Customer Reviews for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar

Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar

Q-Series Wine Cellars. Building on the extraordinary success of N'FINITY PRO Wine Cellars, Wine Enthusiast presents the Q-Series Dual Zone Wine Cellar featuring a full seamless glass door with black aluminum handle. Built-In or Free-Standing with Advanced Technology Professional grade compressor and components designed to be free-standing or built into cabinetry, it fits in anywhere you'd like. For larger collections, position two units side-by-side. Convenient front venting design. The right hinged door is UV protected and frost and condensation free. Reduced vibration leaves sediment undisturbed toward proper aging and a more balanced taste. Reduced noise so that you barely know it's there. Increases energy efficiency; up to 40% more efficient than similar sized models. Two-Zone Digital Temperature Control: Upper Zone: 41-50°F Lower Zone: 50-64°F Set storage and service temperatures for both red and white wine. Use Upper Zone for white service and Lower Zone for red and white storage, or use both zones to store reds and whites. "Red", "White," and "Sparkling" indicator lights allow you to monitor temperatures at a glance. Digital Touchscreen Temperature Control: Our Q-Series digital thermostatic controls keeps constant temperature to allow your wine to age undisturbed.  With the intuitive touchscreen display located on the outside of the door, you can set and monitor the wine cellar’s temperature without opening the door.   Smooth-Rolling Hardwood Faced Shelves, Complete Set: Innovative, lower profile, wood and metal shelf design allows for the most efficient use of space and maximum storage capacity.  Smooth rolling on ball-bearing tracks for easy access.  Smartly spaced to bottles of Bordeaux (regular) size and larger, including Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and Champagne. * Glass Door with Black Aluminum Handle: UV-protected glass protects wine from harmful light. Built-in key lock provides security. Built-In Versatility: Build the Q-Series into your kitchen cabinetry, or stand it on the floor in your den, TV room, or office! 3 Total Blue LED Interior Lights: A brilliant blue glow illuminates your bottles, showcasing your wine with style. Additional Specifications: Model: 278 03 70 03 Dimensions: 72"h x 23.75"w x 28.75"d Item Weight: 290 lbs Shipped Weight: 315 lbs Capacity: Up to -170 bottles * Temperature Range: Upper Compartment 41-50°F; Lower Compartment 50-64°F (+/- 2°F) Ambient Temperature Range: 45-80°F Applications: Free Standing, Recessed or Built-In Electrical Requirements - Plugs directly into a US 110 Volt outlet on a dedicated 15 AMP line Warranty: 2 year on Parts & Labor in Home Warranty *Maximum bottle capacity may vary depending on bottle size and shelf configuration.
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
4 of 9(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Review 1 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014

Don"t Buy!

Pros: the cost
Cons: it doesn't work
"Compressor ran for 5 days straight and upper level never reached desired temperature. I followed the manufacturer's installation and instruction guide and after the refrigerator was turned on and I filled it up, there was an awful chemical smell in the unit. I was concerned it would taint my wine. The unit weighs 315 LBs and is on a pallet, The delivery is dropped at the doorstep, so it is very difficult to unbox and get off the pallet.
Costco was great about the return.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Rochelle, NY
Date:April 7, 2014

Poor Design

Pros: pretty but why chance it
Cons: unreliable manufacture
Model Number: Wine Enthusiast Q Series 170-bottle
"Had this unit for less than three months before the door on the hinge side started to bow causing the gasket seal to fail. Thank goodness another buyer noted this problem otherwise I would have never looked. Sure enough there was a 1/4 inch gap! It took a little while of the return shipping to be arranged, but as soon as it was picked up Costco refunded my money."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:December 18, 2013

Good choice for my garage

Pros: looks nice and drawers slide in and out nicely, does good holding the temps (not summer here yet), two zones for both red and whites, reasonable size (some other models are huge), has uv coating to protect wine from sunlight, multiple interior lights for complete lighting
Cons: noisy ... would not want this in the house, won't hold stated #of bottles unless thin bottles, upper zone has to be white / bottom red -no option
"My smaller wine cooler crapped out so I decided to get a bigger one to have more room. Overall I am glad I got it abd would recommend it.
It was nicely packed and delivered into the garage by the delivery guys. But it was a bit of a pain to unpack since it was on a pallet and had a funky base of the carton. Would recommend two people to get it off the pallet but I was able to get it off myself."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, VT
Date:January 19, 2014

Doors don't seal

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: doors defective - don't fit right and don't seal
"I purchased 2 units. The doors were warped and didn't seal properly. Costco promptly replaced them with two more which had the identical problem. I sent them back and Costco fully refunded my purchase. 4 out of 4 were defective. I recommend Costco drop this product"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:April 21, 2014

Good Build Quality but Loud and Always Runs

Pros: cheap and quality build
Cons: loud and always runs
Model Number: Q-Series
"The build quality is better than I expected. The White Glove is the way to go.
The capacity in the real world of different height an width bottles netted me 127 with no additional space for more bottles. FULL UP.
The fans never stop running (or almost never) and the compressors kick on and off every 7-12 minutes. Not great if you plan to locate the unit in an office or other quite area. Great unit for the right location for the money."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 3, 2014

Good Performer

Pros: size of unit, smooth gliding shelves, good capacity
Cons: capacity depends on bottle size- like most coolers
"I purchased this unit about 12 months ago and have had no issues with temperature control, door closing or performance. I do keep mine in the gargage but I live in a mild climate where garage temperature is between 40 and 75 degrees. I would agree that in a house the noise from the fan would be distracting. I had a smaller unit (different manufacturer) in the house that I had to move to the garage because of the noise."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014

Great value

Pros: spacious quite looks good
Cons: bottom section stays a bit too cool.
"Purchased this model with some trepidation after reading the Luke-warm reviews. Biggest issue was the poor "white glove" service Costco used but they rectified the situation and redelivered. Fridge arrived in great condition, was set-up and stood unused and unplugged for 24 hours then loaded with a total of ~80 bottles (still more room) in both top and bottom. I also purchased two inexpensive electronic thermometers to verify fridge's accuracy. Works well, quite, spacious but... large format bottles do fit tightly and the bottom (red) section has a hard time keeping the temperature as high as programmed (stays about 4 degrees cooler)."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:August 26, 2014

Unbelievably Unreliable!

Pros: it's nice while it works.
Cons: don't get too used to it working.
"We recently purchased one of these wine cooler units. It was really nice while it worked. After 4 months it quit working. This unit was a replacement for two similar Wine Enthusiasts units we purchased previously. Those units lasted about two years, then both units died within a period of couple of weeks. So in a period of less than three years, we've owned three of these units and they've all stopped working. And it's not just the expense of buying the unit--what do you do with one of these when it goes bad? It's not as though you can set it out to be picked up with the trash. Fortunately for us Costco gave us a refund for the first two failed units, and they even picked them up and hauled them away. Great Costco customer service. Still, it's a hassle emptying an entire unit of cataloged/shelved wine bottles. Extremely poor product quality Major investment. Big headache. (FYI -- Our current unit is still under full warranty, so we're waiting with warm wine for a call from a service tech to set up an appointment. We'll see how it goes, but I'm thinking Costco may end up taking this one back also. Too bad since it really is a nice unit when it works.)"
Review 9 for Wine Enthusiast | Q Series 170-bottle | Dual-temperature Wine Cellar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wine Country, CA
Date:August 24, 2014

Not a Costco worthy product

Pros: price
Cons: poor / no seal between door and fridge, loud and runs non-stop to make up for poor seal, doesn't hold 170 bottles more like 150, fully loaded tears labels & shelves don't work, energy consumption much higher than it should be
"As others have mentioned the door bows so there is not a proper seal between the door and the fridge - which is likely what causes it to run loudly, and not maintain the set temps, and run all the time.
Also 170 bottles is not a real number. It's more like 150 bottles because the design assumes every bottle is a uniform Bordeaux style bottle - maybe only about 10% of wineries still use that bottle style.
Also the shelves when fully loaded get heavy and push down onto the bottles on the shelf below and tear labels and/or cause the lower shelf not to open properly.
If it wasn't already full of wine I would return it. I strongly recommend you do not make the same mistake I did. Costco should not be carrying this product; it's below their usual standards."