Customer Reviews for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest

TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest

This item may also be available at your local warehouse at a cash and carry price. TRINITY’s commercial grade stainless steel 41-inch combo rolling tool chests provide all your garage storage needs.  Its high-end design and functionality not only make this tool chest a great value, but its size ensures room for all large and small tools.  The drawers have smooth, ball bearing slides for easy access, and heavy duty casters for easy mobility. Features: 41" wide tool chest High quality commercial-grade stainless steel Split top chest for smaller parts and full-length bottom drawers for large tools 3 - split top 2.5" deep drawers 2 - split top 5.5" deep drawers 1 - split top 8.75" deep drawer 1 - full length 2.5" deep drawer 3 - full length 5.5" deep drawers 1 - full length 8.75" deep drawer Large 5" x 2" swivel casters - 2 with brakes, 2 without brakes Easy “one-step” locking and unlocking mechanism Heavy-duty ball bearing slides (each pair rated at 100 lbs) Extra long extension slides to provide full extended drawers Extra heavy-duty and extended length side handles 2 hydraulic lifts on top lid for easy one-touch opening Center locks for top and bottom chest Includes pre-cut drawer liners for each drawer Magazine rack in the top lid Assembled Dimensions: 43" W (handles add 4.5" to overall width) x 18.1" D x 56" H (casters add 6.5" to overall height) 2,200 lb weight capacity Product weight: 315.5 lbs Package weight: 337.8lbs Model: TLS-0401
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Review 1 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Litchfield, CT
Date:June 2, 2013

Very Nice Unit

Pros: price, stainless steel, overall quality to price ratio-bang for buck
Cons: drawers dont latch closed
Model Number: 41" SS
"The unit is well made and should exceed the needs of any homeowner, craftsman, or hobbyist. It is, of course, a step down from a Snap-On rolling tool box; but even if I were a professional mechanic, I'd buy 2 of these before I'd spend $8k-$10k on a Snap-On setup. Mine was in a damp basement for 3 years, even through a 36" deep flood, and still works perfectly. The drawers all glide open well and provide very good access.
The only negative I found was that one drawer would glide partway open due to the pitch of the floor where I had the box placed. The 'latching' type drawers on newer Sears and high-end boxes have a latch integrated in the drawer handle to prevent this. Adding height adjustability to the wheels would also help, but the latch system is better if you need to move the box around and don't want the drawers sliding open. I don't know anyone who actually locks their tool boxes at their home."
Review 2 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:January 4, 2013

Cautionary review

Pros: its appearance is attractive.
"Its packing was well done and delivery was easy. Assembly was quick. all drawers slide smoothly. Overall craftsmanship is good. The drawers are held in their closed positions by a friction grip and not by a firm mechanical latch. One of those friction grips has failed. That drawer will stay where ever it is left, however, when pushing the tool chest across a floor, that drawer will slide open."
Review 3 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City Utah
Date:May 9, 2012

Nice unit for the money

Pros: heavy duty, nice design
Cons: locking wheels a little clunky
"This unit looks like a solid unit, takes some time to get it unpacked and you will need help to stack it. Freight was a little rough but not too bad, it's a toolbox.."
Review 4 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 3, 2012

Great Product

Pros: packaging exceptional
Cons: bolts for wheels and handles are odd size
Model Number: THLRT241135/293496
"Packaging very protective, very stout box. Assembly bolts need to be a standard size & not rounded at the top between metric and standard wrenches had a hard time find one that fit snug. Very pleased with the purchase."
Review 5 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 17, 2012

Great Product

Pros: very nice quality
Cons: couple of hours to remove the protective covering.
"This is a great product. This is my second time purchasing it as the first one was stolen (and yet I came back for seconds which should tell you all you need to know)."
Review 6 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Tan Valley, Arizona
Date:March 20, 2012

Top Notch Box

"I have had mine for several years and I love it, drawers glide nicely and the box will not rust. Plenty of room for all my tools including my air tools, you can't beat the box for the price!"
Review 7 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Modesto California
Date:February 2, 2012

Great Product

Pros: beautiful construction
"It works better than expected and I have it really loaded with heavy tools."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eagle Idaho
Date:October 24, 2011

Good for the money

Pros: super quality, great shipping and packageing, looks great in the garage
Cons: not as useful for lots of smaller tools, handles tend to attack you
"I have had this stool chest for 18 months. It is built very well and seems to be a good deal. My favorite drawers are the top three in the bottom section. At first Glance this box seems to have an huge capacity however it just may be that the chest could been designed a little better. The deeper the drawer the less likely you are to find smaller tools So if you have a lot of smaller tools this may not be the chest for you. I have little use for the two deep drawers in the top unit. but some may find it useful. I feel that the top unit should have had two or three more drawers and the drawers should have gone all the way across. The bottom unit is designed well but could have housed the deep drawers on top. The ends of the handles seem to grab and rip shirts as you walk by. These could have been rounded or chamfered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Date:July 4, 2011

Great Tool Chest

Pros: great product from a great company...costco!
Cons: trucking company who delivered product!
"I was very pleased with this purchase from Costco. It is a very high quality product. Very hard to remove the protective plastic covering, but better than having scratches!
Getting the product was a disaster, the delivery company had weather related problems, but failed to notify me of changes in delivery times. But product and Costco are GREAT!
"
Review 10 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2011

Solid Value

Pros: solid smooth drawers, extra click to keep drawers from accidental openin, heavy duty casters with locks, anti skid drawer liners really work
Cons: protective covering could be easier to remove
Model Number: Trinity 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
"I had looked at these tool chests when Costco had them in store and was impressed, but wasn't ready to buy. Then they disappeared. I looked at other manufacturer's models in retail stores and the drawers were flimsy, units dented easily, even the store rep recommended against them at one location. When the Trinity 41" showed up on Costco.com, I took advantage of it and definitely don't regret it. Costco had the 27" before, but I'm glad I waited until the 41" showed up. You have more tools than you think. I have everything in it from screwdrivers to circular saws. The only thing that won't fit is my router. Excellent purchase. The protective covering used for shipping is a bit of a pain to remove, but it ensures the unit arrives without scratches."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Paradise, CA
Date:February 21, 2011

broke

"When I first received it I was very pleased. Looks nice held alot of tools. However in less than 9 months of weekend use, one of the lower drawers holding only sockets broke. To be exact the ball bearing slide gave way and bearings spilled out. Now it is a pain to pull in and out. We'll see if I can obtain a replacement drawer without having to return the entire chest."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011

Well packaged, sturdy construction, exceeded my ex

"I was nervous ordering this without seeing it in person first and I have been pleasantly surprised.
The side walls are thick; I think they are lined on the inside with a sturdy plastic and the stainless steel edges are rolled and thick (not sharp). This tool box doesn't feel like it will dent or pressure ding easily which was something I was a little worried about before it arrived.
The wheels are not only a large diameter, but they are also very thick and swivel on ball bearings. The unit rolls well despite of its weight and the wheel locks can be activated easily.
I like that there are drawers of varying depths, but wide and open easily so that contents are accessible without sacrificing storage capacity.
Another plus that is not in the item description is that there are 2 sets of keys: one pair that locks the lid and top-portion drawers and another pair that locks the bottom drawers. This can be useful if you share tools with someone or want to secure more valuable items but leave others available to share.
I have no idea how they did this, but this item ships with a thin film of easily removable plastic that adheres tightly to all the exposed stainless steel parts to protect the finish from scratches or dings during shipping. After removing it all I can see that it worked perfectly as the item arrived in top shape. The film left no sticky residue.
I have ordered other large items from Costco.com and I will say that the order fulfillment and delivery for this product was the best of anything I have ever ordered here. The packaging was superb and the delivery company for this product were all professional, friendly, and punctual. After some bad experiences, I wish all the shipping of large Costco.com items were handled by this company.
The only flaws I could pick apart might be with unlocking the casters. It is a little stiff to release the wheel locks with your foot, but not impossible.
To be honest I can't think of any other flaws. This was a little expensive for me but completely worth every penny. The only surprises I had with this item were pleasant ones."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakland, Ca
Date:August 31, 2010

Trinity 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest

Cons: add a con
"We just got the tool chest to clean up our tool room. Wow! very nice Easy to assemble.
One thing is important to remember. Don't turn the key in the lock, put the keys in it and slam the drawer closed. We had to have locksmith pick the lock to get into the drawer. If in Oakland ask for Nate of Consolidated Security he had it open in 10 min. The drawers are spacious and hold a lot of tools. Thanks we are very happy with the purchase.
The only con we have experienced is locking the keys in the bottom section. The drawers will close when the lock has been secured."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:April 21, 2010

Great tool box for the price

Model Number: TRINITY 41"
"I have bought 5 of these now over the years although 3 had different brand names but I am so happy with them. They look great, the drawers are strong, the foam pads in the drawers stay in place, the keys are all the same type but different cut, all four wheels swivel making it easy to move around. I just wish that the body of the drawers were stainless and I wish they still had the model that had all the smaller drawers like the ones I got at the store years ago. And I wish they were still $599 like when they first came out in the stores."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anacortes, WA
Date:December 6, 2009

Money well spent...

Pros: excellent weight/quality., bearings are smooth & sturdy., comes with pre-cut liners (saves a lot of time)., stainless stays/looks clean., full width bottom drawers., decent casters.
Cons: no great way to secure/bolt it to a wall etc.
Model Number: Trinity 41"
"I've purchased and returned several tool chests from Costco in the past 5 years; this was the one I was waiting for! I purchased it a year ago and used it while building the house I'm now living in... wanted to wait until I'd used the heck out of it before reviewing it.
Several others have small, narrow, choppy drawers on the bottom cabinet, which inhibits storage especially of larger items; these are full-width.
Mine even came w/top & bottom cabinet keyed alike, which leaves me with one less key. Nice!
I'm the envy of several contractor buddies who own Snap-On and other similar boxes for which they paid $3k or more. This box goes on sale about 2X/year for about $700.
Some say stainless is high-maintenance... buy a spray-can of stainless steel cleaner & wipe it down once in a while. It's no problem.
You cannot beat the quality for price, much less Costco's guarantee. Wait for the sale and buy one or two! You won't be dissapointed."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2009

EXCELLENT PRODUCT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

Cons: none
"This is an excellent product at a great price. Our unit was shipped to us and arrived with a dented drawer. I contacted the manufacturer and they rushed a new drawer to us without question and immediately. Customer service is EXCELLENT."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Antioch,CA
Date:January 15, 2009

Very happy Purchase

Pros: the wheels are very heavy duty
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Trinity 41" Stainless Steel tool chest
"I have been looking
at this tool chest for a long time.And when they had the $200 dollar off coupon.It was time to buy.This tool chest is great.Very well made.And it took all of my tools with room to spare. it comes with drawer liners for your tools. Heavy duty stainless steel makes it a great buy.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TRINITY 41" Stainless Steel Tool Chest
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florence, AL
Date:December 12, 2008

nice and big

Pros: quality made, big
Cons: protective film removal difficult
"got this today and it came on two pallets. Seems to be made well with assembly only taking about 30 minutes. However the protective film that surrounds the box is very tedious to remove and will probable take much longer."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.