Customer Reviews for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at cash and carry price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-652-2666 Mon-Fri: 10am-10pm (EST) or email carecenter@cits.canon.com. The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios. The camera makes it easy to show off your high quality images and video wherever you are, with enhanced built-in Wi-Fi® technology that lets you share photos with comments on social networking sites - even within specific groups. Capture everything from quick snaps to artistic images with a powerful 20x Optical Zoom and 25mm Wide-Angle lens, with Optical Image Stabilizer to reduce blur throughout the zoom range. Even low-light images impress with the Canon HS SYSTEM: a combination of a 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and the new DIGIC 6 Image Processor. Preserve memories in ultra-smooth 1080p/60p Full HD video with the amazing processing power of the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, which also enables enhanced Dynamic IS for reduced blur, plus video recording in the easy-to-share MP4 format. The camera also gives you access to extraordinary imaging capabilities with Smart AUTO that recognizes 58 predefined scenes, Face ID that adjusts focus and exposure for your loved ones, and Intelligent IS that dramatically reduces camera shake. The PowerShot SX280 HS is a perfect travel camera, ready to share the spectacular images you'll capture! Specifications: Effective Pixels: 12.1 Megapixel, 1/2.3-inch CMOS Lens Specifications: 4.5 (W) - 90.0 (T) mm (35mm film equivalent: 25-500mm), 4x Digital Zoom LCD Monitor: 3.0-inch TFT Color LCD with wide viewing angle (461,000 dots) Motion Video Quality: Full HD 1920 x 1080 - 60 fps, 30 fps Image Stabilization: Optical ISO Sensitivity: Auto, ISO 80-6400   Images Per Battery Charge: Approx. 210 shots Dimensions: W 4.19" x H 2.47" x D 1.28" Weight: 8.22 oz Storage Media: SD / SDHC / SDXC What's In the Box Canon Powershot SX280 Camera 8GB SD Card Camera Case Wrist Strap WS-DC11 Battery Pack NB-6L Battery Charger CB-2LY USB Interface Cable IFC-400PCU Digital Camera Solution CD-ROM Canon has released a firmware update for the Powershot SX280, visit: http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer?pageKeyCode=prdAdvDetail&docId=0901e024808f7d56
Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Review 1 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:miami fl
Date:September 10, 2013

Canon SX280 HS should be RECALLED

Model Number: Canon SX280 HS
"The battery will not hold the charge. Bought for a trip to Europe. Would never charge. Returning now."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:battle lake minnesota
Date:August 20, 2013

easy to use

Pros: easy to use, light weight, great photos
Cons: none so far
"Our little Nikon died and I replaced it with this. I was a little nervous because I am not a technically oriented person. But even I could figure it out."
Review 3 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:October 7, 2013

Canon Camera

Model Number: SX280HS
"Great camera for those of you that want something easy to use and light. I was extremely happy to see that the screen is visible in the sunlight. Great camera with many functions yet easy to learn and use."
Review 4 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Louis
Date:July 30, 2013

Video is Impossible - low battery warning

Cons: video has low battery warnings and shuts down.
Model Number: SX280
"I along with others have not been able to get the video to record like it should. Even when I installed the new firmware, the video mode would give me a flashing "low battery" warning when I started to zoom. This is a definite bug that has not been fixed. I am returning my camera."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:June 29, 2013

Good value ... but beware when using the case

Pros: overall very good performance/value balance
Cons: on/off button placement incompatible with case
Model Number: PowerShot SX280 HS
"Passed key test in reproducing realistic reds; zoom works well and small ridge helps to stabilize your grip; video clear at maximum zoom; MUST pull the strap to remove from the case, otherwise your fingers will activate the ON button, causing the lens to extend while still in the case."
Review 6 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:napa, ca
Date:October 11, 2013

Great pocket camera

Pros: better image stabilization sharper images, very good zoom, good at low light even without flash
Cons: bit difficult pulling it out of the case quickly, battery runs out
Model Number: Canon Powershot SX280 HS
"This is the third Canon Powershot model I've had. The second one I had to return the first 2 because they just didn't work right. BUT Costco gave me no trouble returning them & the third one was wonderful. Now I have the SX280 & so far have had no problems at all & get great pictures. I do have a spare battery with me at all times, and an extra card."
Review 7 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 30, 2013

Fantastic zoom pcitures

Pros: at full zoom qaulity is hard to beleieve, has very nice feel others felt cheap and flimsy
Cons: menus can be hard to use to adjust settings., keep gps off to save battery turn on only if need, pop up flash is in the dumbest location
Model Number: SX280
"The super zoom I fantastic. Took pictures of the last full moon that look professional. Also took picture of rare bald eagle in distant tree that had incredible detail. All on "Auto" setting. Like all canons I have bought I can look over exposed in daylight when set to auto. Went through three camera before I settled on SX280. 20X zoom and quality of picture after zoom is reason to buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Omaha NE
Date:June 14, 2013

Good but small

Pros: good pictures and video
Cons: hard to hold very little area to put fingers
Model Number: Canon Powershot SX280 HS
"I think this camera is a good one. I like how it has full HD video. It takes good pictures too. I just don't like the amount of real estate there is to hold it. Usually a finger on my left hand is on the top of the camera and then the flash pops up right under the finger and it says flash did not open all the way, restart camera to fix it. I'd rather have the other type of camera that looks like the professional kind. Those are much more comfortable to hold. I'm afraid I'm going to drop this camera."
Review 9 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rockaway, NJ
Date:July 19, 2013

Firmware Update Required for Video

Pros: great pictures, good automatic and manual controls
Cons: flash position makes holding the camera awkward, difficult firmware update required for video
Model Number: Canon SW280 HS
"I returned this camera due to the battery problems when shooting video. Canon issued firmware update 1.0.2.0 in June 2013 to address this problem. However, the update process is quite onerous and requires the purchase of 32 gig SD card. Cameras with a serial number of 2 or less in the sixth digit from the left will require this update to work. A camera purchased in Costco on July 18, 2013 had a 0 in that that position. I would wait until the inventory cameras with the old firmware is depleted before buying this camera."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:May 21, 2013

Canon Powershot SX280 HS Is A Keeper!

Pros: picture quality and clarity, zoom length and clarity, video quality
Cons: none
Model Number: Canon Powershot SX280 HS
"I have been looking for the perfect pocket Zoom camera that has ALL three things:
Excellent picture quality
Excellent Zoom capability and clarity
Excellent Video
I was really impressed when I viewed my pictures in "Actual Size" on my computer, they looked very good even at that size. The detail, clarity and color is excellent on all pictures. I have not done much experimenting indoors yet, but I'm sure it will do fine.
The zoom performance is top notch as well as the video. So this camera met all three of my required expectations. I actually have another camera I purchased at the same time, but I am returning it without even opening the box to see what it does, that is how happy I am with this SX280. See ya!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:July 18, 2013

excellent little camera

Model Number: Canon SX280 HS
"Seniors, I echo what "Microbrew" had to say - this is a very fine camera. Like some of you, I was raised on SLR cameras and in fact used a Canon A1 w/several lenses until 2005, shooting slides & prints, before going digital.
Though we have only had this camera for the past week on vacation, my wife and I both find it to be a well designed, easy to use, great photo taking camera.
You can disregard any thought of trouble with putting your finger in the wrong place or something going wrong when you try to put it in it's case, because that just won't happen to the average person. So if the goal is to capture memories with a good & reasonably priced camera, then this could be the camera for you - it was for me, and I'm particular when it comes to dropping a few bucks at this point in my life.
Oh, and P.S., I came very close to choosing the Nikon Coolpix S9500, but found the overall quality of this camera to be the better option. Enjoy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LV, NV
Date:July 21, 2013

Canon SX280 HS should be RECALLED

Cons: requires a repair before the video can be used, requires a 32gb sd card to repair the firmware, canon should recall the sx280 hs
Model Number: Canon Powershot SX280 HS
"The Canon SX280 HS Camera is sold new with a known firmware issue, requiring the customer to purchase and install an expensive 32GB SD card, which is not included. A camera, new out of the box, requiring a repair should be recalled. Canon has released 4 pages of technical instructions on their website to correct the firmware glitch in the camera which shuts the camera down when using the video feature. Canon is aware of this, yet they still have the camera on the market. The instructions to repair the firmware glitch requires an expensive 32GB SD card. I bought the Canon SX280 HS 2 days ago, I looked it up that night, saw a list of serial numbers affected, mine was on the list. I looked up price of 32GB SD cards. I returned my Canon SX280 HS to Costco. Canon makes the best low light point and shoot cameras on the market, I own 3, but this one should be recalled and replaced by Canon. At the very least Canon should be mailing out, free of charge, a 32GB SD pre-loaded firmware update to anyone who purchased the Canon SX280 HS.
On the Canon Website:
Canon has released a firmware update for the PowerShot SX280 HS.
Affected Product
PowerShot SX280 HS
Details
Firmware Version 1.0.2.0 incorporates the following fixes and improvements:
1) Increases the duration of movie shooting by 20% in cases where the optical zoom is used compared to cameras running Firmware Version 1.0.0.0 or Firmware Version1.0.1.0 through a reduction in the power consumption of the optical zoom.
*Time under default camera settings, when normal operations are performed, such as shooting, pausing, turning the camera on and off, and zooming. (based on conditions established by Canon).
Under some shooting conditions, the recording time may be shorter than mentioned above.
Recording time with a fully charged battery.
2) Fixes a phenomenon with cameras running firmware version 1.0.0.0, in which the low battery level warning is prematurely displayed while shooting in movie mode.
Firmware Version 1.0.2.0 is for cameras with firmware Version 1.0.1.0 or Version 1.0.0.0. If the camera's firmware is already Version 1.0.2.0, it is not necessary to update the firmware. Please note that, once the camera is updated to the latest version, it cannot be restored to a previous version.
How to Identify Cameras that are eligible for the Firmware Update:
Please check the serial number on the bottom of the camera.
This firmware update is for products with the following serial numbers.
Serial number
Products whose sixth digit from the left is 2 or less
[*****2******] , [*****1******] , [*****0******]
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon Powershot SX280 HS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Westmont, IL
Date:July 14, 2013

Not good for video recording

Pros: see likes
Cons: see dislokes
"Overall, I like this camera very much. The camera falls into the middle range of point-and-shoot cameras in both quality and price. It has features I want, a large zoom range, the P, Tv, Av and M settings, and some I find useless, Wifi and GPS. I would have liked to see a panorama function on this camera and HDR, but these are not a deal-breakers for me. The quality of both photos and video recordings is good.
The biggest and most well-known problem with this camera is the substandard battery life when recording videos, especially if you do any zooming. There has been a firmware fix, but I am not sure what it really fixes. The camera still has issues with the battery. Canon must have decided to monitor the battery levels differently in picture mode and in video recording mode. It seems that the level displayed is an anticipated level and not a real level of power remaining. If this isn't the case, then I do not understand why the levels are very different in the picture-taking and video recording modes. If the battery starts flashing red (low battery warning) in the video mode, it should be flashing red in picture-taking mode. Instead, the battery may show as fully charged or partially charged when switching to the picture mode from the flashing red in the video mode. Zooming puts a drain on the battery. No problem here. But, I think that what Canon is doing is monitoring the battery level during a zoom and if it sees the battery level drop below some line, it triggers the red-flashing or shuts off the camera. I think that Canon should allow the zoom to complete, THEN check the battery level. It might not be as low as Canon thinks.
The battery gets quite warm, almost hot. I wonder if battery life "improves" when used in cooler temperatures.
I am not sure if I am going to keep the camera. I am hoping that Canon opens it eyes and ears and uses its intelligence to really determine the cause of the battery problem and FIX IT. For now, Costco's excellent return policy will allow me to test this camera a bit longer. My tests actually show a respectable amount of battery life, but there is still a problem in the video recording mode. I am not much into video recording, but if I have it, I expect it to work. It would really be nice to know how much battery power is remaining when doing anything on this camera. I just want ONE BATTERY LEVEL that is displayed the same while in any camera mode.
Likes
- turns on quickly.
- good quality pictures and video.
- P, Tv, Av and M
- size and heft of camera- feels solid---even the flash
- card insertion - at least there is a notch on the card and a label in the compartment for the direction of the card.
separate battery charger.
-relatively short time to charge battery
- Wifi (possibilities) good if didn't have to use Canon Gateway Image account
- auto mode is pretty reliable, but nice to have the manual modes.
- the hybrid/auto mode is nice at times. The only thing to remember is that the picture taken is at the end of the several-second recording. It could make a difference.
Dislikes
- wrist strap provided ... strap too loose and needs a slip/hold thingie
- flash in bad position, but can get used to it. A little more finger space behind it would be nice.
- flash cannot be pushed down to get it out of the way ... the camera controls the ups and downs. Pushing it down could break the flash/camera
- On/Off button should be only way to turn on or off camera. The PLAYBACK button turns power on/off too. This makes it too easy for camera to accidentally be turned on while in case/pocket.
- USB port -- design will eventually result in its breaking even if careful. There are other USB styles that are not so fragile.
- Even though battery is low and cannot record any video without a shutdown, CameraWindow SW displays 100% CHARGE!
- inserting battery requires care ... insertion direction not obvious/need to look at contacts to insure correct direction.
- monitor display poor, difficult to see in bright light.
- If the flash is up, it stays up when a recording session is started although it is not used during recording. RECORD should cause flash to lower.
- Continuous AF is slow and particularly annoying during RECORD session
- Lack of a panorama function
- Lack of HDR
- GPS - I don't care, but no SX270 found for sale.
- Wifi - need to use CameraWindow and a requires a Canon Image Gateway login which I do not want.
- need full battery to really use record mode, if zooming in particular,, but you do not know you are low until you start recording.
- Position of on/off switch. 2 issues. 1. Too easy to hit instead of focus button. 2. too easy to hit when opening battery/card cover.
- I bought the kit from Costco that included the Canon Deluxe Leather Case, PSC-3200 for PowerShot S and SX200 Series cameras. I do not like the vertical design; horizontal would be better. Also, there is nothing on the case to allow an extra card and extra batteries. With this camera, extra fully-charged batteries are essential and mandatory if doing any recording.
- Inconsistent battery level between record and non-record mode. Appears to have 2 standards for battery level.
- battery gets very warm during recording and especially if lots of zooming. Could this be related to unexpected low battery and shutdown issues? Zooming during record seems to speed up the time before shutdown also.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.