Customer Reviews for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3

Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Limit 3 per Member.
Average Customer Rating:
3.943 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
25 of 35(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Review 1 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson,az
Date:March 17, 2014

Great purchase

Pros: great color great sound. 3d is wonderful.
"A very nice tv. Color is wonderful. Would recommend this tv."
Review 2 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Smokey Mountains
Date:March 6, 2014

Best TV Ever

Pros: outstanding in all regards
Cons: none
"This is the second large flat screen I've purchased from Costco. The first was a Mitsubishi which I thought had a great picture. The Vizio is so superior to it there is no contest. The picture quality is almost startling. And, contrary to some other reviews I've read the remote is fine."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Hollywood, CA
Date:February 25, 2014

The 3D is incredible & easy on the eyes

Pros: great picture quality
Cons: picture is too video looking and less film looking
Model Number: 70 M
"Very happy with this theater like screen. I only wish I had bought the largest Vizio screen which is 80".
I would not buy a TV without 3D capabilities
"
Review 4 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo, OH
Date:February 11, 2014

Amazing picture, amazing television

Pros: great picture clear and sharp, great motion very smooth for sports, incredible 3d, great value
Cons: the remote is poor buy a universal one
"I purchased a 60 inch TV a while ago, and was somewhat unhappy with it the entire time we had it. I knew I wanted to go a bit bigger, and I knew I wanted to get it right. I really researched the various offerings out there, and in this size and price range, it comes down to a Sharp or Vizio. The Sharp product simply did not appear as life like and solid in colors and depth. I like Sharp, it just wasn't as good.
For anyone looking at the next step down in Vizio, or if you have previously bought that model, do not judge this one without seeing it. The M series offers amazing colors, great motion and really incredible 3D.
I thought 3D was a gimmick. However, it is really well done on this TV, and using passive glasses instead of heavy active ones is great.
The set up of wifi etc was very easy The use of the built in apps is simple and intuitive.
My only complaint is the remote, and I solved that with the purchase of a good universal remote.
You will love the picture this TV has, sports are amazing, movies are mesmerizing.
If you do buy the TV, remember, Costco offers a second year of warranty free, and you can buy, for $99 a squaretrade warranty giving you another 3 years of protection. That's 5 years of peace of mind!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Dimas, Ca.
Date:February 10, 2014

70inch Vizio 3D

Pros: size is just right.
Cons: price could be better.
Model Number: M701d-A3 Vizio
"FOR THE PRICE, QUALITY AND FEATURES, YOU CAN'T GET ANY BETTER."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 9, 2014

Great 70" Smart TV delivered to our Home!

Pros: incredible picture. 70" size. smart apps. value.
Cons: none
Model Number: M701D-A3
"Fabulous picture right out of box - no need to adjust. Theater 3D is incredible! Smart dimming works well adjusting brightness automatically to room lighting. Glad we went with 70" size! Easy setup connecting w/ home wi-fi. Smart TV apps work well streaming Netflix. Blu-Ray player interfaced easily using HDMI input. Also connected easily to our older Panasonic home theater 5.1 surround sound system. This is our second Vizio TV and it will not be our last!"
Review 7 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:February 3, 2014

After much research

Pros: love the 3d feature, the vivid picture
Model Number: M701D-A3
"We are so pleased with our choice to purchase this Television. We did a lot o research and comparing and this was the best choice with the best price. This purchase has been in the works for a period of time and We love our home theatre system our family and friends really enjoy it also."
Review 8 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 27, 2014

Great Remote

Pros: great remote 3d and hd are amazing, box fit in mdx perfect for 9-10ft viewing
Cons: none so far
Model Number: M701D-A3
"The remote is working perfectly for me. They must have implemented an RF fix, because it works great."
Review 9 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 15, 2014

Great LED TV!

Pros: black level, exterior design, 3d stunning, passive glasses for 3d, streaming reception is very good through wifi
Cons: remote is laggy, no warm picture setting
Model Number: Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz LED Smart TV w/ Theater 3D M701D-A3
"I've had this set for about a month and it replaced a rear projection Sony SXRD set. The blacks are deep and the color pops. the calibration setting seems to be the best out of the box setting, although casting a slight yellow/green tone to skin. Would have been nice to have a warm picture setting available to warm the picture away from green. All in all, very happy with the set. DirecTV can look a bit grainy on some shows but Blu-Ray sourced material is amazing. The 3D is amazing as well. Nice to not have active glasses and use the passive battery free type."
Review 10 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor,Wash
Date:January 13, 2014

Great TV

Pros: 3d picture-hd movies-all sports
Cons: none
Model Number: M701D-A3
"The picture out of the box was excellent.Bought a 3D movie and tried that and is better than at the movies.HD movies on tv are great.Would recommend this to anybody wanting a great tv."
Review 11 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 21, 2013

Greatvalue 70" 3D TV for home theater

Pros: price costco wanrranty picture quality
Cons: not really smart. need web access., need remote with built in touch/key pads, need control keys on the side of the monitor.
Model Number: M701D-A3
"I bought this smart 70” Vizio TV to replace my obsolete 65” Mitsubishi HD rear projection TV that I had for nearly 15 years. I am really glad with all the technology improvement in the last 5 years (3D Blue-ray, LED back light, affordable 70” screen, HDMI interface, HD streaming…) I picked Vizio over other brand because it is there at the Costco warehouse and it has 2 years warranty (If it run for 2 years it will do 10 more with easy; just connected to a good surge protector. More coverage is a waste of $.)
After watching the TV for the last few days, the following are what I have found so far:
1. The TV is light, 2 adults can move it any where around the house so setup by yourself is possible. The best place to install the TV is a 60” console (63” is perfect). It could be mounted on the wall if you always lie down and watch movies (not my style).
2. The TV and the 3D Blue-ray player work with my old surround sound system using fiber optic connections. The system still sound great and I save $ for the 3D movies.
3. Picture is great (Day or night). It might not satisfy all but you can twist it manually. The adjustment range for color, contrast and brightness is wide enough for everyone.
4. Streaming from Netflix is great. It is truly 1080P with no hic up. However, It won’t let you surf the net (luckily my Samsung BD player provide the Web access so it is not an issue for my.)
5. The remote is not very responsive (Every one already knows). I know why. They put only 1 remote sensor at the bottom left of the screen. To overcome the weakness of the remote feature, I put a small mirror under the sensor and face it toward me in the middle of the room. Since then, it works much better even I point the remote to the right corner (I just love to toy with it. You don’t have to do this. What ‘s wrong with pointing the remote to the bottom left). Vizio owe me this fix.
6. For 3D movies, the big screen is a must. I wish I have $ for the 80” TV… so seat closer but not less than 9feet. Please do not buy small 3D TV. If you seat close to see a bigger angle, the surround sound may not please you.
7. TV speakers are weak, but someone already said: “Who buy this TV with out a surround sound system.”
8. Try to anchor the TV to the wall using mounting screws on the back. I did this with 4 small L brackets (2 on wall 2 on TV. Bought from Home Depot) and a wire coat hanger.
Bottom line: I think 70” is more value than 80” TV. Vizio makes reliable electronics. Style is no big deal because all we need is the monitor, and it all screen, not thing else. So… What are you waiting for? Get one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:November 17, 2013

Amazing every time I see it even after 4 months

Pros: clear and bright picture, excellent 3d, huge screen
Cons: remote control is temperamental at a distance, fewer features than most current-generation tvs
Model Number: M701D-A3
"Size is overwhelmingly huge. The picture is bright and crisp. It is hard to believe that this is passive 3D technology as I have only seen 3D this impressive with active 3D technology. The remote doesn't work well from a distance and it seems to chew through batteries fairly quickly. The TV is a little light on features compared to other current-generation TVs, but for the price there is not too much room for complaint."
Review 13 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:November 11, 2013

Fantastic Television!

Pros: amazing picture quality (2d and 3d), fast simple aps, attractive design, easy set up and menu system
Cons: remote is not very precise
Model Number: Vizio 70" M701D-A3
"The picture quality of this TV is fantastic. Even regular HD 2d programming is so clear it's almost 3d! Nice wide viewing angle. Sharp smooth motion even close up. The 3d is movie theater quality using the same lightweight comfortable glasses like at the movies (4 pairs included!). The aps are quick and simple to use, and the wifi connection is stable and fast. Very easy to set up, navigate, and use. Clean attractive design. The remote was not as precise as I'd like (has to be aimed right at the sensor), but I use a universal remote, so not an issue for me. I looked at a lot of TV's, and this has a better picture than others that cost $1000 more, not to mention the great smart features. Calling it a bargain would be an understatement! I don't usually write reviews, but I had to share this one. I could not be happier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:September 25, 2013

VIZIO M701D-A3 70"

Pros: easy setup
"Great picture, great value made better by adding the Vizio Sound bar."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NB, CA
Date:September 21, 2013

Excellent Picture

Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: dropped the wireless a couple times.
Model Number: M701D-A3
"Fantastic picture. Remote should be better, but not a big deal. TV dropped the secure wireless a few times, but I must need to get a more powerful router. It is working fine now after a reset.
Couldn't tell a difference in quality of picture between Vizio, Samsung, and Sharp. Your eyes may differ.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 12, 2013

Great TV

Pros: great picture
Cons: factory remote
Model Number: M701d
"I am overall impressed with the purchase of this tv in all aspects. I did notice that the vizio remote has to be pointed at the sensor, I changed it over to a satellite remote and have had no issues with it since then. This tv has exceeded my expectations and for a great price at Costco.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:September 8, 2013

Big screen - great picture - good value

Pros: excellent picture, reasonably-priced extended warranty, good value vs the alternatives
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3
"Compared closely to the 60" Samsung 7 series that was displayed nearby and I think the Vizio had a very comparable if not superior picture quality. Don't know why all the gripes on the remote as I haven't had any issues. Wi-fi feature is very cool. Won't use the 3D but understand that the 3D feature comes on the better models. Extended warranty covers 5 years total for just another $100. Very happy with the purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland and Florida
Date:August 26, 2013

Amazing Quality - Easy Setup

Pros: picture quality, ease of use, nicely balanced stand, free shipping
Cons: it's a 70" lec razor thin hdtv so it's heavy
Model Number: M701D
"I wasn't thinking of buying Vizio until I saw it in Costco. The Vizio M701D HDTV has an amazing picture quality and very easy to set up. The SmartTV function was uncomplicated and quick to figure out -- 30 seconds! Picture quality with HD channels is OUTSTANDING. Watching pre-season NFL football, I almost got up and handed a player a sweat towel. Vizio brought their A-Game on this TV. BTW, the Square Trade extra warranty for only $99 extends your 2 yr Costco warranty to 5 years--well worth it. SWEET!!"
Review 19 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:July 29, 2013

Great TV so far.

Pros: good price from costco and only $100 for 5-year wa
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio M701d-A3
"My 4-year old 46” Samsung in the bedroom died. Moved a 52” Samsung from the den to the bedroom and purchased the 70” Vizio for the den. Picture quality is great with ample inputs and adjustments. I see no reflective increase with this TV; actually, the A3 has a matted screen eliminating much of the reflection. I cannot judge the longevity of this TV; I’ve only had it less than one month. However, with the 5-year warranty I am not that concerned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vizio 70" Class 1080P 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV M701D-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 28, 2013

Great picture and value in a large screen TV

Pros: picture, price, user manual in the tv
Cons: no web browser, remote batteries, remote ir reception
Model Number: VIZIO M701D-A3
"After looking at every TV that I could find in the 65"-70" class, I was pretty set on the Samsung's picture and features (I still like the speech recognition remote) I have to admit. But I wanted to see the new Vizio M Series, as I'd heard they were well received at the last CES. Last week they appeared at Costco, and I was happy to see that they'd put one right next to a Samsung reading the same signal for a direct compare. Although I knew that I was at the mercy of the settings in the store, I found I actually liked the detail in skin and clothing better on the Vizio, so I knew that they were at least comparable. I'd heard that some people didn't like the glossy screen, so I checked out the reflection from Costco's overhead lights - both reflected some, so one being more blurry due to more of a matte screen finish was not a major difference to me. I could have purchased it on the web, but Costco had it for about $100 cheaper, and their adding a year to the warranty at no charge, plus 3 years of Square Trade for $99 for a total of 5 years and their no questions asked return policy, offset the sales tax. Now that I've had it for a week, I'm thrilled with the picture. I'm not really a big 3D fan (I got the 240hz more for sports) but the passive 3D is as good as I've seen on the Sony or LG - I don't like the active 3D systems. I have the sound going through my audio receiver, so I can't comment on that. I'm running on the cool white balance setting, and I've backed off the red and the contrast a bit, and I think the picture is as good as I've seen anywhere. Part of that is, I'm sure, moving to an LED backlighting technology, but who cares why - the bottom line is that it looks great. I was never too thrilled with the Vizio E series, but this M Series is a whole different animal. The remote is as bad as people say - you have to aim it right at the lower left corner, and my batteries for the remote were dead out of the box - I thought the TV was DOA. Also, as one other review said, it doesn't have a 3D converter, but I question his giving the whole TV a 1 star rating on the basis of missing that feature; many people I've spoken to don't really like the quality of the conversion from 2D to 3D anyway. I did find out that my DirecTV has three 3D channels with no surcharge, although one is just PPV movies. The feature that I think is the most major missing one is a simple web browser. I'd guess that's the influence of Yahoo wanting you to use all of their stuff, but I'd like a browser so I can surf the web, preferably in a picture-in-a-picture either way. I didn't see a way to set up the wi-fi without agreeing to use Yahoo's apps.
It's a great TV at any price, in my opinion, but at the current price of around $2100, it's also a great value. Now I just can't wait for football to start... Go Redskins & RGIII !!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>