Customer Reviews for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®

Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®

This Item may be available at your local Costco for a cash & carry Price.
Average Customer Rating:
1.85 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
14
7 of 20(35%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Review 1 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Apopka, FL.
Date:February 4, 2014

Home and Business works for me

Pros: good cust service easy to use app great for taxes
Cons: nothing so far
Model Number: Quicken Home and Business
"Maybe because I have used Quicken products for years I know all the in's and out's. I have quicken for MAC too. I have never had a problen with cust service. Any problems or issues with the use or up-grades have been resolved with a call or an on line chat. I know going in that if I want full use of this ver., in about 4years I will have to buy a new 2017or 2018 ver."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:January 10, 2014

I was skeptical but it worked perfectly

Pros: tracks everything investments accounts & cash, keeps business expenses separate if you want, creates invoices & business documents, selected data an be accessed with your phone, fully supports android phones & tablets!, mobile access can be limited to 1 or more accounts
Cons: probably requires alot of ram & good video, will only download from the banks for 2 yrs
Model Number: Home & Business 2014 Release R5
"Hi Folks, I also have been using Quicken since 1995 and my data file is over 100MB with more accounts than I can count.
After reading the other reviews I was terrified of upgrading but my 2 years of downloads was up & I was using the Premier Version and wanted the Business component.
The software upgrade went perfectly. I did my own backup first in case of disaster, but the software uninstalled my old Quicken, backed up my database & upgraded to the new format. It's been over a week & I've had no problems whatsoever.
My primary reason for posting this is to let those of you who are as terrified as myself know there is some hope. The software works perfectly for some of us.
One issue I've noticed is that the video is a little choppy & I do have a dedicated NVidia video card.
PS: I'm on a 3 year old Dell Latitude E6510 laptop with a Core i7, 8GB RAM & Windows 7.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:February 18, 2014

Decent product

"I have been using Quicken for at least 10 years and it has always worked fine for me. My only objection is the fact that upgrades are required every few years to be able to continue to download transactions.
After reading some of the previous reviews and the problems upgrading, I was concerned that I would have a problem this time upgrading from 2011 version. Installed the disc and all went smoothly.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit
Date:January 31, 2014

Ok

Pros: no sweeping changes to look or functionality, seamless conversion of legacy data
Cons: no toolbar shortcut for calendar, app does not sync with all cashflow accounts, app does not sync with any investment accounts
"I have been using Quicken for over 20 years. My last version was 2011 Business which I was very satisfied with. The only reason I upgraded was because the online services were being discontinued in April. So far, I do not notice anything significantly better or different. The one complaint I have is the calendar shortcut has been removed from the toolbar and buried in a pull down menu with a shortcut keystroke. I'm sure I will get used to using the keystroke, but initially I consider it a step backwards. The mobile app only syncs with some of my cash flow accounts so I do not get a complete summary of my accounts. Not a big deal, though; not sure I'll be using it all that much to enter transactions on the go anyway. It would be much nicer if it would also sync with investment accounts too. All in all a continuation of the proven Quicken formula."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014

Forced Purchase

Pros: excellent money management tool
Cons: forced to purchase upgrades every two years, poor customer service
"Everything loaded okay without any issues. The software did convert all of my current and past files without any problems. My files are relatively small since I do close them out every year and only maintain current year activity in my active file. I dislike the fact that Intuit will stop your online access unless you upgrade every every two years"
Review 6 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:USA
Date:March 2, 2014

Forced to upgrade by Intuit !!

"Intuit (Quicken) crippled version 2010 !! Version 2014 (H&B). Only recommend due only game in town ! They bought out Mint, so you're still shackled (and, no, I haven't tried Mint)."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manteca, Ca
Date:March 31, 2014

Not up to their standards or anyone else's

Pros: quicken has had a good run
Cons: report and register fonts are mismatched.
"I have been using Quicken since about the time they started which is quite a while. I upgrade every few years just to keep current because it has been several years since they have added any value-not a big deal since it was pretty darn good since the beginning.
Not this time; 1) installing it is impossible with the way the program runs. I tried contacting Quicken help-there is no Quicken help. Then I went on line and found a forum that explained what I had to do to get it to load. Quite simple once you know the magic word but why should I have to go do a search to find the magic word?
2) The register and report fonts are vastly different: The register font is useable but when switching to a report the font is tiny. If I make the report font bigger then the register font is so too large to use as half off it is off the screen.
If this had been the first version of Quicken it would have died an infant death. But after umpteen versions screwing it up this badly is inexcusable. Honestly I would have given them the purchase price just to leave the thing alone."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 27, 2014

receipt capture won't work unless you sign in.

Pros: no pros not as advertised.
Cons: does not work unless you sign into your account., for your security password should be strong., difficult to type from a mobile phone., once signed in. it displays your balances., not ideal on a business meet or date, just to capture your receipt.
Model Number: quicken 2014 home and business
"When you sign in it displays all your information Cash balance credit card balance etc. Not ideal when just capturing a receipt in public.
I purchased this for the ability to quickly capture receipts on the road and have it sync up with quicken. After 3 hours with online chat. They inform me it will not do that. My first question was how do I do it without signing in and displaying all my information.
I will be returning this. Would give it a negative review if I could."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ventura, Ca
Date:February 6, 2014

Quicken Home & Business

Pros: works fine until you need help
Cons: i think they bought up all competitors, so good luck finding a replacement
Model Number: Quicken Home & Business
"Expect no call service for help, you are on your own unless you make a purchase.
Forced to buy upgrade every 2 or 3 years,
near $100. If you use bill pay as I do for $12.95 a month it will be disabled unless you upgrade.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2014

Don't buy it's getting worst not better

Pros: too many cons to think of a pro.
Cons: planned obsolescence without real improvement.
"Long time user but since buying this version I am actively pursuing a replacement. This version is crashing all time. Forces you to use your Intuit user name and password to download your accounts. You must reset your preferences and be careful. They are up to release 5 with 19 fixes. I counted 86 fixes from release 2 to include release 5 already, almost all due to crashing. Testing software on customers during tax season or at any time is a bad approach."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 26, 2014

Unbelievable new low for Intuit

Pros: none
Cons: intuit support - nonexistent.
Model Number: Quicken 2014
"I read the reviews prior to purchasing and felt that most of the folks experiencing issues probably were not tech savy, which I am. I've been a faithful user of Quicken for over 20 years and have never experienced an upgrade issue until now! The on-line help is ineffective and support - a real live person - is non existent. I'm really not sure how Intuit plans to address this issue as their web-site doesn't provide any suggestion that the issue is as massive as it is. Will stay on 2012 until I can find another solution."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Farmingdale, NJ
Date:January 26, 2014

Quicken Home & Business Massive Disappointment

Pros: none but they have no competition
Cons: snap & store receipt feature doesn't work on iphon
Model Number: Quicken 2014 Home & Business
"I upgraded only to be able to gain ability to Snap & Store Receipts.
I installed the Quicken 2014 App on my iPhone 5, went through the setup and took a photo of a receipt. The App crashed and closed. Several attempts yielded same result.
Intuit's online help and documentation barely mentions the Snap & Store feature, with no mention of how you are to view receipts in desktop program.
It's obvious that it is a flawed product. You'd think a major corporation would ensure that a feature like this, would work by the time the product hits the shelves.
This feature is prominently show on the front of the package, obviously to boost sales and is a sham. Intuit should be prosecuted for fraud.
I've used Quicken for 20+ years, to manage dozens of accounts for my family members and several simple small businesses, simply because they have no competition and have hated it the whole time. The software has always been buggy for me and Intuit Customer Service is abysmal"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, California
Date:January 24, 2014

Don't buy it!

Pros: absolutely none
Cons: will not download some credit card transactions, horrible custormer support, just bad software not ready for release.
""Upgrading" to Quicken 2014 was a terrible mistake. The software isn't even qualified to be a Beta Test version. It is full of bugs and will not download from some financial institutions. I have spent hours trying to resolve problems. This "upgrade" is a disaster."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:January 24, 2014

Beware installing to try out

Pros: great program in prior versions
Cons: don't know if 2014 is worth upgrading to, can't revert to previous version easily
"If you install the 2014 version to try it out, it over-writes your previous version. So if you decide to take up Quicken's 60 day refund offer and uninstall and return it, you are left with no program file and will have to re-install your previous version. (Make sure you backup first before installing 2014 or you will not have a usable data file either)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014

Not worth the upgrade - Quicken is Great

Pros: quicken is excellent for personal finance
Cons: delivers no value over 2011 version
Model Number: Quicken 2014
"2014 edition adds nothing to the 2011 version. Don't buy it just for an upgrade.
With that said, I have been using Quicken for over 10 years, and it's the best! Just sad when they force upgrades for online support continuation, and the new version delivers nothing for additional money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Quicken has hit a new low

Pros: none
Cons: see above
Model Number: Quicken Home & Business 2014 Item # 796460
"I am "very disappointed" in Quicken. Over the years, Intuit has become less innovative with their products and they appear to have little concern with the quality of their code.
The initial reviews for this product were quite poor. As a result, I waited for the development team to fix the code. [When you load the software it automatically searches for updates so I thought I would safe]. The program loaded but it failed to extract/upload my previous years data files. I had backed up the data but their program corrupted my data file. This has been a previous issues so it should have been fixed. I had to go to technical support three times to get resolution for this problem. You have to escalate your case to get to speak to an operator and then they are extremely difficult to understand because of their accent. Bottom line the problem was fixed but I had to go back and re-key more than 80 transactions to bring my transactions up to date. This should never have happened with a final release. In total, I have about 4 or 5 hours in on this project that should have taken 15 minutes. The program differs very little from their 2012 release. Quicken appears to be releasing beta level products and then letting their customer base do their testing for them. I'm going to an alternative product.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Very disapponted

"After two days of messing with Quicken I remembered why I stopped using it five years ago, and will be returning it to the store. To bulky and hard to use on the Business side.
I had decided to give another because of the Mobil app figured it would let me do my business of line using my tablet then I could sync it once I returned home. No go must be online in order to add transactions and did not have the capabilities to input my customer invoices and payments at all.
While tend I like intuit products I have been nothing but disappointing in Quicken every-time I have used it.
Back to using my old Quickbooks 2006 until I find something that will let me take care of my business on my tablet and sync at the end of the day to my desk top."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 3, 2014

Warning! Software will EXPIRE!!

Pros: makes the company intuit lots of money
Cons: quicken will force you to upgrade, quicken will stop downloads if you dont pay
"Beware!! Quicken will force you to upgrade by turning off any internet or import function! Disclaimer to this is very sneaky. It is almost criminal. You will not truly own this software. Read the disclaimer VERY carefully in the small print. Many users have been burned by this. The reality is, over the years the company is not able to come up with anything new for the last 7 years. In order to keep their sales, they simply shut off download functions and force you to buy a new version.
You don't need this program. All banking and investment information can be viewed real time online anyway.
"1 Data download from participating financial institutions or other parties is available until 4/2017;""
32 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Great Barrington, MA
Date:October 29, 2013

Upgrade doesn't work

Pros: none that i can get to.
Cons: upgraded program doesn't work
Model Number: Quicken 2014
"I’ve been using Quicken for over 15 years, dutifully upgrading every year to get the latest features. While I have been disappointed with the quality of some of the past releases (e.g. the mobile app last year), until the 2014 version I’ve never had one that just didn’t work. When I installed Quicken 2014 with Release 2, it installed, converted, hung and crashed. After an hour on the chat room with support (“Are you sure you’re validating the right file? Are you really sure?”), and email exchanges with the level 2 support, I’m no closer to having a working version. I’m afraid I’m committed to Quicken, but I would urge other users to be cautious about buying an upgrade unless they need it."
50 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quicken® Home & Business 2014 by Intuit®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:October 12, 2013

worst software ever

Pros: none, purchased at costco so hopefully i can get refund
Cons: everything
"DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT. This software does not work. It's slow and unresponsive. Changing accounts takes forever. Window opens where it wants. Can't have the window open where I want. Can't sync to cloud. Always getting errors. Spoke to Intuit about these issues. Their response was that they are known issues. They SHOULD be fixed in the future. How about releasing software that works. This software doesn't even qualify as a beta release. It is the worst software I have ever seen."
57 of 58 people found this review helpful.