Customer Reviews for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras

Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
10 of 14(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Review 1 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 25, 2013

Decent System for the Money

Pros: 700 line cameras produce excellent video, preconfigured to record on motion!!, value for the price, helpful startup wizard built in to the dvr
Cons: weak/spotty documentation, nite video is good but only to about 40-50 feet
Model Number: Q-See $ Channel 960H
"Security cameras and associated DVR that were professionally installed when we purchased our home seven years ago had lost all the IR illumination ( no nite illumination). The DVR itself had no remote viewing capability and in fact the software to access and back it up was only compatible with Windows XT. Time to replace the system.
So after much searching I settled on the Q-See system offered by COSTCO. Typical quick service the system arrived just three days after placing the order with COSTCO. Unboxed the components and hooked them all up on the family room floor to verify that all the cameras worked (they did), and that the DVR properly recorded detections of movement ( it did).
While it was in this test setup configuration I hooked it to my router. Then followed the quick installation guide instructions to configure the LAN acccess to the DVR. DVR has a built in installation wizard and it worked great for documenting the IP address I would need when accessing the DVR on my internal Local Area Network ( home computers and smart phones when they are in the house). Unfortunately I do not have a PnP router so the wizard could not setup the router for external Wide Area Network (WAN) access. That was manually done later.
Installation went fairly straight forward with a few choice words for how "not good quality" the "professional" installation was on the seven year old cameras. Once those issues were resolved, the Q-see cameras plugged right in. New DVR is nearly half the size of the old one so it went right in the place occupied by the old DVR with no problem. Powered the unit on and all of the cameras came up right away. Video has much more resolution than my old system, even able to recognize faces during nite mode operation.
I let it run a couple of days ( motion detection worked great) before tackling the router port forwarding setup needed for internet (WAN) access to the DVR video. Documentation that comes with the Q-See is not the systems strong point, but internet search is my friend and found a number of examples on how to do port forwarding on my specific brand of router (DLink).
A caution here is that once you get the forwarding all set up and tested you will likely not be able to see the security video using the external (WAN) address while still sitting at home. You usually have to get outside of your home's LAN so that you are in fact accessing external to your router!!!!! Run up to your local fast food establishment. Use their wi-fi to access the internet and then access your DVR video. Another caution. The Q-see Iphone app works great on both the Iphone and the Ipad. The Q-see Ipad app - not so good. I deleted it after I got tired of fighting the setup problems on the Ipad app.
In summary, this unit worked great for my needs and certainly outperforms my old security system. However, if you are not comfortable with the concepts of LANs, WANs, routers, internal and external IP addresses, and port forwarding - please make use of COSTCO Concierge service to help you set up your system for remote access."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:central coast, California
Date:November 10, 2013

Decent little system

Pros: great system for price., comes with both a mouse and a tv style remote., stand-alone set up works well with a tv or monitor
Cons: double-check cable connectivity and labels!, needs default monitor to change configurations.
Model Number: Q-See 4 Channel 960H
"What a decent little system for the price! We don't know anything about security camera systems, cannot afford a professional, and don't have time for extensive research. Costco's vetting of products usually provides choices you know will work.
We used a 12 year old VGA flat monitor we had around the house, and a few hours later after routing cables, my 84-year-old mom-in-law had spent only $250 and is watching/ automatically recording-on-motion, 4 views of her front yard, with no computer and no internet access. We'd use her TV if it wasn't an old analog CRT, and will connect with HDMI when she upgrades.
Two problems: The unit was not set to the right resolution for the old monitor - it just showed scrambled lines at first, so we took it home to HDMI connect to our TV to change settings, and then it worked fine. 2nd problem was finding out, after we'd already routed the cables, the factory put the 'Camera' label on the wrong end of one (Chinese factory workers don't necessarily read English), so we had to crawl back under the house to re-install it. The power plugs at the two ends are different, so watch out!
The embedded program appears to be the stock program to run the manufacturer's more sophisticated units too, so has some features that do not work, like camera zoom, rotating, sound, etc., but that's OK. For anyone that can use a computer with a mouse, it is is easy to set up, find the recording you're looking for. It does the basic stuff well, and is easy to navigate.
Mom-in-law doesn't do computers, but understands a TV remote - and so can manage the toggles between views and multiple views - there's not much else she to do. I expect a call if the power goes out, to help enter the password to re-start.
We could not test remote access - no internet is available in her house.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:October 21, 2013

Amazing system for the price

Pros: price quality, costco concierge, long distance ir "light ball", access to system from any pc mac or iphone
Cons: system internet connectivity instructions, close image ir "white out"
Model Number: QT5440
"I find enormous value in what I got for the price I paid. Clearly seeing around the outside of my home in the dark and while I'm at work gives a great sense of security. The installation was a bit of work, but it was a little more work than normal because I purchased an HDMI splitter and ran th CCTV images to both of my high def TVs so I can see the cameras in my living room and in my bedroom on both of my TVs. The two longer camera cables was a big help, as the previous version of this system had four 60 foot cables, and two of those would not have been long enough. I would recommend buying a UPS so that power outages don't crash the DVR hard drive. I bought and installed one. The instructions on setting the system up to communicate over the internet were not sufficient to make the system work for me, however the gentleman at Costco Concierge was AMAZING. Not only did this guy set the whole system up with me via remote access on my PC, but he explained everything he did so that I'd understand why and how the system worked. I now have complete access to my CCTV system from any computer, and both of our iPhones. Costco Concierge has one extremely talented and helpful engineer. He really knows the product as well as the technical aspects of internet and telephony systems intimately, and was extremely professional to boot. Thanks Yvon. Before installing, I set my entire system up on my living room table before installing it to make sure everything worked. And it did. 100%. Nothing broken, everything worked correctly, nothing was missing. So far, my biggest complaint is that at night the IR LEDS are SO bright that they begin to white out a person's face if they get too close to the camera. Other than that the system is pretty impressive, certainly for the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Preston, MD
Date:October 23, 2013

Great, but will the cameras last?

Pros: all mounting hardware included., both 60 ft and 100 ft lengths of wire included., good image quality (color and clarity)., very wide variety of camera angle positions.
Cons: quality control of cameras questionnable
"Out of the box one of the cameras did not work; no color, just B&W. Unfortunately, we tested only 2 of the cameras at first. These worked fine so we got out the ladders and mounted the cameras on the outside of the house only to discover later the camera problem. Called Costco Concierge and discovered that we would have to FIRST send back the bad camera and WAIT for a replacement. Considering the time delay of at least 2 weeks, we decided to take everything down and order another system from Costco. The ladders and manpower just would not be available in 2+ weeks. Received new system and had everything up and running in about 4 hours. Where to place the cameras (how high and at what angle) takes up most of the time. We found that higher is not necessarily better. Spent 1-2 hrs more time tidying up the wire placement.
The system works well. Beware, you must use the VGA hookup to monitor when you begin. A menu option permits you to change this to HDMI; however, the system will not default to HDMI (at least it would not for us). The camera image quality is good, as you would expect for 700 TVL. Don't expect HiDef. Surprising clarity at night with IR, but the distance covered in completely unlit conditions is more like 40 feet.
The programing is straight forward; tweaking each camera setup if you do not accept the defaults would take some time and skill, but the options are there. (Have not used network interface yet.)
After checking the web, I am concerned about the life expectancy of the cameras. Seems some reviewers estimate about 18 months to 2 years. Time will tell. I am not happy with Q-See's quality control. Be smart and test all of your cameras right from the beginning. Make sure they function in BOTH color and IR (night) mode.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:November 8, 2013

JUNK/STAY AWAY

Pros: good price
Cons: piece of junk, breks down too often
Model Number: Q-SEE 5440
"BOUGHT THE SYSTEM FROM COSTCO.RECEIVED IN ONE DAY,THE CONTENTS INT HE BOX WAS NOT WHAT WAS IN THE INCLUDED DOCUMENTATION,EVEN CABLES WERE BLACK INSTEAD OF BEING WHITE (INEEDED WHITE CABLES TO GO ON WHITE WALL,DIFFERENT REMOTE)WHEN TALKED TO Q-SEE SUPPORT THE ANSWER WAS "WHITE OR BLACK MAKE NO DIFFERENCE? UNLESS YOU NEED WHITE LIKE IT SUPPOSED TO BE!.HOOKED-UP, AND NEEDE TOCALL SUPPORT WITHIN 1 HOUR.SYSTEM DID NOT WORK,WANTED TO RETURN/EXCHANGE IMMEDIATELY, THE SRVICE PEOPLE FROM Q-SEE INSISTED ON TROUBLESHOOTING.AFTER 1 HOUR OR SO,SYSTEM KIND OF WORKED OK.WORKED FOR ONE DAY THEN THE SYSTEM REBOOTED ITSELF,CHANGING TIME,TYPE OF RECORDING ETC.ONE CAMERA STAYS CONSTANTLY IN THE NIGHT MODE (BLACK & WHITE,ANOTHER ONE HAS SMUDGES ON THE PICTURE.THEY CLICK ALL THE TIME (2 CAMERAS) THAT SUPPOSED HAPPEN WHEN THERE SI QUICK CHANGE IN LIGHTING,BUT NOT THROUGH ALL DAY.IN COUPLE DAYS ONE OF THE CAMERAS DID NOT RECORD AT ALL.FINALLY I GOT TIRED OF THIS AND HAVE ORDERED ANOTHER ONE,THE FIRST ONE IS GOING BACK TO COSTCO.I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS NOT THE BEST SYSTEM ON THE MARKET,BUT PLEASE LET IT WORK FOR A WHILE BEFORE IT BREAKS DOWN.
LETS SEE WHAT HAPPEN TO THE SECOND ONE,OR MAY GO TO LOREX INSTEAD. AFTER MY EXPERIENCE WITH THIS SYSTEM I AM NOT SURE IF THE OTHER GUYS THAT REVIEWD THIS PRODUCT ARE NOT EMPLOYEES OF THE Q-SEE OR AT LEAST SOME OF THEIR BUDDIES???????
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 12, 2013

Good so far, Customer Support is GREAT

Pros: works as described, functionality is accessible to a techy person, behaves much like other products on the market, user interfacei is functional
Cons: cables could be a bit beefier., user interface is not great but is functional, would like 4x100 ft cables instead of 2.
Model Number: QT5140-4C2-5
"Out of the box everything is as described.
Plugging everything in before installation was fine.
Setting up the networking is straightforward IF and ONLY IF you are familiar with:
- Reserving IP addresses
- Port forwarding
These are things that every product that allows access over the web requires.
I had a problem with one of the cables. Some basic troubleshooting isolated the problem to a faulty cable.
Costco concierge service walked me through the entire process and even took the Q-See inquiry number and scheduled a follow up call to make sure I receive the replacement cable - which I have at this point.
I did have a few questions for support and the Costco Concierge service was excellent. They did not walk me through canned scripts. They listened to where I was in the process and picked up right there. They were respectful, informed and very knowledgeable about the product.
I have not setup the product outside yet. However, I have tested all of the features: motion sensors, night vision, setting motion sensing for only specific areas, setting up email alerts complete with snapshots based on motion or video loss, searching for events (motion or video loss) in the database.
So far I am very happy with the product and think it is an excellent value"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:January 8, 2014

Piece of Junk -Dont waste time

Pros: price, features
Cons: poor quality, defective
Model Number: QT5440 -4C2-5
"Based on all the great reviews I purchased this system last month. Thank god, before installing it I decided to test it out in my living room. The power on-off switch on the DVR did not work. After shutting down the system, the power light remained on. The only way to turn the DVR back on was to unplug and re-plug the power cord. Also one camera cable was loose and the picture flickered. So I returned it to Costco and got a new one. This one is even worse. The power on/off switch still does not work. I think it is there only for show. But the worse is that two camera channels on the DVR are dead. Only two out of the four channels work. And one of the camera's infra red sensors for night vision are always on even in bright light. This is going back too tomorrow. Looks like QSEE is having some serious quality issues. I am surprised COSTCO is still carying this product. I would not waste my time."
Review 8 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:December 17, 2013

Not professional grade ~ Misleading ad ~ Beware

Pros: easy to set up, everything included for do-it-yourselfer, great price
Cons: poor resolution, poor exposure control, not recommended for business or law enforcement id
Model Number: Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time QT5440 DVR Security System - Item# 797872
"Image quality for the Q-See system not as advertised. I was really surprised and disappointed with the poor resolution. It was hard to clearly identify people, signage or objects indoor or outdoor. Tried in vain to resolve via Costco concierge service (twice); Q-See tech support non-existant so don't bother. I will return to Costco for refund. I guess you get what you pay for; low price was too good to be true :( This is an adequate system for recording the coming and going of people you know but very poor in terms of facial recognition for trying to identify people you don’t. Probably good as a nanny, pet or elderly mom cam but not clear enough for law enforcement purposes."
Review 9 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:November 5, 2013

Great for the Price $$$

Pros: easy installation ~ plug & play
Cons: helps to know a little about routers., "clicking" sound between day & night mode.
Model Number: QT5440
"I tried the cheap $100 IP cameras, cloud cameras and SWANN package. I finally ended up on my fifth system (Q-See) and am satisfied so far. I currently have this system installed in our apartment because someone has been entering without our permission. The picture quality is decent for the price you pay and remote viewing is simple once everything is setup. One thing that was not mentioned is that the cameras make a “clicking” sound when switching from day to night mode and vice versa which is fine if installed outside. The motion sensitivity when set to high picks up when the night and day mode switch over."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, California
Date:October 11, 2013

Great for the Price

Pros: a good price for a complete system., you dont have to go buy a thing all is included
Cons: i dont have a con i am very happy to say.
"I had these cameras installed by my son in law. it took him 3-4 hours. No additional items were needed to hang or operate the system, everything was included, along with enough of everything. I am now looking at all sides of my house and feel very secure knowing who is at my door, near my house, or whatever. I honestly never expected to be this satisfied. We did not have to call QSee or the Costco concierge to help us get this going. I would highly recommend. We already captured a bad guy on the cameras! Whoo Hooo"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:January 17, 2014

DOA

Pros: none
Cons: did not work
"2 channels were bad so the cameras would not work if connected to those inputs. 1 bad camera that only had night vision even in day light. QSee service solution was "that seems like an issue so send it back and we will replace". Do you think? No thanks, back to Costco with the paper weight. Costco service was great as always. I have seen like reviews other places so doubt the glowing reviews here."
Review 12 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Breckenridge, CO
Date:October 17, 2013

Works like a charm

Pros: price functionality
Cons: difficult technical setup
Model Number: QT5440
"Does everything it claimed. However, it took hours playing with routers etc. to achieve internet viewing. One tip, the instructions state port 80 is used. The DVR uses port 85 instead because most ISP block port 80. Therefore, when accessing through the internet, you must place ":85" after the web address or IP number."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:November 27, 2013

1 wk already paid for itself

Pros: easy to install, all power back to central
"Reviewed a number of other systems and could not beat quality/price. Self install was easier then I thought. Bought power back up. Caught employee vandalism in first week."
Review 14 for Q-See 4 Channel 960H Real-Time DVR Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 700TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Jersey
Date:November 18, 2013

Great product

Pros: very easy to install and pretty simple setup...
Cons: could have a little better remote monitoring instr
"Product works great...Much clearer than previous one...East setup, clear picture and great price..."