Customer Reviews for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router

Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router

This item may be available at your local Costco for a cash and carry price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.16 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 star
7
13 of 25(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Review 1 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2014

good advanced router

Pros: advanced features ease of setup
Cons: external hard drive could be made easier to share
Model Number: ac1450
"Router was a good price and easy to setup "i've setup many wireless routers so it may not be as easy for others". The router has many advanced features that make life easy. I use the external hard drive to share files. I use the parental controls and controls from my cellular phone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:July 9, 2014

Lousy Product

Pros: none
Cons: installation, dropped connection
Model Number: AC1450
"The install required a call to the support line, which took more than 2 hours. Once connected, the connection wouldn't hold and kept dropping. After another hour with support, they told me the unit had either bad ports or defective firmware and to return it. It's going back to Costco and I won't be buying another one, after reading all the bad reviews. I have a multi-level house and the SmartTV seems to hold the connection in the basement but it drops the connection 5 feet from my laptop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle Area
Date:May 14, 2014

Good Hardware, Mediocre Firmware

Pros: strong performance w 800mhz 2-core processor, same hardware as top-line r6300v2 router, plenty of memory for flashing better firmware, now supported by dd-wrt open source firmware, good range on 2.4ghz n band. less so on 5ghz
Cons: netgear oem firmware is flakey incomplete, dhcp server looses connections frequently, can't securely host lan parties with guests, guest lan implementation is incomplete/insecure
Model Number: Netgear AC1450
"Out of the box, this unit will disappoint due to mediocre firmware. The router will frequently drop connected wireless devices because the DHCP server looses track of addresses. So frequent router re-boots are required. And, incredibly, there is no security on their GUEST LAN that protects your private LAN from access by guests if you wish for guests to interact. (like your Kids will do at a gaming party).
But the Hardware is the same as the R6300v2, last year's Router of the year.
For the Costco price, you can end up with a $300 router merely by replacing OEM firmware with DD-WRT. That fixes the slow performance, the buggy DHCP server, and the GUEST LAN security problem. Also adds support for VPNs, DLNA, multiple vLANs etc. Turns this unit into a solid hi-end router, with 802.11ac capability when 802.11ac clients start appearing on the market.
On 2.4GHz N band, I see 12-15% better performance/range than my old trusty DLink DIR-655. And total bandwidth saturation goes up from 300 to 450Mbps
The 5GHz band works well, but range is less on 5GHz band as it is impacted more by walls and floors.
If you are willing to replace the firmware with DD-WRT, this router is a good value at the Costco price. DD-WRT does take some knowledge of networking to deal with, but the rewards are significant. If you don't want to mess with new firmware, then stay away. The Netgear firmware is not ready for prime-time."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central FL
Date:April 21, 2014

Didn't work for me...

Pros: powerful router if it works with your system.
Cons: did not work with my dsl modem.
Model Number: AC1450
"Bought this new generation AC 1450 wireless router to replace my older N300 Netgear router at home. After several attempts to get it to work, it never connected to my Zyxel EQ 660R modem.
Returned and purchased another Netgear moden, not AC, but B,G this time, and it was an easy connection. Not sure what happened, but these new technology routers may not work with all modems out there. So, buyer beware.
"
Review 5 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 9, 2014

Poor Range

Pros: fast setup
Cons: does not provide extended range (10000 ft), could not get a good signal at 50 feet.
"I compared this router on the N band with 3 others that were not long range routers (2 Linksys and 1 Hawlking. All routers gave the same signal strength. I did not use the new 11ac standard as it is not approved and may change soon so I can not comment on that. If you need long range the best solution I have found is to run a cat 6 cable back to the original routers Lan port and attach another router on the other end. The test was done on a single family one story house, signal traveled through 3 interior rooms in a straight line to exterior wall of third room. Total distance approx. 45 feet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Monterey, CA
Date:March 25, 2014

Avoid!

Pros: easy setup
Cons: 2.4 ghz band stopped working, 5 ghz range not impressive
Model Number: AC1450
"I was hoping that I'd get lucky and not have the same issues others were having with the 2.4 GHz band, but I got no such luck. The 2.4 GHz signal was fairly steady at first and has now stopped working after 4 days. The 5 GHz range is working, but I was a little disappointed to find that the range is the same as the AT&T Uverse 802.11g router I was trying to replace. I get only 1 or 2 bars approximately 40 feet away on my bed, which maybe is the best I can get given that the signal has to go through a bathroom. I know interference from other routers is not an issue, as I have scanned for open channels. Anyway, I will be returning this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 20, 2014

Disappointed!

Pros: easy and quick setup
Cons: slow wifi speed
Model Number: Netgear AC1450
"The setup is easy and quick. However, the Wifi speed is slow. I got only half of the speed compared to wired when next to the router. It then dropped to 1/4 when I got a bedroom and bathroom in between.
I've been a long-time loyal customer with Netgear router. I owned two of its N sersies, and they work just fine. I end up returned it to Costco and get the Asus RT-AC66U instead."
Review 8 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:March 17, 2014

Easy setup and faster

Pros: easy to set up and fast speed
Cons: dual bands may interfere with each other?
"The router was easy to install by just plugging it in. It easily connected with TV, Sonos player, phones, Chromebooks, and wireless printer. That was a breeze! The router is faster than the one we had, and the speeds are good. The only thing that may be a con is we think the dual bands are interfering with each other, leading to lapses in internet connection. We don't know if that is the issue, or what to do about it!"
Review 9 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:March 9, 2014

Extremely poor or no service

Pros: can not comment just bought it
Cons: zero service
Model Number: netgear ac1450
"I bought this product recently and while setting up the router, i needed help and phoned tech support three times and on all occasions remained on hold for good 15 minutes or so and was never able to speak to any rep as i was told to leave message after 15 minutes or so, still waiting for the call, guess will return it as it does not matter how good( do not know yet)the product is if there is no support then it is not worth it.will return"
Review 10 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 3, 2014

Unreliable, drops ever so often

Pros: price easy setup
Cons: unreliable connection
Model Number: AC1450
"I finally gave up on this router, it's good for basic for web surfing. The issue I have with this router is that it does not handle video conferencing, voip and continuously dropped connections when performing the video activities.
I would give it props for easy setup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Knoxville, TN
Date:January 19, 2014

Excellant purchase

Pros: easy setup and connectivity, attractive looks (modern) and price
Cons: unable to wall mount. not an issue to me ..
Model Number: Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
"I purchased this router in search of getting a more reliable WIFI network with improved range. To date I have been very satisfied in regards to both. When used with "Netgear"s Gene App" it is easy to setup and check WIFI network status and performance. Costco price is very competitive although the "AC1450" model appears to be unique to Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 28, 2013

Easy setup and fast wireless, added to FiOS Router

Pros: fast easy set up, reliable signal and fast wireless connections, works in tandem with your fios router
Cons: 802.11n router costs less, might not need it unless you have 802.11ac devices
Model Number: AC 1450 Dual Band
"I bought this to increase home wireless speeds with my FiOS Actiontec MI424WR rev D router, which is only a 802.11g WiFi router. I was limited to dowload/upload speeds on g of only 24 mgb/s at best. This Netgear AC1450 router is a simple addition, and even if you have the newer rev. I Actiontec router, which is 802.11n, this will work perfectly for the newer AC devices. We have ac band laptops and 3 ac band phones. With the Netgear AC1450 router all my wired computers get the full 80/30 up/download from my FiOS and all n and ac devices get the full 80/30 speeds, now too. Of course the 1450 will deliver much faster speeds if you have a faster internet package from your provider. I turned off the wireless from the FiOS router, since it is no longer needed. If you leave it on, it does cause some interference and slows the 2.4 GHz band from the 1450, but not the 5 GHz band. The dual band works great. 2.4 GHz gives extended range for N and AC,and 5 GHz gives a bit faster speeds in my environment. I get great signal even at the neighbors' houses with this thing. I also have WiFi light switches on the home network. They have to be connected on the 2.5 GHz band, but then your controlling devices (Apple or Android) can control them with the 5 GHz band. This router was simple to install and set up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:December 22, 2013

Good router for basic and advanced users

Pros: usb 3.0 port, nas (network storage/dlna drive) function, network printer function, fast throughput for compatible devices, android app available, ios app available, costco extended warranty & concierge svc
Cons: problems reported with 1.0.2.2 firmware
Model Number: AC1450
"Bought this at Costco in November and so far have had no problems. Set up (basic) is pretty simple. I was pleased to find that advanced setup had all the features that I've come to rely on DD-WRT (open source firmware) for on my prior routers. Leaving things less complicated, I've found that setup of 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz networks took a little finesse, but all devices[1] on my network connect properly and get good service.
[1] Devices include: a Samsung smart tv, Panasonic Blu-Ray player, iPod touch 5gen, Android 4.0.3 phone, Android 4.4 phone and tablet (Nexus), Linux laptop, Windows XP laptop, Canon Pixma wi-fi printer, Seagate Central NAS (connected via gigabit Ethernet). This is the first gigabit Ethernet router I've had, so connection to my newer computers has been fabulous.
A feature that I didn't find documented in any of the material in the box was the availability of Netgear Genie software for iOS and Android. The app has tons of useful features for managing the router (e.g. turning the guest network on and off), viewing a Network map of all connected devices (incl. MAC address, assigned IP address, connection speed, link/signal rate; can also modify the name and device type display of each device), "Turbo" file transfer between devices, reboot the router. The latest version includes their Wi-Fi diagnostics app built-in, so you can survey your neighborhood, determine if any neighbors' routers are on conflicting channels, test your router's speed from various rooms of the house, etc. For a free app, Genie provides a LOT of convenient status, control, and troubleshooting of the router without even being in the same room or connecting a computer via Ethernet.
The NAS feature of the router (via a supplied USB 3.0 port) provides a DLNA capable storage and media streaming device without having to buy an NAS ... just buy an affordable 1TB, 2TB or 3TB desktop drive and plug it in.
The router also shares a printer online, though I haven't tested that function (Wi-Fi printer is on another floor of the house).
I haven't experienced problems with this router that others on firmware 1.0.2.2 have reported."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston,MA
Date:November 29, 2013

Excellent Router

Pros: fast
Cons: none
Model Number: ac1450
"Not sure why there are all those negative reviews. I had a linksys e1200 that I thought was great till I discovered that my comcast 50mbps was limited to 24mbps if used the wireless linksys router. So I decided to try this Netgear. Installation was really simple same as all routers took me 3 minutes. Wireless download speed is now at 65mbps the same if the cable was plugged into the modem... (Comacast promises at least 50mbps but it is usually above it)
Love this router so far.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2013

Ureliable & Unstable After a Day or Two

Pros: powerful, easy configuration, fast, excellent range
Cons: completely unreliable
Model Number: Netgear AC1450
"This device requires reboots or power on & off every day or two. The DNS forward function fails and browsing, email or any other Internet use becomes impossible until the device is rebooted.
Can't be recommended until Netgear fixes the current latest firmware v1.0.0.22_1.0.10"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:November 13, 2013

Very unreliable

Pros: good theoretically on paper features, good for the 10 minutes it handles a connection
Cons: unreliable looses dhcp settings in 10 minutes, needs rebooting and resetting very often, will not run for more than 10 minutes
Model Number: AC1450
"I have given this router a lot of my time configuring it, troubleshooting it and it is just not ready.
I ignored the previous negative reviews because this is my field and I figured I can overcome most configuration issues, but this time is the unit. The hardware and firmware are just not ready. I could perhaps upload and flash an alternate OS , but then I loose some of the capabilities and at the end it is not worth my time.
In theory it has great features such as parental control, dual band WiFi, gigabit ports, usb 3 port, etc. I thought it would be a good router to have attached to my home theater system, Blue ray player, online streaming (Netlfix, amazon, etc) stream movies for the kids, XBMC, and it did performed very well for all of those tasks for the 10 minutes it maintains an internet connection.
This unit is incapable of maintaining an internet connection for more than 10+ minutes without needing a complete reboot, and MOST of times not even a reboot will bring it back; I had to manually log in the GUI and release the DHCP lease an acquire a new one.
Without exaggeration, a few times it required a full factory reset for it to work for the next 10 minutes and then it forgets the DHCP settings, it does not renew the lease and it just sits there as happy as it can be with ip address of 0.0.0.0.
I though the geek on me was over tweaking it, so I ran it with their stock default configuration after a factory reset, and the same problem in less than 10 minutes the internet connection is lost.
It is Matched to the SB6121 Motorola cable modem sold by Costco as well, the modem performs well with any other router attached to it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:November 4, 2013

Exceeded my expectations

Pros: easy to configure and set up very compact
Cons: seems a bit expensive, don't have any gear that runs on ac standard
Model Number: Netgear AC1450
"I bought this to connect to my Comcast cable internet via a Motorola Surfboard 6121 modem. I had originally purchased a Netgear single band router but it didn't have the range and bandwidth for my 4500 sq ft two story house with six wireless computers/iPad/Surface/phones. I took that one back and ordered this one from Costco.com. It has two bands which really helps and you can further tweak the performance by trying different channels. We can see a lot of Netgear wireless networks from our house which adds to the interference and performance degradation so be sure to try that if you are having problems with speed and range. Now I can get full bars performance just about anywhere in the house."
Review 18 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 18, 2013

VERY GOOD ROUTER!

Pros: good range, easy set up
Cons: none
"Easy to set up and is used in a second home to provide media streaming ability. The dual bands provide seamless signal anywhere inside or outside up to a 60 foot range. For our needs, we don't need to add a range extender or signal booster. The router gives strong and consistent signal, especially in the 5G mode. Does what it is supposed to do; you can't ask for more than that!"
Review 19 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston,TX
Date:October 5, 2013

WORKS GREAT !!!!!

Pros: works great with ac as mentioned.
Cons: no consif you dont have ac band you dont need it.
Model Number: Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
"I disagree with the negative feedback, this unit works rather well, for sure it has an increased range and speed,some people aren't aware of the bands that there units work on an expect more. Keep in mind that ac is a new band and is still not found in a lot of pc s and tablets. I have ac on my MacBook and the speed is lightning fast as opposed to my 5k Alienware book that doesn't and there s no performance difference from my old router. I'm very happy with my purchase and as always I purchase with confidence from Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Netgear AC1450 Dual Band 802.11ac Smart WiFi Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:September 27, 2013

FAST, Easy setup, Good Range

Pros: fast easy setup
Cons: skimpy user's manual
Model Number: AC1450
"I replaced a Cisco E1500 with the Netgear AC1450. Easy installation. True plug and play. Took less than 5 minutes.
I have Comcast internet. Modem speeds are in the mid 20"s to 30 Mbps. Wireless speeds with old router were mid teens at best, and usually around 10-12 Mbps. Now wireless speed within 30 feet is same as modem, mid 20"s to 30. Best of all, the old router would not reach the whole house. This one does and outside as well. Some speed degradation but that is expected.
A couple of good features. One is the ability to print from an IPad on a printer without Apple compatibility built in. Another is the ability to reset the SSID and password to your own. That made it possible to use my old SSID and password. All my devices (PC, two androids, IPad, IPhone, HP printer) were able to connect without resetting anything.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>