Customer Reviews for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine

Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine

  Limit 5 per Household/Membership  
Average Customer Rating:
3.871 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
22 of 31(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Review 1 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Apple Valley, Ca
Date:October 8, 2014

very poor performance

Pros: easy to operate
Cons: embroidery function allows only one size of letter, overlap looked awful, loose threads almost on all functions
Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
"pros: easy to operate
cons: all seams came out crooked. I'm returning it and ordered a more expensive Brothers, as this one is a waste of money
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brookfield, CT
Date:October 8, 2014

jams

"I am by no means an expert sewer. This is my persona review. I have been sewing as a hobby for over 25 years and have had two other sewing machines in the past. While this one looks nice being all computerized - it just keeps jamming up. This is the second of the same machine that i purchased from Costco. The first one kept doing the same thing. Jam. Try & pull the material out from the bobbin area. take machine apart. re-do thread & bobbin.... REPEAT! I should have just bought a different machine after the first but figured there was just something wrong with it. I have never had a problem like this before i bought this machine.
And I have to say that after reading the review today on-line & I see some others have very similar problems - I dont feel like im doing something wrong. Would not buy another Brother."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:July 21, 2014

Works For Me

Pros: great bang for the buck
Cons: it is plastic but i can live with that.
Model Number: XR1355
"I have been using this machine for almost a year and found it to be reliable and easy to use."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moutains of So Cal, CA
Date:May 20, 2014

Dang, one sweet machine!

Pros: features, price, strong, quiet, easy to use, lots of extras
"The person that taught be about sewing always buys the expensive brands. This person has a $1500.00 Husquavarna sewing machine and a Juki serger, both which I have used (and seen being used) and both of which I am not at all impressed with after buying my Brother 1034D serger (purchased elsewhere) and this machine. This machine is an amazing find for the price! In fact, I never imagined that on my budget I would be able to own such a nice machine with so many features. As with my serger, this machine is easy to use and is a value power house. The stitches are beautiful and offer a wide variety. The feet that come with the machine include: zigzag, button hole, overcasting, monogramming, zipper, blind stitch and button fitting foot. The machine also has a twin needle (which was a great surprise) and has other features such as speed selector, hand control and it is super easy to thread.
Beyond the amazing features this machine has, it truthfully is a wonderfully fine tuned and strong machine that eases through all sewing projects that I have thrown at it. The motor is strong and capable and the stitches are even and strong. I sew a lot of spandex and my old machine cold never get the tension right causing the stitches to bunch and be loose, but not this machine. Brother is my new go to brand which I will stick with forever. I can't believe I wasted money on my first junky Singer rather then buying a Brother. I highly suggest this exceptional value machine to anyone that sews.
"
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barstow, CA
Date:April 28, 2014

Great Bargain for Price

Pros: light weight and easy to use.
Model Number: XR1355
"This sewing machine has features I expected finding only for a much higher price. It has all the extas for a mere fraction of the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wilmington, NC
Date:April 18, 2014

Great little workhorse of a machine!

Pros: perfect size & weight for travel & classes
Cons: nothing i can think of really
Model Number: XR1355
"I purchased this machine at the store last year, kind of on a whim as I was interested in getting a small machine to take to classes. I was originally going to get a small Janome that was 3 times the price of this machine, glad I saw this one though as it is excellent for my needs.
It's motor is very even and strong, stitches are wonderful, I've tested them all but mainly just use the straight and zigzig, and occasionally the free motion quilting mode.
I'll be taking her on vacation this year when we go to our cabin, it's the perfect size/weight for a travel machine.
Between Costco & Brother's warranties to make things right if they go wrong, you cannot beat this machine for the price."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 16, 2014

Bought as a gift, very well received

Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
"Daughter hasn't stopped playing with her sewing machine since she got it last week. She loves it. She turned the corner about it when she embroidered names the night she got it. Labeled some things that were important. Said, "I think it is a keeper!""
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Emmett, Idaho
Date:April 11, 2014

Love, Love, Love

Pros: great value
Cons: doesn't come with a walking foot
"I can't believe what bang for the buck I got with this purchase. I love all the features and specifically bought this machine to quilt. I have already finished a quilt top with it and am inspired to do lots more!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:March 10, 2014

having fun with this machine

Pros: easy to thread upper and lower., very responsive, monogram feature, 130 stiches....
Cons: haven't found it yet
Model Number: XR1355
"This is an acceptable machine for general sewing. My G'daughter expressed an interest in learning so I bought this for her. We have done a lot with it and are enjoying ourselves. I watched the DVD and am glad I did. It made the threading and bobbin so easy... even though it's extremely easy compared to anything I've ever had. My sister has a retail sewing machine store and some of the Vikings retail for $11,000+. For under $200 and with a Costco guarantee - this is a winner."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014

Great beginner quilting machine

Pros: inexpensive lightweight user-friendly
Cons: doesn't come with 1/4-inch foot or walking foot
"If you're not looking for a large throat space for free motion quilting, this machine is wonderful. I have a very large and heavy Janome machine that is very difficult to transport. This machine has been wonderful to take to my friends home to work on all my quilt piecing. I especially appreciated the needle down feature which is usually only found in more expensive machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Highland, Calif
Date:January 30, 2014

No

Model Number: Xr1355
"This sewing machine is sold as a quilting machine but does not have the quilting accessories. It had a quilting foot and they sent me the walking foot, you have to have 1/4 inch quilting foot and guide. You would think they would send the rest. I plan to write brothers too!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Lupton, CO
Date:January 27, 2014

Wonderful Machine

Pros: easy to thread, easy for a beginner seamstress, loved by experienced seamstress
Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
"I bought an older model of this machine a few years ago and it's so popular in our house we had to get another one in order to get more sewing done. Now we have both machines and a surger going at the same time."
Review 13 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lehi, UT
Date:January 25, 2014

Won't sew straight stitches!!!

Model Number: XR1355
"So disappointed... I've been sewing for about 12 years, had a cheap learner singer machine that bit the dust not too long ago. I read the reviews on this machine and knew that Brother is a best selling brand, the price was right so I thought I would give it a try. Got it out and was so excited to make some window treatments with this cute fabric I bought, thank goodness I practiced on some scrap fabric I had because this machine wouldn't give me a straight stitch! I know what you are thinking, user error ;) ha ha, but no, even going as slow as possible and meticulously following the line, the entire seam was all over the place, it looked awful. It seems like fabric feeder shakes so much it can't possibly turn out a straight stitch. It's going back! I'm so heartbroken, I had high hopes for this machine :("
Review 14 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, TN
Date:January 4, 2014

Love, Love, Love!

"Have used this machine for mending and hemming. I was able to hem a pair of jeans and the machine was up to the task. It runs well and sound great! Does very simple embroidery. Love this machine!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:December 31, 2013

very delicate, unpredictable and frustrating

Pros: lots of different stitches
Cons: skips stitches
Model Number: XR1355
"I have a 35 year old machine that just keeps on sewing. This one at first was a dream because I thought it had so many great different stitches.....but when I tried sewing a knit the fabric got sucked into machine more than once. It is skipping stitches, even after I changed the needle and cleaned out the bobbin area... 3x. It will sew in the same spot tangling the thread instead of giving an error, I think when bobbin is low? All in all I am very disappointed. I'd like a machine that does a few more stitches than my old one. If you get a new machine don't throw your old one out.... Much better made years ago. I didn't want to return this but can't live with skipped stitches."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:August 5, 2013

Very nice machine so far

Pros: quiet, works great, very good value
Cons: i wish the task light was a bit brighter
Model Number: Brother XR1300
"I've only had the machine for a couple weeks, but it went straight to work right out of the box and hasn't given me any trouble. I have sewn through 4-6 layers of denim (while going over seams, etc.) and it does great. The bobbin threading system is so easy. For the price, I love all the features that come on this machine and the extras such as the quilting table and quilting foot."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Omaha, Nebraska
Date:July 6, 2013

I sent it right back and got the Singer 5532

Model Number: Brother XR 1300
"This machine is nothing but frustration. I got error messages every time I did something. I don't need a computer on my sewing machine. I wanted a good, sturdy easy to use machine and found that the bad reviews about this machine were absolutely correct. I took it back ad ordered the SInger 5532 heavy duty machine, which is everything I wanted and needed. I have sewn for 48 years now and certainly know how to use any machine, but the Brother is nothing but another computerized thing to break down. The Singer 5532 is much better, made of better sturdy materials and does everything and more that a person needs for basic sewing functions. I had high hopes for the Brother but it is not worth all the delicate handling it needs and jammed up a lot as well as the tension just couldn't be set right on any of the fancy stitching as well as the button holes."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearlake, CA
Date:April 11, 2013

Excellent machine, best purchase EVER!

Pros: you can learn to free motion monogram, so easy to use for sewing or quilting, can be used like a serger!, ajust lenght & width & you have 130 + stiches!, i am handicapped & i can enjoy sewing again!
Cons: wish it had built in monograming stiches.
Model Number: XR1300
"So easy to use. I have Multiple Sclerosis & love that I can push button sew instead of using presser foot! This machine does everything. Can't believe that ANYONE could give this a bad rating! The price is awesome for such a high quality machine. Don't miss out on this machine. My Sister has always bought a singer, but after hearing me rave over this machine, she went out and bought a Brother! This machine put the fun back into sewing."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:March 8, 2013

Maybe I got a lemon?

Pros: many features, stylish, easy to set up
Cons: bad thread catcher
"I bought this about a year and a half ago. When I first started using it, it was great! I was new to sewing and this looked awesome, and had all these features! But, after bringing it out the third time (It may have only had one hour of mileage on it), my thread got tangled. I fixed it. Used it again and it worked fine. Then, I put it away for a long while since I didn't need it. When I brought it back out to sew, the thread stopped catching. I tried to open it up and see what the problem was, but there didn't appear to be any. Thought I was having a bad day, and put it away again. After trying to use it 2 more times, I gave up, because something was wrong with the bobbin, thread-needle catcher. I had to return this. I may try to buy another one, or I may just wait to save up money for a more expensive one. You get what you pay for right?"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:February 12, 2013

Love it!

Pros: price, features, quailty of embrodiery, user friendly
Cons: this is an embroidery only machine.
Model Number: PE700II
"I am new to machine embroidery. I can tell you from the very start I loved this machine. From the needle treading feature to the way the finished embroidery piece looks, this is a wonderful machine. I carefully read reviews on far more expensive machines and less expensive machines. This model has a lot of features found on the more expensive models, it is very user friendly, the embroidery is extremely clean and professional looking. I have not had any problems or complains with this model. I would highly recommend this model to family, friends, or anyone who are either beginner or advanced embroiderers."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>