Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras

Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
10 of 18(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:August 7, 2013

Great value and respectable performance.

Pros: poe connectivity, night vision has good distance, easy setup with no extra power cables, nice clear picture quality, very good performing system great value, 1080 video at 30 fps, 2 tb hard drive can be expanded to 8 tb, wide angle lens, remote connectivity, plug and play with everything included.
Cons: could use more remote features, motion detection is very sensitive, could have better cam housing and sunshades, only compatible with lorex brand poe cameras
Model Number: LNR 280
"My reviews are based on numerous factors and for this reason, I gave this kit 5 stars. It is not a professional system and it is not priced like one either. Setup of this system is very easy if you have experience running cables and working with computers. The quality of the image captured can be set to low or high and 720p or 1080. I have tested out the system prior to installing it and I find the image quality is great when set to it's highest setting and viewed on a 1080p monitor. The included DVR works well and has many useful functions. The android app works good as does the included HD Client software. The bullet cameras are small enough to not appear overpowering on a house and the dome cameras are small as well. The cams housings are plastic but so is my Nikon DSLR. Plastic is not always a bad thing.
No, The set is not perfect, but when you compare it to all other systems in it's price range, in my opinion, it is far superior to the others .Lorex uses HlkVision cameras which are similar to the Swann PoE units but they are not compatible with Swann or HlkVision cameras since Lorex uses their own firmware.
If you want a professional 6 camera system, look to pay more for the DVR than this whole setup costs. For a home camera system, I recommend this Lorex system."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2013

Promises not living up to reality

Pros: still looking
Cons: customer service is awful, multiple reviews indicate shipping with a bad hdmi
Model Number: LNR282
"Recieved the unit with a bad HDMI port so I could not set it up. The company clearly does not have a robust enough technical support or customer service department because wait times are hours. I registered the product, which the company requires to get technical support but the technician asked me to read him all of the information such as the Model Number, Serial Number, Date of Purchase etc. Is this not the point of registering, so the customer does not have to tell multiple people? Once I recieved the RMA number from Tech Supp., the case was passed to Cust. Serv. which sent a bland email asking for yes, all of the information from the product registration again complete with a request for a scan of the packing slip. Good thing I registered.
Finally, I was instructed to send the product back and when they recieved it, they would send a new one.
If one initially recieves a faulty unit, it is current industry practice to immediately send a new unit with a packing slip included. This was not the case with Lorex, so I again had to get on the phone to ask how they proposed I send the broken one back (I certainly was not going to pay for it).
The Customer Serv. rep was nice enough and informed me that they were sending a new one out and that it is their policy that if there is an issue within the first 3 months that they do send one first BUT none of the information I was sent indicated this.
On to the performance of the unit. Agree with other reviewers that the glare shade is made of plastic and is very cheap. The unit ships with an output resolution of 780 mp and this must be changed manually to 1080p. You would not know this unless you went to the Lorex site where they have a video and the guy suggests you make the change. Good advice, since I think most people would buy this FOR THE 1080P RESOLUTION!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:August 3, 2013

Cheap Plastic cover, Water Condensation in lens

Pros: none the nvr is the same model # as previous unit, sold at costco couple of months ago
Cons: camera is budget quality cover is plastic, base is made with a much thinner metal and feels, almost like plastic. swivel on one camera doesn't, work and keeps sliding around even when tightened, water condensation inside lens even when camera, is used indoor for only 12 hours, nvr is same as before. no changes to nvr
"I had previously purchased the 4 camera NVR from Lorex and was very happy with it. Now, the new version is VERY CHEAP and NOT WELL ASSEMBLED! I had one camera running INDOORS for only 12 hours and there was water condensation inside the lens causing the whole image to be blurry(camera was in family room)! Not only that, the camera itself has a CHEAP plastic cover that is easily removable and if placed outdoors will probably crack and fall off after several months in weathered conditions. DO NOT PURCHASE this unit thinking it is new and improved. Sometimes the older versions are MORE DURABLE and work better!!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St.Louis, MO
Date:August 4, 2013

Average Quality

Pros: very easy to setup..
Cons: poor picture quality to identify face.
Model Number: Lorex 8 Channel Full HD Real-Time PoE NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 6 1080p Cameras
"I have been testing this for the last one week before Installing .
Its really easy to setup and start, and the software interface is comparatively easy to work with. again the advantage is POE.
The quality of the picture is OK ; But I am really struggling to identify a face which is just 5 meter away from the camera on decent day light (even with digital zooming). I am not able to read any number plate which is 20 feet away.
I am still researching .. Will update further info later..
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:March 3, 2014

Disappointed, Not worth the money

Pros: camera quality on hdmi feed is good
Cons: only get purple boxes in android 2.3 app, pc software also has remote access problems, dvr is noisy
Model Number: LNR 380
"So far it just doesn't stack up, Remote app doesn't work properly (connects but only has purple video feeds), and tech support took two weeks to get back to me with no suggestions. NVR and software don't seem to function very well either. I have a 3 year old REVO security system from Costco also, and that works great. I need to make sure the two systems don't share ports, as the Lorex confgures itself, but on first glance it didn't appear that the two systems should interfere with one another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Date:August 15, 2013

Non existent technical support

Pros: high quality video, poe ethernet cables are easy to setup
Cons: horrible customer support, timestamps are incorrect, cannot fast forward past 2x, did i mention technical support is non existent?
Model Number: LNR282C6B
"After paying over $1000 for this unit I would expect to at least be able to contact technical support. Although the unit has impressive video quality, it's pretty useless to me until the manufacturer can address technical questions. I've called 3 times these week only to be placed on hold for over 30 minutes each time only to give up. Issue one is that the time is off on the cameras by nearly 3 minutes even though it is configured to use NTP through time.nist.gov. The second issue is that the remote playback can only play at a speed of 2X even though up to 8X is supported. When reviewing hours of video this is a must."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Washington, MD
Date:August 7, 2013

DOA

"High pitched beeping sound was coming from the DVR when I hooked it up earlier today. Also the HDMI didn't work. Customer service said it was the bad DVR. I will return the unit to the local Costco."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ft Lauderdale, FL
Date:August 18, 2013

Not Ready for Prime Time. Buggy.

Pros: progressive scan images are excellent., easy plug and play with poe cables., 2tb wd avg green drive., price and costco return policy., nice infrared coverage.
Cons: dvr lacks many features and is buggy., fast forward at 4x is inadequate., remote fast forward is useless., main screen can't display cameras properly., dvr needs firmware work.
Model Number: Lorex LNR280 and 6 cameras
"Cameras are excellent. The DVR lacks many features and is buggy. Main viewing fast forwarding only goes up to 4x. Remote viewing fast forwarding is worthless. Only 1x works well and that's not good. I am spoiled with Geovision fast forwarding up to 32x at both the main screen, and a remote screen....with the image clearly sped up properly for viewing. Searching for an incident will take many hours at 1x remote, and 4x isn't much better at the main screen. Next issue is probably a software bug. Main screen cannot display all 6 cameras properly, unless in a 9 camera configuration with 3 blank boxes at the bottom. One camera is always missing in the 1+5 and 1+7 configuration...and yes, i am using the correct poe ports 1 thru 6.
I have installed over 200 cameras, and more than 25 DVRs for customers in the past few years. I choose this HD system for it's progressive 1080i cameras, and I was impressed. The images are much better than analog. But since these cameras can only be used on the included Lorex LNR280, I will be returning the entire system. If I could easily find a compatible DVR, I would seriously consider keeping the cameras. When I install a camera system, I need the system to be reliable, durable, easy to use, and searching should not be a major chore. I cannot afford to keep coming back to fix problems, and spend hours searching for an incident. I handle a lot of video retrieval by remote connection, and because the remote fast forward is useless, I cannot recommend this system except to the homeowner that installs it himself, rarely searches for incidents, and is prepared to work with tech support by phone. Firmware updates may fix some of the problems, as well as a faster internal processor. For now, I suggest looking elsewhere, perhaps a better Lorex DVR that uses these same cameras.
"
Review 9 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2013

Bullet Camera fog

Model Number: Item # 767695
"All bullet cameras fogged as they heated up while testing in my living room. I returned them to my local warehouse without trouble."