Customer Reviews for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine

Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine

Average Customer Rating:
4.024 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
32 of 41(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Review 1 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 22, 2015

So far so good

Model Number: Brother XR1355
" Bought this machine to replace a previous Brother version that seized up suddenly. This machine is a bit of an improvement -- or my skills are improving. The DVD does not have enough information on how to use the various functions. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 20, 2015

Great for Retreats and classes

Pros: front loading drop in bobbin lightweight
Cons: none
Model Number: Brother XR1355
" This is 1 lightweight, easy to thread, easy to use, easy to carry sewing machine for taking to classes you might want to go to, as well as quilting retreats. It has plenty of stitches and sews beautifully. Well worth the inexpensive cost - I should have bought it many moons ago! Now I can join in with like minded sewers without having to carry a 45 pound, very expensive behemoth. I absolutely LOVE it!! "
Review 3 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 23, 2015

Excellent Purchase for the money

Pros: above (review
Cons: too light weight
Model Number: XR1355
" Easy to use; light weight for portability; more stitches than I will ever use. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Glendale, Az
Date:February 22, 2015

Somewhat disappointed

Pros: sewed knits flawlessly
Cons: bobbin winding wasnt the best, the tension was a little tight for lycra
Model Number: XR1355
" I had it a couple months and then started having problems with the bobbin case. The machine would lock up due to the bobbin case being defective.
I am grateful to Costco for offering 100% satisfaction refund.
I have already ordered a duplicate machine and will see if the problem persists and is a design flaw, or maybe it was a fluke that I got a bad one.
I loved everything about the machine, until I started having this problem.
"
Review 5 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:February 9, 2015

Nice Sewing machine

" This machine is very easy to use, I recommend it for new sewer as well as old timers, like myself. I make all different kinds of items, and so far this machine has performed well. The price is right, most places charge over $250.00 for this kind of machine. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:February 9, 2015

User Friendly Sewing Machine

Pros: light weight and multiple stitch possibilities.
Cons: no carrying case.
Model Number: Brother XR1355
" Well worth the price. Great for beginner sewers as well as experienced. Easy to learn basic sewing and the extra stitches add fun to those basic projects. Lightweight, great for traveling to class. Price was a plus: a great bang for your buck! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake elsinore, ca
Date:February 2, 2015

Worth the price

Pros: i love the self threading needle
Cons: the letters are too small for anything but labels
Model Number: Brother Xr1355
" Great for beginners and even advanced seamstresses. It has many different features but is not hard to use. "
Review 8 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015

Great machine for beginners or pros!

Pros: easy to use, versatile, inexpensive, lots of options
Cons: tension can be difficult
Model Number: XR 1355
" I started sewing when I was young and became pretty talented with it. I then dropped the hobby for about 10 years. I finally decided to pick it up again and searched for hours to find the perfect machine. I decided to buy this one because of the brand, all the features, and because of the price. It had everything I wanted without a large price tag. I also chose to buy it from Costco because their price was $100+ less than other stores and online sites. The shipping was cheap and fast as well. As for the machine, it works great. Everything is easy to use and well explained in the manual. The only issue I have had is sometimes the tension is hard to get right but after a little time I can make it work. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hawai'i
Date:December 29, 2014

Our all around 1st choice for ME+U Sewing

Pros: lightweight and easy to set up, speed control allows you peace of mind, comes with a multitude of accessories, electronic features = precise settings, easy access below the plate = service yourself, presser foot must be down to sew = safety, a well-built durable machine, the manual is informative + packed full of tips, graphs + pictures on the machine help when needed, the price is hard to beat!!!!
Cons: a longer neck would be nice for bigger projects, our local stores bring them in only once a year!
Model Number: XR1355
" For 2 solid years now, the XR1355 model has been our most reliable, user-friendly machine option both personally and professionally. Even before this model, we've purchased the Costco XR1300, XR4040 and XR6060 machines and used them for 4 total years now in our manufacturing workshop and teaching studio.
At our sewing studio, we've been teaching all of our youth + adult students on the XR1355 because of its ease in getting to know its features and its multitude of capabilities. After testing out several different Singers and Brothers of all ages that were donated to our organization, the XR series, the XR1355 in particular, is by far, the best machine to learn on and use for simple to intricate, day-to-day use. We've done almost everything on it from teaching 6 year olds how to sew to hemming jeans to making a few hundreds blankets and a few hundred vinyl bags and sewing a silk wedding dress.
The computerized features of the XR1355 allow every student to identify exactly what settings they're using by looking in one area. The visual graphs + labels on the machine serve as good reminders when anyone forgets how to thread their machine or wind their bobbin. The automatic threader takes some getting used to, but once you've got it, you'll be in love with this feature. Most notably, there are 2 critical safety features on this machine that allow us to teach young students in group settings. Without them, we couldn't bare the risk.
1) The Speed Control. There is a slider directly to the left of the LCD screen that allows one to sew as quickly as, but no faster than, the speed at which he/she has set this. With so much going on while sewing, it can be hard for some to control the pressure they apply to the foot pedal. So having this set at the speed they're most comfortable at, allows them to focus their attention on things other than their foot.
2) ERROR 1: This machine WILL NOT sew when the presser foot is up, and thanks to this feature, I'm sure we've saved many projects and fingers from disaster. When you accidentally or intentionally hit the foot pedal while the presser foot is raised, an E1 message will flash on the LCD screen, indicating this error. We simply lower the presser foot, then the machine will sew as planned.
When set up properly, the Brother XR1355 sews so smoothly that we almost instantly know when something's wrong. Within the first few stitches, we know to troubleshoot these 4 classic problems: 1) Is the top thread tail too short, leaving it susceptible to getting knotted down in the machine plate? 2) Has the top thread fallen off of the silver Thread Take-up lever? 3) Has the bobbin been inserted in the wrong direction? 4) Is there a large collection of dust under the machine plate, around the bobbin, keeping the threads from flowing smoothly with each stitch? 9 times out of 10, our issues get solved with this troubleshoot list and we can go on sewing as planned.
We know that sewing can be an investment of time, money and space, so we always recommend having our students try out the machines we have at our studio and if they love the way it works, THEN they should go and buy them. 6-7 out of every 10 new students of ours love it and have purchased this machine after completing their beginners' course (or the previously carried XR1300). It's really a great buy for all of these reasons and more!! Please send more to O'ahu, Costco! "
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2014

Great Machine

Pros: easy to use great price
Cons: only one size embroidery function & no case
Model Number: xr1355
" I'm not a professional seamstress but I've done work on different machines & this one does a wonderful job it has a variety of stitches even surger type. Its easy to use but I wish the embroidery function had more than one size & had come with a storage case then I'd give it 5 stars. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Apple Valley, Ca
Date:October 8, 2014

very poor performance

Pros: easy to operate
Cons: embroidery function allows only one size of letter, overlap looked awful, loose threads almost on all functions
Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
" pros: easy to operate
cons: all seams came out crooked. I'm returning it and ordered a more expensive Brothers, as this one is a waste of money
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brookfield, CT
Date:October 8, 2014

jams

" I am by no means an expert sewer. This is my persona review. I have been sewing as a hobby for over 25 years and have had two other sewing machines in the past. While this one looks nice being all computerized - it just keeps jamming up. This is the second of the same machine that i purchased from Costco. The first one kept doing the same thing. Jam. Try & pull the material out from the bobbin area. take machine apart. re-do thread & bobbin.... REPEAT! I should have just bought a different machine after the first but figured there was just something wrong with it. I have never had a problem like this before i bought this machine.
And I have to say that after reading the review today on-line & I see some others have very similar problems - I dont feel like im doing something wrong. Would not buy another Brother. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:July 21, 2014

Works For Me

Pros: great bang for the buck
Cons: it is plastic but i can live with that.
Model Number: XR1355
" I have been using this machine for almost a year and found it to be reliable and easy to use. "
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moutains of So Cal, CA
Date:May 20, 2014

Dang, one sweet machine!

Pros: features, price, strong, quiet, easy to use, lots of extras
" The person that taught be about sewing always buys the expensive brands. This person has a $1500.00 Husquavarna sewing machine and a Juki serger, both which I have used (and seen being used) and both of which I am not at all impressed with after buying my Brother 1034D serger (purchased elsewhere) and this machine. This machine is an amazing find for the price! In fact, I never imagined that on my budget I would be able to own such a nice machine with so many features. As with my serger, this machine is easy to use and is a value power house. The stitches are beautiful and offer a wide variety. The feet that come with the machine include: zigzag, button hole, overcasting, monogramming, zipper, blind stitch and button fitting foot. The machine also has a twin needle (which was a great surprise) and has other features such as speed selector, hand control and it is super easy to thread.
Beyond the amazing features this machine has, it truthfully is a wonderfully fine tuned and strong machine that eases through all sewing projects that I have thrown at it. The motor is strong and capable and the stitches are even and strong. I sew a lot of spandex and my old machine cold never get the tension right causing the stitches to bunch and be loose, but not this machine. Brother is my new go to brand which I will stick with forever. I can't believe I wasted money on my first junky Singer rather then buying a Brother. I highly suggest this exceptional value machine to anyone that sews.
"
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barstow, CA
Date:April 28, 2014

Great Bargain for Price

Pros: light weight and easy to use.
Model Number: XR1355
" This sewing machine has features I expected finding only for a much higher price. It has all the extas for a mere fraction of the price. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wilmington, NC
Date:April 18, 2014

Great little workhorse of a machine!

Pros: perfect size & weight for travel & classes
Cons: nothing i can think of really
Model Number: XR1355
" I purchased this machine at the store last year, kind of on a whim as I was interested in getting a small machine to take to classes. I was originally going to get a small Janome that was 3 times the price of this machine, glad I saw this one though as it is excellent for my needs.
It's motor is very even and strong, stitches are wonderful, I've tested them all but mainly just use the straight and zigzig, and occasionally the free motion quilting mode.
I'll be taking her on vacation this year when we go to our cabin, it's the perfect size/weight for a travel machine.
Between Costco & Brother's warranties to make things right if they go wrong, you cannot beat this machine for the price. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 16, 2014

Bought as a gift, very well received

Model Number: Brother™ XR1355
" Daughter hasn't stopped playing with her sewing machine since she got it last week. She loves it. She turned the corner about it when she embroidered names the night she got it. Labeled some things that were important. Said, "I think it is a keeper!" "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Emmett, Idaho
Date:April 11, 2014

Love, Love, Love

Pros: great value
Cons: doesn't come with a walking foot
" I can't believe what bang for the buck I got with this purchase. I love all the features and specifically bought this machine to quilt. I have already finished a quilt top with it and am inspired to do lots more!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:March 10, 2014

having fun with this machine

Pros: easy to thread upper and lower., very responsive, monogram feature, 130 stiches....
Cons: haven't found it yet
Model Number: XR1355
" This is an acceptable machine for general sewing. My G'daughter expressed an interest in learning so I bought this for her. We have done a lot with it and are enjoying ourselves. I watched the DVD and am glad I did. It made the threading and bobbin so easy... even though it's extremely easy compared to anything I've ever had. My sister has a retail sewing machine store and some of the Vikings retail for $11,000+. For under $200 and with a Costco guarantee - this is a winner. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother™ XR1355 Computerized 130-Stitch Sewing & Quilting Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014

Great beginner quilting machine

Pros: inexpensive lightweight user-friendly
Cons: doesn't come with 1/4-inch foot or walking foot
" If you're not looking for a large throat space for free motion quilting, this machine is wonderful. I have a very large and heavy Janome machine that is very difficult to transport. This machine has been wonderful to take to my friends home to work on all my quilt piecing. I especially appreciated the needle down feature which is usually only found in more expensive machine. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>