Customer Reviews for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle

Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle

This is the ultimate 60” carbon fiber tripod combo for the photographer that wants the best. It’s the only Dolica tripod that utilizes ultra-precise CNC machining to create 95% of the aluminum parts of the tripod. What CNC (computer numerical controlled) means for you is all the parts are created from a single block of aluminum from a CNC machine. This is advantageous from the traditional cast aluminum tripod because CNC parts have the tightest tolerances so the tripod is perfect specifications to the original that makes for very smooth operating tripod. Also since the tripod is made from single block of aluminum you have a much stronger tripod part for part since a single block of CNC aluminum is significantly stronger than cast aluminum it will last much longer to wear and tear. Also CNC tripods are capable of a protective anodized finish that also makes the tripod resistant rubbing, chipping, and peeling and allow for protective finish that will be beautiful for many years. The tripod has many advanced features of for professional photographers on the go. The main leg composition of the tripod is the 8-layer carbon fiber that is advantageous for its lightweight composition, resistance to vibration, and its overall strength. This premium carbon fiber material is has a low friction surface to the leg will effortlessly glide in and out when expanding and contracting the tripod legs. Besides its 8-layer carbon fiber construction and CNC aluminum composition is the ability for the tripod to fold into a compact 16.5 inches. By inverted the legs 180 degrees into the tripod, this enclosed the center column and ball head for a more compact design. The 2nd advanced feature is the ability for one tripod legs to detach into a 60 inch monopod by attaching the center column. This allows the tripod to become a 2-in-1 solution that makes it versatile when a monopod is needed. Other advanced tripod features included is a short throw legs locks that open and close the legs with a slight counterclock twist that means quick setup. Standard features included with our professional series tripod also include a counterweight hook for adding stability at the center column, reverse center column with by inverting the tripod legs, multi-angle leg locks for adapting leg angle to any elevation, and spiked metal foot kit to interchange with rubber feet on dirt and sand surfaces. It also includes an advanced ball head created with a CNC parts as well. This classic design ball head utilizes ultra-smooth and tilt for easy positioning. Easy to ready degree angle mark at the pan base makes for precise panorama shots as well. Independent pan and tilt knobs allow the photographer to maintain tilt angle independent of pan. Finally the tripod  has a 3 way bubble level system to ensure your shots are level horizontal and vertical. The quick release clamp is extra wide to accommodate most quick release plates from 38-42mm wide plates (measured from base of plate). Included with the tripod is padded nylon carrying case and tool kit. Tripod Features: Ultra -premium CNC designed tripod components for strength and highest specification tolerances 8- layer Carbon Fiber tubes for tripod legs and center column–highest quality carbon fiber–resistive to vibration, lightweight , durable and soft to the touch Anodized silver and black finish for extra protective and wear resistance Transform tripod leg and center column in to 60” monopod Travel size compact 15.5" when legs folded inward Short throw leg locks for quick leg open and close Reversible center column for low angle shots Interchange able spike or rubber feet Upgraded tripod leg foam comfort grips 3 position leg angle a djus tment locks Thread mount with spring loaded counter weight hook Integrated 3 way bubble level Maximum Operating Height (center column extended): 60" center / 50” center column not extended   Minimum Operating Height: 21”   Folded Height: 16.5"   Net Weight: 3 lbs.   Max Operating Load: 20 lbs.   Number of Leg Sections: 4   Base Thread: 3/8"   Quick Release Thread: 1/4"   Panoramic Angle: Horizontal-360 degrees and vertical-90 degrees   Material: CNC machined aluminum alloy Warranty: 5 years Ball Head Features: Ultra smooth fluid pan and tilt movement Independent pan and tilt knob for isolation tilt and pan position Quick release clamp compatible with most 38-42mm 360 degree angle marks on pan base for panorama shots Ball head is removable Model: CX600B502D/S
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 of 18(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Review 1 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego area
Date:April 22, 2013

Great Tripod

Pros: really somooth and the ball head is easy great.
Cons: could be a little lighter but great for the price
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"This is my first high quality tripod. After during some research on tripods and realizing the good ones rarely come with the head. Not only did this one come with the tripod head, it came with a really smooth ball head. The machining is really smooth along with the lightweight carbon fiber. I was shooting with the legs in the sand and I managed to lose one of the feet on the bottom. I have emailed Dolica and I am pretty confident they will send me a new one. Their website emphasizes their great customer service."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:May 7, 2013

A very nice tripod

Pros: sturdy, easy to use, monopod conversion, well-built
Cons: spike feet easy to lose, one level not calibrated
"This tripod is lightweight, compact, and sturdy. Sure you can get lighter (for more money), sturdier (for more money), and more compact but this tripod delivers excellent value for the price. The build quality seems to be quite good and time will tell how well it holds up to use.
Being a 60" travel tripod, it is a bit short for studio work but is tall enough for group photography (perhaps not for NBA players). With the center tube fully extended to maximum height, the tripod is still quite sturdy. I have not tried it in high wind like this.
Overall I would recommend this tripod to anybody looking for a travel tripod that doesn't break the bank. Dolica created a fine product for a good price that will give some higher end tripods a run for their money.
Some nice points:
* Easy to extend/contract/lock the legs
* Monopod conversion is handy
* Ball head is easy to work with
* Ball head can hold decent weight
* And while this should not matter in a tripod purchase, it looks good
Some areas that it could improve:
* Would prefer if the feet reversed for spikes, rather than having to change them directly
* The O-rings on the center extension tube are a little flimsy, I'm not even sure how necessary they are
* A level on the side of the head does not seem calibrated properly, though the bubble level does
* The QR plate safety pin does not always drop easily when the button is pressed
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Big Island of Hawaii
Date:June 6, 2013

Great Tripod

Pros: light easy set up stable
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"This is now my go to tripod. Light and yet stable in all conditions. I use a Nikon D800 on it. Great for long hikes. The ball head locks true and tight effortlessly. Very easy extending the legs for quick set ups. I shoot lots of no/low light long exposures and all are sharp.
Nothing bad to say about this tripod. Much better then my $500 Manfrotto carbon Fiber. If you do happen to loose one of the rubber feet, the rubber ends for chair legs work great too. Ones fits nice and tight over the end of the leg. Only a dollar or two at your local hardware store.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 11, 2013

A great compromise...

Pros: relatively compact, relatively light, solid construction, nice ball-head, twist-locks on legs work better than anticipated, really nice well-padded case
Cons: feet come unthreaded easily (loctite time!), somewhat bulky when collapsed, could be lighter (but that would be more $)
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"So this is my second Dolica tripod. The first was purchased from Costco about a month ago and it came in a bundle that also included a sling-style camera bag. Nice bundle, and a heck of a deal, but after thinking about it some more, and further analyzing that tripod, and it's quality, I decided I didn't want to risk a camera or having it break during a vacation. While it was absolutely worth the money I paid for it, I just wanted a better tripod - period. And this one is head-and-shoulders better. While this one is 4" longer in the collapsed position, and about 8 ounces heavier, I'm just far more confident this one will do its (simple but important) job better - and for many more years. So the other tripod and bag (neither had been used) went back to Costco.
Build quality is excellent, though probably not up to Gitzo Traveler quality - but it's also over $400 less. What really impressed me, especially having fiddled with a less expensive Dolica with the same style leg-locks, is the action of the twist-locks for the leg extension. Solid and precise. And what's really nice is that you can loosen all of them (when unfurling the tripod) with one hand, and one twisting action. Very fast.
Most importantly though is how solid and stable this tripod is when fully extended, and with a heavy(ish) camera attached. With my Sony NEX-6 and an 18-200mm lens, the locked-down ball-head does not sag or move in any way. And I tested some pretty awkward locked-down positions. Impressive.
Also with the ball-head, all adjustment knobs have a precise and solid feel, and do their specific actions well. Final thought about the ball-head has to do with the mating of the head to the quick-release plate. First, the plate locks very solidly to the camera body and slippage doesn't seem possible. Next, the plate locks into ball-head with the quick twist of a knob. If you happen to not tighten down the knob sufficiently, there is a button-actuated safety pin that prevents the plate, and the camera that's attached to it, from slipping out of the ball-head... an important detail I'm sure I'll appreciate more when it happens to me :-(.
All in all, I'm impressed, and pleased that this is the tripod I ended up with. For comparison, I also own a Manfrotto 7322y tripod (lighter but longer, and nowhere near as stable or tall) and a Davis & Sanford Carbonlite Transporter tripod (heavier and far longer when collapsed, but a very solid & stable tripod... great for car-trips, but less so for plane travel & hiking trips)."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2013

Seems good

"It pretty much has everything I wanted in a good travel tripod. Small, lightweight, monopod available. Only think missing is retractable spikes on the feet."
Review 6 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carol Stream, IL
Date:September 27, 2013

Excellent tripod

Pros: very well built and well designed.
Cons: nothing.
Model Number: Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
"I own few tripods but this will be my favorite one specially for travel. Sturdy, light and easy to set up and the tripod is really good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocklin, CA
Date:September 30, 2013

Excellent tripod! Big band for your buck!

Pros: affordable quick set up sturdy compact
Cons: plate release is a tad funky
"A friend of mine recently purchased this tripod and had great things to say. I read numerous reviews and decided to buy one for myself. I own a Gitzo but it is in need of repairs (we are never easy on our tripods). This one fits the bill. At less than a quarter of the cost of my Gitzo, this little guy comes as advertised. The compact size is amazing. It's perhaps a tad heavier than my more expensive gear, but a few ounces strapped to the bottom of my bag isn't going to be noticed. We usually treat our tripods as disposable so we will probably pick up a second in the very near future."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 8, 2013

Expensive, but a quality product

Pros: well built, lightweight, nice carrying pouch included, reasonably priced
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"I bought this tripod on sale with the $60 coupon a few weeks ago. While this is my first tripod and I have no personal experience to compare it to, I am very satisfied with my purchase. As others have mentioned, while the price is higher than entry-level tripods, it's still much cheaper than a comparable, more well-known brand with similar specs. The build quality is good and it functions well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013

A tripod of aircraft quality

Pros: light weight, compact, smooth head, stable and strong
Cons: minimum height is about 24 inch.
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"I bought this to replace my 5.8 lbs carbon fiber tripod. I don't think I miss the old one. The fluid head is smooth. Very stable and precise. I was considering a $190 Giottos MT8223-50 carbon fiber at about same price, half pound lighter but it is not as strong. I am glad I got this one for just about the same price."
Review 10 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:February 22, 2014

Great Quality

Pros: light weight; solid
Model Number: CX600B502D
"Took it on trips to a few national parks for hiking and it survived some harsh conditions in water, snow, sand, and rocks."
Review 11 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Great travel tripod - small, light, very managable

Pros: lightweight, very portable, monopod setup, can fit in a backpack without much bulk
Cons: tightening knobs could have better solid grips
"On a recent trip to London, I stuffed it in my small backpack after I packed all my clothes in it. You can take the center column and a leg off, then it becomes really managable in a bag. I find it very steady with my 5D3 and 24-70/2.8L II. They have five yr warrenty. The top bubble level on the head dried up on mine. Upon contacting dolica, they sent me an entire ballhead including the QR plate without asking to send the other one back. Best Customer service.
The tightening knobs could use better grips, the ones on there tend to slip a bit. Not the knob itself, but the rubber grip on the knob."
Review 12 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County CA
Date:March 26, 2013

A little magnesium could've made this perfect

Pros: really nice machined aluminum construction, solid easily adjustable ball head, carbon fiber is cool
Cons: a little heavy for a travel tripod, quirky qr plate, stinky case (seriously stinky)
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"I wasn't sure about making this purchase because I couldn't find a review of it anywhere on any site. So I'll throw in my opinion to fill that void for now. This tripod is a little heavier than I expected even though it matches it specs. It weighs in at 3lbs 3.25oz. The head alone is nearly a pound (15oz). Carbon fiber construction helps a little, a detached leg is only 8.25 oz, but all of that beautiful machined aluminum adds weight. To give you and idea of how much difference the carbon fiber made, the aluminum version of this same tripod LX600B502DS only 5oz heavier (and it typically cost less as you might imagine). Dolica also sells a 57" travel tripod, the TX570B104 that is much cheaper, and weighs in 11oz lighter than the CX600, but it doesn't seem to get very good reviews and I didn't try it. If you don't need the travel configuration, you can get a Dolica AX680P104 which is eight inches taller, and weighs three ounces more (and is less than half the cost). So this tripod is a little short at 60", but weighs nearly what a taller aluminum tripod would weigh at a higher cost. I wish Dolica used magnesium alloy hardware to trim a few ounces off the weight so that this model would stand out more. You can go to other manufacturers for that configuration, but you will probably pay more.
On the upside, this tripod is pretty solid. The machining is really beautiful and the head is stable. I use two other professional-grade tripods that are superior, but twice as heavy and three times the price. On the downside, the quick release plate is odd and hard to secure onto the camera, and the case smells like a petroleum plant.
I'm going to try taking a hike with tripod to see if I can stand the weight, if I can, and if the case has aired out to where it doesn't make me sick, I'll keep it and I'm sure it will serve me well for many years. By the way, there are spiked feet included in the package (they are in a small pouch in the smelly case) but they aren't of very high quality and I will probably choose not to use them."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 8, 2013

Great lightweight travel tripod

Pros: lightweight, compact size
Cons: colud have gave an extra quick release plate, thin plastic sleeve in center column
"Nice lightweight compact travel tripod at a great price.
The ball head on this tripod is really nice. It really smooth and locks down nice and tight. It's better than my Manfrotto 498RC2 ball head. The Manfrotto ball head goes for around $150. Just the ball head itself is worth the price.
Since the tripod is made out of carbon fiber, It doesn't seem as stable as my aluminum Manfrotto 290 series tripod, which I picked up at Costco, but it's much more lighter and compact. If I need to use long exposure or better stability I would use the Manfrotto. In general, I think lightweight carbon fiber tripods are always less rigid than aluminum tripods. The more sturdy carbon fiber tripods tend to be almost the same weight as the aluminum ones. But for travel and hiking I would use the Dolica.
I also like the Dolica better since the pull out center column has a screw cap at the bottom. That way when you flip it upside down, it won't fall off if you didn't tighten up the center column enough. Compared to the Manfrotto, the Manfrotto just has a slip on rubber cap at the end.
One note, inside the center column there is a plastic sleeve that grasp onto the column to tighten it down. It's awfully thin. I'm not sure how long it will last.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 20, 2013

Grat value for price

Pros: over all quality, light weight
Cons: small numbering
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"The over all quality and build is good. The legs are skinnier than some other high quality tripods, but that is to be expected to keep the weight down. Weighing only 3lbs. you can carry the tripod around for a long time and not get too tired. I also like the built in monopod. My only con is the small numbering on the ball head. The ball head is very nice though and is better than some other more expensive ball heads."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Date:October 19, 2013

Nice Full-feature Tripod

Pros: light weight, flexible configuration, solid but not rock solid, coverts to nice monopod, smooth operation
Cons: included case just big enough, small parts (spike feet counterweight foot), can't find extra quick release plates (yet)
Model Number: CX600B502D
"Wish it was about 3" taller, but most "traveler" tripods tend to fall in the 60" range. I love the flexibility and weight. When you've been dragging a classic TiltAll around, this tripod is a blessing. Smooth operation in all adjustments. If using a long lens on a DSLR (or 35mm SLR) use a lens mount to avoid ball-socket stress and throwing the light weight tripod off balance. It would be nice if the storage bag was a ½" longer. Tight fit in bag and the tripod needs to folded up "just so" to fit. Monopod is a good working height. Leg foot design could be improved. Having to remove rubber feet and install spikes ins tedious to say the least and parts can be easily lost in the field. Overall, I still like it a lot. I'd give 3 ½ stars, but that's not an option."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:November 28, 2013

disappointed

Pros: tripod is light
Cons: not reliable for steady control
Model Number: CX600B502D/S Traveler 60"
"Ball head wobbles. Using a DSLR well under 20 lbs it is impossible to maintain a steady shot as camera slips out of position."
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ft. Collins, Colorado
Date:February 5, 2014

Very dissapointed

Pros: packs up small, individual parts are quality made
Cons: difficult to open and close head drifts
Model Number: 737220
"Unit is a pain setting up and breaking down, basically having to turn it inside out to store in its case. Rather than easier flip levers for adjusting legs, these legs have multiple knobs to turn, similar to an extension pole. Since you have to assemble and disassemble as noted above, it’s easy to forget which way is tightening/which way is loosening. Is it right side out, or inside out? Worse yet, if you have any weight attached, the small adjustment knobs don’t give you needed leverage to tighten enough to hold a decent DSLR and flash, should you choose to turn the camera and flash 90 degrees to horizontal; (letter vs. landscape, if you will). With my Nikon D7000 (18-200mm lens,) and Nikon Speedlight SB910, its load is only 4 ½ lbs. The head will drift on you. Very frustrating and time consuming. Mine’s going back!"
Review 18 for Dolica Premium Traveler 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod/Monopod with Ball Head Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SLC UT
Date:March 6, 2014

Flimsy

Pros: light and compact
Cons: flimsy
Model Number: CX600B502D/S
"I had high hopes for a good tripod. It is light and compact but I found it much to flimsy for use with a full size DSLR. When fully extended with the camera mounted any touching of the camera caused considerable shake which lasted longer than the 3 second exposure delay on the camera. Perhaps a remote exposure would be best but then wind is also a concern."