Customer Reviews for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF

For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Model: UN65F7050A
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
1
35 of 47(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Review 1 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle,WA
Date:May 29, 2014

huge improvement

Pros: fun stuff
Model Number: 4NG5F7050AF
"Perfect size for our rec room and visible from all angles"
Review 2 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:May 15, 2014

Great picture in the dark

Pros: great picture good looking frame good speakers
Cons: too reflective needs to be in dark room
Model Number: M651d
"Great picture in the dark, but too reflective of peripheral light sources during day or night if ceiling lights are on. Vizio is one of few that provide more than just two 3-D glasses. I got 8 pairs! TV speakers are much better than expected and works wonderfully with the 5.1 Vizio sound-bar system I bought separately."
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 30, 2014

Not horrible, not great, C+

Pros: sleek look, smart feature variety, good sound and volume for internal speakers
Cons: difficult to calibrate correctly, duller viewing experience than sony, connections location, not worth the price, separate remote receiver
Model Number: Samsung UN65F7050AF
"DISPLAY: Colors and black level not as "deep" as Sony, only after extensive calibration (AVS forum F7100 settings) did it look pretty darn good, however one setting for cable might not translate well to PS3 games/Netflix so additional settings must be saved per input. My previous TV - Sony W900A (gorgeous, just not big enough) - looked much better out of the box and was just more enjoyable to watch, so that tells me something. I noticed pixelated blacks/grays in "House of Cards" on Netflix that I never noticed on the Sony and I'm confident it was not a smoothing option I missed in the settings on this Samsung, perhaps just the way MPEG is processed on this brand. Screen had some clouding (uniformity issues are present in all thin LED LCD's of this size) but it wasn't noticeable until the room was dark and the display was "blank" rather than black, like when the PS3 boots up. I had no flashlighting on the edges of my display. Never tried the 3D - personally not interested. I play PS3 games occasionally, and lag wasn't an issue for me with game mode on or off, however a more sensitive gamer may feel it.
SMART FEATURES: Smart TV was pretty cool, Netflix app's audio would cut out of some programs, never an issue on any other device (all software on TV updated).
ACCESSORIES: I never found a use for the keyboard. The remote drove me crazy with the sensitive swiping touch motion - seemed like they sacrificed function for style on that one.
CONNECTIVITY: Rear connection panel is on the right side and connections are made parallel to the screen rather than straight in, which was a minor inconvenience for reorganizing the TV stand and having to buy longer HDMI cables. Only had 1 random WiFi disconnect issue and 1 random TV shutoff in the first 3 months. Oh, and this external plug in remote control receiver, what were they thinking?
AUDIO: Pretty good for a thin display and casual watching, I never complained other than the occasional speaker rattle from certain low-mid frequencies when volume was up (bass heavy explosions, etc).
Ultimately I took advantage of Costco's generous 90 day return policy with no hassle and no problems. The TV works fine, it's just not for me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kauai, Hawaii
Date:April 27, 2014

PROBLEM SPEAKERS

Pros: picture / features
Cons: speakers are terrible!
Model Number: UN65H7100AF
"The speakers on a brand new TV shouldn't vibrate at a low level? If I'm spending $2,000 plus on a TV, It shouldn't start rattling at 70 days old.
Everything else is stellar but the darn speakers! UGH
"
Review 5 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boynton Beach, FL
Date:April 26, 2014

Great Pic. Horrible Remote.

Pros: the picture is amazing. easy to setup.
Cons: remote is horrible. won't pair to comcast remote.
Model Number: UN65F7050AF
"Bought this at local Costco. Great pic immediately. However the remote was broken and wouldn't pair to the TV. Actually happened for both remotes - the standard + the keyboard. Costco replaced it no questions asked. Second one was fine. The picture rocks. Easy to setup and attach to my WIFI. My only issues are that the remote is horrible, and that I can't seem to pair it to my Comast STB remote in order to turn it on or change volume. Samsung, Costco and Comcast have not been much help on this one."
Review 6 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler Az
Date:April 22, 2014

Very good option

Pros: easy to install
"Nice Resolutions and Colors, light and easy to install"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa Bay
Date:April 17, 2014

Five stars for the price

Pros: bright! excellent 3d. very good picture., flexible usage for those who need it., keyboard, rational price/performance ratio
Cons: battery powered glasses, mirror reflections, remote
Model Number: Samsung UN65F7050AF
"I have sold and been involved with consumer electronics for fifty years. This is good and bad when producing these commentaries. I acquired favorite and despised lists and tend to cling to them. I REALLY like ease of use. I do NOT like unnecessary features but understand their inclusion. I buy TVs to be TVs. I am not looking for it to be my hub. This set aspires to that pinnacle but I do not care for it in that role. I have better, faster options from a PC, receiver, speakers, internet access and on-demand cable features. This is just a TV to me. It might be much more to you. You have been caveated.
First stuff I hate.
The remote, yuck. While fully adaptable to performing its assigned duties, I prefer, overwhelmingly, buttons instead of this clunky, tiny touch panel. The interface forces you to do repetitive pressings. That's boring and the voice feature is SLOW and sometimes inaccurate. Maybe it's a useful feature in absolute darkness. In my situation, with the exception of the actual picture settings and the on/off usage, it sits. Samsung also forces you to choose at the onset of every use, that you actually want to watch the HDMI input from a receiver. I use a receiver for all inputs which makes an annoyance with this added step.
The speakers, while adequate, are TV speakers. They are inherently poor due to placement and limited enclosed volume for bass reproduction. Since I use a pretty good A/V setup, I avoid these limitations.
Screen is mirror reflective and placement could be critical to you. I know that matte' screens are out of favor but I'll take the lesser statistics on performance parameters (normally full-on-full-off ratios) for easier placement. I fortunately have a near ideal environment for this condition to be of minimal concern. You may not.
Middling stuff..
I do not use the smart features as I pay an arm and a leg for superior service from FIOS. My cable service is great both in utility and price (I can buy this set for what I pay to Verizon annually.)
My stand is in the garage in case I ever sell or give away this set.
On all of the above issues I am neutral because they normally do not apply to my experiences. I am happy to have avoided them.
This following entry is venom filled and for cause...
3D glasses provided are ridiculous as they are powered by watch batteries which have a THREE HOUR LIFE. Four people watching a long movie will cost you Eight Dollars minimum!!! BAD SAMSUNG, BAD. Since the batteries are very polluting if not disposed of properly an added onus. In reply to this totally bogus bonus, I bought a pair of USB rechargeables from (@@@@@@) for $60. ANNOYING.
However, as to watching, the provided glasses are light and go over glasses easily. Both the free(??) and purchased glasses perform very well. The purchased glasses are a little heavier but still comfortable even over glasses.
The good..
Now to the meat of the matter, the TV as a picture provider.
Blackness uniformity is barely OK. It might be worthwhile to get a pro to calibrate this if you are a serious TV person. Corners display light when a letterbox picture is present. There are quite a few adjustments available to you and using them does make the eventual screen shots near state-of-the-art. Really Bright, decent to good shadow detail, colorful, clear, impactful images in 2D.
Three D is extremely good, amongst the best.
The provided keyboard is a nice inclusion. If you choose to use this set as monitor for network usage you should be happy with it.
I wall mounted this and paid for white glove delivery (additional). The guys helped me move a 52" Philips (older and MUCH heavier) to a different mount and put this one up in my man-cave. Very much the good experience, this. They advised me to keep the box if a just-in-case scenario played out. No problems emerged and the packaging was disposed of after two months.
You should do the same if you have the room. Most electronics fail in the first month if ever. Returning something of size is easier in it's packaging.
After four months, I believe my (thorough) research proved accurate and the Costco experience a consistent positive one.
As outlined herein, the price to quality ratio is excellent. I think that this 3D set provides 90% to 95% of what is provided by doubling down on the money.
If you have the resources for the best without consequence, lucky you. For us who want superior value, I think that this set is right there in the thick of it.
Buying on a sale, free delivery (cheap white glove option), inexpensive added guarantee (three years (even cheaper now)) for on site repairs, fast delivery, executive member rebate, Amex rebate (the last two if I live long enough) and a lovely picture made this a great deal.
"
Review 8 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:california
Date:March 29, 2014

1 big flaw

Pros: love the the mount love the tv
Cons: the power cord is deeper than samung ulra thin mou
"Samsung really? the right hand is not talking to the left. I purchased the Ultra slim SAMSUNG WALL MOUNT WMN3000B. Its an awesome wall mount to go with this SANSUNG TV. ther are 3 HDMI connection that come out sideways and I think 2 other connections. However the power connection (which you need) comes start out of the back and is deeper than the wall mounts. I guess i'll cut a hole in my drywall to make the really cool wall mount work correctly. Apower outlet coming outsie ways would be perfect. Just a fireman but in 4 seconds i figured it out."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 19, 2014

Good picture but horrible horrible remote

Pros: picture quality
Cons: remote, ir blaster
"The picture quality is great once everything is adjusted appropriately for the lighting in the room where the TV will be used. That said the voice activated remote is absolutely horrible. The remote doesn't have numbers on it - only a touch pad - which in and of it self is not necessarily a problem but when you take into consideration the voice activation feature only works about 20-50% of the time it becomes truly frustrating to change channels - very disappointing. I spent a number of hours with tier 1 and tier 2 Samsung customer service to no avail. Ultimately I had to purchase an additional Samsung remote (one with numbers). Another thing that is a bit frustrating is the IR blaster - the blaster itself works well but Samsung issues firmware updates from time to time which have caused major interoperability issues with my cable provider's set top box."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sun City, AZ
Date:March 10, 2014

Samsung 65"3D TV

Pros: hd picture cannot be better.
Cons: our cable does not have 3d yet.
Model Number: UN65F50AF
"Smart TV but we have not figured out how to use the Smart part yet. Must be an age thing as we are 70+. TV part is brilliant. Sharp, easy to see and use."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:February 24, 2014

Great Picture/TV

Pros: picture; size; motion flow
Model Number: UN65F7050
"Replaced a Samsung 60 inch I had previously purchased at Costco--just wanted a bigger/newer TV.
This TV lives up to the name. Cnet does not give this tv a good review; however, it is almost the same as the F8000 sold elsewhere (no motion camera and slightly different auto dimmer).
Needs some tweaking out of the box for optimal picture.
Here are the settings I chose:
Pic mode: Standard
Backlight: 15 (set for your preference)
Contrast: 80
Brightness 47
Sharp 60
Color 42
tint g44/r56
Advanced Settings:
Dynamic High
Black Tone OFF
Flesh 0
Rgb OFF
Color Space native
White Balance (left alone)
10 pt (left alone)
Gamma 0
Expert Pattern Off
Motion Lighting Off
Picture options:
Color Tone Standard
Digital clean Off
Mpeg Off
HDMI black normal
Film Mode Off
Auto Motion OFF (sometimes move to clear or Smooth--Personal Preference)
Cinema Black (medium)
Have not had any motion problems.
If you normally prefer your setting closer to Movie, you will not like the above settings.
lcdbuyingguide website has some other settings (UN65F7100 is same TV)
Hope this saves you some time.
I do not use the remote that came with the TV; so I cannot comment on it.
I found the TV easy to set up and a joy to use.
Happy Viewing
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:January 28, 2014

GREAT TV!

Pros: great picture and easy operation.
Cons: can't think of one
Model Number: Un65f7050af
"What a great tv and a great buy. It has a perfect picture that show every pimple of each person. I purchased one 75 in and two 65 Samsung TVs and had Costco to install on walls. Install went great and the pictures are unbelievable. They installed all 3 in one day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cape Coral Fl.
Date:January 22, 2014

horrible remote- poor stand

Pros: good picture
Cons: read the review for a few
Model Number: Samsung Un65F7050AF
"Stand is designed so that the TV sits more than 6" back in the entertainment center,this creates side viewing issues. The remote is horrible to use,strictly a gimmick, takes much longer to use the voice control than using a standard remote,same issue when using the on screen channel selector pop up, when you try to drag to the next number it has a mind of its own it often takes numerous trys to select a new channel. This TV is going back to Costco.Will do some research to find a similar TV that dont drive me crazy trying to change the channel, Also had issues watching the football playoffs with fast motion blur,240 htz??"
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Great tv

Pros: vivid colors
Cons: none yet
Model Number: un65f7050afxza
"Picture is great. Vivid reds and dark blacks. Sharp images. Lightweight for the size."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 7, 2014

Like it so bought another one!

Pros: light weight clear picture like the stand
Cons: remote control the mouse on keyboard gets stuck, for volume of these kind tv need an audio bar!
Model Number: Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
"Last year I bought the 60" of exact same TV. Now this year I wanted replace my other TV, and bought the size 65"! I always bought either Sony or Panasonic TV, but this time I prefer Samsung, has a nice stand. I would prefer a conventional remote, using this remote is a process!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Connecticuit
Date:January 3, 2014

worst experience

Pros: big screen good pic 3d is good too
Cons: screen goes blank randomly, poor sound, not compatible with sony dvd/bluray player, fast action not so great on this tv.. gets blurr
Model Number: Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
"I had high expectation from this tv after I replaced my sony lcd with this.. first sound is terrible.. I can feel a huge diff from my prev sony bravia.. also my sony dvd player doesn work with this tv.. once u put the dvd in, it shows scramnbled pics and after few mins it stabilizes.. checked many dvds but all with same issue.. then I got Samsung dvd player and those work fine there.. strange .. Biggest problem with this tv is that it keep turning off itself randomly, specially during cold days.. it would go off/blank for 2 seconds and then comes back on.. both sound and pics.. I can replay the missed part from my cable box though.. called Samsung but they say its the external connection not the tv.. my prev sony lcd tv didn't had the same problem on same cable line.. replaced it once with Costco but the new Samsung led has the same problem. I called Samsung again and they asked to do few things but no avail.. same issue.. problem is that it doesn't go off all the time but only randomly - sometimes 2-3 times a day, some times more.. I am going to send this back too.."
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Date:December 26, 2013

Great TV

Pros: great picture easy set-up
Cons: smart tv requires a learning curve!, universal remote is difficult to synch
Model Number: UN65F7050AF
"Ordered on-line. Delivered several days earlier than anticipated. The easiest TV set-up ever. Great picture--some reviews refer to difficulty in adjusting picture--my picture is great without any technical manuevering. 3D is outstanding (sometimes jumping right at you!). We are very pleased with Costco price, delivery and product."
Review 18 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cordova, CA
Date:December 1, 2013

Blu Ray Man

Pros: still images look good, 2d to 3d is cool, sound is not bad
Cons: the picture tends to blur a lot with fast motion.
Model Number: Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
"This tv does not process sports well or movies samsung should not sell such a flawed tv."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central NJ
Date:November 24, 2013

Vertical Line of Dead Pixels

Pros: alot of apps
Cons: dead pixels
Model Number: UN65F7050AF
"After having the set for 2 weeks, a vertical line of dead pixels appeared. The picture quality is not that good, samsung cheats by not showing different shades of colors, so it looks to cartoon like and a poor viewing experience. I had trouble turning on the tv with the remote, it was like a frozen computer. Even though the specs of Samsung are better than Sony, I would rather recommend a 120 Hz Sony over a 240 Hz Samsung."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 65" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN65F7050AF
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MO
Date:November 21, 2013

Good Value, Great Picture

Pros: great picture once you take the time to adjust it., reasonable price for the quality of this set., easy to mount on wall with another persons help.
Cons: i would prefer a conventional remote., viewing from off to the side fades picture some.
Model Number: UN65F7050
"I've had this UN65F7050 for a week. I tried using a well known internet site, that begins with CN and ends with ET and is four letters altogether, for the calibration settings. I have used this site's settings for other TVs with great results. This time, however, the calibration settings they had were way off and the picture looked too bright and colors were off. My goal was to make this LED-LCD look as good as my plasma. I kept making slight adjustments to a number of settings in the week I have had this TV. I, finally, have the colors, black level, brightness, and sharpness looking excellent. The set, actually, has built in test patterns, but they can only be used for certain presets. I believe that if you spend the time, you can get one of the best pictures of any TV. Only the best plasmas and LED- LCDs have a better picture. They will cost you about $1000 more. I would rather have a remote with all buttons available. This remote requires extra steps for just going back to a previous channel.
Also, I should mention I ordered this from Costco.com and had it exactly one week later. Service was fast."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>