Customer Reviews for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2

VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.633 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
20 of 30(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Review 1 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 18, 2014

Not perfect, but good

Pros: great picture quality, pretty easy setup easy assembly, metal base clean look (thin bezel and screen dept
Cons: no buttons on the tv for power/volume/channel, the tv setup froze during wifi selection., limited remote config for coax connection, streaming performance suboptimal, cannot turn off 120hz in favor of 60hz for movies
Model Number: M471I-A2
"After researching for several months, I settled on this TV as a replacement for our 32" main television. A tip I discovered in comparing these: One key difference between this and the 48" and 50" Vizio TVs in a similar price range that were on display was a noticeable flicker in the other two models that you can see if you watch for the "stripes" in the Costco logo. The color on this TV seemed a little more realistic to my eye, though a) it's subjective and b) it may be a calibration thing.
The pros:
- Great picture quality
- Pretty easy setup, easy assembly
- Metal base, clean look (thin bezel and screen depth)
Cons:
- No buttons on the TV to turn it on or off, or adjust the volume. The remote is fine, but sometimes I just want to hit the button quickly to turn it off without searching for the remote.
- The TV setup froze during wifi selection. The solution was to unplug and re-plug the TV, and then it worked fine.
- Remote config lacks an option to configure the remote that I need for the coax connection. I don't have a cable box, but a small digital converter from Comcast. So far I can't find a way to set up the remote to change channels on the converter - the connection type isn't offered for the coax input.
- I get better results with Netflix via my AppleTV. I think this may be the wifi connection, but using Netflix worked for about 5 minutes, and then it lowered the quality dramatically so that it was virtually unwatchable.
- Cannot turn off 120hz in favor of 60hz to remove the "soap opera" effect. I had read that most TVs let you disable 120hz for HD movies so that it looks more like film - This one does not. You can select from 120hz or "auto" - The problem is auto does not work for most of my selections so far.
Overall I'm really pleased with this TV - it's not perfect, but the picture is beautiful, the menus are easy to navigate, and it looks great."
Review 2 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2014

DO NOT BUY UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES

Model Number: M471I-A2
"Tv was great for 1st 8 months although it was slow to process. Now 9 months in the HDMI 1 port goes out…called costco conceriege services who connected to Vizio. Vizio determined the HDMI was bad and will send repair person out. They instructed me to take off of wall mount and everything went to heck: As I was unscrewing the last of the 4 wall screws, the internal screw mount to the tv broke free of the weld so I couldn't get mount off. Called vizio- "I'm sorry this is not a covered part, you have to figure out a way to get it off and then we will fix HDMI but not the tv screw" So I argued for over 2 hrs with them that this is a faulty manufacturing issue, how is a bad weld my problem?…no help at all, and how am I to put back on to wall? First response: you can't you will have to use the included TV stand….argued with that as I don't want it on stand I want it on wall asked to bump it up to supervisor…."it will probably be ok to use just 3 mounting screws but that is up to you"…..I have 2 young kids I'm not going to do that is my response…"well that choice is yours to make"….Serioiusly?! Spent 1 hr finally able to get mount off of THEIR faulty screw receiver…try turning on TV next day…NOTHING TURNS ON!, this tv has always been taken care of, nothing has been damaged ect ect. So I call em back yet again: well this is probably YOUR fault for having the mount stuck!!!
Give me a break, I had to send in photos of TV spent 3+hrs on hold and they are going to send in a Tech guy. If he determines TV won't turn on due to "MY FAULT" then I'm sorry not sure we can help as this is not a covered issue (faulty HDMI port-Faulty weld of TV screw receiver on frame-TV totally bricked and won't turn on)
I will NEVER NEVER NEVER buy another Vizio product…I have 3 other samsung tvs that are working PERFECT. STAY AWAY!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 30, 2014

Surprisingly Poor Picture Quality

Pros: price, appearance
Cons: picture, sound, remote
Model Number: Vizio M471I-A2
"I spent weeks researching LED LCD TVs and decided on purchasing the Vizio M471I-A2 based on the numerous positive views all over the web. But my experience with the TV was much different, which is extremely confusing.
Picture:
The quality of the picture is poor. The picture is dark and lacks vibrancy. I tried tweaking the picture by adjusting the settings, but could not find a decent setting. Color accuracy is particularly poor, especially when it came to flesh tones. Human flesh looks clay-like, and often looks "orangey". In dark scenes, if you look closely you will notice the screen has 4 or 5 bands that display different contrasts/brightness.
I must admit that in bright scenes or when watching animated features this TV performs quite well. Pictures are vibrant and bright. I figure that’s how this TV gets good reviews. Also it is probably why it looks good in the showroom, since retailers tend to only show animated movies or bright scenes.
Sound:
You will need to buy a sound bar or send it through a home theater system. Imagine someone talking into a tin can, that’s what the speakers sound like. To be fair, a lot of the new thin TVs have the same problem.
Remote:
Not a very sensitive remote. You must point the remote at the bottom left hand corner of the screen to get the most consistent response. Not a big deal, but a nuisance.
The M471I-A2 was disappointing, especially given the high ratings received by other reviewers. Maybe I got a defective TV or maybe it’s just the 47 inch version that under performs in Vizio's acclaimed M-Series. Its low price may make it good for a basement, bar or kid’s/family room that spends the majority of the time displaying animation or sports. As for me, I returned the TV and am resuming my search for a replacement TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:February 28, 2014

I don't feel bad about this decision

Pros: very clear and bright picture., very good price at costco., ease in setup., the sound is not too bad.
Cons: screen reflects the room back to you., internet has little use unless you like their apps
Model Number: M471i-A2
"After lots of review reading and wacthing TV's at Costco, this model was the choice due to clear picture and bright colors. I am not disappointed. I read a review that listed how he set all the picture settings. I may have to tweak a few, but overall, not bad. Much better in fact, than my older Sony Bravia (LCD). The only problem I see is the screen reflects the room back to me. At night, it's the room lights refecting the chairs and tables in the room and in day there's enough light causing reflections that I could actually comb my hair. The Sony has a screen that does not reflect anything. A better screen surface would make this an ideal TV. Once I focus on the action/people on the screen, I try to tune out the reflections.
Another thing I don't like is that a smart TV is not all that smart. Apparently, you only have the choice of the included apps. It's not like I can access the internet as I choose, but I have to use their apps, period. (although, I may be wrong because I am still getting used to navigating around the various settings). Mostly, I'll stick with the computer for internet. Maybe, I'll watch a You Tube once in a while.
Conclusion is this is a pretty good TV and I am happy with my purchase. Hopefully, I will get over the reflection problem. When watching a movie, I will do so in a dark room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:February 10, 2014

Good picture but very very slow

Pros: good picture quality, slick looking design
Cons: apps are way to slow to actually use., does not support external cd/dvd, does not support plex, dnla does support dvd streaming from laptop
Model Number: M471I-A2
"Well, just like the title, the picture quality is good, however if you try to use any of the smart features like the apps that come with it, well it's way to slow to actually use any of them. For example trying to type something in a search after selecting a letter takes few seconds to finally show up in the search screen. You-tube, forget it, increadibly slow to load the title screens of anything, trying to scroll between the videos is impossible, pressing the buttons several times, and it literally takes about 30 sec for the selection to move and if pressed several times you're likely to overshoot what you were trying to select. As far as USB input, well it is limited to only flash drives that have the right files on it, if you try to connect external CD/DVD it will not work. Streaming videos from PC, well nut much easier, this TV does not support PLEX so the only option is to use DNLA with Windows Media Player, well trying to get that set up is a real pain, and it still does not give you the option to stream movies from DVD so my entire collection of DVD's can not be played wirelesly, have to bust out that HDMI cable."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 25, 2013

Stay Away

Pros: low price
Cons: unreliable remote sticks tv freezes wifi proble, everytime i call support i talk to a new person
Model Number: M470SL
"I am now on my third, yes 3rd!, replacement TV under the Vizio warranty. The first one worked fine for about 8 mos. We didn't use wifi and had is connected to a cable box at that time. Then we decided to use wifi and Netflix. As soon as we began using the wifi feature the TV began to freeze, the remote wouldn't work and there was a crackling noise everytime you turned the set on and off. Spent many hours on phone with Vizio support. They sent techs to replace boards in the TVs to no avail. Finally they replaced the first set, and now are replacing the second set. We have another Vizio TV that's an update, with the 240 Hz processor, which doesn't have a problem. Now that we're on the third replacement TV from them and I asked them to send this newer model which seems to work fine. But they refuse and even though I offered to pay any difference in cost, they will only replace with same model. There are bugs in this TV model - I'd stay away if I were you. Very frustrated."
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sandy, Utah
Date:October 29, 2013

So far so good

Pros: picture quality(10m:1 contrast ratio), great price for its features, included tv stand is very stable, connects easily to wall mount, perfect number of hdmi ports
Cons: the vizio app market needs more apps
Model Number: M471i-A2
"I purchased two of these about six weeks ago and I am, so far, very pleased. This TV has a great picture right out of the box and can be refined even further. The sound quality isn't bad but you will definitely want to connect a surround system for best effect, especially if its in a large room. I notice zero 'skipping' or pixelation, even on non HD channels. I mounted one on the wall using the SANUS Simplicity SLF5 Universal Full Motion TV Wall Mount ( http://www.costco.com/.product.100071338.html?cm_sp=RichRelevance-_-itempageVerticalRight-_-CategorySiloedViewCP&cm_vc=itempageVerticalRight|CategorySiloedViewCP ) sold at Costco, it was very easy, but a little time consuming. The other is on the included stand and is very stable, I think it would take quite a hit to knock it over."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:December 29, 2013

Attention to Detail - Everything Well Thought Out

Pros: beautiful picture extends nearly to the edges, backlit remote control is substantial and useful, guided setup is the best i've seen, tv is visually attractive - like a piece of art, on-screen menus well organized and usable, good set of connections - well laid out, audio out includes optical and rca connections
Cons: makes me want to replace my other tvs with vizio
Model Number: M471I-A2
"Was looking for a full HD TV that could fit in a wall unit space 43" wide. Had an eight-year old 42" Panasonic plasma in the space, and knew I could go to 47" LED with current technology. First tried a similarly priced 46" Samsung but wife and I were disappointed with picture quality, so we returned it after one week. After I little research and more careful picture evaluation, decided to go with the Vizio. Very happy with the picture quality, but beyond that it is clear that Vizio has a remarkable attention to detail. From the user manual, to the remote, the packaging, the stand, the guided setup, the on-screen menu system, and the design and workmanship of the TV itself. This Vizio model is in a class by itself among 47" TVs."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 5, 2014

If it worked all the time it would be a nice tv

Pros: looks nice, decent picture, good price, super thin
Cons: speakers are terrible, remote never works, freezes constantly, very slow to boot up
Model Number: M4711-a2
"The tv has a decent picture, good features and a nice look but... the wifi remote is unreliable and will constantly need buttons pushed 2.3.4 or more times before they respond (if they ever do). Then you must replace the batteries every 3 weeks. The tv has also frozen every week or so and would not respond so I had to unplug it as even the button on the back would not turn it off. The box states how fast the apps are but you have to wait almost 2 minutes from the time you turn it on until you can play something from netflix or youtube. I had the tv for 89 days and returned it because I was so frustrated with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:July 18, 2013

Value price with stunning looks

Pros: stunning design, good value
Cons: glossy screen, remote control response slow during setup
Model Number: M471I-A2
"I've only had the tv a few days but really like it. I love the slim design (1.8" deep) and attractive style. The remote has a backlight feature which lights up any time a key is pressed which is very nice. The carton box provided good protection and the TV arrived in perfect condition after a long haul with UPS. I've only tried a few apps so far and they work perfect- Netflix streamed flawlessly. The only negative I've encountered was slow remote control response during setup when typing multiple characters quickly, but I don't notice any issue with day-to-day use like changing channels, etc."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014

Important picture adjustment

Pros: picture quality in vivid mode, value, attractive clean design, no need for auxilliary sound
Cons: one screw in base didn't want to go in true.
Model Number: M471i-A2
"Just set this TV up. I watched a soccer match and then a few talk shows. I was trying to convince myself that the picture quality was as good as I was expecting but it just wasn't right; a little dark/dull. Well I went into picture setting and made one simple adjustment which was to turn the "vivid" option to on. Bam!!! The picture quality went to fantastic in an instance. Very happy with the price and the TV. Even the sound is respectable for a slim design (note this is just for bedroom). If it was a living room unit I would get a sound bar or something better."
Review 12 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arvada, Co
Date:May 19, 2014

Initial joy leads to disappointment and despair

Model Number: m471i
"Was so happy to get help picking out this TV in the store. The guy in store was VERY knowledgeable. However, after I got it home, the crash/power off began to happen repeatedly. I bypased Costco and went to Vizio first. Being a tech support person, I hoped that would mean I would reach a person who knew how to fix it. Vizio had mre reinstall the apps on the TV. I thought it was fixed. Nope. So now I have "reset the TV" and we shall see if this fixes it. Wanna bet?"
Review 13 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, Michigan
Date:March 29, 2014

Vizio 47" Razor Flat Screen w/Internet

Pros: picture perfect, light
Cons: none as of now
Model Number: M471I-A2
"Excellent Picture and we are able to watch Netflix directly from the TV in our bedroom. We love it!!! The reception is just to perfect and we are still in the infancy state of learning the menu items. I like this TV so much that I went out and bought a 55" razor thin 240hz TV for my family room.
Costco's prices and quality are just to good to pass up when you know what your looking for.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:livermore, ca
Date:February 10, 2014

Good TV for the price

Pros: good value for the money
"I was going to buy a Samsung for my bedroom, but after spending some time watching them side by side. I went with the Vizio. The color seems more nature compare to Samsung, but Samsung is brighter. I also bought the Vizio sound bar & very impressed by it. The remote is pretty good & I was able to program the comcast & panasonic blu-ray player with the on screen menu."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:May 23, 2014

Horrible

Cons: remote is horrible
"I've had this for 3 weeks and it's had nothing but problems. The Smart Features constantly don't work. I have had to re-set the remote 4 times and it constantly will not work. Also the audio shuts off constantly. I've called Vizio and they basically told me to take the TV Back to costco and it has bugs. Picture is awesome, but that is it. Buying a Samsung."
Review 16 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 17, 2014

It's very smart!!

Pros: hey it even looks good.
Cons: if it only had a swivel mount....
Model Number: M471I-A2
"My first experience with a smart TV and I was pleasantly surprised at how smart it was. To me that means it is easy to set up and operate. It's easy to access and operate all the apps as well. Not only that but the customer service with Costco and Vizio are both excellent. I am very pleased with the picture and the sound as well."
Review 17 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jax, FL
Date:June 3, 2014

Love my new TV!

Pros: thin frame around screen, great remote
Cons: screen is a bit "shiny" - reflects a lot of light
"I bought this TV about 2 weeks ago, and so far so good! Love the thin frame on it and have had several mentions about it. The remote connects well to everything. No more ugly cable remote. Even able to control my BOSE soundbar from it. Picture color needed a bit of initial tweaking. But that is pretty normal"
Review 18 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2013

Best TV picture ever

Pros: great picture and sound.
Cons: the remote control is sensitive buttons are small
Model Number: M471i-A2 Vizio
"I am very happy with Costco's on-line service. The TV set I purchased through them arrived on time, the carrier brought it in and even opened the box for me as I noted a slight tear on the box. All looked good and when assembled with very easy to follow instructions, worked beautifully."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:August 26, 2013

Value Purchase

Pros: great picture easy wi-fi
Cons: mediocre remote no on/ off switch on panel.
"Very nice picture and easy to setup. I wish the remote has a button to turn on backlight instead of hitting a random function. I also wish there was a button on the LCD to power on/off in case the remote is misplaced.
Wifi worked great and easy. SOLID buy from VIzio!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080P 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M471I-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:December 17, 2013

Love my Purchase

Pros: very sleek.
Model Number: M471I-A2
"I have had my new tv for about a month now. I love the size and it is not to heavy that i cannot move it myself. Picture quality is awesome. I have not had any issues with the wifi at all. I went to the store and pick mine up. Overall, GREAT PRICE and NICE TV!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>