Customer Reviews for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Limit of 3 per member For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-NikonUX (1-800-645-6689) Monday through Friday 9am EST to 8pm EST or email support.nikonusa.com. Achieve a thrilling new level of image quality and sharpness thanks to a specially designed 24.1-MP DX-format CMOS sensor. Enjoy speed, precision and convenience at every step, from shooting up to 6 fps to instantly sharing your shots with the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter. Create dazzling Full HD 1080p videos and ultra-smooth slow-motion or time-lapse sequences. Unleash the power of Nikon's nimble DX-format system. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II Lens Powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing. Specifications: Image Sensor: 23.5mm x 15.6mm CMOS Sensor Lens Specifications: 18-200mm VRII lens LCD Monitor: 3.2" Wide Viewing Angle TFT-LCD (1,228,800 dots) Motion Video Quality: 6 frames per second    Image Sensor Format: DX ISO Sensitivity: ISO 100 - 6400 Images Per Battery Charge: Approx. 950 shots      Dimensions: W 5.3” x H 4.2” x D 3.0” Weight: 23.8 oz (camera body only) Storage Media: SD / SDHC / SDXC What's Included: Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera 18-200mm VRII lens Camera Bag 32 GB SD Card WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter Nikon School Instructional DVDs & Photo Guide
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
(out of 100 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
5
91 of 100(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Peachtree City, GA
Date:February 17, 2014

poor continuous focus

Model Number: Nikon 7100D
"I am very disappointed with this camera kit. Does not accommodate focus on moving objects. Very difficult to take kids picture specially during sports or if they are moving."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mid-Atlantic
Date:September 22, 2013

Oil Spot 2

Model Number: Nikon d7100 D-SLR
"After 2 months of use, a major spot appeared on images, always the same shape and the same position. I am fortunate to be within the 90 day return period, so I will return the camera. It appears that Nikon has had this problem in other models (D600 and D7000), and it continues."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Somewhere, USA
Date:November 21, 2013

AF issues, had to return to Costco

"I owned this camera for two weeks. A lot of new and exciting options, very easy to navigate menu and pretty good lenses. I would be very happy with the photos quality if the camera wouldn't have AF issues.Out of 10 pics 1 or 2 would be completely out of focus and 2-3 pics will be slightly out of focus. I tried different settings, light and exposure with similar results. The Nikon tech support had reviewed several JEPG files that I've sent to them and recommended to send the camera back to Nikon for repairs."
Review 4 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:November 18, 2013

Quality Cam with firmware issues (Freeze)

Pros: build quality, feature set, iso pic quality, plenty of accessories
Cons: potential firmware issue, very poor tech support, clunky camera case
Model Number: D7100
"The D7100 has a solid build and a full feature set. HOWEVER, I began having the cam lock up, becoming fully unresponsive. 2 times in 2 days I had to dismount the MB-D15 (after-market instillation) and then pop the in-camera battery to reset it. A call to Nikon tech support yielded only a "send it in for repair"; the adviser I talked to said Nikon has NO database to see if others have reported the issue. If I were rating Nikon tech support, they would get 1 star. IF the camera worked as it was supposed to, without freezing, I would consider giving it 5 stars. Bummer that poor tech support makes me dislike the manufacturer."
Review 5 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 15, 2013

Great camera, great price!

Pros: great everyday lens many options wifi
Cons: none
Model Number: D7100 18-200 lens
"Take negative reviews With a grain of salt. When they say "I never had to worry about adjusting the ISO and pictures were great" you know it's a red flag. This camera is awesome. I'm replacing my D50 I had for 8 years. The WIFI adapter is way smaller than picture suggests, which is a good thing. It is designed to be attached right to the strap in it's little case. No low pass filter in this camera which allows for crisp clear pictures. The lens it great for everyday use going from 18-200. The Lens VR (vibration reduction) eliminates need for a tripod under normal shooting. Great camera with lots of settings for customization. Buy it."
Review 6 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Worcester, MA
Date:May 27, 2013

Best camera, OK lens

Pros: excellent camera
Cons: not so good bundled lens
Model Number: D7100
"I bought this kit at local Costco store. The camera is awesome. No real complaints.
The controls are similar to D7000, with improved Auto-ISO with front dial. Autofocus system, Image Quality (IQ), ISO 6400 performance, etc., are all improved over the D7000.
The lens is good for consumers who want all-in-one type and are satisfied with average IQ.
Advanced shooters who buy this camera should expect better IQ and therefore a better lens. A combination of 18-105mm with 70-300mm gives better image quality, combined with 35mm f/1.8 DX for low-light shooting.
Another problem you will see in future is that you will need to buy expensive lenses to get the best out of this camera's ability. Cheaper/affordable lenses will give OK results."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:November 16, 2013

Mediocre lenses... over-rated system

Pros: decent feature-loaded body, reasonable price
Cons: all-purpose lenses with mediocre image quality, heavy & big
Model Number: d7100
"I've been using an Olympus e-510 for about 6 years and am happy with the Olympus image quality, even though it's only 10 mp. But I wanted to upgrade to a faster camera with the latest technology and the d7100 was highly rated. I bought this Costco package and while the body seems decent, the lenses really are mediocre, at best. Also, considering that the mp count is 2.5 times more than my old Olympus, it didn't show in the image quality. Plus the fact that DX format camera is much larger and heavier than my Olympus, it just didn't feel like an upgrade. So if you're a Nikon fan, this is probably a great camera... but if you have a different system I'm not sure I would recommend switching. I ended up returning the d7100 and going back to my old Olympus..."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Prescott, Arizona
Date:December 5, 2013

Worst Camera Expierence ever

Pros: none
Cons: camera did not function right out of the box.
Model Number: D7100
"Bought the D7100 at Costco on line. When it arrived I was excited and immediately charged the battery to begin use. When I turned it on after installing the battery and SD card the LCD screen came up with the prompt to select "English" by pressing the "ok" button. Unfortunately the screen was locked and none of the buttons and dials responded at all. I called the Costco Concierge service and all they could do to help was have me shut the camera off, remove the battery for 1 minute, then re-install the battery and turn the unit back on. Same thing happened--the camera was locked on the "English" selection with nowhere else to go. I drove 20 miles to Costco to return the camera but unfortunately they could not exchange it for one at the store 'even up' because local communities in Arizona add up to another 5% sales tax over the State tax and it was too late to order another one before my holiday vacation. I am very disappointed in Nikon now and not really happy with Costco either."
2 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:July 22, 2013

Costco deserve high marks, Nikon less so

Model Number: Nikon D7100
"Purchased this camera at Costco after owning a SLR of another brand for 10+ years. The camera is impressive, but the one I got happens to have problems: one is that the viewfinder was very dim and dark, completely different than the floor model I saw at Costco and my experience with any other viewfinders; then, the shutter release does not work when auto focus is used with live view off. After two calls to Nikon tech support and they had no idea what caused the problems, I had to bring the camera back to Costco for exchange. The exchange was smooth as usual, and the new camera work just fine. So, thumbs up for Costco but not so much for Nikon. The Nikon tech support asked me to send the machine to their repair center; I of course rather deal with Costco. Even though it wasted me a lot of time trying to figure out the problems (reading the manual back and forth, searching the internet, and making multiple phone calls) and took me an extra trip to the store, I still feel it was a positive experience purchasing it from Costco, and the product I am having now works very well --hence five stars!"
Review 10 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 26, 2013

Oil Splatter on Sensor just like Nikon D600

Pros: good quality pictures
Cons: oil spots on your precious sensor will haunt you, bad af when in low light
"Originally I read all the positive reviews and thought this is a great camera. So I hurried and went to my local Costco and bought two D7100 cameras. One for myself the other for my brother. After we shot about 200 for his camera and 400 on my camera, we start noticing dusts on the sensor with F22 aperture on a clear sky. The dusts were translucent and appeared in formation on both cameras. So I tried to use the built-in sensor cleaning function and gotten no where. So I enabled the sensor cleaning mode and tried to blow the dust away with a camera blower and those dots remained for both cameras and still in a formation of about 10 to 12 dots. So I did more research online and there is quite a few people has the same issues just like the Nikon D600 was.. so the end I had to return both cameras back to Costco for refund. I was going to send in to Nikon for repair, but most people said the oil spots will return as the oil based lubricant will continue to splatter as you take more shots.
So for those people haven't bought the camera yet, be warned about the oil on sensor issue. For those already purchased the camera, I would suggest you take a shot of the clear sky with Manual focus and F22 aperture. If you have Adobe photoshop you can also load the picture up and use auto contrast to see the oil spots more easily."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boston, ma
Date:May 7, 2013

best camera i ever own

Pros: fast auto focusing, impressive low light quality, change setting in a breeze, very bright view finder, very sharp live view screen, very solid camera good amount of weight
Cons: skinny hand grip, don't know if you focus correctly on live view, live view shutter speed slower then view finder
Model Number: D7100 with 18 - 200 mm lens
"I love this camera, I had Sony A390 for 3 years, it was a OK camera, under good lighting, no problem, but when shooting in low light, noise start to show a lot on ISO 500 and VERY noise at ISO 800, i was trying to take photo for my baby as she is growing up, low quality photo is just not an option, so i decided to upgrade.
Camera is solid, with the lens (18-200mm)attached, it got some weight to it. the buttons seems to fall at the place where my fingers could easily access to. it focus very fast, live view screen is very clear and bright. I could change camera settings the ones you would use the most very easy by pressing button and rolling command dial, no need to go into menu.
i mostly shoot photos on A or S mode, and shooting JPEG (Fine quality and Medium on image size) and use view finder most of the time. ( hardly use live view to shoot photo )
i found this camera shoot grate photo on low light even on 6400 ISO, it has a little noise, i don't really notice it on the small print (4 x 6), like i mention before I am taking photos for my baby as she grows up. with its AF system, it focuses very fast and right. when auto focusing, some AF point(s) will show for a brief moment then goes away leaving one AF point showing.
when shooting photo in live view, shutter seems slower then shooting with view finder.
few complaints not major just personal preferences
the hand grip is little skinny, it would be more comfortable for me if the hand grip is a little beefier.
i found its difficult to get / know if you are focusing correctly when shooting photo in live view, also shutter speed is slower then shooting with view finder.
the 18 - 200 mm lens is good for me to use under most of my shooting conditions.
I think this camera will last me for a long time, I love it.
i upgraded from an entry level DSLR and i am stun by this camera."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon D7100 DSLR Camera with 18-200mm VRII Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 21, 2014

Avoid D7100 Since It Is Lemon!

"I'm very shocked by the poor quality of Nikon cameras although they have more than 100 years of experience in making camera. I have consecutively bought four Nikon D7100 cameras, but all of them have quality issues.
Before I bought this D7100, I read reviews about this Nikon camera, and many of them gave it high rating. Since this camera was labeled by Nikon as “the best DX camera”, I decided to own it. I did read some negative reviews, but I thought these were “individual” reviews and these reviewers were just “unlucky”. Unfortunately, I was proved to be one of these “unlucky” consumers.
The first Nikon D7100 I bought had Wi-Fi issue: The transfer of my photos from the camera to my iPhone 5 was very slow, the transfer was always stopped and the Wi-Fi connection was disconnected after only 1 or 2 photos had been transferred. I returned the first one to Costco and bought the second one. Later it was found that all the other three cameras had the same Wi-Fi issue although the issue was less severe than the first D7100. Since I mainly shoot in RAW format, I decided not to use this feature and I could go with this issue. However, the other three cameras have more other issues. After using the second D7100 one or two months, the camera’s shutter was locked up and it became fully unresponsive after taking several shoots. I had to power on and off several times to make the camera “wake up”, which caused me missing of many great photos. I exchanged the second D7100 with the third one. From day one I bought it, the “multi selector” knob won’t be responsive occasionally in playback and I had to try it several times to make it working. I thought it was OK as long as such issue was happened not very often. However, as time going, the knob unresponsiveness was becoming more and more frequent. Then I had to exchange to fourth D7100. From the very beginning, it worked fine and I thought myself I found good one finally. Unfortunately, after about two months and about one thousands of photos taking, the knob became unresponsive too as the third one plus there were white spots in the images!
Since I have already invested a lot on Nikon products including the much more expensive Nikon lens, I have to exchange D7100 one after another. Otherwise, definitely I’ll switch to other DSLR camera. Although I was allowed to exchange the cameras in the Costco, it really wasted me lots of time and it is very frustrating and stressful to return and reset every new camera. Furthermore, the poor quality Nikon D7100 prevented me from buying more expensive lenses (and thus making me unable to take more great photos).
I would recommend avoiding the Nikon D7100. At least, you should carefully read and consider the negative reviews, especially if the same issues are complained by several reviewers. In fact, the Nikon D7100 cameras are no longer sold in my local Costco stores, and I don’t know if it is caused by its bad quality and too much return. Never assume that you won’t be the one of those unlucky “individuals”.
"