Customer Reviews for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3

Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Limit 3 per Member.
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
25 of 37(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Review 21 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:February 3, 2014

After much research

Pros: love the 3d feature, the vivid picture
Model Number: M701D-A3
"We are so pleased with our choice to purchase this Television. We did a lot o research and comparing and this was the best choice with the best price. This purchase has been in the works for a period of time and We love our home theatre system our family and friends really enjoy it also."
Review 22 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 15, 2014

Great LED TV!

Pros: black level, exterior design, 3d stunning, passive glasses for 3d, streaming reception is very good through wifi
Cons: remote is laggy, no warm picture setting
Model Number: Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz LED Smart TV w/ Theater 3D M701D-A3
"I've had this set for about a month and it replaced a rear projection Sony SXRD set. The blacks are deep and the color pops. the calibration setting seems to be the best out of the box setting, although casting a slight yellow/green tone to skin. Would have been nice to have a warm picture setting available to warm the picture away from green. All in all, very happy with the set. DirecTV can look a bit grainy on some shows but Blu-Ray sourced material is amazing. The 3D is amazing as well. Nice to not have active glasses and use the passive battery free type."
Review 23 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Average TV

Pros: big screen!, great price, great 3d experience, great to watch sports, the seller is costco!
Cons: picture quality - colors, primitive "smart" apps, no web browser, extremely heavy, very narrow viewing angle, poor difficult to use remote control, arc does not work, poor written warranty terms
Model Number: M701d-A3
"PICTURE QUALITY: skin color has too much red tone. When attempting to reduce it, the picture develops a cloudy, hazy condition. I even bought a calibration BD and could not get the colors/ contrast right.
WARRANTY: The written warranty inside the box states that the consumer has to send the TV to VIZIO's authorized service center at consumer's expense. Their current policy is to send someone to the house to fix it. But, they are not legally obligated to do so based on their written warranty.
VIEWING ANGLE: Picture ok up to about 30 degrees from dead center. Past this, it becomes white very fast.
REMOTE: it has a number of flat keys, very hard to press and not be able to feel once the backlight goes away.The backlight is very short. The remote has a very narrow infrared beam making it hard at times to operate. VIZIO has advertised since the summer of 2013 that the TVs come with a Wi-Fi remote. They Do NOT. Their Customer service does not know when the firmware will be distributed.
SMART APPS: Very primitive. Most of them display on a small window on the left side of the screen. No web browser. If everything else was ok, I could by a Blue ray player for about $100 and have full browser and full screen applications.
CONCLUSION: The problem is that there are very limited choices for a 70" TV. Considering the price and the COSTCO warranty (plus another 3 years for $100) I might keep it, if I can get used to reddish skin tones."
Review 24 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:September 8, 2013

Big screen - great picture - good value

Pros: excellent picture, reasonably-priced extended warranty, good value vs the alternatives
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3
"Compared closely to the 60" Samsung 7 series that was displayed nearby and I think the Vizio had a very comparable if not superior picture quality. Don't know why all the gripes on the remote as I haven't had any issues. Wi-fi feature is very cool. Won't use the 3D but understand that the 3D feature comes on the better models. Extended warranty covers 5 years total for just another $100. Very happy with the purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 27, 2014

Great Remote

Pros: great remote 3d and hd are amazing, box fit in mdx perfect for 9-10ft viewing
Cons: none so far
Model Number: M701D-A3
"The remote is working perfectly for me. They must have implemented an RF fix, because it works great."
Review 26 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:July 29, 2013

Great TV so far.

Pros: good price from costco and only $100 for 5-year wa
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio M701d-A3
"My 4-year old 46” Samsung in the bedroom died. Moved a 52” Samsung from the den to the bedroom and purchased the 70” Vizio for the den. Picture quality is great with ample inputs and adjustments. I see no reflective increase with this TV; actually, the A3 has a matted screen eliminating much of the reflection. I cannot judge the longevity of this TV; I’ve only had it less than one month. However, with the 5-year warranty I am not that concerned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor,Wash
Date:January 13, 2014

Great TV

Pros: 3d picture-hd movies-all sports
Cons: none
Model Number: M701D-A3
"The picture out of the box was excellent.Bought a 3D movie and tried that and is better than at the movies.HD movies on tv are great.Would recommend this to anybody wanting a great tv."
Review 28 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 21, 2013

Greatvalue 70" 3D TV for home theater

Pros: price costco wanrranty picture quality
Cons: not really smart. need web access., need remote with built in touch/key pads, need control keys on the side of the monitor.
Model Number: M701D-A3
"I bought this smart 70” Vizio TV to replace my obsolete 65” Mitsubishi HD rear projection TV that I had for nearly 15 years. I am really glad with all the technology improvement in the last 5 years (3D Blue-ray, LED back light, affordable 70” screen, HDMI interface, HD streaming…) I picked Vizio over other brand because it is there at the Costco warehouse and it has 2 years warranty (If it run for 2 years it will do 10 more with easy; just connected to a good surge protector. More coverage is a waste of $.)
After watching the TV for the last few days, the following are what I have found so far:
1. The TV is light, 2 adults can move it any where around the house so setup by yourself is possible. The best place to install the TV is a 60” console (63” is perfect). It could be mounted on the wall if you always lie down and watch movies (not my style).
2. The TV and the 3D Blue-ray player work with my old surround sound system using fiber optic connections. The system still sound great and I save $ for the 3D movies.
3. Picture is great (Day or night). It might not satisfy all but you can twist it manually. The adjustment range for color, contrast and brightness is wide enough for everyone.
4. Streaming from Netflix is great. It is truly 1080P with no hic up. However, It won’t let you surf the net (luckily my Samsung BD player provide the Web access so it is not an issue for my.)
5. The remote is not very responsive (Every one already knows). I know why. They put only 1 remote sensor at the bottom left of the screen. To overcome the weakness of the remote feature, I put a small mirror under the sensor and face it toward me in the middle of the room. Since then, it works much better even I point the remote to the right corner (I just love to toy with it. You don’t have to do this. What ‘s wrong with pointing the remote to the bottom left). Vizio owe me this fix.
6. For 3D movies, the big screen is a must. I wish I have $ for the 80” TV… so seat closer but not less than 9feet. Please do not buy small 3D TV. If you seat close to see a bigger angle, the surround sound may not please you.
7. TV speakers are weak, but someone already said: “Who buy this TV with out a surround sound system.”
8. Try to anchor the TV to the wall using mounting screws on the back. I did this with 4 small L brackets (2 on wall 2 on TV. Bought from Home Depot) and a wire coat hanger.
Bottom line: I think 70” is more value than 80” TV. Vizio makes reliable electronics. Style is no big deal because all we need is the monitor, and it all screen, not thing else. So… What are you waiting for? Get one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NB, CA
Date:September 21, 2013

Excellent Picture

Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: dropped the wireless a couple times.
Model Number: M701D-A3
"Fantastic picture. Remote should be better, but not a big deal. TV dropped the secure wireless a few times, but I must need to get a more powerful router. It is working fine now after a reset.
Couldn't tell a difference in quality of picture between Vizio, Samsung, and Sharp. Your eyes may differ.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 12, 2013

Great TV

Pros: great picture
Cons: factory remote
Model Number: M701d
"I am overall impressed with the purchase of this tv in all aspects. I did notice that the vizio remote has to be pointed at the sensor, I changed it over to a satellite remote and have had no issues with it since then. This tv has exceeded my expectations and for a great price at Costco.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:July 4, 2013

blue line after 20hrs of operation

Pros: good price
Cons: limited remote range, broke in less than 18 days, very reflective in room with any light source
Model Number: VIZIO M701D
"I purchased this TV online from Costco. The delivery and professionalism of Costco was great. However On July 4th (18 days after purchase) a blue line appeared about 3 inch from the corner of the right side. taking the TV back tomorrow and purchasing LG to replace since I have never had any issued with LG. One more thing, the battery of the remote was dead on the 3rd day of operation. Also the screen is extremely reflective. unless you are in a very dark room, you can see yourself almost all the time."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 17, 2013

Has Flaws

Pros: it has a nice picture and a good price
Cons: flawed screen and remote
Model Number: Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz LED Smart TV w\/ Theater 3D M701D-A3
"The remote is not that good, you have to always point at the left side of the screen. Vizio is suppose to update the remote so you can point the remote anywhere, but they have not yet. The other flaw, more important, when putting a white screen up off my computer, the screen is not clean, there are faded lines running across the whole screen, which transcends in television viewing. My Samsung is a 40 inch and from 2008, does not have this issue and it is not a resolution issue."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:November 17, 2013

Amazing every time I see it even after 4 months

Pros: clear and bright picture, excellent 3d, huge screen
Cons: remote control is temperamental at a distance, fewer features than most current-generation tvs
Model Number: M701D-A3
"Size is overwhelmingly huge. The picture is bright and crisp. It is hard to believe that this is passive 3D technology as I have only seen 3D this impressive with active 3D technology. The remote doesn't work well from a distance and it seems to chew through batteries fairly quickly. The TV is a little light on features compared to other current-generation TVs, but for the price there is not too much room for complaint."
Review 34 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:October 8, 2013

Don't buy

Pros: price
Cons: disfunctional remote, remote control problems, slow cpu / freezes, weight, limited apps, incorrect colors, unnatural picture
Model Number: M701D-A3
"I replaced Sammy 75" a week ago for Vizio M701D-A3 70 hoping to save $800. There are multiple issues:
The major - inaccurate colors. No matter what setting I tried, I couldn't get the Tv to produce more of natural colors. At first it looks like it's got too much color, if you take it down it makes it better. However, it always produced incorrect color overall. The actors skins were always yellowish and red was overwhelming. I played with tints and RGB settings with no success - couldn't achieve more natural looking picture.
Remote control is a hassle - you have to be closer to the TV, the range is very limited - I have about 15' between the couch and the TV and remote is not working at that distance (I'd replaced the batteries - that didn't help). Also, with the remote you have to point it into the specific corner for it to work. Very annoying!
Slow processing - sometimes the TV freezes and you click on the remote and the TV doesn't respond for a minute. Then you see all the commands performed really fast like it buffered them or something.
Weight - the TV weighs a ton! It required me to summon my 27th yo brother to unpack and place the TV. It weighs much more than Samsung 75! My wife helped with Sammy with no problem. I think it's due to a lot of metallic materials in this Vizio. You'd definitely need a heavy duty mount.
Apps are very limited and hard to control with the remote. Sometimes drops connection and the whole TV freezes.
I'm taking it back to Costco..."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 4, 2013

Great Picture, Mediocre Sound

Pros: great picture, easy navigation w/ apps.
Cons: poor sound
"This TV has a great picture, especially for sports. 240MhZ is a must with such a big TV, anything less you will notice a choppy picture when the video is fast moving. Sound is mediocre, I suggest a Sound Bar, but other than that 1 draw back, Great Purchase!!!"
Review 36 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland and Florida
Date:August 26, 2013

Amazing Quality - Easy Setup

Pros: picture quality, ease of use, nicely balanced stand, free shipping
Cons: it's a 70" lec razor thin hdtv so it's heavy
Model Number: M701D
"I wasn't thinking of buying Vizio until I saw it in Costco. The Vizio M701D HDTV has an amazing picture quality and very easy to set up. The SmartTV function was uncomplicated and quick to figure out -- 30 seconds! Picture quality with HD channels is OUTSTANDING. Watching pre-season NFL football, I almost got up and handed a player a sweat towel. Vizio brought their A-Game on this TV. BTW, the Square Trade extra warranty for only $99 extends your 2 yr Costco warranty to 5 years--well worth it. SWEET!!"
Review 37 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:September 25, 2013

VIZIO M701D-A3 70"

Pros: easy setup
"Great picture, great value made better by adding the Vizio Sound bar."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2