Customer Reviews for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. 2.1 Channel 42 in. Sound bar with Built-in Subwoofer 2.1 channel speaker system configuration, with built-in subwoofer, easily conforms to TV screens up to 42”. Wireless Music Streaming with Bluetooth® Stream music from your smart device. Built-in Subwoofer with Dual Woofer Design Powerful bass sound in a compact, flexible design. Features: 2.1 Channel System Clear Mode Dialog Dialog Level Control Optical Input Anti-vibration Integrated Subwoofer Dual Driver Subwoofer Low Power Consumption Energy Star® Qualified 120W Hairline Finish 2-3/16 Slim Profile Suitable for 42- to 50-inch TV 4-way Multi-Positional Speaker Layout Auto Gain Control IR Blaster Wireless Music Streaming with Bluetooth® Technology Optical Cable Included RCA Cable Included
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
2
5 of 12(42%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Review 1 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:July 7, 2013

Fit the need perfectly

Model Number: SC HTB70CP
"I was looking for a sound bar to basically take the place of the inferior speakers on my new plasma TV. I didn't need a surround sound system with front and rear speakers, center and Sub. I already have a great system that fills that need. I just needed something for everyday TV needs. This sound bar was exactly what I needed. It sounds great, the sound is adjustable, and it is Bluetooth compatible so i can use it to listen to my Ipod when I'm not watching TV. I highly recommend this."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:September 1, 2013

Good Sound

Pros: very easy set up, you can program it to work with direct tv, sound is above average, you can position the bar to be vertical or flat, power and optical cord and you are set up, small foot print, black matt finish, bluetooth music streaming, variety of sound formats
Cons: no external sunwoofer, average sound but not for the audiophile, can be a challenge to program to direct tv
Model Number: SC-HTB70CP
"I purchased this to replace a Sony sound bar that had gone bad. I took the Sony back to Costco and purchased this one."
Review 3 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 25, 2013

Good, not great soundbar

Pros: attractive, easy set-up, high performer for music
Cons: bass unpredictable on tv shows and movies
"This is a pretty good soundbar for the price. Not great but above average.
As a general matter, the soundbar performs better for music than for tv shows and movies. Not quite sure why this is but I definitely find myself playing with the treble and bass settings, as well as the sound modes (e.g., cinema, news, music), on a show by show and movie by movie basis.
The bass, in particular, is unpredictable. Sometimes I will need it set at full blast, other times down to setting 2 (of 4) or it will wash out dialogue.
If you have the money, I suggest going with the Bose Cinemate II for $479. If not, this is a nice set-up. I prefer it to the two Samsung options Costco is selling."
Review 4 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Azusa, CA
Date:July 22, 2013

Good product for the price

Pros: inexpensive, sound is good, easy setup
Cons: no hdmi for more connectivity options, no true bass
"This soundbar significantly improved the sound on my 50" Panansonic LED. Though there is no true bass nor a dedicated subwoofer, the low end on max sounds great and using the "News" setting that highlights spoken word works very well for movies and TV. For $139 and a very easy stetup, I'd say it is well worth it. It can stand in different positions based on your configuration. There is only an optical input so no HDMI connectivity which I think means you'll need to use it's small dedicated remote control. It looks nice with our setup and sounds great."
Review 5 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:August 28, 2013

On my second one

"Pros:
* everything you need is in the box including fiber optic
* dolby decoding
* separate treble and bass levels
* turns itself off after source stops sending after some preset timeout
Cons:
* remote - not backlit and easy to lose
* quality - first unit just stopped working after a month
* sound quality - dialog is still hard to make out which is why I got this. maybe I'm just getting old and losing my hearing :/
* display - it's like a disco every time you change the volume, and knowing what sound mode you are in without getting up close is a no
"
Review 6 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Novato, Ca
Date:October 14, 2013

Occasionally shuts off by itself

Pros: great sound
Cons: great sound when it works, helps teach us to read lips.
"I really liked the sound, but the unit would turn off by itself as we were using it after approx. 2 months. Looking at the vizios now."
Review 7 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, Ca
Date:September 11, 2013

I had such high hopes....

Pros: all needed cables included
Cons: lasted 5 weeks before it gave up the ghost. kaput
Model Number: Item # 764470
"After 9 months of vainly trying to hear the sound on my new 55 inch Panasonic Viera (from Costco, by the way) I took the plunge and bought the modestly priced Panasonic sound bar they offered. The connection was straight forward for power and the included digital audio cable was a big plus. Imagine my annoyance when the cable remote would not control the sound bar- Strike 1. I was annoyed again when the sound bar blocked the IR receptor on the TV- Strike 2. After 5 weeks of general satisfaction, one morning it refused to turn on at all- Strike 3- you're out of here and back to Costco."
Review 8 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:August 28, 2013

Sound OK but requires 2 controllers to use

Pros: dialogue setting is very effective
Cons: volume control by panasonic tv controller only, on only by bar's controller no stand-by mode
Model Number: SCHTB70CP
"Sound is OK, but must use the bar's controller for on-off and volume adjust; A Direct TV or non Panasonic TV controller will NOT turn sound bar on or adjust the volume."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:July 28, 2013

So - So Sound

Pros: nice looking sound bar
Cons: sound marginal set-up features could be better
Model Number: SC-HTB70CP
"Ok sound bar for the money, but not much better in sound quality than my current plasma sound that came factory on the TV. Set-up controls a little difficult and hard to see from a distance. If your looking for a "Great Sound Bar" than disregard this one....."
Review 10 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:houston tx
Date:July 3, 2013

Not fit for purpose

Pros: it does turn on and produce sound.
Cons: cheaply made, poor quality sound, low volume sound (in system tested), ridiculously complex manipulations required to use
Model Number: SCHTB70CP
"Bought from the warehouse to boost the sound volume and quality from Vizio 47 inch flat screen. Used the supplied (extremely flimsy) optical cable to connect tv to sound bar so sound linkage should have been fine.
Three problems
1) Maximum volume not discernibly greater than original T V
2) Sound quality poor - boxy, shrill and limited base range. Less audible distortion at max. than TV but levels were not so high anyway (see #1)
3) Ridiculously complex controls. Performing most of the tasks required reference to the manual because they needed co-ordinated simultaneous pushing and holding different buttons on both the remote control and on the device itself. Since the remote only worked at a certain distance and angle, this involved contorting arms and body to stretch , twist, reach, read labels, and then push and hold buttons with both hands until one of a row of tiny led lights came on, or went out or flashed once, or flashed multiple times. It would make for a great "Twister" exercise but as a means of adjusting sound on a sound bar, it makes no sense at all.
So unfortunately everything about this sound device screams "cheap and penny pinching", from the design to the execution so unless you have no alternatives it is not recommended. I returned mine"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:September 25, 2013

It worked ok for 2 weeks then...

Pros: bluetooth was cool
Cons: stopped working at 2 weeks
Model Number: SC HTB70CP
"...it became a expensive paperweight. Yes, in 2 weeks it just stopped working. I have to say that it's not the greatest sound bar but it was adequate for my application. It's one of those things where a product is just ok and you're teetering between keeping it and taking it back. Well, it's a no brainer now. I most definitely would not recommend this product. It seems to me that Panasonic just threw this thing together."
Review 12 for Panasonic 42 in. 2.1 Channel Soundbar with Built-In Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 28, 2013

Not worth the money.

Pros: no pros
Cons: unreliable and not up to expectations
Model Number: SC-HTB 65/70
"Power cord comes disconnected easily. I had to hold it in with duct tape. The quality of sound is abyssmal. The TV speaker alone is better. Do not buy. Did the buyer for this product even test it in his/her home? Useless junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.