Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright

Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright features an easy cord rewind, 5 position carpet height adjustment, and the easy-to-clean Air-Powered Pet Hand Tool. There's no loss of suction* with Hoover® patented WindTunnel® technology that traps and channels dirt into the dirt cup** and minimizes scatter. It's everything you asked for and more! Features: Exclusive WindTunnel® 2 Technology WindTunnel® 2 Technology creates two channels of suction to lift and remove surface debris and deep down embedded dirt. Vacuums without WindTunnel® Technology rely on only one channel of suction. Easy-to-Clean Pet Attachments - rubber blades and rolling brushes Cord Rewind with 25' Cord - no more winding, gently tap the pedal to activate the 25' Cord Rewind and retract the cord to store neatly inside Intuitive Power Controls - conveniently positioned where they should be - right at your fingertips Fabulous Filtration - Carbon Filter absorbs musty pet odors; also features a rinsable filter and high-quality HEPA filter 25' Power Cord - vacuum a large room without re-plugging 8' Hose System Check Indicator - indicates when the filter needs to be cleaned or checked Easy Belt Change System & Brushroll Access - simply flip two levers to change the belt or access the brushroll 5 Position Carpet Height Adjustment - adjust as needed to clean all flooring types efficiently On/Off brush roll Dimensions: 13.5” W x 13” D x 44” H Weight: 16.5 lbs. Limited 2-year warranty Included Pet Tool Pack Accessories: Pet Turbo Tool - rubber blades collect hair and powerful suction carries it away, reducing need to clean blades Crevice Tool - extends reach of the hose Pet Upholstery Tool - rubber blades pull stubborn pet hair away from upholstery. 30 Count spot and stain wipes *Per IEC 60312 4th Edition, Clause 2.9. Test results within accepted variability tolerance of 5%. **On carpet, per ASTM F608 Model: UH70241
Average Customer Rating:
3.192 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
9
14 of 24(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013

great vacuum

"first vacuum that removes pet hair from couch, from car, and everywhere pet hair exists. Great vacuum for the price"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 5, 2014

About time I bought one that works!

"Whoosh - up goes the dirt (which I didn't know existed until the first time this vacuum was used!). Under 10 minutes to put together and seriously powerful."
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014

Broke after a few months

Cons: short cord
"Stopped working for no apparent reason. No power at all. Returned to Costco and there were 2 others sitting in the return pile and the cashier was saying "we are taking SO MANY of these back"..."
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2014

do. not. buy. this.

Pros: costco didn't give me a hassle to return it.
Cons: it breaks too easily.
"I wanted to like it because it is cute, but after using it for a couple of weeks the retractable cord got stuck and I also found it difficult to replace the canister after cleaning it out. It just wouldn't click into place."
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West Dundee, Illinois
Date:October 11, 2013

Hoover WindTunnel

Pros: tight budget good return on investment
Model Number: ASTM F608 Model: UH70241
"If you are young have pets I think it would be a yes. I am in my eighties and it was to heavy and cord rewind a pain for bending to operate the cord return.
Wrong unit for us, but dollar for dollar anyone on tight budget should find this a very good buy."
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 9, 2013

Broke w/in a week

"Thought this would be good for the price. Its junk. Noticed the vacuum floor piece wasn't moving even though it was set to on. Opened the bottom up and the belt was intact but the plastic gear was broken and shattered. This was after 3-4 uses on brand new carpet."
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chelsea, MI
Date:October 30, 2013

Great value, great job!

Pros: really gets the dirt out, easy to operate, great features like retractable cord & bagless, works on many floor surfaces and upholstery, easy to clean
Model Number: UH70241
"Just bought this new vacuum to replace my old one and very happy with this purchase. First time using it was shocked as to how much it picked up after recently using my other vacuum. A great value for a great product! Easy to operate and love the bag less wind tunnel!"
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:houston, TX
Date:March 27, 2014

Nice features, Inadequate Vacuum

Pros: good looks, cord rewind feature
Cons: inadequate suction after filters become dirty, cannot clean filters enough to restore suction
"Bought this vacuum and kept it for 6 months. In that time, this vacuum has gone downhill very fast. Here are the high points:
1. Innovative Cord Rewind feature
2. Vacuum loses suction fairly quickly when dust clogs the filters
3. cleaning the filters out does nothing to restore suction power
4. replacement of the HEPA filter is impossible, therefore not replaceable.
Summary: vacuum looks good and has nice features but doesn't work as a strong vacuum."
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weed (Mt. Shasta) California
Date:September 30, 2013

Easy one screw assembly and great vacuum

Pros: auto cord rewind, easy to empty and clean, easy to take out and put away for quick cleanups
Cons: plastic rewind and adjustment controls seems cheap, time will tell.
Model Number: UH70241
"Didn't go shopping for a vacuum. I have a Rainbow that works great but is heavy and not easy to bring out. So I've gotten used to bringing out only twice a month even though I have dogs. This lets dirt and grime grind into my carpet wearing it out. Now the vac will come out every three days and keep dust and dirt at a minimum allowing more carpet life and less dusting. I love the easy cord rewind. That's and the power are the best feature. Easy to clean."
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:February 4, 2014

Great vacuum

Pros: affordable easy light cleans well good price
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Hoover WindTunnel Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
"This vacuum has been great so far. The first few times we used it made us feel sick about how dirty our carpets have been! It cleans the carpets well and its not hard to empty (like other post say). The auto coiling cord is awesome and everything seems to work just as I wanted.
I read a lot of the user reviews and a lot of them sound like mostly user errors or lemons. Buying from costco made us feel better about possibly buying a lemon but so far this thing has been awesome. It does suck up a lot of dirt and junk so just make sure you empty it out regularly, if you don't it causes strain on all the critical moving parts.
If you want a good vacuum at a good price I would recommend this."
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:February 28, 2014

Not a great buy

Pros: i liked the red color and the retractable cord.
Cons: heavy bulky & cheap.
Model Number: Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
"So our old dyson model was getting slightly tired in its years, and we were looking to replace it. We have 2 cats and I like to vacuum regularly. My husband loves costco and so he purchased this model and upon the first try it did at least manage to pick up most of the hair, etc. However, when I used it (I'm a short 5'3") and I felt that the vacuum was bulky, heavy to push especially when it's on the lower carpet setting (it wasn't picking up much on the higher carpet settings), and the main handle isn't adjustable. While the retractable cord is nice, the hose is pretty short and very loud, and the food pedals are very cheap plastic. It does have a large canister but its hard to remove, and to be honest I would much rather have a lighter smaller more powerful vacuums that I have to empty the canister every time than this one. We will be returning it."
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax VA
Date:September 19, 2013

Best Vacuum I Have Ever Had

Pros: outstanding cleaning capability - great power!, attachments and ease of use, versatility - everything is on board, quiet and light-weight
Cons: hair does not fall out of dirt cup w/o prodding
Model Number: UH70241
"Thankfully my expensive canister - you know the one - was a gift because this work horse of a Hoover is worth much more than its price. I have two large dogs with long hair and have not had clean carpets since my 20-year old upright died - until this Hoover. It is easy to put together, has quality parts, is easy to maneuver, all the levers and buttons are perfectly placed - but to see lines on my carpet again (I prefer the lower carpet setting - you can set it higher for no lines) and no more hair has made me a loyal Hoover believer from here on out. My carpets even smell cleaner. Some may complain about the smallish dirt cup but not me - to have clean, beautiful carpets again with a product that has so many positives, I am willing to empty it every time I use it. I never thought I would find something I liked better than my previous upright, but now I have -thank you Hoover!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014

Disappointed in Hoover

Pros: good ratings and a great price.
Cons: doesn't have everything it said it was supposed to
Model Number: UH70241
"I was really disappointed when I got this home from Costco. It was missing the turbo pet power hand tool which was the reason for the purchase in the first place. My thought was they just forgot it when they packaged the vacuum so following the directions on the vacuum I called Hoover directly instead of driving an hour to Costco to exchange it. I was told by Hoover that the attachment was not included for the model I had. If I wanted the attachment I would need to pay $17 and some change plus shipping to have one sent to me. I explained that the attachment was pictured on the box and was again told that it was not included. After reviewing the discription on the Costco Website I see that not only is the attachment supposed to be included but it is also supposed to have some sort of 30 count spot remover clothes that were also not in the box. I am not sure what I will do at this point. I cannot speak for the quality of the vacuum since I have not yet used it."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:January 15, 2014

Best Vacumm Ever!!

Model Number: UH70241
"Long story short, I've had 2 different vacumm's in the past 5 years, an upright bagless (different mfg) and wasn't working that great, next was a canister (different mfg & close to $400.00) head on that kept breaking then past warranty so is used for tile, wood floors & cars now went back to using the upright on the carpets :( Then went to purchase carpet shampoo machine, again tried two models (other mfg both over $ 350.00 to $450.00) then bought the Hoover for under $125.00 because of reviews, best machine ever but noticed it kept collecting & dropping dog hair which is a vacumm issue so picked up this Hoover at a great deal and way easy assembly, I was shocked after only vacumming the frontroom it had about 3 " dust, dirt & animal hair. I didn't realise my floors were that bad as I vacumm 3+ times a week and shampoo everyother month. This was definately worth the money for me and if it does break like some claim I know I won't have problems as Costco has always stood behind what they sell."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque,NM
Date:January 10, 2014

Good Buy

Pros: the cord rewind feature, lightweight, good suction, price, quiet for a vacuum
Cons: wish the canaster was easier to empty, wish it had a slightly longer hose
"I have 3 long haired dogs, 2 cats, and two kids. We track in a lot of dirt and have a lot of pet hair to deal with.
I read the reviews online, and decided to go ahead and buy the vacuum. I've had it over a week and overall really like the product.
First, I really like some features that this product has. I love the automatic cord rewind feature. I also think it is the vacuum has really good suction. It is picking up hair and dirt off my floor the very first go around. It is also lightweight and quiet in comparison to my last vacuum.
I do agree with another review that I read in that the attachments sometimes have problems staying on the vacuum (when they are not in use). But this is not a big problem for me. I've taken off the things that I don't use and have stored them. The canister is also a bit cumbersome to empty hair out of the bottom. I've found that twisting and emptying from the top is the best way to go.
Overall, I think we will be happy with our purchase. If you don't have $500 to sink into a vacuum, then this is a safe bet."
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:January 20, 2014

Great vacuum

Pros: price great suction
Cons: none so far
Model Number: windtunnel p.a.w.s. rewind
"It is quite possible that the reason that I like this vacuum so much is because my old one should have been replaced long time ago. But then again it may be because it is really great. As I have been frustrated with the lack of suction of my old vacuum for a while now, I thought it might be that the wind tunnel just does not have the suction and I planned to avoid it. I looked at the Shark which has great reviews here and is also on sale and I would have probably bought it had it not been for its plasticy appearance. Between that and the fact that this vacuum was 1/3 cheaper, I decided to give this one a try. Of course the fact that Costco spoils me by having excellent return policy helped too. So far I have been very pleased with my purchase. Someone really designed it very thoroughly. From the ease to unsnap parts, to retracting cord, ability to stop just the roller to a smaller than usual opening at the end of the 'nose' tool which changes suction from great to incredible. Interestingly it appears that plastic is the main component of this vacuum as well but it appears and feel more solid. Give it a try."
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:October 20, 2013

Broke first time I used it

Pros: auto cord rewind, good suction, all accessories store on vacuum
Cons: stopped working first time i used it, possible reliability issues
Model Number: Hoover WindTunnel Rewind Pet Bagless Upright UH70241
"The first time I used this Hoover, it started smoking after a couple minutes of use, and the roller stopped turning when in contact with the carpet. Opened up the bottom and a bunch of melted pieces plastic fell out. There is a nylon wheel which the belt runs over, which apparently never turned on this vacuum and wore down flat, causing the belt to get hot enough to melt plastic around it. This wheel is part of the mechanism which controls whether the roller spins or not while the vacuum is on, and is a belt tensioner.
So this may have been a bad unit, but based on other reviews on the internet, this may not be a very reliable vac, so I took it back and am trying the Shark Navigator instead, which has an electric switch to turn off the roller.
If the vacuum didn't break right away, I think I would have liked it. Love the auto cord rewind feature, but again, reliability is a concern. Many reviewers said their auto rewind stopped working after a few months, and many had overheating problems which caused the vacuum to shut off constantly.
While the Hoover had great suction, pulling dirt out of the carpet that my old vacuum didn't, the Skark pulled up a lot of dirt that the Hoover left behind. I was surprised by that, since the Hoover seemed to have great suction.
I'm really going to miss the auto cord rewind, but a vacuum should last for many years, which wasn't the case for too many reviewers for my liking."
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 23, 2013

Great for the money

Pros: powerful-rinsable filter-innovative pet hair tools
Cons: no light.
Model Number: UH70241
"I purchased this at my local Costco last night as a replacement for a Hoover I'd had since the 90s. My old one was one of the first lightweight bagless vacs with a liftoff canister, which died on me. This is a bit heavier, but it's ok because it's much more powerful. We have pet birds who are very, very messy. They scatter food and bits of cuttlebone as far as possible. This model was able to pick the stuff up with no problem. We also had dog (Great Pyranees) and cat hair on our chenille tweed couches that just didn't want to lift off before, and the upholstery tool with the rubber bits did the trick. It's much better than a brush tool that only ends up hanging onto the hair and dust bunnies. I like that the canister dumps from the bottom, unlike the old one. I like the fact that the filter is washable. It's no louder than just about any vac, and I'll have to get used to the cord feeding from the right side, rather than the left. We live in a 1923 Craftsman bungalow, which is pretty small so the cord length is no issue, but because of hard floors in most of the rooms, dust bunnies seem to come out of nowhere; I'm sure the crevice tool will be handy for getting at the hard to reach ones. I appreciate the feature that turns off the roller brush for hardwood floors - fantastic! The only negative concern I have is that there is no light, because sometimes you must vacuum up a spill of this or that crumbly stuff at night, and without an onboard light, it's hard to see if you missed anything (old houses without bright lights - what can I say). This is my third Hoover, and I will remain loyal to them as long as they keep turning out great products like this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.