Customer Reviews for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz

Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Processor & Memory: 4th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-4770 processor 3.4GHz (8M Cache, up to 3.9 GHz) 12GB RAM Dual Channel DDR3 1600MHz -  4 DIMMs Drives: 1TB (7200 RPM) SATA Hard Drive 16X DVD+/-RW Drive (Writes to CD/DVD) Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8 (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Graphics & Video: 1GB AMD RadeonHD 7570 GDDR5 Graphics Communications: Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n + Bluetooth v4.0 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Audio: Integrated 7.1 with Waves MaxxAudio® Keyboard & Mouse: Dell™ Multimedia Keyboard and USB 6-Button Laser Mouse Rear Ports USB: 2x USB 3.0 4x USB 2.0 Front Ports USB: 2x USB 3.0 Top Ports USB: 2x USB 2.0 AVI Ports Audio Jacks Combination headphone / microphone jack RJ-45 HDMI Additional Information: Color: Black Power Supply: 460 W Dimensions: 7.30" W x 15.99" D x 17.49" H Approximate Weight: 30.42lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(255 Reviews) 255
(out of 255 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (255 reviews)
5 stars
169
4 stars
60
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
10
231 of 255(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Review 1 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Coast, CA
Date:July 27, 2013

Wonderful Value, Performance

Pros: great value. great costco warranty and extension.
Cons: computer case power supply.
Model Number: XPS 8700
"Ordered, delivered in a week. Well packed by Dell. Easy setup, simply plugged in my monitor, wireless keyboard and mouse (it comes with both a wired kb,mouse but I like my old wireless setup). Connected the ethernet cable (comes with wireless as well). Turned on and the fun began.
Win 8 has a learning curve. Various online sites have tutorials, I stood for awhile in a local bookstore checking the win8 books. Long story short, win8 is ok once the initial familiarization period is over. Nothing to fear. You can learn it! Microsoft really made a huge mistake by not promoting and educating the buying public before they introduced it.
Computer is fast. I also installed a SSD for the OS and apps. Plugged back in the 1Tb drive for data. Graphics card is fine for everyday tasks, while not a gaming card it works fine. Both usb 2.0 and 3.0 scattered around the case (front, top, back) plenty for most any peripherals you might have. Built in card reader works well, convenient.
I contacted Dell support to order the OS on disc which is not included. They also sent a disc burning program. No charge, sent to me in 2 days. Do it. You don't need a serial number, its oem.
If I have any negatives its the quality of the computer case and power supply. Having worked on a number of computers this case requires tools, its not as convenient to work on the interior. Has plenty of room for upgrades which is good. Power supply is 460watts, pleny of power but its a very inexpensive one and I suspect I will be replacing it sooner than later.
To sum up, I like it. It will do anything I have to do with a computer and do it fast."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:October 9, 2013

Underwhelmed

Pros: quiet
Cons: windows 8, overrated, mediocre, overpriced
Model Number: Dell XPS 8700
"Underwhelmed. First of all, Windows 8 is a complete joke. Basically Microsoft is telling everybody that they will now have to walk on their hands rather than upright as we have since the first day we stood on our feet. Microsoft has decided to completely eliminate every skill a PC user has learned over their lifetime and now we must all go back to the kindergarten level in computer learned skills, disgusting! Some people say give Windows 8 a chance, but they must have too much extra free time on their hands because this system is a complete re-learn of how to use a Windows computer.
Dell uses the same components as every other cut-rate computer assembler uses. I've assembled better systems for myself and I'm an amateur hardware guy. The computer is very quiet and a good overall good machine, but you could probably do better economically with Acer or E-Machine. The Windows User Experience rating is 5.4 out of the box.
I give this a less than good review for many reasons. First, computers should be getting better as we go along but this machine is not much better than my 10 year old no-name-brand P4, XP machine. Second, Dell has a reputation of being a premium machine, I highly disagree. Third, the price of this machine, although competitive is no better than any other machine. Is that three strikes?
"
Review 3 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:September 10, 2013

Fast with Decent Memory and Features, Poor OS

Pros: fast processor, reasonable price, decent memory, quality dell brand, not a tablet
Cons: windows 8, not windows 7, not a mac, not a tablet
Model Number: XPS 8700
"I liked all the features this PC had to offer except that I couldn't get it without Windows 8. Aside from the miserable OS, the machine seems fast and has features for our home business needs. Windows 8 tries to hard to turn this machine into a tablet, sacrificing usability for desktop users (this IS a desktop computer). If I knew that it was going to be this hard to relearn an OS, I would have made the move to a Mac or sacrificed processor speed to stay on Windows 7. If you're not reasonably savy enough to fundamentally relearn an OS, order something else. I give the machine 4 stars, only because it's not the machines fault that Microsoft built a tablet OS and installed it on a desktop. If you do buy this machine, hint #1 - Apps on the start screen are low powered version of the real program you'll actually use on the desktop screen...so not useful because you are on a desktop computer! Let me know if you can figure out how to close a screen in less than two clicks (nope no x in the upper right hand corner anymore). Make sure you have access and time available to watch numerous youtube videos to relearn how to do things that should be intuitive (try to find that app you want on the screen with 100 apps shown... nope no "search" box. Have fun!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tampa Bay
Date:July 31, 2013

Fast Basic Desktop- Product Photo Wrong

Pros: fast processor, powerful, many usb ports, easy to connect & set up, fast start-up, less shovel-ware than most
Cons: only hdmi/dvi outs- no vga, cheap case, slightly whiny fan, dust magnet
Model Number: XPS 8700
"For the money, this is an excellent desktop with a fast processor, plenty of RAM (12 GB in mine), and a large hard-drive (1 TB). Perfect for home office applications, image editing, and the like, but not so good for gaming. Costco saved me about 350 dollars over the identical product on the manufacturer's website, and includes a 90-day return policy and extra year warranty.
Set-up was typical MS, initially took almost 1.5 hours, but all my older programs installed and work fine. The fan is a tad noisy, the case is very cheap plastic, and fit-and-finish are so-so. But LOTS of USB ports, many are USB 3.0, card reader works, and the machine is very fast running Photoshop 64-bit.
One major annoyance: the product photos on this site clearly show a VGA port, and there is none! Only HDMI and DVI ports on the GPU, so I had to buy an adapter. There even appears to be a VGA out on the motherboard card, which does not exist. Only an HDMI and DisplayPort. The AMD 7570 is a fairly lame card, but does support two monitors (HDMI & DVI) with no problem.
Bottom line: at this price point, this is a powerful CPU for home-office use. If I get 3-4 years daily usage out of it, I would consider it quite a bargain."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 2, 2013

Great Deal

Pros: great system for us that do video music photos., runs quite - sleep mode works great, 12gb memory compared to 8 gb when sold else where, i7-4770 is latest intel haswell chip, best deal i could fine for a i7 intel haswell chip
Cons: dvd not dl double layer (always ask for more)
Model Number: Dell XPS 8700 Desktop
"Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770 very good deal for a i7 Intel with a 1 GB video card, 12 GB Memory, 7.1 audio and 3.0 USB. Windows 8 is new to me, however Dell gives you a Windows 8 E-Book when you register and that was very helpful. If your looking for a i7 Intel as I was - this was the current deal to be found. Setup was fine and runs fine. Quieter fan than the old HP I had. There is also a feature to reset the computer's operating system to original without losing ones data. Came via Fed Ex and on time to the hour. I forgot to save the Windows 8 E-Book and Dell support chat set me up with the web site to get it and also a video. I do not do games so I can not speak to that - but everything else for a home user is fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:October 9, 2013

Hoping it works out

Pros: fast
Cons: made cheaply
Model Number: XPS 8700
"I just purchased the Dell XPS 8700 a few days ago. I am already experiencing two problems with it. 1) the top USB port for charging accessories (cell phones, ipods) is a great idea because it still charges even when when the computer is off. Well, at least it worked for a couple days. But now it wont charge when the computer is off. 2) Started hearing a single beep when I turn the computer on. Contacted Dell about it and it turns out the Motherboard is broken. Contacted Costco about the situation and they conferenced a call with Dell. A technician is to be sent out soon to hopefully fix the charging issue and replace the motherboard. Not expecting so many issues with a computer I have not had for even a week."
Review 7 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 22, 2013

Disappointing product from Dell

Pros: price, speed, brand (**so i thought**)
Cons: crashes, non-working component, system not as advertised
Model Number: XPS 8700
"Problems observed in the order listed:
- noisy power supply fan
- SD card reader not recognizing card inserted in the slot
- Multiple system crashes wasting many hours of work due to lost files
- rear connectors missing compared to photo shown on Costco's website, as others noted it comes with a different video card than specified
- after calling customer support, they promised to ship a replacement to arrive no later than 10 days, it's been 13 days and none has arrived, time to return the unit after a disappointing & frustrating experience - I've been buying Dell for 20+ years & never had experienced such neagtive surprise!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MO
Date:July 27, 2013

More bad news

Pros: good price, excellent customer service, quick delivery
Cons: actual specifications differed from description
Model Number: XPS 8700
"I ordered this computer on July 22.
A 1-star review was posted on July 23.
Naturally I checked the video output
ports when it arrived today. I found an
HDMI port & a dual-monitor port,
along with an adapter which converts
the dual-monitor port into a VGA port.
This was OK with me, since I only use HDMI.
Next step was to remove cover &
check video card model number.
It was Model C334, not listed on AMD's
website. Then I checked the memory
slots. They contained four 2GB cards,
which adds up to 8GB, not the 12GB
listed on the box label & in Costco's
write-up.
It was an easy decision to box it all up
for return to Costco.
"
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Alabama
Date:September 22, 2013

Great value and great machine

Pros: speed, 5 sata ports, usb 3.0, windows 8
Cons: only two power connectors for additional hd's.
Model Number: XPS 8700, i7, 12G Memory, 1Tb HD
"After reading reviews about Windows 8 I was anxious about this machine. However, after playing with the 8 OS for a few days I like it better than the 7 pro OS I was currently using.
Everything was as promised but need to overlook to video adapter in the OEM picture since the VGA port is not included. It comes with HDMI, DVI, & display port.
The USB 3.0 is awesome, 5Ghz speed makes life easier.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:July 23, 2013

Deceptive

Pros: im sure the intel i7 is a great cpu
Model Number: Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
"When my computer arrived the first thing I noticed was the video card does not support dual monitors as shown in picture. Also the picture shows an onboard video vga connector which this one does not have. The computer has windows 8 and DOES NOT have a product key anywhere on the computer, TOO much control for me im returning asap!"
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:August 21, 2013

Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4770 3.4GHz returned

Pros: faster computer
Cons: very unfriendly os
Model Number: Item #755354
"This computer is faster, but it doesn't make up for a miserable OS.
My life is too short to put up with this sorry excuse of the Win 8 OS. Buggy, some feature now missing from Win 7, some feature work worse than in Win7. Took Dell 2 weeks to deliver 3 separate packages. I'll stick with Win 7. Waiting for a more friendly OS
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Point, Oregon
Date:August 6, 2013

Great Buy

Pros: fast quite and shiny black, dell is a reliable product and this 8700 is fast.
Cons: none, quite happy with the product.
Model Number: XPS 8700
"My Previous computer was a Dell Dimension 520 and was a fast machine. This 8700 makes the 520 run like an old 486. I am a graphic designer and do some video editing and rendering. Start up time to Windows 8 is about 12 seconds and setting it up was just plug it in, set your preferences and your done."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SE Michigan
Date:July 22, 2013

Pleased with purchase

Pros: excellent price for a great computer
Cons: none
Model Number: Dell XPS 8700 Desktop i7-4770 12GB RAM 1TB HDD
"Computer replaced 2005 vintage HP tower. Swap was quick and easy. Dell website link to Windows 8 made going from XP to Win 8 painless. I was able to easily find answers to questions. Kudos to Costco, Dell, and Microsoft."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Templeton,CA
Date:August 5, 2013

Good Deal

Pros: a great price for an xps computer!!!
Cons: lighter in weight than the older xps computers.
Model Number: Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel Core i7-4770 3.4GHz
"A good deal on a newer Intel chipset cpu and chipset. Fast and equipped to handle anything you throw at it. After this one, I recommended it to another friend and he also bought one. Did I say it was a FAST computer."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 18, 2013

Great Buy!

Pros: fast, good multitasking
Cons: none
"This computer is blazing! Plenty of memory, processing speed, and hard disc for me, for a bargain price!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Monte, CA
Date:September 13, 2013

Best Buy

Pros: super quiet
Model Number: XPS 8700
"Excellent system. Very fast. Super quiet. And free of bloatware."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dell XPS 8700 Desktop 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4770 3.4GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:August 7, 2013

better than XPS 8500

Pros: better onboard video design easy to get 3 monitor
"better onboard video design, easy to get 3 monitors on it!"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.