Customer Reviews for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Model: SNH-1011ND
Average Customer Rating:
2.769 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
14
17 of 39(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Review 1 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:November 27, 2013

Hugely disappointing

Pros: good design
Cons: terrible security
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"Design looks nice - what none of the information I saw before purchase told me was the ONLY way to access this camera is through Samsung's servers. No possible way I'm giving strangers access to the video feed from my home any time they want. Password protection? Mm hmmm. Most IP cameras (and I've used several) allow you to access the camera directly. Not this one. Avoid it."
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 10, 2013

Not worth it

Pros: costco has a 90 day return policy
Cons: camera is not worth the price
"I purchased these security camera's to use as a baby monitor, since our actual Samsung baby monitor stopped working. First off they are not compatible wirelessly with Apple routers unless it is connected through ethernet cord. So unless you plan to have an ethernet cord attached, these aren't the camera's for you. The camera's were ok, but there are better security camera's out there than have a pan feature, higher resolution and much more for a cheaper price. We used these with our iPad through the Samsung Smartcam app, but that app is just ok. Not really a good app for a baby monitor in my opinion. In the end I ended up returning these camera's."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Louisville
Date:December 12, 2013

Not as advertised (as of 12-12-13)

Pros: easy straight forward setup (see below), nice piece of hardware including mounting stuff.
Cons: need to pay a subscription to view a triggering, event. youtube/google was samsung's "free", service but google is blocking it now. samsung, says they will resolve this in the next few weeks, but as of 12-12-13 you need to buy subscription., the camera has a light and the light is always on.
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"Do not understand the difficulty of setting up as some have complained about. If you know how to set up a wireless printer, etc., this should be and was no problem. Very straight forward.
Video image is good even in night vision. It also monitors sound so you can hear what is going on in the vicinity of the camera and you can remotely send audio to the camera, yes ask whoever is in the room a question, carry on a conversation, etc.
No zoom so if you are looking to get close-ups of someone entering your house, room or where ever, the camera needs to be close, too. Does that make sense?
Security wise it works on detection of either motion or sound, both of which can be adjusted for sensitivity. When an event is detected 30-seconds of video is uploaded, so you can view what triggered the event.
Here's the issue (Not as Advertised): You need a "YouTube" account (which by itself is not the issue) to record and automatically upload video when motion or sound triggers a event. Right now Google (who owns YouTube) is blocking Samsung from automatically uploading, so you have no ability to view what triggered an event for free. If you want to see what triggered the event you need to buy a subscription. You can see live video no problem on pc/pad or phone for free, but not the triggering event. You get notification of something happening, but the video is not captured, you can only see a live feed, unless you want to buy a subscription."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 26, 2013

Very good camera

Pros: easy setup nice design
Cons: none so far
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"My friend bought this camera and recomended to me but when I saw the review, it was kinda bad so I couldn't decide to buy the camera. But I decided to get one pair because I needed one for my house. It was very easy to install the camera. it took me less than 10 minute (it was first time setting these type of camera) using my samsung galaxy note ii and took me another 5 minute to install at the wall. It works great. I don't have to ask cable company to fix my IP address. I check my house time to time from my work place using wi-fi and 4g network and it's very nice. It doesn't work with 3g I think (may be it's too slow). Over all, I love the camera and good thing about this camera is, I can check my house from anywhere in the world as long as I can connect to wi-fi."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:colorado
Date:November 22, 2013

Works amazing

Pros: great picture and sound, works amazing
Cons: not easy to set up like it says, the light on the camera should be on the back side
"We bought these cameras to keep an eye on our two dogs during the day while we are at work. We have one dog that gets up on our bed and chews up everything. I love the microphone so when she is doing something bad I can catch her doing it and yell at her to stop. So far it has worked great. Hoping to break her of the bad habit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013

I don't care for this product

Cons: plenty of glitches, annoying logging back on after the cams log out, image quality mediocre, unreliable, smartphone app not user friendly, limited instructions
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"The setup was simple enough but that was it. Both cameras when motion or audio activated are supposed to upload a 30 second clip to your youtube account; one of them stopped doing that the first day and could not be reset to do so. The cameras also went offline on their own and it is a cumbersome process to get them logged back in. Instructions provided are limited and you have to figure it out yourself. When they work they are acceptable for home interior surveillance purposes. The rest of the time they are unreliable and annoying to work with. I find the smartphone app mediocre at best. constantly going back through screens to get what you want. I'm returning this product under the 90 day warranty for my money back. I would not recommend it or buy it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York NY
Date:October 3, 2013

Worst Customer Support EVER!!!

Pros: none
Cons: low quality video via browser. horrible tech supp.
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"Do not buy this product. Worked for couple of days and it stopped uploading videos to youtube (thats the only way it records). Called the Customer service - the number on their website is managed by I think 1 or 2 people who are not professionals. Its extremely hard to get any help from them.
The video through web browser is never high quality. Not easy to setup."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 29, 2013

Far better than most reviewers here represent

Pros: appear to be good quality, compact, video quality sound night vision is all excellen, like the 2-way talk feature, switch between hd and lower quality to save bandwi
Cons: very little instructions in the box, ie website not working well, can't turn cameras off without unplugging
"We were pretty hesitant based on the reviews seen here, but given that they were the best deal available on the market, and we are non-Apple users, we decided to give them a try. So far we are very happy with them, and the only reason I am giving 4 stars is due to the installation process taking a little while (2-3 hours, although we were also distracted by football:) due to software issues.
First off, we are using them with Wi-Fi and either Microsoft, Google or Android products, so this review does not detail any Apple compatibility issues.
Second, a recent reviewer previously said the YouTube function is not working anymore and a paid subscription is required. This must no longer be true, because we have had no problem using the YouTube function as of today.
We have not been using the product long enough to really know about longevity, etc, but we tested out several features and are very happy so far, and they work as advertised with good quality and appropriate triggering, etc.
The primary reason I wanted to post this review so soon into our usage, is to provide tips for future buyers so they can have an easier setup than we did. First, there are hardly any instructions online, and using an IE browser at the website we were instructed to download software for further direction. After multiple attempts with the website looping on 2 different computers, we were ready to give up and chalk it up to problems the rest of the reviewers had. However, after downloading the mobile app on my smartphone, I had no problem completing the installation process due to its clear instructions and far better app functionality. I also installed the second camera using a tablet, with ease. Later, after knowing the cameras and app work just fine, I made one last attempt on my PC with Google Chrome, and had no problems with the website for setup or operation. Moral of the story, the IE website interface is poor, the rest of the product seems as advertised. We are not techy people, but tend to be persistent when it comes to wanting things to be successful. I hope our triumph can help you enjoy this product. Just plan on completing the installation with a mobile device or a different browser."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Germantown, TN
Date:July 12, 2013

Great surveillance set, amazing notification

Cons: needed help to set it up in an "apple" environment
Model Number: SNH-1011N
"I have been looking for DIY home security sets and after reading many reviews. Costco had the item a avery good price. I WAS ABLE TO SET IT UP ON MAV BBOK PRO, MY IPHONE 5 AND AIRPORT EXTREME. I did need a little help from Youtube to understand how to set up the router which did not have a WPS button but working thru the airport utility and the video it all worked very well. Will strongly recommend this to by friends."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:January 16, 2014

so satisfied

Pros: i can see and hear them while i'm away.
Cons: wifi is a little bit of a challenge to set up.
Model Number: samsung smart cam
"I'm using this to monitor my Assisted Living Home and so happy to be able to see and hear what's going on in the common areas (living Room and Kitchen). I'm getting another pack."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 10, 2014

Pretty good, but with a HUGE flaw...

Pros: straightforward setup, high value, and a good android app.
Cons: not internet explorer 11 compatable, the motion detecton can be a bit hard to dial in, on your own when setting up the youtube account, and lacks compatability with ie11!
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"My setup with these cameras was painless and they worked quite well. One of my units is networked via an Ethernet cable and one is networked wirelessly. Picture and sound quality are surprisingly good for the price.
The HUGE flaw is that to get the things to work, you need to access them through the samsungsmartcam.com website. And that website is NOT (as of 1/10/14) compatible with the most recent versions of Internet Explorer. No kidding. Is this 2005? When I got through to the nice enough tech support guy, his only suggestion was to install another browser. Really?
The only way I can use them is via the quite good app on my Samsung smartphone. Perhaps that was the manufacturers clever plan all along?
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 13, 2013

Android SmartCam app is terrible - unfinished dev

Pros: price
Cons: android app has limited features, app difficult to navigate, camera disconnects, notification features on box not found in app, mic/speaker are poor quality
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"The Samsung SmartCam android app is very poorly developed. Looks rushed to market. Notification features are impossible to find. The camera keeps disconnecting even when Samsung tablet and camera are on same WIFI network. Mic and speaker are poor quality. Like other Samsung apps it appears they rushed it to production as fast as possible without completely testing and polishing. Costco should reconsider featuring this camera as it does not meet their high quality standards."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 16, 2013

Cost vs Benefit is OK

Pros: setup worked well when connected thru ethernet, iphone app and alert customization is good, youtube picasa uploads works great, wifi worked fine after initial wired setup
Cons: setup using iphone didnt work at all, none of the browsers in mac works w/ their site, mounting on a window is hard, nigh vision is useless thru a window(reflection), no ipad app only iphone app, resolution is 640x480 only low for the price., outer box says 1011nd but inside it says 1011n???
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"I recently bought the Dropcam which is awesome in all the counts except the subscription part. So bought this mainly for the free YouTube upload and alert feature.
Overall I am going to try this for a while and decide whether to keep it or not. May be wait for their HD version of this. If it is HD quality I would have given 4 starts and if the wifi setup worked and window mounting is as simple as Dropcam 5 stars for sure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Enumclaw, Wa
Date:January 26, 2014

Pretty Good

Pros: picture quality
Cons: no outdoor unit
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"This camera set is not bad, but not great. The setup fair. It would be nice if you could have the app make a special sound when it alerts you. It would be nice if they made and outdoor unit or a protective cover. It would be nice to see a PC app (not just web page) too. Works great on droid."
Review 15 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2013

decent value. Not the best, not the worst.

Model Number: SNH 1011
"-Next time I would look for the # TVL so I can compare it against other similar models.
-I continue to have error messages for the interface with with You Tube. I am surprised the ways to troubleshoot the interface is not a FAQ item. I submitted an online service request.
-It's a decent value, that's why I graded it with a 3. I purchase only a pair. Now I will try a different vendor to see which one the best value."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:January 31, 2014

Very disappointing for a Samsung product

Pros: relatively cheap., hardware fairly simple to connect to wifi, hardware fairly good, decent real time pictures., works from inside to view outside.
Cons: not working as advertized, not ready for prime time, response to samsung problems rather poor.
Model Number: SNH-1011N
"The hardware is fine, not great.
The installation is relatively easy.
The documentation is poor! Samsung Smartcam website does not even have a decent detailed User's Manual. You have to find the manual on a User Manual website which is not part of Samsumg. Once you find it, you quickly realize that the manual is not that great.
The Samsung Web Viewer is not all working. A week after the installation, and several calls to Samsung service, the system does not capture as advertized the pictures triggered by events (motion and sound). The time-stamped alarms triggered by events are saved, but you cannot review the pictures triggered by the event. On the Web viewer, just blank picture frames are displayed for each event triggered alarm.
I tried to send the alarm to my Gmail account (a feature that is supposedly available) but again it does not work. Besides, the procedure to send alarms and event triggered pictures to your own Picassa or Youtube account is not working. The procedure to set-up the use of those features are complicated and poorly documented.
As I said, I called several times to get problem resolved. Each time I called, the technicians report that the problems are on Samsung end and that they are working on resolving them. They are well aware of the problems but have no clue about timing. They actually seem to be pretty much kept in the dark by Samsung.
Infrared working only inside. As expected you cannot monitor outside at night with camera installed inside (viewing through window). The camera would have to be installed outside, but I am not sure that it is rugged enough to sustain unfavorable weather conditions. Besides, the IR illuminator which comes with the camera is not very powerful. I have investigated the idea of installing supplemental IR illuminator should I find a way to install a camera outside or be able to set up the camera without having to set it up behind a window.
"
Review 17 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Ga.
Date:January 27, 2014

Get help

Pros: appears well constructed and easy to conceal
Cons: enclosed instructions are absolutely useless, you must call the tech support number.
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"The product appears durable, the power cords are long enough to facilitate placement, the width and depth of the picture are excellent."
Review 18 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverdale, NJ
Date:January 25, 2014

Great security camera

Pros: easy set up, nice clear image in daylight or nighttime, great price, compact
Cons: can't pan or tilt
Model Number: SNH-1011ND
"Very easy to set up with iPhone. Don't need to use your PC or Mac computer to set these up.
The iPhone app works without issue.
I can now easily monitor my Shore House...without monthly fees!!'"
Review 19 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salem, Oregon
Date:December 16, 2013

It's going back.

Pros: i don't have to deal with it ever again.
Cons: too many to list.
Model Number: snh-1011n
"This product is not an easy setup. I like to control my wireless router using MAC address filtering and WPA. This device is not configured to do this. In fact, the support manual tells you to buy a new router if it does not support WPS. But, even after disabling my own router to the point of nearly zero security just to get these to work I could never get the device to register. I received an error message that the serial number was incorrect or that the device was not connected to the router. Even after the router had connected to it via the WPS. Needless to say, after 2 hours of dinking around with it. I'm done. Too bad. This product besmirches Samsung's rather good reputation."
Review 20 for Samsung SmartCam Wi-Fi Security Cameras 2-Pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Date:January 4, 2014

not for Xfinity LAN or Apple

Pros: compact with good picture motion night vision, costco takes this stuff back!
Cons: does not work with xfinity wan/lan server hp pc, does not work with apple (apple refused samsung
Model Number: SNH-1011n Smartcam
"I really wanted this to work because it indicates a lot of nice features, but Samsung will not work with any of my systems (except my iphone). Apple refused to load any apps from Samsung! on my laptop. Help desk at Samsung walked me through the add-in process, but it still didnt work on the Xfinity server. I could view live images through the cameras using the iphone, but had no local functionality."
1 2 next>>