Customer Reviews for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach

Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach

Item may be available in your local warehouse for a lower, non-delivered price. A lightweight and steerable Never Loses Suction upright with a unique detachable canister for powerful and portable cleaning anywhere, anytime.  The Lift-AwayTM features Anti-Allergen Complete Seal Technology that traps over 99.9% of dust and allergens inside the vacuum plus a large capacity, bottom-empty bagless dust cup.  Swivel steering provides complete control to easily maneuver under and around obstacles and furniture.  The deluxe motorized brushroll can be turned on or off, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors.  Features premium pet tools, including a pet power brush, dusting brush, crevice tool and an extra extension wand for enhanced reach to high and far away spaces.  An extra-long 35’ foot power cord makes easy work of cleaning large areas. Features: Never Loses Suction & Anti-Allergen Complete Seal Technology Lightweight, Portable Canister with Premium Pet Tools Swivel Steering Superior Carpet & Bare Floor Cleaning with Brushroll Shutoff Extended Reach with Extra Cleaning Wand and 35’ Power Cord Brand: Shark Filter Type: HEPA Headlights:  No Vacuum Type: Upright Vacuum Cleaner Dimensions: 14.96” L x 11.42” W x 45.47” D Weight: 15.96 lbs. Warranty: 5 Year Model: UV440
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
(out of 84 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
5
67 of 84(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Review 1 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:January 22, 2014

first was a lemon, second outstanding

Pros: outstanding performance, love the adjustable suction option, easy to empty, narrow to get into smaller spaces, easy maintenance, don't have to buy bags and filters, fabulous price particularly with rebate
Cons: cord is not retractable, mine doesn't work well on high pile carpets, working with accessories can be a little awkward, accessories not on board or in a carrying belt, screechy with second setting
Model Number: uv440
"I bought this vacuum based on the reviews and was really disappointed that it didn't seem to work properly on carpets and really screeched. If it weren't for all the wonderful reviews, I would have returned it and forgotten about it. However, given that so many people loved it, I figured I got a defective one. I did get a defect and I suspect the other bad reviewers might have too. My second one was really great. I love the fact that the head is narrow and I can get the vacuum into corners I couldn't previously. I also own a roomba which I adore (also from costco). I use that to alternate with a regular vacuum and also for under beds and furniture - so it doesn't bother me if I can't reach fully under furniture with this one. Roomba goes there. The amount of dust this gets out of my carpets is amazing. It screeches on the brush belt setting which is a bit much, but I think that might be normal for this. My first one really screeched and that one was defective. It didn't pick up as much as my Roomba and that's how I knew it was defective. I love the long cord although I wish it would retract because I'm one of those people who falls over cords. The power brush attachment is amazing and got stuff off that no vacuum ever did. The extension wand I carry on board where the crevice tool goes and leave the crevice tool attached to it. This is not the way they direct you to do it but it works for me. The dust tool also has a space on board.The power tool you can put in a pocket or apron when you vacuum because it doesn't fit on board the vacuum. It's so easy to empty. My filter got so incredibly filthy that I'm thinking I may want to wash it more than every three months, but I'll ask them about that. I'll definitely be vacuuming more often because this is so easy to use in terms of vacuuming. I find the unit snaps on and off so easily and seems to be designed beautifully that way. However, I do have to get used to using the attachments because the hose can be short when you put the attachments right into the handle with the extension tool. You also have the option of putting the tools into a longer configuration by using the part that plugs into the base. They don't show that on the quick sheet to get you started so I felt like the other reviewer who felt she was wrangling a bronco. My second unit also turned more than my first. My second unit didn't have a funny smell that my first unit had. I would bet money that the people who hated this item got a defective one at first. I really wasn't sure because it did pick up some but just wasn't very good. However all the other reviewers could not have been so wrong. I'm so glad I returned it and got a good one because it is really outstanding. One negative is that it doesn't work on my bath mats that are high pile. Even on the lowest suction it doesn't work without getting caught up and the light turning red. However, I hate those mats anyway. I found customer service really varied depending on who you got. It could be wonderful with one rep and tepid with another. I bought a Steamfast steam mop from costco (great product) and their customer service was outstanding. I always got a really nice person who was super helpful and you could tell loved their product. I got very mixed service from Shark. I must say that I have done so well at Costco with my purchases thanks to all the reviews provided by other customers so I hope that mine helps as well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 27, 2013

What a frustrating experience!

Pros: strong suction, washable hepa filter, plastic cup for holding dirt so no bags to buy
Cons: bulky doesn't fit under the chairs and beds, very short tubing, falls over constantly when used on sofa or lamps, no swivel upholstery head - difficult to reach
Model Number: Shark Navigator with Lift-Away DLX
"I just finished vacuuming and I feel like I wrangled a wild bronco! This vacuum is heavy, cumbersome and falls over ALL THE TIME (with wheels and w/o). It took me 3x as long as with my previous vacuum, and because of the short tubing, I still have to dust shelves much more then before. I don't think the designer EVER used this vacuum in a real house, in a real life!!! In theory, this vacuum should be great: allergy sealed, built in HEPA filter, reusable translucent cup for emptying the dirt. I love those features, the motor is strong and the suction excellent; BUT the vacuum is very clunky which combined with the short tubing causes the whole vacuum to tip over constantly! You're supposed to hold the "lift-away" unit in one hand and vacuum with the other, just like in the picture. Which makes it very uncomfortable if you want to vacuum the lamp shades, which of course you need to hold with your.... what, third hand, I guess? The same with vacuuming the sofa: if you want to set the unit down, and move the cushions on the sofa, the whole unit falls down again and again and you end up dragging the whole vacuum with your every swipe - it's not that light, I tell you. Very frustrating. The tubing is simply way too short (are you listening, Shark design people?) Also, the little head for vacuuming upholstery doesn't have a swivel head so it's impossible to reach certain parts of my sofa (or I could lay down on the floor and vacuum with my arm over my head to reach the low part of the seating lol.) One more thing - how do the designer imagine to vacuum under the low chairs or beds? The upright unit with the canister is too bulky to get under the bed or a bench, and the short tubing makes it impossible to reach into every corner under the bed. I keep moving all the furniture around to make sure everything is vacuumed, but I cannot move the beds! So it doesn't matter if this unit has an allergy seal if I'm not able to reach every single part of the house. Since I bought it, my daughter keeps sneezing a lot (a dust mite allergy) so this thing is going back to the store. I'm very disappointed. I had high hopes for this cleaner. Right now I cannot even imagine vacuuming the house twice a week with this clunker. And it makes me feel like my house is not that clean."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:August 9, 2014

Price is whip cream on a cupcake of a machine

Pros: suction power, ease of tool use and portability, weight and maneuverability
Cons: bulky canister doesn't allow low vac access
Model Number: UV440
"I have a Panasonic upright I bought 15 yrs ago and it was pre-owned even then. I've had two complete tune ups over the years and it has worked so well I've had trouble justifying buying a new one. Then a Shark model I've seen more than once on infomercials went on sale at a price I could not ignore. It assembled simply out of the box. It's light (1/3 less than my current upright) yet it has a high quality substantive feel to it. To further bolster my decision to replace my Panasonic I vacuumed my entire one bedroom apartment with it prior to inaugurating the new Shark. I wanted to see the difference I had read about in so many Costco reviews. Suction power seemed to be the universal accolade. Sure enough when I was done, the dirt cup was nearly 25% filled. I have no pets so I wasn't sure how dramatic a difference I 'd be able to observe. That extra dirt was pleasing to see. I was unexpectedly surprised at how useful the swivel feature was to its maneuverability. Knowing I'd review it here I hooked up all of the accessories. I power brushed my favorite easy chair. I did not have a hand power brush on my old vac. Having one at all was nice. The fact that it worked so powerfully and efficiently was even better. I then vacuumed a living room baseboard and window sill above it with the other tools. They worked great and were much more convenient to use than the ones on my upright. I hated those things on my old vac so I rarely used them. The dirt cup is easy to empty and the portable canister is easy to remove and use. I bought this at my local Costco warehouse. They had one fully assembled sitting next to a fully assembled triple the price Dyson with similar functions. No contest on the best value for the price! I was disappointed at first sight that the power brush carpet unit was one only 3/4 as wide as my dinosaur vac. I quickly found that the swiveling feature and over all lightness made up for the lesser area covered with each swipe. This is a fabulous buy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NW Washington
Date:September 29, 2014

Great vacuum!!

Pros: no doggy smell! bagless, extra long cord small swivel head, attachments easy to use, light weight, easy hand washable canister, removable canister for stairs or vehicles, hand washable filters, not loud, good construction, great price!
Cons: nothing that would out weigh all the pros
Model Number: UV44026
"We have had this vacuum over a month now and think its awesome!!! Normally I hate vacuums!! We have 4 dogs that shed a lot and live in a dusty farm community. I vacuum about 3-4 times a week! I love that I can dump out the canister after each vacuum. The canister and filter are super easy to hand wash let them air dry. NO doggy smell!!! (My Orick smells like a dog just sitting in the closet even though I have washed the fabric bag and change the liner often.) The extra long cord makes it easy to go all over the down stairs with only relocating the plug once to get the entire downstairs done. The suction is awesome!!!!!!!! Cleans deep down! The dirt coming up is ridiculous! Finally feel like I'm actually doing more than fluffing carpet! It never loses suction even though the canister is filled to the top! We have been changing to hard floors and I really appreciate the ability to shut off the beater bar when I go from carpet to hard flooring. Also very nice that the beater bar shuts off automatically when you put the handle upright. It's super easy and quick to use the hose and attachment's with the quick release handle. The upholstery attachment works great! It's light weight with removable canister so vacuuming stairs, which is always awkward, is made easier with this vacuum. Excellent for vacuuming out the car. I appreciate this vacuum so much I sent one to my niece as a wedding gift. She really likes it too! The swivel narrow head makes it so much easier to get around chair legs, toe kicks, edges etc. Seems to be the quieter than most vacuums I'm used to. Can't ask for much more in a vacuum. A lot of bang for your buck!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:January 11, 2014

Great Vac at good price - Excellent value

Pros: great vac for good price - excellent value, cleans great lightweight & easy maneuvarability, never looses suction feature, anti-allergen complete seal technology, lift-away portable canister, turbo-boost pet tool
Cons: tips over easily, hose is too short (but can order longer one), main drawback - all tools not on-board
Model Number: UV440
"I am normally a Bissell person and that is usually my go to brand. Having said that, I am very happy with this Shark Vac. My Bissell Total Floor Pet Vac (which I loved) died after 4 yrs of hard use - old shag carpeting, kids, dogs & cats, & I was set on getting another one. I was at Costco shopping !st & decided to just check & see if they carried it which they didn't. For the heck of it I decided to just check out the other ones they had. Dyson is not worth the $$(just my opinion), that left Electrolux, Hoover & Shark that I would consider options that I was interested in. I compared features & tested them out. First I loved the idea of the 'Never Loses Suction' feature and the & Anti-Allergen Complete Seal Technology of the Shark over the other two, then I was impressed how lightweight & the maneuverability of the Shark, hands down over the other two. Plus the Lift-Away Portable Canister and it had the Turbo-Boost Pet Tool (a deal breaker) like my old Bissell had. When I got it home It was a snap to put together. It works great, very happy the way it cleans. I have the same opinion as everyone else as to the drawbacks (HINT HINT SHARK) ie; tips over easily & the hose is too short, but will order longer hose, thanks to prev reviewer, KUDOS for sharing. Main drawback for me is all tools not on-board Vac. Still happy with purchase & would buy again. Will strongly consider Shark again for other products based on this item. I will pass on my tips for extending Vac life; use a SWIFFER or other flexible mini duster to wipe out inside of canister when you empty it & shake out foam filter under canister to get rid of excess dust."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 21, 2013

Great product! Suction is increadible!

Pros: great suction; 35ft pwr cord; great for stairways
Cons: base unit can tip over when using the wand
Model Number: Shark Lift-Away
"In my quest to find a great quality vacuum for overall great value, I think I have finally found it. This new Shark Lift-Away model is by far their best overall design and performance compared to their original model, which btw we still own and use. This Shark Lift-Away, though has much, much better suction and cleaning power, which helps since we own a big dog who loves running around outside in the woods and also sheds fur, which seems to be 365 days a year! I love the Lift-Away's extra long 35 foot power cord, which I can now vacuum multiple rooms without having to plug/unplug the power cord. Also, I like the lift-away to clean the staircase instead of lumbering a vacuum up and down the stairs.
As far as "cons", as no vacuum is perfect, is this Lift-Away model still seems to have a fairly high center of gravity (just like the original Shark model), which means the base unit may be prone to tip over when I'm using the extension wand, so I am extra careful when using around expensive stuff. A suggestion I learned from a previous Costco reviewer is I now put the vacuum on its side when using the extension wand in specific areas I definitely don't won't it to tip over and works great. This is a minor, minor inconvenience compared to all it's other great features and benefits I have already mentioned, oh I forgot that it's also a completely sealed system that uses a HEPA filtration system. Overall I definitely know I get "great value" compared to similar competing products."
Review 7 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 13, 2013

Great Vacuum for price and size, but tips easily

Pros: great suction, great pet tool, light weight, gets close to walls, compact, washable and reusable filters
Cons: tips over easily, akward hose
"It's not perfect, but it's GREAT for this price point!
This sucks up cat hair great so far! It's got A LOT of hair my old (failing) vacuum hadn't. The pet tool is great on furniture. It's lightweight for a vacuum not intending to be that way, but the canister sits higher, making it feel a tad more top heavy on the handle. It's smaller than my old vaccum. That's good because it fits between furniture without moving things as much, but in a big house would take longer to clean.
The hose is akward and tips the vaccum over easily. I've gotten more used to it's quirks, the angles the hose pulls etc and have adjusted and it's much less of an issue now. (both ends of the hose swivel, turning them really helps once you get used to it). To me, it's still much better than the hose on the dyson. I wish the pet tool hand and angle in it where it connected to the hose. That would make it easier.
The canister is not a 1 button release that I'm used to from my old vacuum, but if that's the price for a better seal and better suction, it's worth it.
I love the filters being easily washable! It's more work (only a tiny bit) but I prefer it to wasting money on filters and searching stores for them.
I've had other shark vacuums that worked great on pet hair so I trusted the suction of the brand, but shark is not known for lasting a long time. This advertises a 5 year warranty and will costco 's awesome guarantee, it wasn't a risk to me."
Review 8 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:January 10, 2014

Awesome!

Pros: easy to maneuver! great suction!
Cons: not enough places on vacuum for all attachments.
"Love, love, love this vacuum! I have only had it for one week though, so not sure on the durability of it, but it is just what I was hoping for. Suction is wonderful, love that you can adjust it a little so I can do my flat rugs as well as my thicker carpet. (I did try vacuuming a very plush rug I have, and it kept stopping -- even on the lowest suction --- I couldn't vacuum it with my other vacuum either though, so nothing lost, but nothing gained) Light-weight is great -- now my 5 and 7 year old can help with the vacuuming (the one I had before was a beast)....although all week I've been hogging all the turns with the vacuum to myself, I've enjoyed it so much! Don't let my husband hear that! Ha! Love that the long bar detaches so easily to quickly do crevices and corners. The way the vacuum maneuvers is so nice!! Love the attachment for stairs (pet power brush), easy to use and works great! The canister really is very easy to empty, and although I read a number of reviews saying that it was small and needed to be emptied often, I found that I could vacuum basically my whole house, living room, 3 bedrooms, hallway and stairs, before emptying it. I don't have any pets, but I do have 4 kids. The only downside I recognize is that there is no place on the vacuum to attach the long extension tool or pet power brush. But, not a huge deal. I thought the price was very reasonable! Would highly recommend this vacuum!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014

Sucks well!

Pros: good suction
Cons: bare floor with hair - bad suction, tool mount
"I've owned many models of vacuum and had hopes for my first Shark. I've got 2 large hairy dogs that provide lots of opportunity to needing to vacuum - and try to minimize the dog smell. Assembly of this Shark was average, not hard, not super easy. On the carpet it rolled around sucked up the hair well. Then came the hardwood floors which this vacuum has an "easy" switch to move to bare floors. What it does - turns off the beater bar/brush. Sure, that's what you want so the brush doesn't scratch or mar the bare floor be it wood, linoleum or other. BUT...now that the bar isn't spinning, all that dog hair now gets stuck right there...on the bar at the floor level. So you then have to constantly clean off the vacuum too! What?!?! I'm not sure if it's a design flaw of too little space between the beater bar and the heads' plastic assembly, the air flow in the head, other.
2 other things that we didn't like:
1. When rolling from bare floor to carpet (like an area rug), the head has such a low profile that it doesn't slide up onto the rug. You have to lift the vacuum up and onto the carpet/rug.
2. The tools attachment point is a bracket on the handle. The tools wedge onto the bracket, but the fit isn't tight enough and tools fall off as you're moving around.
Alas, all of the above forced us to return this vacuum and we're looking at other options..."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013

EXCELLENT PURCHASE!

Pros: excellent suction on carpets & bare floors, lightweight, easy to use, great tools, sleek and sophisticated
Cons: none
Model Number: UV440
"Last year I purchased an Electrolux Nimble when I bought my new house. I thought that with a great name it was going to be a great vacuum. I was wrong. I returned it to Costco a year later with no questions asked to my local Costco. I had planned on going ahead and spending the extra money on a DYSON. I was looking at the DC50 model. Honestly, had I not seen an electric outlet at the store to test out the vacuums, I would have bought the Dyson DC50 that day. However, I tried the Dyson and decided to test out the Dyson VS the Shark. The Shark picked up debris on the floor that the Dyson did not. I was pleasantly surprised and pleased at the difference in the price for a vacuum that I feel is just as good as the Dyson (if not even better). I left that evening and took it home and gave it a test drive! Now I am a clean freak, and the Shark made my carpets look brand new again!!! I am so HAPPY with this vacuum. It is a fraction of the cost of the Dyson and it has amazing suction. Plus the pet hair accessory is so cool! I have a Sheltie (long hair) and I have a hard time getting under the bed. The pet hair tool is so awesome. I could go on and on about this vacuum. I won't. I will say though that if you are looking for a GREAT A+ quality vacuum for a fraction of the cost of the Dyson buy this vacuum!! You will not be disappointed! Best ever!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kettle Falls, WA
Date:August 13, 2014

Good, but needs a few things

Pros: easy to empty, easy to clean, love the upholstery brush, plenty of cord to save steps
Cons: no edge cleaner, no headlight, very tight coiled hose section
"I got this unit about 8 months ago, and it's been a nice little machine, I like that it's narrower than the Hoover I had, and that it pops apart for vacuuming awkward places like stairs and ceilings. It keeps up very good suction even when it gets extremely full.
It has no edge cleaner so you must use the wand to go around wall edges and furniture legs. There is no light, so sometimes it's a bit difficult to see if you hit every area and picked everything up.
Also, there are not enough places to keep all the attachments with the unit, and if you're like me, you misplace them eventually. A tool bag would have been nice.
The coiled hose section is so tight that I have to hold it tight with one arm as I maneuver the hose end with the other.
It's bagless, has a really easy clip on dirt reservoir that can be washed, also a foam filter under it which can be popped out and cleaned with soap and water.
Lots of cord so you are not continually finding a new outlet to plug it in to.
The tool caddy (only holds 2 tools) is not a clip on, and pops right off if you have the hose unlocked and try to move the body of the machine using the support post.
I would buy it again but really wish it had an edge cleaner most of all."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingwood Texas
Date:March 28, 2014

Very Good Vacuum - strong suction

Pros: works well on carpet and hard floors, strong suction, very good price, long cord
Cons: have to bend over to change from carpet to hard fl, suctions is so strong it has to be turned down
Model Number: Lift Away UV440
"We recently got new carpet and wood laminate floor. The old Oreck we had just pushed to hard. When we went to the Costco to look at vacuums there was an Dyson sales person there. We looked at the only Dyson that was available but she advised that it was not big enough or powerful enough to clean our home of 2400 sq ft and recommended we try to find the bigger Dyson. She also "warned" us that the Shark we were looking at had "California lead" warnings in small print on the bottom of the carton. We decided to go ahead with the Shark because of the price AND the good reviews it received online. We have used it for a week now and the only problem I have is that the suction is so strong I had to turn it down so I could push the vacuum. It works well on the carpet and on the hard floor. There is not a lot of dust in the air like with my old Oreck. I checked out the lead issue and from what I could find -it is in the cord which is sealed. I love the long cord on the Sharp - don't have to replug as often. My husband likes it too. My cleaning lady comes next week so that will of course be the real test. I can not imagine paying three times as much for the Dyson and getting anything better than this Shark."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 17, 2013

Great Vacuum! Exceeded Expectations!

Pros: powerfull yet quiet, great quality, 35-ft cord, bagless, includes usefull attachments, extremely easy to maneuver, detachable canister, 5 yr warranty! + costco's satisfaction guarantee
Cons: no headlights for dark hard to see areas
Model Number: Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Model: UV440
"I bought this Shark Navigator for my parents & cannot get over the quality this vacuum has at such a great price! Took only 7 minutes to assemble. I love how quite it is, easy to maneuver around objects, & WOW does this pick up dirt GREAT! We were shocked at how much it picked up in a small room. Easy to attach/detach the power brush attachment (which by the way easily opens up if you need to clean it out..great thinking Shark!). They give plenty of cord so the plug doesn't pop out of the wall LOL. And you can even smell that the fine dust particles are not escaping the filter. Great for people who suffer from allergies. The on/off switch is a 3-way switch OFF/ ON / or ON with motorized brush-roll (for carpets). Dumping out the dirt is easy as well. The only drawback I could find is that you need to hold the "detachable canister" part while cleaning stairs/curtains, etc...otherwise it will tip over, but I do this anyways. I bought this at Costco because I knew if I ever had any problems I could simply return it & get a new one. Their customer service is superb!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Illinois
Date:September 2, 2013

Shark NV440

Pros: onboard attachments, lift off canister for stairs, number of attachments, suction power, 35' power cord
Cons: unstable when vacuuming stairs, turbo head needs to be emptied often, small dust canister, leaves pet hair in carpet
Model Number: nv440
"We bought this specifically to make it easier to vacuum the stairs. With one large dog and 3 cats hair accumulates quickly. We tried it immediately and were both disappointed, even with the lift off feature the canister still tips over if not held onto. The canister handle looked like it was well designed but it was awkward with the extension and hurt your back to bend all the way over without. After 5 stairs and breaking a sweat I said let's return it. I was still able to use my hand to gather a small ball of hair after vacuuming with the edger and turbo head. I have a Shark euro-pro canister vac that we use now for only the stairs (uses bags which I don't love) and it's been problem free so I was attracted to the brand moderate price. Our Dyson DC25 upright is awesome except is cumbersome to use on the stairs also. I think this would be a great vac if you have no pets or none that shed heavily, but didn't meet our expectations. Would love to know what does do a great job on stairs for pet owners."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 31, 2014

New Best Friend

Pros: price light weight easy to operate;, good quality construction; ease of use;, quiet adjustable suction mini sweeper great on, stairs
Cons: a little tipsy but even the kirby fell over once, in a while
Model Number: SHARK Navigator
"Instructions were simple and clear, set-up a ten-minute operation. All switches and clasps are clearly (and cleverly) marked. As with large flat screen TV's I strongly recommend the buyer READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. Despite the somewhat negative reviews, and after 30 years of muscling a Kirby and Kenmore around our large house, the Shark is a welcome surprise. Can't predict its durability but so far it has surpassed the hype. About 70 percent of the house is hardwood, with scattered small and large throw rugs. We have pets of course and therein lay the rub. But no more; first run through the house awarded me with two full canisters of pet hair - shocking! Did it again just for drill, including the kitchen and stairs - filled up the canister. A third run today, after some wine and wagers, the canister was nearly empty. No problem with the dumping the canister; worked as advertised. So expect a lot of junk the first two runs; all I know the pet hair is no longer an issue. Enjoy!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blue Mounds WI
Date:January 12, 2014

Best Vacuum for the Money

Pros: easy to set up, great suction power, easy to empty the dust cup
Cons: a little tippy when you are using the attachments
"I owned a $700 Riccar for years. Very heavy unit to haul up and down stairs and I thought it started leaving dirt on the carpet. I was ready to have our neighbor come and clean the carpets when I figured I would try a new vacuum first. I just spent the entire weekend vacuuming every room in my house. I was completely grossed out by how much dirt this thing was sucking up and I consider myself a very clean person. The dust cup is so easy to empty. The attachment portion just pulls off easily for use. We had it assembled and ready to go in about 8 minutes including picking up the packing material. It is a little tippy when you are using the attachments but for $119 this is a steal. I looked at the Dyson and the Shark side by side in Costco and the Dyson didn't look much sturdier than this. What a great purchase. My husband was laughing at my as I kept pulling out the vacuum all weekend long. I think you're in love with this thing he said smiling!"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 28, 2014

Disappointed

Pros: canister lifts away from unit
Cons: tips over easily, cannot clean the beater bar properly, requires manufacturer return for even basic fixes
Model Number: UV440
"We bought this vacuum as our Dyson was too heavy for me to maneuver by myself. At first use, it seemed to work really well. Subsequent uses, the performance declined considerably. Finally, the power bar stopped working completely. Assuming the problem could be an item blocking the mechanism, we attempted to remove the housing surrounding the bar. This turned out to be impossible as it seems to be sealed. Upon further investigation, it was stated that the only help the manufacturer would provide is for us to send it back to them at our cost, as well as sending a check to cover shipping for return to us. I am very glad to have purchased this from Costco, otherwise, I am very sure any further contact with the Shark Company would have resulted with additional charges. This is one of the situations where you get what you pay for. Shark may have been less expensive, but the quality of the product didn't even make it worth the lower price."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:February 18, 2014

Home Run!

Pros: relatively light and maneuverable, brush head self adjusts to carpet height, brush head doesn't bog down...keeps on going, outstanding suction, gets the job done
Cons: extension tube & upholstery tool don't fit onboard
Model Number: UV440
"Great vacuum, super price. Amazing what this little machine can do!
I chose it over Dyson after reading reams of reviews. Given that I was buying from Costco, I couldn't go wrong with their outstanding satisfaction guarantee so, I opted for the Shark and I was amazed! This is a super machine. No need to pay 2 1/2 X for the Dyson.
Took it out of the box, assembled in a few minutes and took it for a test drive. I was so impressed that I cleaned the entire house...I wanted to see just how much dirt we've been living with and I found it to be a startling amount.
I'd recommend this one. So, if you have a home with multiple floors, you can afford one for the main floor, one for the upstairs (or basement) and still have $50 left over for dinner (if you were considering the $450 Dyson).
Try this first. If you don't like it, Costco will gladly take it back and help you find something else. I'll bet you'll be keeping it though!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milpitas, Ca
Date:October 15, 2013

Does the job..

Pros: powerful as a canister vacuum, easy to maneuver, good price
Cons: smaller base than other uprights, questionable thick carpet cleaning ability, attachment handle can be awkward
"I replaced my very old Eureka Boss with this Shark as Costo had a $30 off deal. Overall this is a versatile household vacuum. The canister detaches from the base making it easy to clean hard to reach places, but the hose does not have the stretch/reach of my old upright hose and the handle is curved and inflexible which can make it awkward, but you can manually swivel the connections between the hose and the canister/handle. Used as a canister, the suction is very powerful. However, it seems to diminish slightly when used with the base. I don't hear the familiar sound of chips and legos being sucked out of our carpet that I used to get with the Eureka, but maybe my son got neater. Dust bins are always messy, nothing different here, just detach and one button opens the dust trap. Biggest annoyance is that you can only store the brush and wand onboard, not the pet brush or extension wand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shark® Navigator™ Lift-Away® Deluxe Upright Vacuum with Extended Reach
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Centreville, VA
Date:June 11, 2014

Good price for good product

Pros: lightweight price long cord
Cons: collection bin is small
"After reading other reviews, I decided to purchase this vacuum. I needed something lightweight, with a feature to make cleaning stairs easier than my dinosaur of an old vacuum. I also needed something that could clean both hardwood and carpet. This fit the bill and was within my stingy budget. It is not a dyson -- but the price is reasonable for what you do get. As other reviews have said it can tip over sometimes but if you are cautious and pay attention it is not a big deal. It does a really nice job cleaning both surfaces, and it is quite disgusting to see what it pulls up from carpets! We don't have pets but do have a toddler who seems to make crumbs as a profession. I love how long the cord is also! It makes stairs and large rooms so easy to not have to plug and unplug! I have to empty the tank more often than I was hoping to do, but it really is a great value for the cost."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>