Customer Reviews for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Model: SNH-1011ND
Average Customer Rating:
2.769 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
14
17 of 39(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Review 1 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:January 31, 2014

Very disappointing for a Samsung product

Pros: relatively cheap., hardware fairly simple to connect to wifi, hardware fairly good, decent real time pictures., works from inside to view outside.
Cons: not working as advertized, not ready for prime time, response to samsung problems rather poor.
Model Number: SNH-1011N
"The hardware is fine, not great.
The installation is relatively easy.
The documentation is poor! Samsung Smartcam website does not even have a decent detailed User's Manual. You have to find the manual on a User Manual website which is not part of Samsumg. Once you find it, you quickly realize that the manual is not that great.
The Samsung Web Viewer is not all working. A week after the installation, and several calls to Samsung service, the system does not capture as advertized the pictures triggered by events (motion and sound). The time-stamped alarms triggered by events are saved, but you cannot review the pictures triggered by the event. On the Web viewer, just blank picture frames are displayed for each event triggered alarm.
I tried to send the alarm to my Gmail account (a feature that is supposedly available) but again it does not work. Besides, the procedure to send alarms and event triggered pictures to your own Picassa or Youtube account is not working. The procedure to set-up the use of those features are complicated and poorly documented.
As I said, I called several times to get problem resolved. Each time I called, the technicians report that the problems are on Samsung end and that they are working on resolving them. They are well aware of the problems but have no clue about timing. They actually seem to be pretty much kept in the dark by Samsung.
Infrared working only inside. As expected you cannot monitor outside at night with camera installed inside (viewing through window). The camera would have to be installed outside, but I am not sure that it is rugged enough to sustain unfavorable weather conditions. Besides, the IR illuminator which comes with the camera is not very powerful. I have investigated the idea of installing supplemental IR illuminator should I find a way to install a camera outside or be able to set up the camera without having to set it up behind a window.
"
Review 2 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Ga.
Date:January 27, 2014

Get help

Pros: appears well constructed and easy to conceal
Cons: enclosed instructions are absolutely useless, you must call the tech support number.
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"The product appears durable, the power cords are long enough to facilitate placement, the width and depth of the picture are excellent."
Review 3 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Enumclaw, Wa
Date:January 26, 2014

Pretty Good

Pros: picture quality
Cons: no outdoor unit
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"This camera set is not bad, but not great. The setup fair. It would be nice if you could have the app make a special sound when it alerts you. It would be nice if they made and outdoor unit or a protective cover. It would be nice to see a PC app (not just web page) too. Works great on droid."
Review 4 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverdale, NJ
Date:January 25, 2014

Great security camera

Pros: easy set up, nice clear image in daylight or nighttime, great price, compact
Cons: can't pan or tilt
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"Very easy to set up with iPhone. Don't need to use your PC or Mac computer to set these up.
The iPhone app works without issue.
I can now easily monitor my Shore House...without monthly fees!!'"
Review 5 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:January 16, 2014

so satisfied

Pros: i can see and hear them while i'm away.
Cons: wifi is a little bit of a challenge to set up.
Model Number: samsung smart cam
"I'm using this to monitor my Assisted Living Home and so happy to be able to see and hear what's going on in the common areas (living Room and Kitchen). I'm getting another pack."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 10, 2014

Pretty good, but with a HUGE flaw...

Pros: straightforward setup, high value, and a good android app.
Cons: not internet explorer 11 compatable, the motion detecton can be a bit hard to dial in, on your own when setting up the youtube account, and lacks compatability with ie11!
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"My setup with these cameras was painless and they worked quite well. One of my units is networked via an Ethernet cable and one is networked wirelessly. Picture and sound quality are surprisingly good for the price.
The HUGE flaw is that to get the things to work, you need to access them through the samsungsmartcam.com website. And that website is NOT (as of 1/10/14) compatible with the most recent versions of Internet Explorer. No kidding. Is this 2005? When I got through to the nice enough tech support guy, his only suggestion was to install another browser. Really?
The only way I can use them is via the quite good app on my Samsung smartphone. Perhaps that was the manufacturers clever plan all along?
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:January 6, 2014

Perfect for multiple applications

Pros: easy set up.
"I purchased this product for two reasons. One was to monitor my child and the other was to monitor a second home. Resolution is not the best but it does the job."
Review 8 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Date:January 4, 2014

not for Xfinity LAN or Apple

Pros: compact with good picture motion night vision, costco takes this stuff back!
Cons: does not work with xfinity wan/lan server hp pc, does not work with apple (apple refused samsung
Model Number: SNH-1011n Smartcam
"I really wanted this to work because it indicates a lot of nice features, but Samsung will not work with any of my systems (except my iphone). Apple refused to load any apps from Samsung! on my laptop. Help desk at Samsung walked me through the add-in process, but it still didnt work on the Xfinity server. I could view live images through the cameras using the iphone, but had no local functionality."
Review 9 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 31, 2013

Worth every penny

Pros: 2 way talk feature, can view from anywhere with my phone (android), wifi capability, night vision, motion and noise alerts, great picture if close to router or wired in, 2 way talk!!!
Cons: night vision is only clear if its competely dark, apple phone viewing not the greatest, for best picture and steady stream must be wired
Model Number: SNH-101ND
"purchased this product as a gift for my Wife.(She Loves it) Easy way to keep on eye on my teenagers. Especially love the 2 way talk feature can make sure they are actually duing their chores, or give them a friendly reminder."
Review 10 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 29, 2013

Far better than most reviewers here represent

Pros: appear to be good quality, compact, video quality sound night vision is all excellen, like the 2-way talk feature, switch between hd and lower quality to save bandwi
Cons: very little instructions in the box, ie website not working well, can't turn cameras off without unplugging
"We were pretty hesitant based on the reviews seen here, but given that they were the best deal available on the market, and we are non-Apple users, we decided to give them a try. So far we are very happy with them, and the only reason I am giving 4 stars is due to the installation process taking a little while (2-3 hours, although we were also distracted by football:) due to software issues.
First off, we are using them with Wi-Fi and either Microsoft, Google or Android products, so this review does not detail any Apple compatibility issues.
Second, a recent reviewer previously said the YouTube function is not working anymore and a paid subscription is required. This must no longer be true, because we have had no problem using the YouTube function as of today.
We have not been using the product long enough to really know about longevity, etc, but we tested out several features and are very happy so far, and they work as advertised with good quality and appropriate triggering, etc.
The primary reason I wanted to post this review so soon into our usage, is to provide tips for future buyers so they can have an easier setup than we did. First, there are hardly any instructions online, and using an IE browser at the website we were instructed to download software for further direction. After multiple attempts with the website looping on 2 different computers, we were ready to give up and chalk it up to problems the rest of the reviewers had. However, after downloading the mobile app on my smartphone, I had no problem completing the installation process due to its clear instructions and far better app functionality. I also installed the second camera using a tablet, with ease. Later, after knowing the cameras and app work just fine, I made one last attempt on my PC with Google Chrome, and had no problems with the website for setup or operation. Moral of the story, the IE website interface is poor, the rest of the product seems as advertised. We are not techy people, but tend to be persistent when it comes to wanting things to be successful. I hope our triumph can help you enjoy this product. Just plan on completing the installation with a mobile device or a different browser."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sparks, NV
Date:December 27, 2013

Worth it for what IT is.

Pros: easy to use and set up
Cons: no fish eye lense
Model Number: Samsung Smartcam WI-FI 2 pack
"For the $200 it serves it's purpose. Easy to set up and navigate through the android app. I got it as a Christmas gift wanting it to keep an eye on my dogs. I like that I can remotely speak to them when they are being bad. For those who complain about the functionality of the camera need to keep in mind this isn't by any means a high end security system. It is what it is for the price and in my opinion is a great little set up."
Review 12 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013

Looks like quality, but bad software

Pros: slick looking cameras
Cons: poor software and interface
Model Number: SNH-1011N
"I spent hours trying to set these cameras up before they finally worked and I am pretty tech savvy. The problem is in the software that is very buggy, not compatible with the latest version of Internet Explorer (use Chrome instead), and is too intrusive into exposing your computer to Samsung's servers. The product needs further development before it is ready for the public."
Review 13 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 26, 2013

Very good camera

Pros: easy setup nice design
Cons: none so far
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"My friend bought this camera and recomended to me but when I saw the review, it was kinda bad so I couldn't decide to buy the camera. But I decided to get one pair because I needed one for my house. It was very easy to install the camera. it took me less than 10 minute (it was first time setting these type of camera) using my samsung galaxy note ii and took me another 5 minute to install at the wall. It works great. I don't have to ask cable company to fix my IP address. I check my house time to time from my work place using wi-fi and 4g network and it's very nice. It doesn't work with 3g I think (may be it's too slow). Over all, I love the camera and good thing about this camera is, I can check my house from anywhere in the world as long as I can connect to wi-fi."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:December 20, 2013

Looks good but does not work

Pros: looks nice
Cons: it does not work
Model Number: snh1011nd
"The camera is nice looking and the setup is not bad but the web site to access the camera is absolutely horrible. If a good connection can not be established, you cannot modify anything like alarms, etc.. Most of the time you are looking at a "please wait a moment" circling thingy."
Review 15 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 19, 2013

Bummer

Pros: none
Cons: these don't work - waste of time & money.
"We were hoping this was the answer to our office's security needs, but as a previous reviewer said, it doesn't work with an Apple router. Ours didn't even work with the ethernet cable, & the rep (once they called back), couldn't figure out how to help. Bringing them back."
Review 16 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 19, 2013

Poor Connectivity

Pros: the app was nicely designed.
Cons: poor network connectivity/streaming capability
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"After setting one of these cameras up on my WiFi I was able to connect to the camera and see the feed for less than 3 seconds, before the video locked up and I had to close the app and attempt to re-connect. Very poor streaming, even while on the same network."
Review 17 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013

I don't care for this product

Cons: plenty of glitches, annoying logging back on after the cams log out, image quality mediocre, unreliable, smartphone app not user friendly, limited instructions
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"The setup was simple enough but that was it. Both cameras when motion or audio activated are supposed to upload a 30 second clip to your youtube account; one of them stopped doing that the first day and could not be reset to do so. The cameras also went offline on their own and it is a cumbersome process to get them logged back in. Instructions provided are limited and you have to figure it out yourself. When they work they are acceptable for home interior surveillance purposes. The rest of the time they are unreliable and annoying to work with. I find the smartphone app mediocre at best. constantly going back through screens to get what you want. I'm returning this product under the 90 day warranty for my money back. I would not recommend it or buy it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salem, Oregon
Date:December 16, 2013

It's going back.

Pros: i don't have to deal with it ever again.
Cons: too many to list.
Model Number: snh-1011n
"This product is not an easy setup. I like to control my wireless router using MAC address filtering and WPA. This device is not configured to do this. In fact, the support manual tells you to buy a new router if it does not support WPS. But, even after disabling my own router to the point of nearly zero security just to get these to work I could never get the device to register. I received an error message that the serial number was incorrect or that the device was not connected to the router. Even after the router had connected to it via the WPS. Needless to say, after 2 hours of dinking around with it. I'm done. Too bad. This product besmirches Samsung's rather good reputation."
Review 19 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Date:December 15, 2013

Waste of Time

Pros: packaging was perfect, camera appeared to power up fine (led came on)
Cons: zero way of seeing camera image, camera not "wireless" (pwrcable-outlet to camera)
"Purchased yesterday & returned yesterday (same day). Unable to access camera except through external Samsung website that was down. Otherwise _MUST_ pay for other website (30-day 'free' trial - ha ha ha)"
Review 20 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Louisville
Date:December 12, 2013

Not as advertised (as of 12-12-13)

Pros: easy straight forward setup (see below), nice piece of hardware including mounting stuff.
Cons: need to pay a subscription to view a triggering, event. youtube/google was samsung's "free", service but google is blocking it now. samsung, says they will resolve this in the next few weeks, but as of 12-12-13 you need to buy subscription., the camera has a light and the light is always on.
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"Do not understand the difficulty of setting up as some have complained about. If you know how to set up a wireless printer, etc., this should be and was no problem. Very straight forward.
Video image is good even in night vision. It also monitors sound so you can hear what is going on in the vicinity of the camera and you can remotely send audio to the camera, yes ask whoever is in the room a question, carry on a conversation, etc.
No zoom so if you are looking to get close-ups of someone entering your house, room or where ever, the camera needs to be close, too. Does that make sense?
Security wise it works on detection of either motion or sound, both of which can be adjusted for sensitivity. When an event is detected 30-seconds of video is uploaded, so you can view what triggered the event.
Here's the issue (Not as Advertised): You need a "YouTube" account (which by itself is not the issue) to record and automatically upload video when motion or sound triggers a event. Right now Google (who owns YouTube) is blocking Samsung from automatically uploading, so you have no ability to view what triggered an event for free. If you want to see what triggered the event you need to buy a subscription. You can see live video no problem on pc/pad or phone for free, but not the triggering event. You get notification of something happening, but the video is not captured, you can only see a live feed, unless you want to buy a subscription."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>