, best purchase EVER!

Pros: you can learn to free motion monogram, so easy to use for sewing or quilting, can be used like a serger!, ajust lenght & width & you have 130 + stiches!, i am handicapped & i can enjoy sewing again!
Cons: wish it had built in monograming stiches.
Model Number: XR1300
"So easy to use. I have Multiple Sclerosis & love that I can push button sew instead of using presser foot! This machine does everything. Can't believe that ANYONE could give this a bad rating! The price is awesome for such a high quality machine. Don't miss out on this machine. My Sister has always bought a singer, but after hearing me rave over this machine, she went out and bought a Brother! This machine put the fun back into sewing."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2014

After 3 years, a bust!

Pros: large variety of stitches price, lightweight
Cons: plastic internal machine parts
Model Number: xr1355
"I was thrilled when I first got this machine because the price was excellent, it's portable, and it has a lot of great stitches. I have had mine for about 3 years. I used it regularly and from time to time had issues with threads on knits as others have mentioned. I've used it a lot in the last couple of months and I got material caught. It seized up and couldn't be unstuck. Repair is $160. I don't like the idea of a throw-away machine."
Review 20 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:November 10, 2012

excellent machine

Pros: lots of features good buy sturdy machine
Cons: carry case would be nice
Model Number: XR1300
"I bought this machine as a backup to my more expensive Baby Lock quilter machine. After several days of using it, I'd say it's an excellent machine for all sorts of sewing projects. I haven't tested the quilting options yet. But this feels sturdier than previous Brother machines I've had, and it's definitely a good buy for all the features you get. The needle threader works fine after you play with it a few times. This Brother is a great machine for a beginner or an advanced sewer on a budget."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>