Customer Reviews for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Limit 3 per member Model: UN39FH5000
Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
(out of 96 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
8
79 of 92(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Review 1 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 3, 2013

Great Picture

Pros: great sound and picture, great price and warranty
Cons: base mounting slightly off level, factory error on alignment- about 1/8" off
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"Has a great picture. Easy to set up. Great Warranty and the extra warranty purchase gives me 5 years coverage."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

Nice TV

"We purchased this TV a few days ago and very pleased with the picture quality. The images are much more sharp and clear than the previous TV we had which was an older flat screen LCD 1080p made by Sony. I can't figure out why 2 1080p TVs could have such different picture quality other than the fact that our previous TV was about 6 years old and among the first 1080p manufactured. I have not owned the TV long enough to comment on reliability long-term."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:September 5, 2013

beautiful picture...INCOMPATIBLE with DTV remote

Pros: very nice set...except...
Cons: cannot program dtv remote to control on/off & vol
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"I bought this TV today from Costco...came home, set it up...no problem until I tried to program my DTV remote to just turn ON/OFF and VOL UP/DN...none of the 25 or so codes would work. So I called DTV and they ran me through some more codes...none worked. So then I called Samsung tech Support...they ran some more...no joy. The tech finally said there was no way to do it. So then I called Samsung back and asked for a supervisor...he tried another long shot, but that didn't work either. So I'm giving up and will return this otherwise really nice set to Costco and get a different brand. I have three other sets in the house and have had DTV for 13 years and many sets...never had this problem...somebody dropped the ball...DTV?...Samsung?"
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:September 7, 2013

Much better than Visio E-3901

Pros: great picture right out of the box
Cons: none
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"Without a doubt, this picture is much better than the Visio product at the same price. Black is much blacker, color is more vivid."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:September 15, 2013

Good TV BUT........Terrible directions and .....

Pros: quick delivery
Cons: first tv arrived with a shattered screen :-(
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"Difficult to fine tune this TV. After an hour of adjustments, I am still not too happy with the picture. BUT, the TV is in a bedroom and not used that often so I can put up with it, I guess. Next time, I will purchase the "smart TV" !!!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:October 19, 2013

Great budget lcd, poor remote and UI.

Pros: 1080p on the cheap, good color, solid sound, very light (much lighter than the 32" it replaced), even back lighting
Cons: cheap tv stand is overly complex to install, poorly designed remote, tv tuner was a bit less sensitive
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"Great budget 1080p tv. Doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but nothing on the TV feels gimmicky.
The biggest issues we had with the TV were the remote and source input switching. The remote is overloaded with buttons considering how small it is. This leads to some poor usability and makes it hard to use the remote unless you're constantly looking down at it. We also didn't care for how the TV handled source input switching. Our previous TVs would treat a source as just another channel. That allowed for fast switching between our PS3 and Apple TV using the channel buttons. Not so on this Samsung, you have to use a clunky screen menu with the dedicated "Source" button to cycle through the options. Not a deal breaker, but definitely annoying."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:November 11, 2013

Great bang-for-your-buck

Pros: lightweight, clear
"I ordered this online, and it was delivered within 1 week!
It's lightweight, which is a big pro in my mind!
You'll need a Phillips Head screwdriver to set up the TV stand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2013

Hard to Beat This TV!

Pros: excellent picture & sound and a great value, costco's extended warranty is a huge plus
Cons: none
Model Number: Samsung UN39FH5000F
"The picture of this TV delivers: crisp, clear and beautiful colour. But, knowing that alot of 40" flat screen TVs are thin and flat in their sound, I was leery of whether this one would match the sound quality of my other beloved (and well rated) 40" Samsung purchased two years ago (LN40D550). To my surprise, the sound is as good as that one... loud enough, very clear and full. The surround sound option is an added plus, bringing even more warmth and fullness. There is also a setting for people who have hearing impairment. For even more customizing, there's also an equalizer option. Of course, if you want even bigger sound, you can separately add speakers or a sound bar. This isn't a Smart TV (I don't need those features) but it is a quality TV . Highly recommended!"
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Queens, New York
Date:December 5, 2013

A WOW! of a Buy

Pros: couldn't ask for a better tv.
Cons: stand wobbles slightly after assembled.
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"This is a magnificent T.V. I set it up myself and it was very easy to do. Had to play around with the settings to get everything perfect including the sound, and once we saw what the picture looked like, OMG!! Absolutely beautiful with exceptional clarity, color, and sound. The only minor issue was that the stand it came with wobbles a little, even though I assembled it correctly. Will contact Samsung to find out how this can be corrected. Otherwise, this TV is perfection personified!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Calif.
Date:December 19, 2013

Excellent TV at bargain price!

Pros: clear sharp picture, very good sound
Cons: none
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"Was looking for a 39" TV to put in a bedroom cabinet and was undecided between this Samsung and a Vizio in the same price range. Various reviews indicated the Samsung to be the better set and a comparison of picture quality seemed to bear that out.
Setup was quite easy and everything worked as it should. No unpleasant surprises! Clear, sharp picture with better-than-expected audio quality make this a bargain at the discounted price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:December 30, 2013

My 2 Cents

Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"I usually love Samsung products but this one is going back. If you have a white screen all the corners are not as bright as the majority of the screen. After I purchased the TV and noticed this issue I stopped back into Costco to see if the store display had the same issues…and it did. The TV is priced well but not up to the quality that I am looking for."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:December 31, 2013

Great computer monitor

Pros: easy to setup., clear & stable picture easily readable text., almost big enough!
Model Number: UN39FH5000XFZA
"My coworker & I share a cubicle (we work from home alternate weeks) and we both wanted a large monitor. The company won't pay for it but we split the cost (bought a refurbished model at the Costco Business store in Phoenix).
This model has an HDMI input labeled 'HDMI IN 2 (DVI)' and by setting the 'Source List' name to 'DVI PC' the TV becomes a high resolution computer monitor!
It isn't too big and the distance (18" to 20") isn't too close.
Funny how some folks comment that 1080p isn't high-enough resolution for a big monitor: it's 1080 pixels per inch so the size of the monitor doesn't matter!
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Odessa, TX
Date:January 19, 2014

Very nice TV

Pros: great picture, good tv for the price
Cons: won't recognize external hard drive
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"Nice TV with a great picture. However, if you want to watch videos from a USB, it won't read large external hard drives. Worked okay with my 4 gig Cruzer but when I tried to connect to the WD 250 Gig hard drive, it wouldn't recognize it. Samsung Smart TV on the other hand recognizes it with no problem."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ORO VALLEY, ARIZONA
Date:January 24, 2014

NICE SIZE TV

Model Number: UN39fh5000f
"BOUGHT THIS 39" TV FOR GUEST BEDROOM. IT REPLACED A SMALL 20" VCR/DVD COMBO TV. HAD IT INSTALLED ON THE WALL. NICE SIZE AND GOOD QUALITY PICTURE. VERY HAPPY WITH IT."
Review 15 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eureka, Ca
Date:January 27, 2014

Great T V

Cons: no cons
"So far this T V is great. The sound is super. The picture is so realistic.
This is my first Samsung but not my last.
"
Review 16 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Blue Springs, MO
Date:March 3, 2014

Color started going out after 6 weeks

Pros: none
Cons: color started to go out after 6 weeks
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"The picture and sound were great for about 6 weeks then most of the color would go out requiring us to reboot the TV for full color to come back. Purchased the Square Trade extended warranty from Costco and the model was not listed so I could not completely register it. Yesterday we had to reboot the TV 10 times during a movie. Going to take it back so I will post back with how the refund/exchange goes. So far it isn't looking good."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:March 6, 2014

Great TV - Great Value

Pros: price quality picture
Cons: none
"Bought this for our bedroom as wanted to upgrade from old TV. We have two other LEDs in the house - one Samsung one Vizio. Did not need a 'smart tv' for the bedroom and felt this would be a good solution. Well, we could not be more pleased with this new LED TV. The picture right out of the box is fantastic! Setup a breeze and using HDMI cables really brings out the best in the set. Don't waste time researching other sets - the quality and price can't be beat! Also, although we installed in master bedroom this would be a fantastic set anywhere in the home….."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:March 17, 2014

Samsung 39" HDTV

Pros: picture quality value
Model Number: UN39FH5000F
"The TV arrived before planned, box was intact and no issues. Set up was very easy and attachment to the stand consisted of 8 screws. A no brainer. The stand could have been a bit more sturdy, but it is sufficient to hold the TV screen, but take care when moving.
Picture quality is excellent and is an extremely clear HD. Good product!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:May 16, 2014

Nice picture, until...

"This TV was easy to set-up and the picture looks fine. At least, it did until the picture failed completely roughly 100 days after purchasing. JVC customer service is largely indifferent, and wants us to ship it at our expense. For this reason, it is no longer a solid value."
8 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 39" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN39FH5000F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Castle, DE
Date:June 30, 2014

Great price for a well known brand!

Pros: easy installation; just plug and play, beautiful picture and nice sound for the price!
Cons: hdmi cable does not come with the device!
"I am an owner of the original SAMSUNG 55" LED tv; picture quality is superior. Never had any trouble, reliable product. Choosing a product to ungrade other tv sets in my home was a "no brainer". Thank you Costco for carry my brand at an affordable price, with fast delivery and customer satisfaction guaranteed."
1 2 next>>