Customer Reviews for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3

Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Limit 3 per Member.
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
25 of 37(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Review 21 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 17, 2013

Has Flaws

Pros: it has a nice picture and a good price
Cons: flawed screen and remote
Model Number: Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz LED Smart TV w\/ Theater 3D M701D-A3
"The remote is not that good, you have to always point at the left side of the screen. Vizio is suppose to update the remote so you can point the remote anywhere, but they have not yet. The other flaw, more important, when putting a white screen up off my computer, the screen is not clean, there are faded lines running across the whole screen, which transcends in television viewing. My Samsung is a 40 inch and from 2008, does not have this issue and it is not a resolution issue."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jake Oswego - Portland Or
Date:November 13, 2013

Not very Smart......

Pros: great picture
Cons: not very smart
"I am a tech junky, and do a TON of research. I spend over 20 hours reading, looking at and researching Smart TVs over 60in around the $1500 range. My "musts" were, over 60in, 240Hz, and smart apps. I really wanted the Samsung, but at $600 more I wanted to find an alternative.....I was confident when I bought this that I got a great deal and quality TV. This TV is not very smart....why would there not be an Android App so you can use your phone as a remote? I control my Yamaha receiver with my phone over Wifi, my Xbox and even my garage door! But not my new top of the line smart TV? It took me a long time just to login to my Youtube, Netflix and Pandora account because you have to type everything in with the remote, that doesn't work very good, is slow and unresponsive. I really wanted to be happy with this TV, but if you want ta true smart TV it seems the ony solution is the Samsung ones....now I have to return this monster within the next few months.
I want a TV that can seamlessly connect with my phone and share easily....this is not the one:( I really wanted it to work, at least I tried and now wont regret the extra $$ I have to spend?"
6 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:November 11, 2013

Fantastic Television!

Pros: amazing picture quality (2d and 3d), fast simple aps, attractive design, easy set up and menu system
Cons: remote is not very precise
Model Number: Vizio 70" M701D-A3
"The picture quality of this TV is fantastic. Even regular HD 2d programming is so clear it's almost 3d! Nice wide viewing angle. Sharp smooth motion even close up. The 3d is movie theater quality using the same lightweight comfortable glasses like at the movies (4 pairs included!). The aps are quick and simple to use, and the wifi connection is stable and fast. Very easy to set up, navigate, and use. Clean attractive design. The remote was not as precise as I'd like (has to be aimed right at the sensor), but I use a universal remote, so not an issue for me. I looked at a lot of TV's, and this has a better picture than others that cost $1000 more, not to mention the great smart features. Calling it a bargain would be an understatement! I don't usually write reviews, but I had to share this one. I could not be happier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:October 8, 2013

Don't buy

Pros: price
Cons: disfunctional remote, remote control problems, slow cpu / freezes, weight, limited apps, incorrect colors, unnatural picture
Model Number: M701D-A3
"I replaced Sammy 75" a week ago for Vizio M701D-A3 70 hoping to save $800. There are multiple issues:
The major - inaccurate colors. No matter what setting I tried, I couldn't get the Tv to produce more of natural colors. At first it looks like it's got too much color, if you take it down it makes it better. However, it always produced incorrect color overall. The actors skins were always yellowish and red was overwhelming. I played with tints and RGB settings with no success - couldn't achieve more natural looking picture.
Remote control is a hassle - you have to be closer to the TV, the range is very limited - I have about 15' between the couch and the TV and remote is not working at that distance (I'd replaced the batteries - that didn't help). Also, with the remote you have to point it into the specific corner for it to work. Very annoying!
Slow processing - sometimes the TV freezes and you click on the remote and the TV doesn't respond for a minute. Then you see all the commands performed really fast like it buffered them or something.
Weight - the TV weighs a ton! It required me to summon my 27th yo brother to unpack and place the TV. It weighs much more than Samsung 75! My wife helped with Sammy with no problem. I think it's due to a lot of metallic materials in this Vizio. You'd definitely need a heavy duty mount.
Apps are very limited and hard to control with the remote. Sometimes drops connection and the whole TV freezes.
I'm taking it back to Costco..."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 4, 2013

Great Picture, Mediocre Sound

Pros: great picture, easy navigation w/ apps.
Cons: poor sound
"This TV has a great picture, especially for sports. 240MhZ is a must with such a big TV, anything less you will notice a choppy picture when the video is fast moving. Sound is mediocre, I suggest a Sound Bar, but other than that 1 draw back, Great Purchase!!!"
Review 26 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:September 25, 2013

VIZIO M701D-A3 70"

Pros: easy setup
"Great picture, great value made better by adding the Vizio Sound bar."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:September 24, 2013

Avoid the M Series

Pros: features at this price., defective product was replaced.
Cons: features don't matter if it doesn't work.
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3
"Bought the 70 inch M series with high hopes, based on picture quality and features at this price. Have two other smaller E series Vizios and they are great. This remote never worked well, even when pointed right at the sensor, under the TV, with new batteries, or any other way. Very frustrating. Vizio tech support taught me how to do a reset of the remote which worked only temporarily. Firmware update of TV software did not help at all. This was not the only problem, because even when I could get the TV to respond to the remote, the apps would freeze everything, requiring an unplug and replug. Could not even watch Netflix. For what it's worth, the picture was excellent when it did work. Got a replacement shipped by Vizio which did the same thing. So glad to have it out of my life."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NB, CA
Date:September 21, 2013

Excellent Picture

Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: dropped the wireless a couple times.
Model Number: M701D-A3
"Fantastic picture. Remote should be better, but not a big deal. TV dropped the secure wireless a few times, but I must need to get a more powerful router. It is working fine now after a reset.
Couldn't tell a difference in quality of picture between Vizio, Samsung, and Sharp. Your eyes may differ.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 12, 2013

Great TV

Pros: great picture
Cons: factory remote
Model Number: M701d
"I am overall impressed with the purchase of this tv in all aspects. I did notice that the vizio remote has to be pointed at the sensor, I changed it over to a satellite remote and have had no issues with it since then. This tv has exceeded my expectations and for a great price at Costco.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:September 8, 2013

Big screen - great picture - good value

Pros: excellent picture, reasonably-priced extended warranty, good value vs the alternatives
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3
"Compared closely to the 60" Samsung 7 series that was displayed nearby and I think the Vizio had a very comparable if not superior picture quality. Don't know why all the gripes on the remote as I haven't had any issues. Wi-fi feature is very cool. Won't use the 3D but understand that the 3D feature comes on the better models. Extended warranty covers 5 years total for just another $100. Very happy with the purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland and Florida
Date:August 26, 2013

Amazing Quality - Easy Setup

Pros: picture quality, ease of use, nicely balanced stand, free shipping
Cons: it's a 70" lec razor thin hdtv so it's heavy
Model Number: M701D
"I wasn't thinking of buying Vizio until I saw it in Costco. The Vizio M701D HDTV has an amazing picture quality and very easy to set up. The SmartTV function was uncomplicated and quick to figure out -- 30 seconds! Picture quality with HD channels is OUTSTANDING. Watching pre-season NFL football, I almost got up and handed a player a sweat towel. Vizio brought their A-Game on this TV. BTW, the Square Trade extra warranty for only $99 extends your 2 yr Costco warranty to 5 years--well worth it. SWEET!!"
Review 32 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 31, 2013

Too many issues would NEVER recommend to anyone.

Pros: picture quality
Cons: remote works 1% of the time., poor customer service, very very limited number of useful apps., youtube app freezes 90% of the time (buffering), tv turns off randomly when opening apps.
Model Number: M701D-A3
"This is the first Vizio TV I have ever purchased. I was quite optimistic about it and did my research before purchasing this TV. My friend who is a bit of a nerd when it comes to electronics tried to talk me out of purchasing this but I did not listen to him, no in retrospect I wish I had listened to him because I wouldn't be going through the hassle of returning it. I've had the TV for about three weeks now. Setup was easy took about twenty plus minutes from getting it out of the box and getting it setup for WiFi. During setup the very first thing i noticed noticed was the shoddy remote which only worked if I stood a few feet in front of the TV and pointed it to the lower left corner. After setting up the WiFi and few other things (which was quite a hassle compared to my Samsung TV) I immediately wanted to test the WiFi speed since (Netflix, YouTube, Hulu) are the services which I use mostly. After trying to play a YouTube video I gave up and exited from the YouTube app. It was lagging and randomly restarting the videos. Then I went into the Netflix app and entered my account info and played a movie and this played without any problems. After a few days I got quite frustrated and called Vizio Customer Service because more issues became apparent such as the TV randomly turning off when opening apps (don't just pass this off as a bad set which I'll explain). I explained the issues to the rep and he wasn't all that surprised to hear them. So we went through the remote reset/battery change (which did nothing). After this he had me reset the T.V (turning off, unplugging, holding down power button etc) which did nothing as well. He wasted about an hour of my time only to tell me that there is nothing he can do and to just wait because there is an "update" coming out to fix these issues. It's been almost a month and there is no word on this "update" so i just picked up the phone and called Costco to return it. I was willing to overlook the remote issue however there are many more problems with this series of TV's (which became apparent after talking with customer service) that I decided the best thing to do at this point was to return the T.V. I thought I was making a good investment at this price however I will be spending a few extra hundred $$ and purchase either a Samsung or Sony (from Costco) and avoid all this headache with a mediocre brand.
The only upside to this purchase was that Costco delivered it in a timely manner and they also made my Return an easy process.
"
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:July 29, 2013

Great TV so far.

Pros: good price from costco and only $100 for 5-year wa
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio M701d-A3
"My 4-year old 46” Samsung in the bedroom died. Moved a 52” Samsung from the den to the bedroom and purchased the 70” Vizio for the den. Picture quality is great with ample inputs and adjustments. I see no reflective increase with this TV; actually, the A3 has a matted screen eliminating much of the reflection. I cannot judge the longevity of this TV; I’ve only had it less than one month. However, with the 5-year warranty I am not that concerned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 28, 2013

Great picture and value in a large screen TV

Pros: picture, price, user manual in the tv
Cons: no web browser, remote batteries, remote ir reception
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3
"After looking at every TV that I could find in the 65"-70" class, I was pretty set on the Samsung's picture and features (I still like the speech recognition remote) I have to admit. But I wanted to see the new Vizio M Series, as I'd heard they were well received at the last CES. Last week they appeared at Costco, and I was happy to see that they'd put one right next to a Samsung reading the same signal for a direct compare. Although I knew that I was at the mercy of the settings in the store, I found I actually liked the detail in skin and clothing better on the Vizio, so I knew that they were at least comparable. I'd heard that some people didn't like the glossy screen, so I checked out the reflection from Costco's overhead lights - both reflected some, so one being more blurry due to more of a matte screen finish was not a major difference to me. I could have purchased it on the web, but Costco had it for about $100 cheaper, and their adding a year to the warranty at no charge, plus 3 years of Square Trade for $99 for a total of 5 years and their no questions asked return policy, offset the sales tax. Now that I've had it for a week, I'm thrilled with the picture. I'm not really a big 3D fan (I got the 240hz more for sports) but the passive 3D is as good as I've seen on the Sony or LG - I don't like the active 3D systems. I have the sound going through my audio receiver, so I can't comment on that. I'm running on the cool white balance setting, and I've backed off the red and the contrast a bit, and I think the picture is as good as I've seen anywhere. Part of that is, I'm sure, moving to an LED backlighting technology, but who cares why - the bottom line is that it looks great. I was never too thrilled with the Vizio E series, but this M Series is a whole different animal. The remote is as bad as people say - you have to aim it right at the lower left corner, and my batteries for the remote were dead out of the box - I thought the TV was DOA. Also, as one other review said, it doesn't have a 3D converter, but I question his giving the whole TV a 1 star rating on the basis of missing that feature; many people I've spoken to don't really like the quality of the conversion from 2D to 3D anyway. I did find out that my DirecTV has three 3D channels with no surcharge, although one is just PPV movies. The feature that I think is the most major missing one is a simple web browser. I'd guess that's the influence of Yahoo wanting you to use all of their stuff, but I'd like a browser so I can surf the web, preferably in a picture-in-a-picture either way. I didn't see a way to set up the wi-fi without agreeing to use Yahoo's apps.
It's a great TV at any price, in my opinion, but at the current price of around $2100, it's also a great value. Now I just can't wait for football to start... Go Redskins & RGIII !!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:July 26, 2013

Beautiful picture & design

Pros: picture quality, system design, power efficiency, does not heat up room like plasma, relatively cost-effective, excellent lifetime us-based support
Cons: remote was laggy but easily fixed, wish it already included the wifi-ac connectivity
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3 70" Class 1080P LED Smart TV
"This is a great TV for the money, not sure what the others were complaining about. I've had it for around a month and so far the only problem was that the remote was a bit laggy. A quick call to their OUTSTANDING tech support fixed the issue with a couple of keypresses, and they said there's a firmware update coming soon that will be automatically delivered via the Internet connection that will enable the RF functionality of the remote. (The TV will let you know that its firmware has been updated.) As far as LED TVs go, this one has at least as good a picture as any other in its class. Smart apps are relatively quick, though I'd probably still use my AppleTV instead. Excellent picture quality using their Calibrated modes. Not noticing any image lag. Top-of-the line features, and beautiful minimalistic design. Zero regrets, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:July 4, 2013

blue line after 20hrs of operation

Pros: good price
Cons: limited remote range, broke in less than 18 days, very reflective in room with any light source
Model Number: VIZIO M701D
"I purchased this TV online from Costco. The delivery and professionalism of Costco was great. However On July 4th (18 days after purchase) a blue line appeared about 3 inch from the corner of the right side. taking the TV back tomorrow and purchasing LG to replace since I have never had any issued with LG. One more thing, the battery of the remote was dead on the 3rd day of operation. Also the screen is extremely reflective. unless you are in a very dark room, you can see yourself almost all the time."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:June 26, 2013

VIZIO M701D-A3 70 vs Sony KDL-70R550A

Pros: picture quality! clean cosmedics
Cons: remote no 2d to 3d conversion
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3 70
"I returned a Sony Sony KDL-70R550A (also purchased from Costco) after it started rebooting on me but I am glad I did. The Vizio has much better picture quality and MUCH better blacks due to its local dimming. No dirty screen effect like I had with the Sony and I love the thin edge bezel looks super clean on my wall. It has a better off axis viewing and was a few hundred cheaper to boot. Its not all perfect the remote wile back lit is not at all responsive and makes using the web apps or picture adjustments a pain. As one of the other reviews stated it dose not have 2D to 3D conversion like my old Sony did. I did like that feature but the picture quality is so much better I am willing to overlook it."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2