Customer Reviews for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3

Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Model: M401I-A3
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
13 of 21(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Review 1 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland. OR
Date:March 26, 2014

Very good video quality

Pros: video quality, wifi, apps
Cons: remote control will not work for 1-2 min
Model Number: M401I-A3
"View quality is outstanding, but there is problem with the remote control. After setting it up and turn it off, when you turn it back on the remote will not work for 1-2 minutes. I try two TV’s, with same results; it is not a huge problem unless you leave volume high last time you use it. Beside that problem I really like it."
Review 2 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Orleans
Date:March 22, 2014

No go!

Pros: sleek n sharp appearance sound & picture decent, easy set up
Cons: wireless never worked remote loses synch, quality bugs unit died
Model Number: Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
"I bought this TV just over a month ago with no expectations on being able to use the wireless feature... Below are the issues I experienced.
1. I was never able to get the wireless to connect even though it saw the router with full signal strength. It also could not see the 5g signal from my router.
The router is located in a neighboring room and no other devices in the house have issues finding or connecting to it.
2. The remote lost synch way too often requiring you to pull both batteries out and reinstall them.
3. and the final straw... I woke up yesterday morning turned the TV on and it would come on and everything was great for 30 seconds to a minute then it would shut itself off.
You could not simply turn it back on, the unit had to be unplugged for about 5 minutes for a reset and then the whole process started over.
I tried this several times, but it never stayed on. I tried various things I saw on the net for support including holding the power button for 30 seconds after unplugging it as well as resetting the TV to factory settings. Nothing worked.
I returned the unit today for a Samsung 40" Class 1080p Smart LED HDTV UN40EH5300F - it found both router signals and connected without issue at set-up."
Review 3 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 17, 2014

Great TV for the Price

Pros: great hd quality_ color_ ease of use, setup was 123 guided by the wizard
Cons: i have not found one yet.
Model Number: Vizio - M401I-A3 - Item #804010
"I read the reviews before I decided to purchase this 40" beauty and yes I did see the listed cons that my fellow reviews pointed out but these are not show stoppers for me. I tested this TV for quality, picture alignment and overall performance and some of you are right about your observations. But quite frankly they are knit picky items in my opinion. The remote is not slow if you are pointing it correctly, the Netflix option works great if you have a quality internet speed, the color is perfect unless the light and sun distort the picture. For less than $500 dollars as compared to the other comparative choices. I said yes and I'm glad I did."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Orleans, LA
Date:March 5, 2014

So far so good

Pros: narrow frame, great picture, great sound
Cons: none so far
"I recently purchased this Vizio Smart LED tv to replace an old Toshiba tube tv which eventually began to wear out after being in use for about 12 years. So far, so good with this tv. I did extensive research and compared other brands to this one. I decided to go with the Vizio brand after receiving recommensdations from several people whose opinions I trusted. It was very easy to hook up but I did have a bit of trouble getting my cable box recognized. Once it was recognized, I've really enjoyed the beautiful picture and great sound. All in all, I am very happy with it so far."
Review 5 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 28, 2014

Not a good purchase

Pros: looks nice
Model Number: M401I-A3
"TV takes 10 to 15 seconds to give sound the remote control takes 10 seconds to change channels sometimes will not respond at all when trying to turn off."
Review 6 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 24, 2014

Excellent Smart TV

Pros: picture quality. smart tv apps. value. costco!
Cons: none
Model Number: M401i-A3
"This is our third Vizio TV and we could not be more pleased. Easy setup and connection to home wi-fi. Fantastic picture right out of box. Mounted on wall bracket up high on bedroom wall. Remote works great. Using roof top mounted antenna for local channels in full HD from broadcast towers 50 miles away. Also streaming Netflix and Hulu Plus."
Review 7 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Louis
Date:February 19, 2014

Awesome Picture But...

Pros: almost 3d quality picture, lightweight and sleek, nice stand - stable looks great, easy assembly super easy setup
Model Number: M4011
"Balky remote! I did not have to tweak the picture, though. I preferred the calibrated or calibrated dark settings depending on the show. Picture was amost 3D, color, fantastic. Returned after 6 weeks with no other problems than the remote. Sent sound through my speaker system, turning TV sound off, so not sure about sound. Apps worked fine but who needs them when it's easy to hook up to a computer and a dvd player that has them too. Wi-Fi just fine. Found my local antenna channels with built in antenna, did not bother to get a booster as it worked fine and I don't watch a lot of live tv. Returned because I want something larger. But mostly had concerns over long-term viability given the experience others have had. Spoke with a fellow customer at Costco today who has had Vizio's for 5 years without problems (we were both looking at them). I guess it depends on the individual model, whether you get a good one or not. At the price, it would be great to get a good one. If Vizio keeps trying, perhaps they will get it right. This is a 2013 model. Now trying the 2014 48" model. Heard that the 2013's have great picture but quality issues with everything else, and that the reverse is true of 2014 models. Feel free to read my review of same. Picture definitely not as good on the newer, larger one as it is on this one."
Review 8 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Point Richmond, CA
Date:January 31, 2014

surprising disappointment

Pros: every reasonable feature at a great price
Cons: quality control is terrible
Model Number: M401i-A3
"in theory and promised functionality, this is just the right tv for wireless 1080p with at least a 120 refresh rate. in practice, it suffers from the worst quality control i've seen in recent years. i am about to return set number 4 (!!!) w/i the allowed 90 day return period. set 1 had flickering pciture, set 2 went total black after 3 weeks. set 3 had audio problems on one speaker. set 4 almost lasted 2 months before light flickers started appearing in one corner. since my older vizio (4 years) has never had a problem, i'll try set #5 and keep my fingers crossed.
BTW, remote works fine for me."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014

Vertical Blue Line developed on screen

Model Number: M401I-A3
"Bought this TV a little over a month ago, and suddenly a vertical blue line appears on the screen. Thankfully this happened while I still have 90 days to return this item."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:January 12, 2014

Sleek looking disappointment

Pros: sleek looking thin design.
Cons: quality - two defective units in a row, mediocre picture quality, balky remote, bad placement of ir receiver
Model Number: Vizio 40" Class 1080P 120Hz LED HDTV M401I-A3
"I had heard good things about vizio products and had high expectations. Bought this to fit an old-style TV cabinet. First one out of the box had several bad pixels. Returned it hoping it was just a random quality issue. Second one would regularly stop recognizing the remote - the only solution was to reach behind it, unplug the power and plug it back in. And, yes, the remote is not great, with button response very subject to how hard you press. This is made worse by placement of the IR receiver on the left bottom corner of the unit. From my sofa on the left I had to reach out about 4 feet to get it to work.
The final straw - my wife never liked the picture quality, and no matter how we tweaked settings it never satisfied her. The Samsung we bought to replace this looks much better to her on one of the standard modes."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orem, UT
Date:December 28, 2013

NO Parental Controls on Apps

Pros: picture is great
Cons: no parental controls on apps (netflix hulu etc)., remote design is frustrating.
Model Number: VIZIO M401i-A3
"This TV is great unless you have kids. I turned on every parental control possible only to find out that the apps have absolutely no controls at all. The Costco Concierge that I talked to said that "the apps have free reign." Really? I can block cruddy TV, but YouTube, Netflix and Hulu can come into my home unrestricted? How hard can it be to program a four-digit password on these things? I can delete the app, but anyone can put it right back on. I am just really disappointed and will return the TV on Monday. The apps are cool and I like streaming right through the TV, but have to protect my family from the bad stuff. Also, as mentioned by other reviewers, the remote is frustrating. So disappointing!"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:irvine, ca
Date:December 18, 2013

So far on the fence

Pros: the video quality quite good when properly set up.
Cons: the remote control is an issue... a battery hog., remote has weak signal and repeats button presses
Model Number: M401I-A3
"The video quality is quite good, specially once you've done some fine tuning, and the response of the HD tuner is far faster than what normal just two years ago.
The remote, ahem!, is a different story, it definitely is frustating.. but I can live with it.
My concern is that in seven weeks the remote has gone through two sets of batteries and when the batteries die I have to unplug the TV from the wall before it will re-recognize the remote with new batteries. Turning the TV "off" does not work as that only puts it into standby. It must be a "cold boot" by unplugging it and removing all power from the TV for 10 seconds or so.
I plan to call Vizio and see what the deal is... being that I have 90 days to return it, I better get going and figure out whether this is design issue or a manufacturing problem with our TV.
Otherwise, the TV works and looks fine in our bedroom."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:December 4, 2013

great picture

Pros: great picture
Cons: tv guide ?
Model Number: Vizio M401I-A3 40"
"easy to use , stunning picture.
I do not have any problems with remote like others stated .
There seems to be no control over apps by user .
I couldn't find a TV guide like samsung has when used with broadcast TV .
Sound is OK . I will add soundbar .
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crown Point, Indiana
Date:October 7, 2013

Modern, sleek, state of the art

Pros: smart tv that will satisfy all family members
Cons: none
Model Number: M401I-A3
"This television doesn't just "boast", it delivers. The picture is sharp, clear, and vivid. The trim design is excellent for the size and the quality of this television."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 4, 2013

Beware!

Pros: great pricethe picture was sharp and great color.
Cons: life span was two years.
Model Number: Vizio 40" Class 1080P
"I was delighted when I year got this TV, but while commenting on the great picture, half the screen went black. Apparently, the panel has gone and it is irrepairable. The person I spoke to at Vizio was rude and told me 'hard luck'!
What a disappointment! I found other reviews warning buyers of the same problem. So overall, expensive for a very short lifespan. I'm buying a Panasonic tomorrow.
"
4 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, Tx
Date:October 1, 2013

New model for 2013

Pros: versital ports 3 hdmi composite usb etc., simple but sophisticated setup and networking, wifi streaming is fast and reliable, netflix button on remote, works with google chromecast w/ usb power, built-in manual
Cons: sluggish remote control !? s-l-o-w response!?, dim screen overall (not for bright rooms), screen reflects light (lighly matted screen), 3d button on remote (3d on on 40" model)
Model Number: M401i-A3
"Great TV for a dorm room or office. Full of smart TV features including WiFi, surround sound, on-line apps, and surprisingly good sound (better quality and much louder than I expected). This is a new model for 2013 and has none kinks earlier models had. Some glare on the screen, although is blurred. Not bright enough for some rooms. I love buying a TV made in USA !"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern, VA
Date:September 20, 2013

Nice Picture - Horrible Remote

Pros: picture quality and sound are very good
Cons: remote is sucky
"The picture and sound quality are as good as any 40" LCD I looked at. Nice looking TV.
The remote is horrible and unresponsive at times. I noticed this on initial setup. Thankfully I use my FiOS remote most of the time, but when you want to make a settings change it isn't a good experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg PA
Date:September 13, 2013

Remote sucks

Pros: competitive price, good sound and picture quality
Cons: remote - not responsive.
Model Number: Vizio M401I-A3
"After returning Samsung UN40F6350AF (had issue with fixing it's stand); got this VIZIO. The response of the remote is pathetic. Some times I have to press 4 times to put the TV on.
Thinking of returning this TV too.
Not having a good experience with TV-Buying with Costco :("
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 1, 2013

Very nice except remote

Pros: great picture
Cons: remote
Model Number: M401I-A3
"Picture quality is excellent. Sound is not bad considering how thin the set is, although I'll probably be adding a sound bar in the future. Remote is awful, well not the remote itself but you must point it directly at the lower left hand corner when facing the screen for it to work. It's the same using either the Vizio remote or my Comcast remote."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vizio 40" Class 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV M401I-A3
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 19, 2013

Must Buy

Pros: apps, integration, installation, size, clarity
Cons: not a con but the app menu needs hires graphics
Model Number: M401I-A3
"I won't bore you all with how I was feeling or the problems I was having in life prior to my purchase like most reviews. I'll just bullet list and you can like the information or not.
- Ease of purchase: Awesome (Duh, it's Costco).
- Ease of Install: Simple=Awesome
- Picture Clarity: Awesome
- App Clarity: 16 bit colors and dull. Not a reason to not purchase and more of a request. If it's an HD set, make the menu system a little more crisp.
- Apps (General): The only thing it doesn't have is HBO Go. Not a surprise but most sets do not have it so no biggie. Overall, Awesome Apps
- Ease of integration: Easy to activate your set for all streaming services you subscribe to. Follows standard activations for each app. You don't have to log into every app (which is great).
- Price: Awesome for what you get. I don't have a cable/sat box hooked up to it and I only use this set for streaming services.
Overall: Great for the person that wants to cut the cord. The apps are the best I have seen on any TV out there and without the high price tag. It just works. Low price / High Functionality. SOLD! Buy it today."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>