Customer Reviews for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Bring the party wherever you go with the iBT88 Bluetooth mini speakers. The iBT88 has two audio sources: Bluetooth wireless audio streaming from your mobile device (iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, Android, Blackberry smartphones) or direct line-in via the included cable and any device with a headphone jack. FEATURES • Mini speakers for any audio source Speakers work with Bluetooth-enabled devices OR any 3.5 mm headphone jack, perfect for laptops, cell phones, portable game devices, iPad, iPod, iPhone, MP3 players, etc. • Size-defying sound Special design provides surprising volume and bass response in a small space-saving speaker that fi ts in your hand • Built-in rechargeable battery Long-lasting internal lithium ion battery gives speaker plenty of power • Supplied cable for charging speakers and connecting to audio source 2 -in-1 cable has USB plug for charging speakers, with 3.5mm audio plug for connecting to audio source-- you can charge speakers while listening to them • Convenient travel pouch Though they fit in the palm of your hand, it’s nice to have the convenience of a travel pouch ADDITIONAL FEATURES: Power, pairing and charging LED indicators Package contents: iBT88 System (2 mini speakers) 2-in-1 USB charging/ 3.5mm audio connection cable Speaker connection cable Travel pouch
Average Customer Rating:
2.727 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
5 of 11(45%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Review 1 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:October 7, 2013

Very Disappointed

"The volume is very low... they (both speakers) have to tighted together...
The output power is weak.. do not buy them.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:August 30, 2013

Nice sound and size but

Pros: nice sound and size.
Cons: no volume contol.
Model Number: Home IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
"It works well, connected without problem and has good sound, but has no volume control and is not much louder than the iPad itself."
Review 3 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:November 18, 2013

Nothing special

Pros: compact
Cons: limited volume, no volume control on speakers
Model Number: IBT88BX
"I use these at work where I don't really want much sound. They work okay but the volume is not much and there is no volume dial on the speakers themselves."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Date:December 28, 2013

Not for classroom use

Pros: good for desk top area
Cons: not good for classroom use
"I bought these speakers to help with the sound coming from my MacBook Pro in a class of 30. The sound was limited to good volume if you were sitting up in front. Those in the outshirts heard poorly."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:November 1, 2013

Easy and great sounding

Pros: clear sound, quick and easy to connect, plenty of volume, value
Model Number: iBT88
"This little speakers pack a pretty good punch for their size and cost. BT connectivity is easy and quick. Plenty of volume for 1100 sq ft main level of our home. Works great with Samsung Galaxy 2 and HTC Evo 4G LTE."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014

FInd something else

Pros: compact, bluetooth and wired
Cons: not loud enough so why bother?
Model Number: iHome IBT88BX
"I have had these for several months. They are just not loud enough. I end up using them within 1 foot of me or you really can not hear the sound. Maybe if you had some duct tape you could use them as headphones. Save your money."
Review 7 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NORCAL
Date:August 23, 2013

great speakers

Pros: good bass and its loud. plus it comes with xtras
Cons: none so far
Model Number: IBT88BX
"just received this iHome IBT88BX speakers yesterday and it wrks really good. it does have a very good bass and it's pretty loud for its size. u can't go to wrong when u purchase from Costco. the price is pretty good and their return policy as well. "for now i will give it a 4 stars and will update more later on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013

Not what I had hoped for

Pros: decent sound for a desk or hotel room set up
Cons: not even enough sound for a large room
"I bought two sets of these thinking I could rig up a little surround sound- in my back yard- Nope. The speakers need to be very close to the source (about 10 feet for consistent sound) and you can only hook up one set at a time.
I was unsure of complete time to charge- never mentioned and no way to determine the charge.
"
Review 9 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Costco.com
Date:August 25, 2013

If you have more money....

Pros: pretty good sound when working., low price
Cons: mode selector button fails for bluand is unstable., have to wire connect second speaker to pair stereo, takes long time to fully charge
Model Number: IBT88BX
"If you have more money than avoid this unit.
Sound breaks down a lot over blutooth.
I had to get a second unit because the mode selector switch would not turn on Bluetooth and only worked intermittently.
Further iHome does not provide information with the Bluetooth version being used niether in manuals nor on website."
Review 10 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:August 25, 2013

OK little wireless speaker system

Pros: price easy setup and charging
Cons: not enough oomph
Model Number: Home IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
"OK sound for what it is - an inexpensive wireless mini speaker system - and a snap to set up and charge, but just not enough loudness to fit my needs (couldn't really hear them over spa jets). I have another pair of USB chargeable wired mini speakers that are noticeably louder (at about half the price), so I'll be sticking with them for now. Also the magnets on the bottom should be stronger- they will prevent sliding but are not strong enough to really stick them to something metal"
Review 11 for iHome IBT88BX Bluetooth Rechargeable Mini Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Woodinville, WA
Date:September 14, 2013

Decent... but not my first choice.

Pros: reasonable price, pair disconnects- don't have to use as pair, costco satisfaction guarantee, you may appreciate separate speakers- meh, charge speakers while in use, clever audio jack/usb cord
Cons: bem hl2022 sounds better- looks better- louder?
Model Number: iBT88
"OK for the price, especially considering its a 2 speaker set. I like that the pair is not hardwired together and you can just tote around the master speaker by itself. You could connect the slave speaker itself to the mini jack of your device- if you wanted to. My cell doesn't put out enough juice through the jack to do that though; pretty quiet. Volume is about what you'd expect at this price point and size, maybe a little better. Play with the EQ on your source device to get the best sound. Can't comment on battery life or Bluetooth range yet. Bottom line- buy the Bem HL2022. Maybe you'll get lucky and find one of the few Costco warehouses that still has one- same price as this iHome. I just listened to a friend's Bem and was amazed. Hopefully we'll see them come back in for Christmas (HINT HINT)."