Customer Reviews for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player

LIMIT 1 QTY. PER ORDER. If you would like to purchase more than 1 HP computer (whether it be the same or different item#) you must place a separate order for 1 qty. each time. 2 HP computers placed on the same order subjects 1 order to cancellation. Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Processor & Memory: 4th generation Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz 16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) Drives: 1TB 5400RPM Hard Drive Blu-ray Player and SuperMulti DVD Burner Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8  (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Graphics & Video: 17.3-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600x900) 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Communications: 802.11b/g/n WLAN Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 connector)   HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone Audio: Beats™ audio Keyboard: Backlit Keyboard Ports: 4x SuperSpeed USB 3.0 1x HDMI 1x Headphone out/ Microphone-in combo jack Multi-Format Digital Media Card Reader Productivity Software: Microsoft® Office Home & Student 2013 Microsoft® Word Microsoft® Excel Microsoft® PowerPoint Microsoft® OneNote Power Supply: 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery 65W AC adaptor Additional Information: Coolsense Included: Yes Dimensions: 16.38" W x 10.8" D x 1.13"~1.28” H Weight (Approximately):  6.28 lbs. ENERGY STAR Qualified
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
(out of 63 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
50 of 63(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2013

Not as advertised

Model Number: 17t Quad
"This laptop seems pretty nice but it did not come with a backlit keyboard. That was one of the features IK really wanted. Not only that, but the keyboard that is part of the laptop I received is very hard to see in less than very bright light - gray letters on black keys??? I will be returning it to my local Costco store, a real advantage to buying computer gear from Costco - no hassle, no cost returns."
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:September 1, 2013

It is nice, if it connects

Pros: it is like a tablet and a computer
Cons: have to move closer to router then old computer
Model Number: HP envy
"The computer itself is great, but it does not connect to wireless very well, I have to move much closer to router then I did with my old computer"
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So. Cal
Date:August 29, 2013

Windows 8 is completely confusing--

Pros: fast
Cons: buyer needs to be warned that need to be a pro to, use and find out what to do ....i'm just about rea, dy to return my laptop and my desktop model
Model Number: HP ENVY 17+Quad Laptop, Intel Core i7 4700mQ2 with Blu Ray player
"..poor instructions..everything ordered not installed....no easily found listing of all programs....constantly telling you to download new material and then find it is for another $$."
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:August 27, 2013

Screamer

Pros: lots of hp and ram, (4) usb 3.0, dual drive bays, beats audio, illuminated keyboard
Cons: bloatware, no outlook, 1600x900 resolution, slow 5400 rpm hard drive
Model Number: HP Envy 17t-j000 CTO Quad Edition
"As an electrical engineer, I needed a laptop with high performance, a screen large enough for CAD, and lots of RAM. This model has one of the highest rated CPU's currently out and with 16GB of RAM plus a decent graphics card, it seemed to provide what I needed.
The initial values on the Windows Experience control panel were Processor (7.9), RAM (7.9), Graphics (6.6), Gaming (6.6), Disk (5.9). All of these were far better than my old laptop. I was disturbed that such a high performance laptop would be saddled with a relativity slow 5400 RPM hard drive, only 720P graphics, and a productivity software package that did not include MS Outlook. Thankfully, I was able to install my old Office software so that worked out that problem.
This laptop is configured with (2) hard drive bays. I bought a 128GB solid state drive for the second bay. Regrettably, this laptop did not include a cable or any mounting hardware for the second bay so I had to purchase a kit from HP (item #720237-001). It was kind of costly but it had everything I needed to add the second drive. The addition of the SSD changed the Disk score from 5.9 to 7.9. From power on to log in screen is now less than 10 seconds. I placed the OS onto the SSD and keep all data on the 1TB hard drive. I don't care for Windows 8 so I installed the free Windows Classic Shell software which makes it look and act like Windows 7.
The audio is very nice for a laptop, the 720P screen is okay, the illuminated keyboard is very welcome. I never like seeing a lot of junk software on my computers and unfortunately this does have a fair share. The Realtek Wi-Fi card failed after a couple days but CostCo and HP were great about getting me a replacement ASAP. In the end, I'm quite pleased with the laptop."
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Shelton, WA
Date:August 22, 2013

So Far Very Good

Pros: speed. hd screen a definite plus. has 4 usb 3
Cons: none known
Model Number: HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ
"So far I really like this computer. It's my 4th HP and decided to stick with HP. The computer is fast (16gigs of RAM) and love the HD 17" screen. I have 1 laptop with XP, 1 with Win 7, and now Win 8. Win 8 is a whole new learning experience. The more I find out about it, the more I like it."
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Little River, SC
Date:August 21, 2013

worst purchase every

Pros: none
Cons: nothing good to day about this product, cant do anything with it
"I hate it hate it hate it. None of my passwords work, the finger thing does not work, I can't get into anything."
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Date:August 11, 2013

A solid performer

Pros: fast and powerful
Cons: cheap optical drive and shipped from china
Model Number: HP ENVY 17t
"This is a solid laptop. I believe it could be used as a desktop replacement. One flaw that I have seen is the cheap optical drive. It is very flimsy to say the least. For those who are deadset against Windows 8, there is a free app online that changes the look to Windows 7 but maintains the advantages of Windows 8."
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:August 3, 2013

WORST Computer purchase ever, DO NOT BUY!

Pros: non! please spend your money elsewhere.
Cons: hp hardware is cr@p and waste of time.
"I've been working with various computers for the past 18 years and this is the worst thus far.
PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS HP laptop, it seems like a bargain, but turned out to be a waste of TIME! Please read the review and be warned.
It took over 10 business days to arrive, came from China, and box was not in best of shapes for delicate contents (maybe a bit critical here). I was somewhat committed to get this laptop working properly, but it is not possible.
I've been working on this laptop to fix all kinds of issues: wireless connection keeps dropping (tried to reinstall and update drivers and even performed a flash BIOS and still intermittent problems), connecting a MS wireless keyboard crashed Windows 8, every so often windows 8 crashes occur on this HP hardware, and now on the second day of fixing all kinds of BUGS, the display flickers out of alignment, and as I'm typing the laptop just rebooted for no reason at all.
VERY disappointed with the laptop hardware and software AND would NEVER buy a HP product again! Please spend your money elsewhere.
The only thing positive is that COSTCO should honor this return as I will be returning this laptop to COSTCO tomorrow and inform them of my bad experience and WASTE of time.
Anyone spending money on a laptop should expect it to WORK and not troubleshoot issues out of the box."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 31, 2013

defected product

Model Number: HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
"the shipping look 15 days!!
at the end I received a defected product.
the keyboard has a bump on the left side, the keys are not at the same level because of the bump.
"
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:irvine, CA
Date:July 31, 2013

old useful photosmart 7350 does not support Win 8

Model Number: HP ENVY 17t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Player
"Get the new HP ENVY 17t Quad laptop, takes sometime to get used to Window 8, so far I like it. Everything is good except HP does not provide support (driver) for window 8 to connect my hp photosmart 7350, (a robust printer)"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.