Customer Reviews for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. You've worked hard to acquire valuable assets that are important to you.  Why risk losing them to fire or theft?  Should the unthinkable happen and your home or office is burglarized or catches fire, a quality Sports Afield safe will protect your valuables, important documents, investments, and irreplaceable heirlooms from destruction.  And, unlike a bank safe deposit box or secured storage facility, a Sports Afield safe provides convenient, ready access to your stored items, day or night, as they are shielded from prying eyes and opportunistic thieves. Features: FREE 1-Year subscription to Sports Afield magazine with purchase of a Sports Afield safe Color Black 40 minute/1200 degree fire rating Exceeds California DOJ requirements 3 spoke handle Programmable electronic lock Premium door organizer system for maximum storage Exterior dimensions: 60” H x 33” W x 20” D External cubic feet: 22.9 Internal dimensions: 58” H x 31” W x 15” D Internal cubic feet 15.6 Weight: 535 lbs. For customer service please call: 800-422-0090 M-F 9:00 am - 4:30 pm PST Protection: Strong external hinges 14 gauge steel construction 4 sided door bolt protection Ten 1-1/4” steel bolts Pry resistant notch bolt Pry resistant recessed door Interior Features: Plush interior and sidewalls Premium door organizer system for maximum storage Three port internal power outlet with two USB ports Internal Cubic feet 15.6 Holds up to 32 long guns Adjustable shelving Bolt down kit included & safe is predrilled for anchoring to the floor Fire Protection: 535 lbs. - 40 minute/1200 degree F fire protection Palusol fire seals – helps keep out smoke and heat Warranty: Limited lifetime fire & theft warranty 10-year lock & paint warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
12 of 18(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Review 1 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:September 13, 2013

Bad Quality

"Very Disappointed. Poor Quality and overall appearance."
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013

Good purchase

Pros: large interior
Cons: none i can think of
"I was very satisfied with my purchase. It was all I had expected."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2013

sufficent for what i needed

Pros: good value and gets the job done
Cons: none really
"product is sufficent if you need safty from kids getting at a weapon . it certainly does the job"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:November 21, 2013

Very Satisfied

Pros: exactly as expected no surprizes
Cons: shelves dislodged during shipping.
Model Number: 6033 Executive Vault
"The safe was exactly what I expected. The delivery did not take as long as was predicted and was delivered in good condition."
Review 5 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2013

not thrilled

Pros: free delivery but only to the curb
Cons: poorly made unit for the price
"Not what I expected for the money. It is not as sturdy as I expected and the internal parts are cheap. The keypad and locking mechanism seem poorly made as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas,TX
Date:August 7, 2014

Excellent Buy

Pros: plenty of room for both long guns and pistols, includes electric outlet add a dehumidifier
Cons: wish it had an interior light
"I've had this safe for over a year. Its an excellent buy. Plenty of room for your long guns. The pistol storage on the inside door is is made of high quality material."
Review 7 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:california
Date:November 6, 2013

extreme disapointment

Model Number: 6033
"This safe arrived with the lock number key pad not functioning. I tried new batteries and still did not work. Very cheaply made and not worth the price....not even worth sale price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Willows California
Date:August 30, 2013

Great valuer

Model Number: 6033
"This gun safe is well built and laid out inside well with the adjustable shelves and door pockets. It was easy to program the electronic lock also. I will probably purchase another one as my gun collection grows. The delivery was quick and easy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:September 16, 2013

Great Value

Model Number: SA6033
"We bought this safe online and fearing we would have shipping problems because we live in Alaska. The safe showed up in perfect condition (4 weeks). The safe has a lot of features that we did not see on other safes in the same price range. The door organizer is great and the internal power is nice too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 13, 2013

As Advertised

Pros: size, key pad, skeleton key
Cons: heavy but expected
Model Number: Sports Afield 6033 Executive vault
"Not impressed w/ deliver guy but I wasn't paying for 5 star deliver. I was paying for 5 star Safe and that exactly what I got. Tons of room for my long guns and a few good slots on the door for hand guns. I really like the ac/usb outlet. I have NOTHING bad to say, completely happy. Would buy again in a heartbeat!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:northern calif
Date:September 13, 2013

cheap keypad

Cons: keypad cheap holders in door
Model Number: sports afield
"So cheap, they can't even put a lighted keypad so you can see in the dark to open the safe in emergency. If you need to get out a gun in the dark are you going to turn the lights on in the room. When I called customer service the girl who answered the phone sounded like she was asleep and had no idea what I was talking about. There are 2 different companies and phone numbers on the instruction sheets. Who is who is your guess. took 4 weeks to get"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 8, 2013

Great Price for a Good Safe

Pros: functional and looks good
Cons: smells like glue
Model Number: 6033 Executive Vault
"Bought this safe from Costco.com as the special price could not be beat anywhere for the same size, and all of the accessories. The fact that the inside door has many storage places for weapons, and it has a plug in with USB's had us sold. I added internal lights so when I open the door I can see everything with no issues what so ever.
The safe does smell a bit like glue but not too strong. All in all it is still the best price with all the options with the Costco sale."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:September 15, 2013

Good value for the money

Pros: good value and quality
Cons: would be nice if it had a built in light
Model Number: 6033
"I bought this safe to store mostly long guns. The adjustable shelves make it perfect for storing various size guns. For the price I would say this is a very good safe. It does not hold the number of guns listed in the specs but I have never found a safe to properly store what the specs said it could. This safe fit my needs perfectly. I like the pouches that are on the inside of the door for extra storage of pistols and clips, etc. The delivery person was great and wheeled the safe inside my garage for me. Would definately buy again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2013

Very Happy with purchase

"We knew we were not buying the 2000.00 safe and it was exactly as stated. Shipping was about 3 weeks as expected. What was not expected was how nice the driver was and helped my husband put it in the area where we wanted the safe to go. Curbside for us was walking with this thing over about an acre of land, the driver pulled right up to our door and helped my husband, I was shocked and he was such a nice man. The safe is exactly what we wanted, only took about 30 minutes to set up, putting a new code in was easy and worked the first time. No smells. Kudo's for Costco using the delivery company that brought us safe."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:August 22, 2013

Great Little Safe!

Pros: great price, quality materials, easy to operate
Cons: none
Model Number: Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault - Item# 779797
"I picked this safe up to store my rifles in when it became available through Costco. It was shipped fast and arrived in a week having to come from the west coast to the east coast. The delivery driver helped me take it into the house although he didn't have to. Luckily it went on the first floor.
All parts were inside the safe. The electronic lock was simple to activate with the included 9V battery. I had it programmed with my new combination in a matter of seconds. The interior did not smell funny as it had multiple dissecant packs in it. The shelving and interior was in top notch shape with not pieces hanging off. The size is perfect size for my needs and I'm very pleased."
38 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SW Florida
Date:September 12, 2013

Excellent value, well made, nice features

Pros: power strip w/usb charging ports
Model Number: Sports Afield 6033
"Delivery was made in about 2 weeks and the driver offered to wheel the safe into the garage for me rather than just leave it a the curb which I appreciated.
Upon inspection of the safe's interior I found that the fabric covered drywall back had broken and was hanging down. I pushed it back into place and it is perfect. I reported the damage and was offered a new safe but it's fine now.
The safe itself is well made and all interior surfaces are covered in fabric. We use the safe for a watch collection, jewelry and documents so I replaced all the interior cutouts with shelves I had cut to size from a home center.
The safe has an exterior hinge which allows the door to open fully. Another nice feature is the built in power strip and 2 USB charging ports.
I added lights under the shelves and wrapped the shelves with matching material from a fabric store.
A 1 year subscription to Sports Afield is included if that's of interest.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Blue Point, NY
Date:August 24, 2014

Electronic lock fail

Pros: none
Cons: electronic lock is no good
"I wish costco would carry all their safes in both the electronic lock version and combination lock version. It wouldn't be hard to do as I am sure these units are shipped direct from manufacturer. the electronic locks on these safes are cheap and bust off easily. Peruse any store showroom selling safes and the electronic locks are usually hanging from the wires. Electronics FAIL! A combination lock WILL NOT. We live by the ocean and the local Lock and Safe store reports the electronics corroding In a year and needing replacement. ONE important thing to note, if you think an electronic combo is faster, you are WRONG. On a combination lock you can dial your entire combination. Then close the door, lock the handle, and turn the dial to zero. To open again, the dial need only be turned to the last number of the combination. You must not turn the dial back and forth or this will reset and require all three numbers...Will an EMP damage an electronic lock? Should the SHTF, I would hope not! Costco, Sell safes offering both options and your sales will surely increase. NTM, returns on defective electronic safes will decrease."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sports Afield 6033 Executive Vault
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 9, 2013

MADE IN CHINA....

Pros: functions ok.
Cons: cheap floor. must be reinforced.
"Which I didn't know... Sorry to have to post that in the title item but they seem to neglect to tell you that so I'm telling you. Cannon safes (pretty sure) are made in Southern California. Anyways.... my only real complaint with this safe is, the bottom floor is like tin can (literally). It comes with a piece of DRYWALL that sits on top of the tin floor for insulation.... LAME. I bolted it in using extra bolts (6 TOTAL) and they only give you TWO. That's ridiculous. If I wasn't a tradesman I would have returned this unit in a minute. But instead I took the DRYWALL and used it for a template at the steel yard to make a new floor using 1/4" steel plate. If I don't do this, the safe (for sure) could likely be ripped out of the ground using moped. Not joking. They used the cheapest thinnest sheet metal possible to construct this safe. It showed up damaged after I waited a month to get it and the driver barely spoke English. I wouldn't do it again but I kept it because of all the work I had to do to install it and buy anchor bolts, hardware, and metal flooring to make it suitable. Moving forward, it works. You get what you pay for...."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.