Customer Reviews for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Link2Cell Link2Cell is a cordless phone system that operates together with your cell phone. Simply charge your cell phone through the USB port on the Panasonic base unit and synch the two via Bluetooth. Now you’re ready to make and receive cell calls that are automatically routed through all your home phone handsets. Which means there’s no need to carry your cell phone around your home. USB Charge No convenient electrical outlet for charging your cell phone or smart phone? No problem. The base unit features a convenient USB charging port. And because it’s Link2Cell, you can answer your cell phone calls on your Panasonic home phone handsets without draining your cell phone battery. Text Message (SMS) Alert Never miss a text message again. The Text Message Alert feature notifies you of received text message on your cell phone through an alert on your cordless handset when your cell phone is synced to the base unit. Enhanced Noise Reduction Enhanced Noise Reduction (available on select 2013 models) not only suppresses background noise but also enhances your voice at the same time. Which means the next time your teenager calls you from a concert, you’ll actually be able to hear him. DECT 6.0 Plus Technology If you’re looking for superb sound quality and long range, look no further than the DECT 6.0 Plus technology in Panasonic cordless phones. Thanks to error correction up to 80x, you get clear transmission even with extended range. Engineered to work in 1.9GHz frequency, our DECT 6.0 Plus phones won't interfere with wireless devices such as routers, wireless keyboards and microwave ovens. Whether you use them in the basement or the backyard, our phones truly go the distance. Answering Machine with Message Forwarding Thanks to advanced answering machine functions (available on select 2013 models), you can get messages wherever, whenever. At home, the base unit will beep to alert you to a message. And on the road, the phone will send a message to your registered cell or work phone. Talking Caller ID Hear who’s calling from across the room. The Talking Caller ID feature uses text-to-speech technology, announcing the caller’s information in between rings. Intelligent Eco Mode With the Intelligent Eco Mode, when you use the handset closest to the base unit, you’ll automatically lower power consumption. This not only extends available talk time but also prolongs battery life. Which means less frequent charging and in the end, fewer batteries in landfills. Additional Features: Dial Keypad on Base Large, 1.8" White Backlit Handset Display Tone Equalizer Call Block Silent Mode Ringer ID Key Detector compatible Model: KXTG385SK
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
7 of 16(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Review 1 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:January 13, 2014

No buyers remorse here

"Looked at these phones for about a year and I just couldn't bring myself to spend that kind of money on a house phone. After majors problems with another brand that costco had I decided to give these a try. Here's my take on it.
Fit and finish is meh.... little dull. The other brand of (flawed) phones I tried looked much nicer. These feel nice but could definitely use a make over. The power plugs are not quite flat but better than most. The back light on the numbers is not so good, reminds me of those old house phones with the really long cord we had in our kitchen as a kid.
The large time clock on each phone is nice. Seems like I never could find a clock in my house... not anymore!
The Bluetooth Link-to-cell is neato. My wife's Blackberry and my iphone 5s paired no problem. There's around 20 ringtones you can choose from. I like that I can select separate tones for my wife's cell, my cell and home phone. You can do this for each phone in the house. It would be nice if you could change the ringtone on one phone and have it set all of them the same way. You can also make outgoing calls from your house phone through your mobile... genius! I haven't tried this yet but apparently I can transfer all my contacts from my cell to the home phone as well. Either way the bluetooth LTC is the star of the show here. Very cool feature.
Calls have a tiny bit of static which is a con but it was hardly noticeable for me. Certainly is outweighed by the other awesome features.
That's all I can think of now, if any problems arise I'll report back. I would definitely recommend these phones.
One more thing about the ringtones..
There's 10 rings and 10 melodies. The melodies have 1 or 2 christmas songs and a good range of other songs from techno to baby makin' music. Check em out.
"
Review 2 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013

What was Panasonic Thinking?

Pros: can block 250 numbers, handset can power base during blackout
Cons: eliminated voicemail light
Model Number: KXTG385SK
"I have owned several Panasonic cordless phones. I had to return this to the store because, for some reason, Panasonic has removed the light at the top of the handsets that flashes when a voicemail is waiting or shines when it's charging. This is an essential feature for me, because otherwise, if I miss call and don't happen to pick up the phone and hear the stutter, I have no idea that someone tried to reach me.
I called Panasonic and was told that some people found the light annoying (maybe when trying to sleep). However, surely Panasonic could have added a menu item to disable the light rather than eliminating it for everyone.
Also, the keypad isn't lighted in this model as it is with some others.
I ended up buying KX-TG7745S, which has the light but unfortunately doesn't have two features I really like that KXTG385SK has: it stores 250 blocked numbers rather than 30, and the handset on the base can power it during an electrical blackout.
It would be nice if Panasonic just made one model with everything so that one didn't have to compromise."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Maria, CA
Date:July 29, 2013

Panasonic Dect 6 plus KX-TG385SK

Pros: playback of messages on any handset, large letters/numbers for us old guys (and gals).
Cons: not much of one but the volumne could be higher.
Model Number: KX-TG385SK
"I have had this phone set about a week. I had to find a new set because of a brownout a few weeks back. I hated to give up my old phone but it would not let me answer - just originate phone calls most of the time. Plus the base quit working as an answering machine.
This set was a very nice surprise. I find I like this set even more than my old set. I can block phone numbers with this one. I can see the caller ID information easily (I'm 65 and my sight is certainly not what it was at 20).
I like that I can play back messages from any handset. Any number I store is available on all handsets.
It is supposed to link to cell (2 cells actually) but I have not tried yet (my cell is old so even though it has Bluetooth not sure it will work).
I have not found anything I don't like yet except maybe it could have a little more volumne available.
Battery life is quite good (so far). I leave the handset off the charger for a couple of days and only down a bar.
I think this was a great decision for my replacement phone set."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Branchburg, NJ
Date:February 13, 2014

Nice phone...terrible speaker phone

Pros: lots of features; good headset quality
Cons: terrible speaker phone sound quality
Model Number: kx-tg385
"Several nice features, good audio quality with headset only. Operating Instruction manual is 76 p long in English, plus a Quick Start Guide ie lots of features. Cell set up/operation is intimidating, but to be fair never attempted same because the speaker phone feature is sooooooo bad will return unit. More specifically, I/the caller hear the other party reasonably well on the speaker phone, while the other/receiving party hears echoes, hollow/very poor sound quality from me. Plus, this model was specified as fully duplex ie both parties can carry on simultaneous conversations and be heard by the other.....not so. Rather, either party gets 'chops' of voice, without any continuity, rendering such dialog as unintelligible. If one doesn't need/use the speaker phone feature, then a good buy. If speaker phone functionality is important to you, then forget this phone. I'm returning to ATT which always had very reliable and high quality speaker phone features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Princeton, NJ
Date:December 30, 2013

Great looking phone with lots of features...but...

Pros: 5 handsets - perfect for my house with 3 kids, can check voice mail from any handset, decent looks, call block feature i love, base station has keypad
Cons: handset charging the base station - useless, handset volume too low, terrible speaker phone - lots of static
Model Number: KX-TG385SK
"I bought this phone about 7 months ago. Loved the features it offered. Would have been great phone if basic feature worked for me. Most irritating are:
a. Handset volume is terrible...makes it hard to hear at times even on max volume.
b. Speaker phone is useless - it has so much static and volume quality is extremely poor.
c. I thought the feature of handset charging base was awesome...turns out to be the worst feature, making phone useless. When the handset decides to provide power to base and should one receive the call - can't pick up the call from that handset....we end up running around trying to locate other handsets. This happens so frequently that phone is useless for our use. Wife threw out the box so couldn't even return to Costco so ended up buying new phone. Did not try Link2Cell so can't comment.
I would not purchase this phone even if it is offered for free. Panasonic is of little help."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OC, California
Date:July 22, 2013

well thought out design!

Pros: great reception- far range!, tie to cell phone- two numbers, caller id, 5 handsets, long battery life- at least for now
Cons: color- why don't phone mfg make them less dull?
Model Number: Panasonic DECT 6.0
"I recently moved to a much bigger place. It's a brand new building with phone plugs everywhere. I chose this unit because I can plug it in ANYWHERE and not be bound by where the builder thinks I ought to have my phone unit.
Love the fact it's range is long, I have very thick wall for sound insulation so I was concerned it won't reach far, but I was pleased- all rooms pass the test and beyond.
Like the fact all units have a clip so I can clip on my pant/skirt waist and walk around not missing a call.
Best of all, my cell phone now can be "linked" to the unit so I won't miss any call at home anymore. Seriously, who carries his/her cell all the time at home? I usually leave my cell phone in bedroom charging when I am home. Hours later, I got tons of miss calls. And if I leave my cell in the living or dining room, I tend to forget and it's left uncharged all night. This phone totally solve the problem.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:August 2, 2013

Looked good in the box ...

Pros: looks nice and 5 handsets gives lots of options
Cons: sound quality/volume if awful, cell linking seems finicky
"I liked the idea of the cell phone pairing, but while mine paired without issue, and wored fine for my test call, it would never connect again. It is linked, but the connect repeatedly failed making it useless.
I was willing to shrug that off, until I tried using the base as a speaker phone which I do regularly. I had to turn the speaker phone to max volume to get it at a nice level, but at that level you could literally not make out what others were saying due to the sound distortion and cutting in and out. I even tried putting it on mute in case it was a feedback thing, but no change. I tried another test call at half volume, and the sound was clear then but it had to be dead quiet in the room with my ear close to the phone to hear. The handsets did not get the distortion, but once again at max volume I wanted one or two more levels to make for easy hearing.
I will be taking them back."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:July 15, 2013

Wrong parts can not be used

Pros: good looking but not working
Cons: parts included dose not fit and not working, customer service quality is low.
Model Number: KX-TG 5 Sets
"I recently purchased this Panasonic cordless phone (5 sets). It is a good looking phone, but some parts included are apparently TOO SMALL to be fitted and therefore can not be used. Since it is a brand new model and its manufacture has just started making it very recently, I am wondering , if the wrong parts I received are made for older models?
The customer service (in foreign country) is not helpful at all and asked me to write a letter to report this problem.
After Panasonic has received my letter and after my continued requests, I still have not get any answer from Panasonic.
Very disappointed.
It appears there is poor quality control before the phone set is packed for sale.
Customer service is poor too.
"
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Indian Wells, CA
Date:November 25, 2013

Good while it lasted

Pros: easy pairing quick phonebook download, lots of useful options.
Cons: dropped both cell next day would not re-pair
Model Number: KXTG385 SK
"It lasted 1 day. Paired with 2 cells, and painlessly downloaded phone books. Thousands of options, but easy to bypass drilling down by using #xxxx commands. Well thought out interface. However, next day it had dropped both cells (LG250 and LG251) and refused to re-pair. Panasonic claimed my cells not on compatible list, but so what. That's common, but I've never had an issue pairing with other devices claiming the LGs were not on their list. If they effortlessly paired once, they should do it again. Back to Costco ASAP, but the box they came in is almost smaller than the parts that were in it. This will be a challenge to repackage."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:February 24, 2014

Work, but Not Great

Pros: uses aa lithium batteries - replaceable range
Cons: price for value
Model Number: Panasonic DECT 6.0
"For a Panasonic product, and the price, I expected a lot more. Two big gripes:
- The phone message light only works if you use the phone's voicemail function. If your phone company supplies VM, the light does not work. You must check the screen, often.
- Worse, the earpiece must be held in a precise way to hear the caller. Try holding it with your shoulder and you can barely hear a whisper. It is VERY distinct - either clear or absolutely not.
If this was a $45 set from some no-name company, I'd be willing to accept the drawbacks. But Panasonic should be embarrassed to have its name on these phones."
Review 11 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:September 19, 2013

We would buy this one again.

Pros: call block!
Cons: none so far
"I would buy this one again,just for the Call Block feature. Our last phone didn't have that and it's not a service our carrier offers. Seeing the robo/telemarketer calls go dead is wonderful.
We haven't set up the cell phone pairing feature yet, so I can't comment on that. Phone quality overall has been good. Had a few problems one day, then we discovered the "Noise Reduction" button, tried that and it took care of the problem.
Easy to set up and program. Most things are intuitive, but you will need to refer to the manual for a few codes.
Love having five handsets!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 28, 2013

Wireless phones with Cell service

Pros: base station connects to u-verse phone service, base station works with 2 bluetooth cellphones, base station works without telephone line service, base station work with only cellphone service, expand home phone coverage to multiple phones, 5 handsets with phone system, uses standard aaa ni-mh rechargable batteries, base station lights shows cell 1 & 2 connections, makes calls using cellular service, receive call using cellular service
Cons: poor panasonic support, the list of support cellphones is not up to date, i was told my old cellphone was not compatible, must test your cellphone for compatibility, base only supports one blue tooth connection, distance limited by blue tooth range, connect base station to ups for power outage, base station has no battery backup
Model Number: KX-TG385SK
"The KX-TG385SK is Panasonic's model for Costco. It comprises of a KX-TG7841 base station and 5x KX-TGA680 handsets (i.e. KX-TG7875). I purchased this to expand my existing home wireless phones, to provide additional handsets. My home currently uses multiple Panasonic wireless phones connected to my home phone wiring. This became a problem after dropping wired phone service, so I've been exploring wireless solutions."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Slanesville, WV
Date:February 18, 2014

All phones are linked

Pros: connects with cell phone via bluetooth, updates all contacts at the same time
Cons: needs category for business numbers
"One of the best features of this phone set is that the contacts on all the phones are updated at the same time when you update the primary phone. I also like the way it connects to my cell phone via Bluetooth. I am very happy with this buy. The only improvement would be more space for contact names and a category for business numbers in addition to the home and cell numbers."
Review 14 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 20, 2013

Works throught the unit

Pros: set ring volume at each phone., 1.9mhz does not interfere with wifi and vice versa, better looking than previous panasonic phones, regular aa size nimh batteries, can digitally label each phone, phonebook transfered from wife's cell auto, 5 handsets.
Cons: link problems with newer cell phones., would like to be able to do phonebook by usb
Model Number: KX-TG385SK
"Linked to wife's cell ok. Mine linked once then had problems. Not that big a deal. Sound quality is good - both in handsets and on Speaker phone. The one time I linked the call was clear. We have 3 sets on main floor and two upstairs - all work fine. Initially setup main at one end of house and checked handset at other ~60 ft away. Worked fine."
Review 15 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Baltimore Md.
Date:October 30, 2013

Design issues with this phone

Pros: call blocking is easy to use
Cons: answering machine does not work for cell phones
Model Number: kx-tg7875
"For a phone that is designed to allow you to connect your cell phone so it can be used throughout the house, they have missed on one key feature. That is that the answering machine does not work with the cell phones. It is only for the land line. For us who are using a cell phone for our house phone, this is a serious over sight."
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Plus Five Handset Cordless Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:January 3, 2014

too much STATIC feedback

Pros: easy set up
Cons: embarrassingly static; not professional; cheap
Model Number: KXTG385SK
"static feedback from mouthpiece to earpiece; could not resolve it. took it back."