Customer Reviews for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker

Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Brewing Coffee at Home Preparing great tasting drip coffee at home is simple but requires many factors in order to consistently achieve the perfect cup. Fresh whole coffee beans should be ground to a medium sized grind immediately before brewing for optimal full-bodied flavor. Using fresh, filtered water is essential as brewed coffee is 98% water and non-filtered water could leave the coffee tasting flat. All Capresso coffee makers feature high quality heating elements that heat the water to the ideal brewing temperature and brew the coffee in less than one minute per cup for the perfect extraction that is never bitter. Preferably you should enjoy the brewed coffee soon after brewing has finished as this is when the coffee is freshest and has the most flavor. Maximum Flavor in under 10 minutes Rapid brewing 10-cup programmable coffee maker produces a full-flavored pot of coffee in less than 9 minutes ensuring the proper extraction time for perfectly brewed coffee. The stainless steel thermal vacuum carafe keeps coffee hot for up to 4 hours Features: Stainless steel thermal vacuum carafe with drip-free pouring spout keeps coffee hot for up to 4 hours Removable water tank for easy filling and cleaning Brews 10 cups of coffee in under 9 minutes for maximum flavor and aroma Space saving slim design (7 ½” x 10”) Permanent GoldTone filter Charcoal water filtration removes up to 82% of chlorine and other impurities 24-hour programmable LCD clock Special setting provides maximum temperature and aroma when brewing 3-5 cups Drip stop allows you to pour a cup while brewing Concealed cord storage Push-button swing out filter Electronics retain all programming during short power outages up to 10 seconds Specifications: Capacity: 10 Cups Dimensions: 10" L x 7 1/2" W x 13 3/4" H Weight: 7 lbs. Model: CM300
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
19 of 28(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ahwahnee, Ca
Date:December 12, 2014

Good but not Great

Pros: easy clean up
Cons: lack of a push button pour spout
"Coffee comes out hot and stays hot a reasonable time. It has a detachable water reservoir that's convenient to refill, but I choose to fill it using a large glass. The large opening to fill it prevents spills. The used coffee filter is very easy to dispose of. The measurements of water are the same as my last coffee maker, so I don't see any problems like mention in other reviews. You do have to rotate the top lid to pour the coffee, so that's one small inconvenience."
Review 2 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014

So far so good!

Pros: well priced
Cons: open "dot" on carafe lid hard to see.
"I was looking for a new brewer with thermal carafe to replace Cuisinart. Never loved my Cusinart particularly as it was cumbersome to fill the water reservoir. Finally the on/off switch became finicky and I decided it was time for replacement. It has been my experience that none of these machines have a long life so I was not eager to spend $$$$ on a replacement. I was surprised to find the Capresso so well priced on Costco.com so I took leap of faith and ordered it. Unlike some other reviewers, I find the coffee to be HOT and stay that way for quite some time. Also, the carafe has wider neck than Cuisinart which allows for better cleaning. I would recommend this product for anyone looking for well priced brewer."
Review 3 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014

marginal

Pros: only had for few days
Cons: temp of coffee need to be hotter
"coffee was not hot enough. have had a cuisnart for years, it made much hotter coffee. Took back to costco"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:West Springfield, MA
Date:October 27, 2014

Had to return it

Pros: coffee seemed hot
Cons: couldn't program; defective
"It seemed to make good coffee, but I had to return it as it wouldn't set the clock or program. In the meantime, I got the Cuisinart as I wasn't wild about the thermal carafe and like glass."
Review 5 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, Ca
Date:October 1, 2014

Beautiful, good quality, keeps coffee hot

Pros: keeps coffee hot hot
Cons: need to get used to opening and closing carafe lid
Model Number: CM 300
"It is easy to use, keeps the coffee very hot. I had piping hot coffee after 5 hours in the pot and this without pre warming the carafe and not using electricity to keep it warm like most coffee makers. Must be careful to snap filter in place and open and close carafe lid."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chesapeake, Va
Date:June 28, 2014

Great Coffee maker

Pros: separate fill chamber
Cons: filling chamber without emptying pot
Model Number: CM300
"Had this coffee machine for 3 month. Had Krups for 5yrs before that and others before that. The main reason I like it is because of the separate fill chamber. Others I've used you use the pot to fill it so you don't over fill. But that generally creates water in places that are not supposed to have water. Then rust, then a corroded nasty machine. Temp after brewing 174 F degrees. The only negative I can think of is the same thing. Scared I'll fill the chamber without emptying the pot. Hopefully not. Great coffee. Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NV
Date:May 20, 2014

Great Value

Pros: removable water tank gold filter charcoal, filter.
Cons: no indicator for when coffee is done brewing
"I have been using my new Capresso now for 2 weeks. I am very happy with it. I read lots of reviews on different makes & models on several websites, before deciding this looked like a decent pot for a good price. Once you understand how all the parts fit together, it is easy to operate & clean. I pre-heat the carafe before brewing, to ensure the coffee starts out nice & hot. The removable water tank is a nice feature, as is the charcoal filter. It is a nice sleek design & looks good on the counter. The only complaint is there is no beep or indication when the coffee is finished brewing."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 19, 2014

Not so great

Cons: cheap materials, all clear plastic water tank
Model Number: Capresso 10 cup thermal coffee maker
"I was disappointed in the quality. Too much black plastic. The deal breaker was the all clear plastic water tank.
I have very hard water, so the tank would look awful in just a couple months.
I returned it."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Venice, FL
Date:May 18, 2014

Very Pleased With Purchase

Pros: pours without a drip. just line up the arrows
Cons: haven't found one
Model Number: CM300
"Have enjoyed all aspects of this coffeemaker since it's purchase five weeks ago. When following directions for pouring, filling etc., I find no shortcomings. The brewed coffee is hot, tasty and holds it's temperature for a good two hours. The easy remove and fill water tank is also a pleasant surprise; never having experienced this feature before."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2014

Box says 10 cups but it's really only 8

Model Number: M300 475.05
"It looked like we were getting less (and stronger) coffee than than we got from our Kitchen Aid coffee maker so my wife measured the amount of water going into each unit. Sure enough, when we had poured 8 measured cups into the canister, the markings showed 10 cups. A similar amount poured into the Kitchen Aid showed only 8 cups according to the marking on that unit. Next, we poured measured water into the Capresso carafe. It was full to the run over point at 9 cups. Despite the description on the box, this is clearly not a 10 cup coffee maker. Tomorrow it is going back to Costco. I really appreciate their merchandise return policy."
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:So. Calif.
Date:May 11, 2014

Not Good. Drips

Pros: price
Cons: drips not bpa free and coffee not hot.
Model Number: CM300
"I am returning this coffee maker.
The carafe drips coffee all over the place because the pouring design is flawed. What is worse is that it does NOT make hot coffee.
Tepid at best! Plus it is NOT BPA free.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nampa ID
Date:May 9, 2014

Another Fantastic Capresso Product...It ROCKS!

Pros: hot hot coffee, no plastic taste breakin period!, perfect coffee flavor / aroma right from the box!
Cons: no complaints at all! love it!
Model Number: CM300
"I have owned many coffee makers and my last one was a Cuisinart 10 cup brew and although it lasted us for a long time it had inconsistent brews including temp and flavor. I also had to go through the plastic taste phase when it was new to burnt metallic taste after it aged. Didn't break, just tired of crummy tasting coffee.
Frankly I was surprised at the excellence of this Capresso coffee maker for the price since I usually pay over $100 for others. I have had zero problems with brews. Very consistent, HOT, HOT coffee, great flavor and much easier to use than my last one. I love the removable water tank for filling since this has eliminated spillage. And the way the filter is on a swing arm for easy cleaning or filling with coffee grounds has eliminated the mess. I should have known that this would provide me with great coffee since I also have had their conical burr grinder for over 12 years without any problems and it still is going strong. I fully expect the same from my coffee maker by same name.
I avoided most of the pitfalls that others describe by reading my instructions thoroughly and making sure everything lines up as it is supposed to and it all works to perfection. Very HAPPY with my purchase. Costco again delivers the best!"
Review 13 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambria, CA
Date:April 22, 2014

Good value

Pros: cost fast brewing
"Second Capresso coffee maker I have owned. This one is a solid value especially with the current costco special. Very happy with the purchase"
Review 14 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ID
Date:April 16, 2014

Great Machine, Best Available

Pros: fast quiet auto shut-off, energy efficient programable
Cons: none
"Our Cuisinart thermal Carafe coffee maker died after over 10 years of daily use. After reading the reviews, and that machine now a product of China, decided to find another brand- and found this one.
Love the auto shut off and the carafe feature that keeps the coffee warm all morning. It has been close to a year and we are still very VERY happy with it. It does not like fine ground coffee, but that is okay with us. We have no absolutely no complaints and highly recommend.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Villa Park, CA
Date:April 1, 2014

Average Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker

Pros: easy to clean and convenient removable water tank
Cons: does not stay hot for a long time.
Model Number: CM300
"Good for a family of 3 or 4. Coffee remains hot for about 3 hours. Good value for its price.
The removable water tank should be marked on BOTH sides not to exceed the marked 10 cups. The design should have been made to only accommodate 10 cups and not more to avoid spillover accidents."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:March 10, 2014

Trouble free design & stays hot!

Pros: keeps coffee hot, easy to operate, smart design
Cons: none at this time
"Smart design, the basket with the grounds must be properly seated to close, so no accidental overflows, during the brew cycle, the carafe top has an open and closed position which apparently to keep contents hot longer than the last brand of coffee maker I had used."
Review 17 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix Arizona
Date:March 2, 2014

Best Coffee Maker we have ever used

Pros: fool proof
Cons: none i can think of
Model Number: CM300
"First I would like to say the Capresso CM300 makes excellent coffee if you love Starbucks strong hot coffee. But before I go into why I have success and love the coffee I would like to say it is also hard to screw up and I can't screw it up and make a giant mess in the sleepiest of states.
Before this coffee maker I was pushing grand prize winner for most bone head moves making coffee as my brain does not fire well until I have had my first cup of coffee.
In the last one I left the lid up after I turned it on and water went back into the holding tank. Can't do that with this one. It swivels out.
I have missed the filter and dumped the fresh ground coffee in the water tank. This machine the tank comes out and has a separate lid.
If I couldn't find my glasses I would either under fill or over filled the last one because it was so hard to see the water and coffee flooded the kitchen. This one is easy see with no glasses. It is separate, easy to wash and fill and totally see through. Only exception we changed the line to fill it more with water. Our drawn on line is 3/4" higher. We have big Starbucks cups and like 2 cups each in the morning.
So what is our tricks to give this 5 stars? These are our steps to making "Café au Yum".
Every morning we:
1st step- take the metal carafe out put it in the sink and rinse and fill it with the hottest tap water to warm up the ice cold metal. Let is sit.
2nd step- we rinse out the brass filter and it's holder and put it back in.
3rd step- we fill the water tank 3/4" more than they have marked. Put back into back of machine.
4th step-
We grind the coffee to smithereens- super fine like espresso- to use less and get the most out of it in our Mr Coffee Maker grinder. We have also used Braun and it works great too! The flavor released is wonderful. We use a level 1/3 cup of Costco's wonderful organic fresh coffee beans. Put grounds in and swivel close.
5th step- Dump the hot water out of the carafe and put back into coffee maker.
Push button and in 8 mins great coffee is made. Not a half hour like our last one.
For Café au yum:
Put cups in sink. This part can be messy!
For the creamy sweet version for those sweet tooth's:
Put in 1 1/ 3rd jiggers of Horizon organic Half and Half in coffee cup.
Add 1 heaping teaspoon and a titch Trader Joe's organic turbinado sugar.
Pour coffee will raising your arm as high as possible making a long stream run into the cup making frothy creamy bubbles of cappuccino like coffee. Smile and Yell O'LE!
I prefer less sweet and use a level jigger and a level teaspoon."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014

Some good, some bad

Pros: stainless carafe, 10-cup size
Cons: dribbles when pouring unless it's just right
"I had an old Capresso Elegance Therm 8-cup, and needed a replacement carafe, but found this pot on sale to be just a bit more, so I bought it.
Things I like:
10-cups is perfect for four mugs of coffee, 8-cup was always too small.
Stainless carafe won't break, I was on my third plastic/glass thermal carafe on the Elegance Therm.
Seems to make good coffee in a reasonable time.
Things I don't like:
Dribbles-lid must be unscrewed so the mark lines up precisely with the spout, if you are off it dribbles. If you pour too fast, it dribbles. Takes some getting used to.
Closing the carafe after pouring a cup, there is a "click" at the fully closed position, and after pouring coffee it sometimes splashes a drop or two when it clicks. Annoying.
Filter holder will not stand upright on the countertop, it has to go into the machine to stand upright, unlike the Elegance.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 9, 2014

Makes Terrible Coffee

"I wanted to replace my old Capresso MT500 coffee maker ( which made wonderful coffee) for a new one and when I saw this one at Costco I jumped on it right away. What a mistake! My other Capresso cost $129.00 about 5 years ago and I thought it was strange that this one was so inexpensive. Well, I have tried to make a decent cup of coffee a million times and it is undrinkable. I guess you get what you pay for."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Capresso 10-cup Thermal Carafe Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tuckahoe, NY
Date:January 17, 2014

All the right features

Model Number: CM300
"I read many reviews about this maker that spoke of a difficulty in pouring the coffee. Although I was a bit worried about those reviews, I still ordered the item because it was the only maker that had all the features I wanted. At first I did have trouble pouring the coffee until I discovered there is a special mark on the lid that is to be aligned with the spout in order to pour without a spill. Once I figured that out, I had no trouble with dribbling. The coffee is great, the carafe opening is big enough to get your hand in for cleaning, the coffee stays hot, the buttons are up off the counter so they won't get wet by accident, the reservoir removes for easy filling at the sink. It just works well overall - for me. It is slightly louder than my previous maker, but that has not been a bother. I am usually tough to please because I pay attention to details, but so far I am pleased with this machine."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>