Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec

Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Limit 5 per Household/Membership PowerTouch with Aquatech adds power to your morning with more minutes per charge, fully washable heads and DualPrecision heads, that give you a cleaner shave. The Aquatec seal ensures a comfortable dry shave and a refreshing wet shave. Includes: AT880 PowerTouch with Aquatech razor Power cord Cleaning brush, Protection cap Protection cap Additional HQ8 shaving head Travel pouch Features: 4.875H x 14.25w x 9.75h Total package weight: 2.45 lbs Display: 1 LED indication, Battery full indication, Battery low indication, Charging indication, Quick charge indication Shaving minutes: 50+ Shaving time: Up to 21 days Replacement head: Replace every yr with HQ8 Contour-following: Dynamic contour response, SmartPivot Shaving System: Super Lift&Cut, Styling: Integrated pop up trimmer Close Shaving Performance Patented Super Lift & Cut blade raise hairs to cut closer Effectively shave long hairs & short stubble Comfort Contour Following Heads Pivot and Flex to follow every curve for comfort Easy to Use Up to 50 shaving minutes, 1 hour charge For easy cleaning, and wet & dry use Perfect for trimming your sideburns and moustache Skin Friendly Aquatec: refreshing wet shave with foam or an easy dry shave Glides smoothly over the curves of your face Low- friction SkinGlide for an extra smooth shave Super Lift & Cut The first blade raises each hair while the second blade comfortably cuts it below skin level, for a really smooth result DualPrecision Heads Comfortably shave both long hairs and short stubble 1. Slots cut long hairs 2. Holes cut stubble Pivoting and Flexing Heads Flexing heads stay in close contact with your skin, while the pivoting neck adds an extra dimension of movement – all giving you a close, fast, and comfortable shave. Pop-up Trimmer Complete your look by using the Pop-up trimmer. Perfect for maintaining a moustache and trimming sideburns. Water-resistant For easy cleaning, and wet & dry use SkinGlide system Low-friction SkinGlide shaving surface slides smoothly along your skin for a close, easy shave Aquatec Wet and Dry The AquaTec seal on the Philips electric shaver makes it 100% waterproof. Use it in the shower with your favorite shaving gel or foam for extra skin comfort. Naturally you can also shave dry for convenience Cordless Use Only An efficient, powerful lithium-ion battery gives you more shaves per charge. Charge it for an hour and you’ll have up to 50 minutes of shaving time – that’s around 17 shaves. Charge it for 3 minutes and you'll have enough power for one shave.
Average Customer Rating:
3.05 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
4
11 of 20(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Review 1 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:September 14, 2014

Did not last a year

Pros: worked ok
Cons: didn't last
"The battery died after regular use in about 10 months. Buy the cheap one for under $40."
Review 2 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Windsor, Ont.
Date:June 11, 2014

Knock on wood

Pros: easy clean up less noisy
Cons: non replaceable battery expensive shaving heads
Model Number: AT 880
"This is my second Norelco electric shaver. My AT921 on/off button failed, then the battery died after 2 years so its out of warranty and the battery is non replaceable. I hope they will make the battery replaceable so they wont end up in landfills."
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Queens, NY
Date:June 7, 2014

Great razor

Pros: quick charge
Cons: none
"Bought this as an extra razor for a father's day gift. Shaves well. Comes with an extra set of blades."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:May 25, 2014

Good shaver

Model Number: Aquatic
"This Aquatic razor is worth the money. This is the second one I have purchased, one for home and the other for travel. I think my shaving experiences are different from others due to my “facial topography” since I use at times either a Gillette Mach 3 or Fusion in collaboration with the Aquatic. However, to protect my face from razor scratches, I use the aquatic alone more than half the time. I like the extended battery charge given by the razor as well as the shave itself. However, to get a good shave I have found that I need to use a gel or Nivea shaving foam with it. Shaving dry or with a pre-shave lotion does not do the job. Finally, I would recommend that a user clean the heads after each shave – simply open the cover and run hot water into the blades from the underside. I found one thing interesting. I have an old plug in Norelco from 1990. When I use a light moisturizing gel to shave with it, the results are excellent – much better than when using pre-shave lotions. Just don’t let water get down in the power case."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:May 16, 2014

Very poor for tough beards

Pros: none that i can tell.
Cons: twice the time for half the shave
"I normally use regular safety razors, and got this product to try for a change. It takes twice as long for half as good of a shave, and I have to go back over my face with a regular razor to catch all the spots that the electric missed. I tried it at three different lengths. With one day stubble, it doesn't do anything. With two days it works, but not very well. Three days was just too much for it, and it didn't work on my neck at all. I will be returning this product."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rockville, MD
Date:April 8, 2014

Worst Product, Switching Brands alltogether

Cons: shaver does not work when plugged in.
"I bought this product from Costco. It ended up dying similar to other reviews. The battery simply doesn't carry a charge and since you can't plug the shaver in and use it at the same time that basically signals the end of the shaver. I got a replacement from Norelco/Phillips and the same thing happened again with the replacement shaver. That is the battery doesn't carry a charge and becomes dead.
I would not buy from Norelco/Phillips again as their customer service was not very useful to get a 3rd shaver replacement. They are very good at citing policy such that my warranty was over and that no new shaver would be coming my way. There was no attempt to stand behind the quality of the product, beyond the 30 day warranty.
I am angry at Norelco/Phillips for providing a subpar product and disappointed in Costco for carrying an inferior product."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan and Arizona
Date:April 3, 2014

Never thought I would give a razor a 5-star rating

Pros: close shave quickly w/o the irritation, very easy to maintain
"I have had two electric razors previously, and I used them ONLY when I was in a hurry. To get a really close shave, I would irritate my skin with the firm rubbing that was necessary..
This razor, after two weeks, is my choice for shaving, even over a regular, manual razor. It shaves closely without extraordinary effort, and it quickly gets the job done. Maybe its the extra swivel in the body, or maybe it is the "lift and cut" blade, but it works well. Easy to maintain (rinse with water).
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sylmar, CA
Date:March 31, 2014

Not a good product

Model Number: Aquatec AT880
"As a long time Norelco user, I am not satisfied with this shaver. It does not cut short facial hair unless you shave over and over, and by then, it is very painful. The reason why I bought it is because the previous models were not painful at all to shave. Would not recommend this model."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:March 28, 2014

Good Purcahse

Model Number: Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec AT880
"Gives good result but not as close shave as done using razor."
Review 10 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2014

Disappointed

"Shaver doesn't work any better than my old one, same brand. Seems a bit larger, bulkier. Charge status indicator very weak, hard to see."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:February 20, 2014

Unacceptable - won't run on AC power

Pros: couldn't tell - immediately returned
Cons: won't run on ac - requires expensive batteries
Model Number: AT880
"I've been using Norelco for 40 years so when my last one gave out I rushed to Costco to get a new one. (Costco + Norelco = can't lose, right?) But when I got home and plugged it in, it wouldn't run. Turns out it ONLY runs on battery. What a rip-off! You have to keep buying expensive batteries. My last Norelco lasted at least 10 years (maybe much more) on a dead battery. I returned this and bought the Norelco PT730 and I am very, very happy with that one!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Needham, MA
Date:February 18, 2014

Replacement better then their original.

Pros: use in shower, closer shave then older model, high impact travel case, and lighter then its predessor.
Cons: can't use while charging, and can't store accessories in travel case.
Model Number: AT880
"The Philips Norelco Power Touch Shaver with Aquatec is a marked improvement over the last three Norelco's I have owned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:January 30, 2014

A disappointment

Pros: cannot find any
Cons: slow clogging fast leaving uncut hair.
Model Number: AT880
"Last fifty years I was using Philips/Norelco shavers. This is the worst I have ever had (allowing for lower expectations decades ago). I have to clean it frequently (disasembling the heads) and it takes me twice as long to shave as with the last one I owned. And even then there are areas where the shaver does not cut close.
I have no use for the "swivel head"
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: nice close shave
Cons: no battery indicator.
"Nice close shave. No battery indicator so you don't know when batter is getting low. It died on a trip and I didn't have an idea it was low and didn't bring the power cord. The on off switch broke after a couple of weeks. Had to return it. Got a different type."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LV NV
Date:January 9, 2014

1255X

Pros: quiet-great battery life. very good shave
Cons: must have stand to charge.
Model Number: 1255X
"I purchased a 1255x which is no longer listed on this web site. Very good shave and quiet-especially compared to my previous Braun units. Had a warning light come on. Tried to research a possible reset but there was nothing listed in the owner manual. Called Norelco-they were unable to troubleshoot any fix so they sent me a new unit next day delivery, plus these are made in the Netherlands, not China! What great customer service..."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:December 7, 2013

Great Shaver

Pros: lithium batteries close shave easy to clean, use wet or dry
Cons: no stand
Model Number: Norelco AT880 PowerTouch with Aquatech
"I have been using the AT880 for 11 days and I get a closer shave with the Norelco than my blade razor. Also, no nicks and bleeding. My face feels smoother using the Aquatech razor.
I'm very impressed by the close shave. The Aquatech is very quiet and cleaning it is easy. I use it with the same shaving crème I used with my blades.
It's easy to grip, light weight and great in my hand. Comes with a very nice travel case.
Got it on sale for $20 off and it came with an extra set of blades which cost around $25.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Union City, CA
Date:November 28, 2013

Solid performance in a mid-level shaver

Pros: performance
Cons: not all the bells or whistles of higher-end models
"This is my third P-N shaver and I haven't been disappointed. The most important feature--performance--is the reason for my continued loyalty to P-N. While others might whine about trivial things, this shaver works. For the price (especially with $20 savings), it will stand up against any competitor"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:November 21, 2013

Don't give up on Norelco / Philips shaver

Pros: lithium batteries
Cons: can't use it on the cord.
"To all those that lament their old Philips shaver: The battery and blades can be replaced. Batteries cost $12- $20 and can be fairly easily replaced. They're soldered in place, but I didn't solder the new ones. I just put them in like regular AA's. I also replaced the blades for $25. It's as good as new."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 10, 2013

Great Shaver, Great Battery Life, TERRIBLE indicat

Pros: close shave comfortable. even., battery life. battery lasted a long time.
Cons: battery indicator. came on after the battery died
Model Number: QauaTec AT880
"I've had this shaver for 3+ weeks. I shave nearly every day and the battery has held up well. It's lost some of its juice BUT overall, it would still shave. I went to shave this morning and got about half way through and the battery simply died. Then the low battery indicator came on. :(
Because it's a wet/ dry shaver, I CANNOT plug this into the wall and complete my shave. I must wait for the QuickCharge feature to complete. HOWEVER, given that the low battery indicator hadn't come on, I could have easily taken this away for an overnight trip and left my charging unit at home.
I've had Philips/ Norelco shavers for 20+ years. My last one went 10+ years alone. It's battery was shot BUT it had the 10 level indicator. I knew when it was going bad.
I will return this and pay for the upgraded model(s) that have an individual battery indicator.
*This unit would work WELL for someone who will charge it on a schedule of every x days or every week/ two weeks. I don't do that. I charge things when they're dead. Other than my cell phone. :)"
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco PowerTouch Shaver with Aquatec
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Euless, TX
Date:September 13, 2013

Nice but lesser quality than previous Norelco's

Pros: close shave, easy to clean
Cons: feels cheap..., grip below average
"I've owned Norelco razors for more than 35 years and they've always been a good investment. But this one feels like they've skimped on the quality. My last Norelco was purchased at Costco around 2001 and had a great feel to it and was easy to grip and in general, just felt great in your hand. It also lasted until 2012 when the battery finally died.
This one is lighter but the plastic feels cheap and doesn't feel as nice in my hands as the older version.
The important thing is that it gives you a great shave and cleaning it is easy. On a scale of 1-10, I'd give it a 6 or 7."
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.