Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras

Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
16 of 24(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco CA
Date:May 2, 2014

Buyer Beware

Pros: easy to connect cameras to nvr with ethernet cable, very nice image quality, customer support reps very cordial/professional
Cons: not a 3 minutes set up in 1 2 3 steps -way off, extremely nonuser friendly software, must have a dedicated monitor for full functional, support reps are learning along side you on phone
Model Number: Lores Stratus Vantage LNR382C4B
"Its only been two days since I took things out of the box. Easy to assemble cameras to NVR and NVR to router. NOT easy at all to find Mac compatible software or instructions. What is advertised as being, simple as 1-2-3 in under 3 minutes has turned into 1-2-3 hours of my time trying to search Lorex website for instructions, manual, software, etc. Then at least 30 minute wait to speak to a customer service rep then 3 hours of phone conversation with reps (very friendly and professional but appear to be learning the system along side me as I ask my questions). Finally got cameras to display video but not by using the advertized 1-2-3 method. All manual configuration and trial and error. The computer desktop software is the most non-user friendly software I have come across. Nothing about it is intuative. On the fence about returning this unit. Maybe in a couple of days or weeks I will be a happy camper but its been a steep uphill climb to just get video to display on software. To get true full experience and usability, you have to connect a dedicated monitor to the NVR. Limited functionality if you only use the computer desktop software. I was hoping not to have two monitors on my desk for this unit. I have the unit in my bedroom and you will need to get used to the fan that is continuously running along with the two bright blue led flickering lights that I just block out by setting something in front of the unit to block out the light in the room. Was hoping to utilize the DDNS feature so that I can view cameras via a webpage from anywhere in the world. Cant set that up till I buy the dedicated monitor to perform those type of configuration settings. For now, only folks connected to my homes wired/wireless network can view video but they must go through the arduous process of downloading and installing and configuring the dvr settings on their respective computers/tablets/smartphone. By the way, customer support reps could not get my Samsung Galaxy tablet to work with the NVR tablet app even though my tablet is running android 4.2.2 (3.2 is the minimum required specs)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Weslaco, Tx
Date:May 14, 2014

Loving this system

Pros: excellent picture quality 1080p, easy plug and go system poe, fast and simple setup
Cons: software, fan on system
Model Number: lnvr380
"Let me start by saying this is my first security system I have purchased. I was looking for a system for a little over half a year. There were many to choose but I decided on this baby for the quality of picture it produces. The picture quality is just what the company says it is 1080p. The other thing that i was impressed was the Power over ethernet (PoE) on this system. No worries about having to get an electrician to run power to each camera. Just plug and go with this system. Before I decided on this system, I read any review I could find about this system. Some were good and others were just terrible. But I decided to buy this system and give it a try. I have only had very few issues that customer service helped me clear up. Customer service does take a while to reach, which it depends on the time of day you call. Once on the phone with a rep, he/she will try to solve any problems you might be having. My problem was on the motion detection feed. But after setting everything back to default settings, it solved my problem. Now I dont have any issues. loving this system. Viewing it over android phone is awesome. I am away from home and able to pull of phone and check up on the house. And the setup is Super Easy. I've read about the fan on the system being loud. I will tell you that it is loud but you have to understand the system is powering all your cameras. Viewing over computer is a breeze as well. Setup is easy as well. You would have to go into the lorex website and download the software needed to run on your computer. Software could be a little better but it does what I need it for.
For anyone that does buy this system try not to change any settings until you have used this system for about a couple of days. This will avoid many issues that I would read in many reviews."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014

Returning to Costco

Pros: good image quality, decent night range
Cons: loud fan, apps are slow
"First the good: Was able to setup quickly. Did not have to deal with any port forwarding. Pretty much had running in a few minutes out of the box. Image quality a big improvement over my old 480 line system. Good range at night as well. Initially thought would like and keep this system until using it for a few weeks.
Now the not so good: The fan is loud. Its worse than a computer fan especially as it runs 24x7. Placed the NVR in a closet and could still hear it. System also draws a fair amount of power. Approx 40W (again running 24x7). The cable connector on the end of each camera is also very large and requires you to drill one inch holes to pass it through. I installed the viewing apps on an ipad and a galaxy phone. while image quality was good, the apps were very slow to load and very jumpy- would see 5 second jumps while viewing. On the galaxy it would take 20-30 seconds just to load the first images. As I primarily wanted to be able to view from phone/ipad- found the load time and lag times to be unacceptable. For these reasons decided to return the system.
Have since purchased a 720P SDI system from another vendor. Had to deal with port forwarding (not a big deal) but the viewing apps and software were much better. In addition, the 720P cameras resulted in similar quality to the 1080P cameras from Lorex. I suspect the Lorex cameras are not really 1080p."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:May 12, 2014

Mixed feelings

Pros: images are excellent, recording seems to be excellent, poe is the way to go. no additional power needed.
Cons: software sucks, tech support sucks, remote setup is difficult, did i say the software sucks?
Model Number: LNR300
"I have had this up for a week now. So far so good.
- the images are excellent
- installation was easy
- once the remote viewing was set up it worked pretty good
I did have a lot of problems with the software. As with most software it is not user friendly. I have been setting up networks for decades and this was a nightmare.
- setting up the remote access requires port forwarding. If that is something that you are not familiar with you better get used to it cause it is required.
- you will have to have a DDNS account that will cost money or you can use the one Lorex provides for free. If they go out of business then you will have to get a DDNS account somewhere else.
- don't rely on tech support. If you can make contact, which will take a long time, the tech will have to access your system remotely and it will take at least an hour to get it up and running.
- the remote software is not updated by another software. i.e. the camera names on the local system do not transfer to the remote apps. So instead of "Driveway" you have to know that "Camera 04" is the driveway.
Software is often the weak point in most systems. Good hardware but made a marginal product by programmers who have no idea about life in the real world."
Review 5 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:April 28, 2014

Lorex reviews best, Costco reviews bad!

Pros: costco return policy and shipping times
Cons: at this point everything
Model Number: NVR382
"After reading Costco reviews I knew that I would have to test system first before the install. After setting it up the NVR382 unit started beeping three times and the only thing on my monitor was " out of frequency"! Nothing worked so I hooked it up to my HD TV. This time I got a picture, if you could call it that and also the unit starting beeping five and continued again and again. The next day I called Lorex and it only took 5 minutes to talk to a agent. She told me that I would have to call back after I got the system all hooked up again, I did. This time I was on hold for 35 minutes before an agent picked up. Both agents were nice but had no clue what I could do to fix my NVR382. They told me that I would have to call back during the week to get a replacement. I called back and Lorex agent stated that they would send a new NVR382 unit with a return shipping label. After I get the new unit and set it up, if anything doesn't work I will be taking everything back to Costco. The other thing I noticed about the reviews is that all the good reviews are from Lorex and the bad reviews from Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westminster, CO
Date:November 27, 2013

Amazing image quality

Pros: outstanding 1080p image quality, if you port forward mobile video quality is great, makes my old 960h system look like vhs tape
Cons: stratus cloud video on mobile is choppy/slow, long wait times on hold for support
Model Number: LNR382C4B
"Bought this system after doing some research into 1080p camera systems. I also own a 960H system at work and the quality of the image is far superior with this system. The NVR works great, lots of system options. If you aren't an IT specialist, the QR scan code on the top of the NVR sets up the cell phone app easily so that you can avoid port forwarding your router(s), but here is the catch--the video is sent to Lorex Servers in the cloud first and then back to your cell phone/tablet/PC--the video then is choppy, slow and unreliable--SO, I ended up port forwarding my two routers (wireless and ISP) which was complicated for me, and required a call to Lorex support for help. BUT, now the video on my cell/PC is very fast, reliable, and quite good, even off of LTE networks on regular 4G. Power-Over-Ethernet cabling is awesome and more streamlined than the old cabling. Night vision is great, but the high definition day images are amazing. This was a great purchase and worth the extra money over lower resolution camera systems."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:April 21, 2014

Not good quality, hard to setup

Pros: fast shipment
Cons: hard to setup, not good quality, very loud
Model Number: LNR382C4B: NVR LNR380, cameras MCNB2153
"- Quality of video was not very bad, but was not great either. It my opinion similarly priced Q-See cameras provide better quality in both night and day lighting.
- Also I was not able to setup the whole system. Camera detection was automatic and I was able to watch live feed. Using PC I was able to configure NVR to record 24x7 (it was not very intuitive, but I hope I did it right), but I was not able to find a way to browse/search recorded data.
- NVR is extremely noisy, so it will be not possible to put it in your living room.
- Their Android companion app required so much permissions, so it does not look like legitimate application. As result I event did not install android application.
I plan to return it and hope that costco return experience will be great.
P.S. It was not my first security system kit, so I kind of expect that it will be pretty bad and unfortunately I was ringht"
Review 8 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 16, 2014

Good quality, but not that good product. be aware

Pros: picture quality. b
Cons: low refresh rate. software and configuration
Model Number: LNR360
"The product is not too bad. Quality is good but:
1. Software / UI is really bad! Who is writing software for that? it is from the 80s.
2. Camera endpoint RJ45 is not as in the product information. It is a female connector. This means that you will have to drill 1".1/8 hole through the exterior wall. The should have kept it as a mail connector as in the picture. This is why I have selected it.
3. N/W connection. Is OK, but the box is not a switch, So it is using its own Subnet and has no configuration that I can ADD it to my network rather than create a subnet that is sub-quality compare to any repeater or switch.
4. there was tons of so to spear voodoo during install. IP cameras does connect to the box from the local network, unless you connect it first to the box. Why? god knows. Just imagine how long it took me to figure this out.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 6, 2013

Frustrating Experience

Pros: quick shipping, easy return
Cons: poor software design, poor customer service
Model Number: Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR
"On the plus side I was able to get the system up and going for remote viewing fairly easily. My problems started when I went to change the default password and then unable to log back into the system again. After about 3 weeks going back and forth with customer service (with hours spent on hold), it appears they did not have a solution. At this point I had no other choice than to return the system to Costco for a refund (thanks Costco).
This should of been a simple request to reset the system to factory defaults but apparently their software design does not support this unless you are already logged in.
Lorex tried to login remotely using a master password but that didn't work either. Security wise I think this approach is flawed since venders should not be creating hidden back-doors that can be exploited."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:sw florida
Date:November 19, 2013

doesnt work

Pros: quick shipping
Cons: the worst cust servicefrom lorex, long wait times to get a tech on the line, app doesnt work at all no fix
Model Number: lnr382
"the picture quality is ok but the remote viewing on your phone doesn't work at all. I have been on hold with lorex for 9 hours waiting to talk to a tech 2 he finaly answered & tried to get it working but had no luck he said he has no idea what to do next. return it if I don't like it. this is after 8 hours to install all the cables"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex 8 Channel Stratus HD NVR Security System with 2TB HDD and 4 1080p Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:regina
Date:July 27, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: customer service and equipment quality.
Model Number: LH1896
"have so far four of eight cameras that don"perform right. Customer service is a joke, I have had four or five case numbers. Have provided the receipt to Lorex several times, once by snail mail and at least four times as an attachment.only response is they need the receipt. Have finally given up!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.