Customer Reviews for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash & carry price. Limit 3 per Member.
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
(out of 51 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
7
37 of 51(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Review 1 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brookeville, MD
Date:April 2, 2014

Good system for the price

"Works well. It would be nice if the picture of the movie shows up on the menu like my old Roku. Overall, a very good all in one DVR and media streaming device"
Review 2 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vista,CA (40 miles No. of San Diego)
Date:April 1, 2014

As sleek as it looks

Pros: no charge for shipping, either wi-fi or wire, blu ray or dvd, arrived the second business day
Cons: none
Model Number: BX510
"Hooked it up myself- no need to call a geek. However, I did need a little help getting my TV in the right mode, so I called Costco concierge service. Such knowledgeable people! No problem getting it running. Simple to run."
Review 3 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA State
Date:March 31, 2014

Great DVD Player

Pros: great price, strong wireless
Cons: better labels for buttons on front of player
"Purchased this to go with the new TV and was not disappointed! The picture quality is great, the Wi-Fi works really well and is it very easy to navigate through the menus. Highly recommend this player!!!"
Review 4 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Ky
Date:March 31, 2014

Solid purchase

Pros: small good remote user friendlygreat price
Model Number: BDP-BX510
"Great addition to my man cave ! Goes perfect with my Sony TV and Sound system !"
Review 5 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:March 27, 2014

So Far so Good

Pros: lots of online features
Cons: not sure i like the buttons on top but not a big
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510
"Have only had it for a while, but so far everything has gone smoothly. Setup was easy and have had no trouble connecting to Netflix or playing discs."
Review 6 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaufort, SC
Date:March 26, 2014

Great Product

Pros: easy set-up, priced right
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510 Blu-ray/DVD Player
"We have watched only one movie but the quality of the picture was excellent. Very easy, straightforward set-up. I love Sony products, one of my favorite brands and the price was great."
Review 7 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clermont, Fl
Date:March 26, 2014

A super great WiFi BluRay

Pros: price performance design and easy to use.
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510
"This Sony Blu-Ray DVD WiFi Ready box is a 5 Star product. It functions as advertised. The capabilities and ease of setting up and enjoying WiFi Apps are amazing. The price and design are two features making this product a must for anyone needing a new box or upgrading from an older technology. The 1080p with my Plasma HDTV is the best viewing experience in years."
Review 8 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Norhwest, Northern Idaho
Date:March 25, 2014

Fabulous product with Sony and Costco Support

Pros: costco concierge is a plus plus for their product, awesome product and warranty, beautiful looking blu-ray and blends well
Cons: not a thing, nada no nothing
Model Number: BDP-BX 510
"Just another excellent with Costco and Sony. This is my second unit and I can not say enough to tell how happy I am with the Blu-Ray 3D wireless player. Easy to install and set up networking. picture quality is off the chart perfect. Loads super fast and NetFlix is as quick as a click on the remote. The Costco Concierge service is the utmost. Here in America and clear and precise english to walk you through any set up or problem with any Costco electronic product. You can even add an extra year of warranty there. Now try to beat that with any, and I mean any other brand or store. I can honestly say you will not be dissapointed with the Sony or the Costco Concierge Service. If you like movies or music, this is for you."
Review 9 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:March 17, 2014

3D Blu-ray Player

Pros: an great working player
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510
"This is an excellent 3D Blu-ray Player. It brings the action around the TV."
Review 10 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014

Should have Flash

Model Number: bdp-s5100
"It was a breeze to set up, ideal for bringing the internet to a nonwired tv set that is far from the modem. It quickly set itself up. The only problem is that it does not let you see tv programs from the browser that use flash player. This is very disappointing. I would love to be able to go to the big screen instead of viewing it on my tiny laptop screen Think about it Sony, your customers would be thrilled"
Review 11 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA
Date:March 17, 2014

Love it

"I purchased this Blu-ray and I have to say its one of the best electronic purchases I've ever made. Has so many great features. The Blu-ray quality is amazing and the apps are so convenient. Wifi is very fast when running an app. Love it"
Review 12 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 16, 2014

Thinking this may be a faulty model

Pros: good value for price, works well for streaming, no issues connecting to streaming apps
Cons: stopped working after a few months
Model Number: BX510
"I've gone through two of these blu-ray players now - both had problems and now that the second one is malfunctioning (I'm hoping I'll still be able to return it as it's been over 90 days). Both were fine initially, worked fine with streaming services, playing blu-rays and dvds, etc. Then the first one, about a month after I got it, started randomly opening the disc tray (without me pushing any buttons). Shortly after that it just appeared something was wrong in general with the player. So I returned it and exchanged for a new one, same model. The second model worked for just over 3 months, and now it will not play dvds anymore. Strangely it will still play blu-ray discs but when I put a dvd in it will have screen disruptions and flickering. I'm staring to suspect something is just faulty with this particular model if 2 have stopped working for me at this point."
Review 13 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Pedro, CA
Date:March 14, 2014

I Just Love It

Pros: nice looking easy to install wifi ready.
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
"Easy to install. Has the built-in WiFi LAN which is worth its weight in gold. Has a lot of perks. Great price."
Review 14 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014

Love It

Pros: wonderful very easy set up
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510
"Simply GREAT!!!!
I did not have cable for 10 years.
Now I won't need cable ever.
News features are great via ON AOL
Internet radio, Great
Crackle TV, Great
Snagfilm, Great
DVD's play Great
How many GREATS can I say
WIFI, Great
This is a great deal!!!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Camas WA
Date:March 10, 2014

Nice Little Player

Pros: excellent performance out of the box., set up and menus are easy., nice sacd play.
Cons: flimsy plasticky light weight, not expecting high miles out of this!
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX510
"Bought this as a cheap interim player while I search for a quality SACD player. Once I got past the free but FAULTY HDMI cable, set-up was incredibly easy. Blu Ray discs look good, DVDs are upgraded nicely and my SACDs and DVD-Audios sound terrific. A pleasant and inexpensive surprise. I am NOT getting my hopes up for years of use. Light and flimsy construction."
Review 16 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northfield, IL
Date:February 20, 2014

All the Service Provider I needed

Pros: good price with the discount
Cons: odd shape and attracts dust like crazy.
"Offers all the internet based content providers that I was looking for. Picture qualities are decent on both DVD and BluRay."
Review 17 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2014

Frustrated, annoyed, & now returned

Pros: easy setup., beautiful picture
Cons: inconsistent performance changing dvd -streaming, lengthy startup connection on streaming, no time count on straming programs- only dvd, no external eject on unit only on remote
Model Number: BDPBX510
"Purchased the Sony 3d blu-Ray to replace an 18 month old Samsung 3d blu-Ray (also wireless) that had decided to not operate one day in Jan. Chose the Sony over others for the excellent rebate, the promised high speed dual wireless, & fast start.
It was easy to set up & connect to the tv/internet. Lots of apps, including Amazon Prime. Operated DVDs that the Samsung had rejected including the first Percy Jackson film. Excellent picture.
Sounds great, so why did I end up returning it? Over the past month my previous encounters with Sony appeared. Speedy start was ONLY for DVDs, not internet. Would lose all passwords to internet, Netflix... deregister itself or wouldn't find the router located 10 feet away. I thought it could be a memory issue and used a 8 gb stick. Helped a little with the passwords, but not on the time it could take to connect.
Final straw was the difficulty it was to transfer from DVD to streaming. Disc must be removed.. typical, but then after pressing Netflix button, notice appears that connection is being checked. Can take up to 3 minutes after which the page informing user must be manually closed AND Netflix button pressed again. 5 minute process. That's if everything works correctly.
What kept occurring during the past week on my unit was that the connection notice would vanish. Press it again, nothing. Do the diagnostic... everything is fine. But wait, it cannot locate its internal wireless system. Restart player from power strip= same issue. Everything.. player, tv, router Must be unplugged& done over for it all to work properly. 15-20 minutes of time wasting aggravation. It would work great after that.
50/50 gamble this lengthy miserable process would occur each time when switching from DVD to streaming. I don't have cable tv or local reception, so this was the deal breaker. Total time of ownership = abt 35 days.
Returned it to COSTCO, reconnected my old Samsung and it works fine. Not as pretty a picture, but it'll do."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delray Beach, FL
Date:February 12, 2014

Good Value when on Sale

Pros: easy to set up, hdmi cable included
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
"Have another Sony Wi-Fi DVD Player so got this one when it was on sale. Performs just as expected. Am glad I purchased it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014

Great DVD

Pros: all good
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510
"This is straightforward with many extras. I first bought and then returned a Samsung model, but since there was no light on the front of it, I had no idea if it was on or off. The Sony was easy to set up and most importantly, there are visible displays on the front."
Review 20 for Sony BDPBX510 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray/DVD Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salinas, CA
Date:February 8, 2014

Excellent quality

Pros: easy set-up
Cons: no cons
Model Number: Sony BDPBX510
"I chose this Sony Blu-ray/DVD player after reading several reviews of other models. The set-up was very simple and the unit is user-friendly even for a first time user of a Blu-ray player. I would highly recommend this Sony BDPBX510 model to anyone without hesitation. I feel I made the right choice with this purchase selection."
1 2 3 next>>