Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras

Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Haven, CT.
Date:February 3, 2014

DVR -- Shuts Down Freqly.

Pros: high quality camera; easy set-up.
Cons: nvr fail rate too high -- not recommended.
Model Number: LNR300 HD NVR
"Most of the reviews are positive on this prod. I have to agree that the cameras are high quality. BUT, I cannot say the same about the NVR. It has been in operations for two weeks now and it shuts down for no reason about once every two to three days. Surprisingly, I think this NVR has an auto reboot function. It comes back online about two hours later. I studied the user manual but there is no information on how to do this manually. I've been calling their customer service line but it is always busy and hangs up on me.
If the NVR is online and working less than 99.9% of the time, then, this unit is virtually useless. I have a public display monitor located at a prominent location at my shop and "customers" can tell that the unit if off-line.
For me, this was a bad expenditure of $1,000. I was impressed with this unit so I decided to order two more. They have not yet arrived. Once they do, I am going to return them to Costco. I am going to try out AvertX NVR and see if that unit is more reliable.
Perhaps, I got what I paid for but $1,000 unit should perform better than this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014

Night vision is ok...

"PROS: Very easy setup, easy installation, great daytime HD quality, large hard drive, well packaged, great night vision when low to the ground, visor is removable on cameras.
CONS: Mediocre grainy night vision when capturing from 80' and busy terrain, loud fan, remote is mediocre and haven't been able to make it work, more expensive then buying the same unit with only four cameras and adding two additional ones, menu has some lag when processing and is not very user friendly, have to click apply after changes have been made to a page too often, motion detection is decent but could use improvement.
OVERALL: I would recommend this brand. It does what I need it for, and is decently priced. Once technology advances or prices drop I'll probably upgrade to a more professional setup or upgraded cameras."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:March 3, 2014

Disappointed, Not worth the money

Pros: camera quality on hdmi feed is good
Cons: only get purple boxes in android 2.3 app, pc software also has remote access problems, dvr is noisy
Model Number: LNR 380
"So far it just doesn't stack up, Remote app doesn't work properly (connects but only has purple video feeds), and tech support took two weeks to get back to me with no suggestions. NVR and software don't seem to function very well either. I have a 3 year old REVO security system from Costco also, and that works great. I need to make sure the two systems don't share ports, as the Lorex confgures itself, but on first glance it didn't appear that the two systems should interfere with one another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 26, 2014

Awesome Value

Pros: great quality and easy to install
Cons: none
"This system is uber easy to install, and the quality is superb. At first we had a security come into our small office and give us a quote for over $4,000 for a system that seemed to be about the same quality as this. After purchasing this, we had our IT company install it for only $400. He said this is one of the easiest systems he's ever installed and is going to recommend it for future clients of his."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, Wa
Date:August 6, 2014

Great System!

Pros: great resolution good night viewing
Cons: dome cameras seem to have shorter distance
Model Number: Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
"The system was easy to install. The only issue we had was using the dome camera beyond 100'. Camera resolution is fantastic and system was easy to setup. I did have some questions and both Lorex tech staff and the Costco Concierge were both very helpful. I was impressed with their commitment to the customer. I would recommend this system and also the Lorex and Costco tech support."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:September 24, 2014

Great System For the Price

"Installed this system for a small business about a month ago, and after some tweaking of the NVR configuration, I'm very satisfied with the performance of the cameras and the NVR for the price. The hardware quality is considerable, the video quality is great, and the configuration of the NVR is not overly complex.
The remote viewing Status Client software for both iOS devices and Windows are also put together well and intuitive to use. If you plan on remote viewing using the Stratus Client I HIGHLY suggest you utilize a direct connection with access to the NVR on your network via static external IP address/DDNS and port forwarding. I am using a DDNS through a free No-IP.com domain configured on my router (the NVR itself supports using a No-IP DDNS as well, but I did not try comparing the two configurations). The connection speed and playback performance over DDNS is significantly faster than the "easy" method of using Lorex's Stratus service and just scanning the QR code/device ID.
My only qualm with the system thus far is the motion sensitivity. It registers a lot of "false positives", where minimal movements in light will trigger a movement event. Even with a lot of tweaking of the motion capture area for each camera and adjusting their motion sensitivity, I still get a lot of motion events that are just caused by specks of dust floating in front of the lens, reflections of light from puddles when it rains, etc. While technically this is movement, I do have to sort through a lot of motion events that aren't of concern. Additionally, a motion event is triggered every time the camera switches between daylight and IR/night mode, which I think would be an easy case to program the NVR firmware to ignore."
Review 7 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:September 17, 2014

no reason to pay more

Pros: image quality flexibility ease of use/setup
Cons: none
Model Number: LNR380
"I am very pleased with this product. I chose Costco because I knew from experience that I would have no problem returning it if I was unsatisfied.
I set up the entire system on a table to check cameras, cables and LNR before having the cables pulled and the cameras mounted by a local handyman. I had a couple of questions about installation, so I called Costco support and their response was thorough and accurate so I can't speak about Lorex support as I never needed them.
There is a learning curve (at least for me) but the downloadable user manual is very detailed and complete. I wired the cat5 cables directly from camera to LNR and that part was plug and play. I used Lorex Stratus to interface to my PC, android tablet and android phone. My PC and tablet both use internet wireless and my phone usually uses my carrier unless I'm at home. All work flawlessly.
Most setup is done using the attached mouse. The supplied remote is redundant if the LNR is where you can reach it. I can see a commercial installation might install it where the remote would be required. I monitor with an old VGA screen which is in my office where sound doesn't matter. The LNR has a persistent fan hiss that would be annoying in a living room or bedroom but it's only a little louder than my desktop so no problem for me.
I also have a high resolution monitor with 2 HDMI inputs on my PC so I can also use the HDMI output simultaneously with the VGA for high definition monitoring. It is set to show any of the six inputs in full screen if motion is detected. The manual explains dozens of set up details that allow almost any viewing and warning combinations. I spent about half a day finding how to set up each camera and overall configurations as I wanted. First to go was the audible beep (again, probably a good idea in a commercial environment). All the answers were in the manual which I loaded on my tablet as a .pdf book. I had to follow some procedures step-by-step and interpret the small changes in my software and that which was used when the manual was written. As user manuals go, this one is far better than most.
The quality of the camera image is excellent detail and color in daylight, and it switches to black and white at some threshold for dark. The IR LEDs turn on and the camera adjusts to the environment. I had to move where one camera was aimed because it got a bright reflection from a wall that made the rest of the image really dark. Brightness, sensitivity, contrast, etc. are all individually adjustable. I don't know of anything I would change. It's almost like having a custom system."
Review 8 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mountain Ranch, CA
Date:September 11, 2014

junk X 2

Pros: none.
Cons: lousy product nonexistent tech support.
Model Number: LNR380
"Bought two of these units. Could not get either unit to display camera image. Called tech support twice (40 min. Hold both times) finally gave up. Started a "trouble ticket" never received reply. The only thing worse then the unit itself is the customer support. I would not buy ANYTHING from Lorex. I'm returning both units to Costco."
Review 9 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 6 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bel Air, MD
Date:January 31, 2014

Great Performance Product

Pros: high quality and easy installation
Cons: none
Model Number: LNR300
"I was impressed with technical specs vs price point and decided to order one. First I was impressed with Costco shipment and the packaging of the unit was very good. All the accessories and cameras were great. Documentation and installation was great. I got this for a small business and will be getting one for my home."